$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
353 reviews
Great Experience

We stayed at the RIU Hotel for one week and it was amazing. The food and entertainment were good... See full review

  • reinaarh
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel.

everything within this hotel was great but the food. The food is mediocre. But the hotel is clean,... See full review

  • Mimi82
  • Jun 13, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnujM
NY
Apr 23, 2013

Great getaway

A 35 minute ride from Liberia airport it was a great place to stay and rest. Really caring staff and helpful with requests. We were travelling with a toddler and the staff really cared well for her and she really enjoyed her time with the staff as well. The beach is a bit rocky and should be careful. pool is good but sometimes can get overchlorinated( better over than under considering the amount of people using it.) we would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't rent a car unless you are planning more than 4-5 outings from the hotel. The cost of car including insurance is higher than cost of the trips in the hotel. This stands for most of costa rica.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reinaarh
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Jul 7, 2014

Great Experience

We stayed at the RIU Hotel for one week and it was amazing. The food and entertainment were good and all you can drink! Staff was very friendly minus one of the entertaiment guys by the pool who thought he should always be the center of attention. I believe his name was David. We went on a tour where we did ziplining, mud baths, bathed in hot springs, water slide, and drove ATVs. All so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Tucan Restaurant

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaycee Super Mom
New York
Jul 6, 2014

Great family vacation

This hotel was great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our family vacation was a success and everyone had a great time overall. RIU is also very kid-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee and Lisa
Nyc
Jul 5, 2014

Great family vacation

We went with our 5 sons and had a wonderful time. Absolutely recommend this for it's all inclusive feature Sometimes there were children nearby the adult pool bar The toucan restaurant which requires reservation was excellent and the buffet had wonderul selections The bar staff made great drinks ! Really good value !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservation for the toucan

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoccolo
Whitehouse, Tx
Jul 5, 2014

One of my best trips ever

The hotel is really nice. Food and service is awesome. They have so many different food selections at every meal that it is really hard not to find something terrific and tasty to eat. The location and and beach is one of the best. My major con is the beds are really hard and they are very green there so the sheets do not get changed often. Towels are to be reused, but when you take 2-3 showers a day due to the heat and swimming in the ocean, it will get the towels a little raunchy. But they will give you more towels, you just have to ask. Main thing to remember is to prepare yourself for the heat and humidity, but what do you expect from a beautiful tropical location. One more thing, this is a family resort, so there are a lot of children in the pool and not as many at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you try the Asian and Italian restaurants in the hotel. The food is great.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clarissa from Texas
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 3, 2014

Satisfied

Overall everything was great. Of course going to a different country is always a little different but very relaxing and clean. I do recommend for everyone to stay at the Riu. Every year we go on vacation and tht it where we stay. Family friendly!! Don't trust the locals!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Ziplining is a must. Sooo much fun n so beautiful.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chevy2011
Los Angeles, California
Jun 15, 2014

Pura Vida Costa Rica

Good hotel with beautiful surroundings. The biggest down fall is the buffet which is truly brutal. The actual beach the hotel is on is nothing special. Costa Rica is a beautiful country so be sure to get out of the resort and explore. The staff is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoopDee
San Diego, California
Jun 14, 2014

Week away from the everyday stress.

I just returned from a week stay at Riu Guanacaste. Loved the resort. Great spot with a decent beach. The staff at the hotel are fabulous. The food and accommodations were pretty great too. I typically don't do all inclusive because i like to visit places where the locals frequent but after this trip i might only do all inclusive in the future! I lucked out. This is typically the "wet season" but the weather was amazing. Maybe an hour of rain one afternoon. I loved CR so much I am already planning my next trip there! One complaint,,,, it is nearly impossible to get a regular taxi to go out on your own. Everything has to be done through the hotel and their prices for transportation are not cheap!! DO NOT waste your time going to Coco beach. Its overpriced and the beach is terrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a massage on the beach just outside the resort. I went to Marlen twice and she was AMAZING. Cant beat a $30 massage listening to the waves crash on the beach feet from where you are lying on a table.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mimi82
NYC
Jun 13, 2014

Great hotel.

everything within this hotel was great but the food. The food is mediocre. But the hotel is clean, the staff are excellent and atmosphere terrific. Such a fun place to visit and stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

For tours, always try to negotiate the price. Haggle 15-20 dollars off the asking price, youll always get i!

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NickyinChicago
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2014

Solo Traveler in Costa Rica

Decided to take a quick break from reality and travel to Costa Rica ... via a stay at Riu Guanacaste. The hotel is a really good value for the money. But if you are looking for luxury or something special, I suggest you try another resort. Things to consider before booking: 1) the rooms are VERY average with no amenities, 2) the food is above average but not at the level of a foodie, and 3) the entertainment is comical (and not always in a good way :- ) BTW, the Riu Palace IMO is not as nice as the Riu Guanacaste -- even though it is one level above supposedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATLFather
Atlanta, GA
Jun 3, 2014

Family Relaxation

Loved the beach. Food was ok. Pretty friendly staffs. We had fun feeding the fishes on the beach. Overall, it was a good experience for the money. Next time I will be sure to make reservation for Steak House a day in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We paid $50 dollars for a taxi (Red Taxi) ride to hotel from airport for a family of 3, and paid $45 dollars back to airport on LAR Transportes--it's a contracting Shuttle bus service that you can pay for at hotel lobby. That's less than $100 dollars for transportation...awesome! Also: you have to pay $29 departure tax per person at airport when leaving the country. So have cash handy, you can use you credit card, but it will be charged as cash advance!

Back to menu Return to top