$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
301 reviews
Riu guanacaste

Beautiful hotel.The whole resort is very well kept. See full review

  • Adamko
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great family vacation!!

The Hotel is one of the best Rui Hotels.. People working there were very good in all the services,... See full review

  • chanina
  • Aug 10, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnujM
NY
Apr 23, 2013

Great getaway

A 35 minute ride from Liberia airport it was a great place to stay and rest. Really caring staff and helpful with requests. We were travelling with a toddler and the staff really cared well for her and she really enjoyed her time with the staff as well. The beach is a bit rocky and should be careful. pool is good but sometimes can get overchlorinated( better over than under considering the amount of people using it.) we would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't rent a car unless you are planning more than 4-5 outings from the hotel. The cost of car including insurance is higher than cost of the trips in the hotel. This stands for most of costa rica.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
juano867
Puerto Rico
Sep 15, 2014

Paradise

I lo ve my stay at Riu Guanacaste. If you like quite time ask for a room facing the jungle. The staff is nice, the food is good.... Don't bother reserving for the steak house.... Is not that good but the toscana fabulous and the Liberia ( buffet) always good. The shows are great!! Money well spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George2014
Minneapolis
Sep 7, 2014

Great vacation location

Our experience was very good at this hotel. They have good food, a really nice beach front, and surprisingly good entertainment - they have great shows every day for the guests. There were only some minor inconveniences. The biggest one was the Internet - it really did not work any time we actually tried to use it. I remember the hotel advertises internet is available complimentary, but actually you only get 90 minutes of complimentary internet per day. You probably don't need more, after all you're on vacation! Second was the reservation process for the a la carte restaurants - you have to wake up at 9 to get a spot and we found our by the end of the trip the food is fairly the same quality at any restaurant. Overall, I am please and I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rogerhua
Washington State
Sep 3, 2014

Riu Guanacaste

Rooms are fine, better on the back side away from the noise of the pool and clubs. Food was good with a good selection to choose from. Beach was right right out back with a long curve of clean beach and water sports to choose from. The one complaint is the bad internet policy of 90 min straight for free only within a small area in the lobby. Internet wifi should be free within the rooms for an all inclusive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coacmaxx
chicago
Sep 2, 2014

riu guanacaste August 2014

Very good 4 star all inclusive. Family friendly, good food choices even for vegans, good amenities including 3 pools, Jacuzzis, spa & nice work out room. Room updated & clean. Black sand beaches, lots of activities & excursions including atv tour of beaches & rainforest, monkeys, hiking, kayaking, zip line is 1 hr away at bienna vista. Advice: bring swim shoes for ocean some rocks in front. Bring 4 star expectations...if you expect poolside drink service stay at riu palace resort next door or do a 5 star hotel. The north pacidic region best to stay in rainy season april-nov not so much rain as other regions. All good. Pura vida...people very nice in Costa Rica and lots to explore! Will be back to see other areas of Costa rica...still untapped

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fubi
New York
Aug 28, 2014

The managers are very alert

The hotel is very nice . It's not worth paying extra for the palace, if you are going away to have some fun. This hotel is a little bit more active and the entertainment group really tries to keep everything going. The only complaint i would say is the WiFi should be more available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christina2187
New York
Aug 21, 2014

Decent place to stay at

This hotel appears a lot nicer in photos than when you actually visit it . A standard room is very small and the pool is not very clean . There were always a ton of cups thrown around the pool for more than a half hour . Overall the hotel is good if you have not traveled before . But if you are a traveler like myself you will understand what I am referring to . A big plus for us was that management was very attentive to our needs and did everything to accommodate to our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adamko
Chicagoland
Aug 17, 2014

Riu guanacaste

Beautiful hotel.The whole resort is very well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good show every night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singing sara
Hayward, CA
Aug 15, 2014

great hotel

This hotel was very nice in a great location. The staff was extremely nice and were a good time. I've stayed with Riu before and this was my least favorite when it comes to the rooms and comfort. I'm not saying it's not a nice hotel, just saying that the others were even nicer when it comes to their rooms. The view and shows were amazing. Wish they had room service like the palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

buffet and restaurant was good but sports bar food sucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not Impress Visitor
Guanacasta, San Jose
Aug 14, 2014

No Deal!

I liked the hotel a lot. The architecture and overall grounds were fantastic. To be honest, I wondered about the financial strength of the hotel simply because it servers unlimited free drinks! I didn't like a couple of things: First, I hated the monopoly that the hotel had on the cost of the excursions and the cost for the transportation. There were no competition so I had to either take it or leave it. I decided to leave it. There were too many wheeling and dealing. I felt that I was being taken advantage of. I also didn't like the fact that the disco started at 11pm which is too late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Must take cash. Some credit card transactions are processed as cash advances. Plan to negotiate everything because the prices are outrageous ($120 round trip to go 20 minutes from the hotel by the preferred bus).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luky
CR
Aug 11, 2014

Nice time at RIU

We went to spend our vacation at RIU Guanacaste, Hotel was very nice, only inconvenient was room was room wasn't as comfortable as we expected, terrible pillows, terrible comforter, food was ok,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search