$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
328 reviews
A 5 Star Experience

Costa Rica doesn't just have nature to offer. Upscale, all-inclusive beach resorts such as this one... See full review

  • Vilius K.
  • Apr 29, 2015
CR adventure

Awesome hotel, great staff and the lay out was wonderful. poor internet features. See full review

  • margaret p.
  • Apr 26, 2015
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great time in Costa Rica
Columbus, OH
Jan 7, 2013

Fantastic Wedding

Got married here, and couldn't have had a better experience. A+++++.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vilius K.
Business
Freehold
Apr 29, 2015

A 5 Star Experience

Costa Rica doesn't just have nature to offer. Upscale, all-inclusive beach resorts such as this one are available as well. For our trip we combined the views of Arenal volcano and trips to the rainforest. This was our next stop, while completely different, it was totally awesome! We got the rooms for about half-off as it was during the rainy season. The easy access to the beach, the swim-up pool bar, barbecues and parties, and the five start treatment is what made this stay amazing. I would certainly recommend looking at the RIU Guanacaste for a different stay in Costa Rica and then taking a drive down to Guanacaste to stay in Los Lagos or similar resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
margaret p.
Business
TOMKINS COVE
Apr 26, 2015

CR adventure

Awesome hotel, great staff and the lay out was wonderful. poor internet features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacationher
Business
Hellertown
Apr 22, 2015

second time

This is the second time we stayed at this location. The location is nice since it is isolated and there aren't a ton of people. However some cons that we experienced this time around. Sheets on the bed were stained and we called to have them changed. They dropped off the sheets but never changed the bed. Guess that was our job. Also, you have to schedule your meals for the specialty restaurants. Apparently if you tip the person doing the scheduling, openings at certain rest miraculously appear. Needed to get an early transportation back to the airport and inquired at the front. Their charge was $70. Normal time was $30. Ended up calling the people that initially transported us to the hotel and they charged $50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juli
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Amazing Spring Break Vacation

My boyfriend and I had an amazing experience at the RIU. We would definitely go back one day!! The food was good, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the resort was so beautiful. Great time and definitely worth the money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julianne D
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Honeymoon trip

We booked this trip for October which was right before tourist season. We had a great experience and so much fun on our honeymoon we would stay here again. It was great to have all the drinks and food included even at the restaurants in the hotel. The staff was friendly and we had a suite with a rooftop jacuzzi and it was perfect. I would definitely come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ishrat H.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

THEFT ALERT! Very disappointing!

MY PURSE GOT STOLEN WITH MY NEW iPhone, CREDIT CARD, US DOLLARS AND ID! PLEASE BE CAREFUL ABOUT YOUR PERSONAL BELONGINGS WHEN YOU STAY IN THIS RESORT! The short headline was to alert people who do not want to read the elaborate review. I know this hotel is rated highly by some of the reviewers. I don’t want to oppose anyone here but I would like to share my own experience and leave the rest for your own judgment. My Husband and I are frequent travelers. This was our third all-inclusive resort vacation and we are VERY DISSAPOINTED with this resort. First of all, my purse got stolen from the lobby restroom. I left my purse in the stall for few minutes and was changing my contacts at the sink. I changed my contacts, got out from the restroom and realized I left my purse. I went immediately to the stall and IT WAS GONE within few minutes. While I was in the restroom I saw only one person leaving the restroom, not sure whether she was a guest or a stuff. Other than that there were cleaning stuff who was cleaning the restroom during that time. I ran to the reception and reported it immediately. The reception staff were co-operative I would say. They called manager and hotel security, but said I don’t have any proof to accuse any staff or the guest/staff whoever I saw, so there is nothing much they can do. Well, I don’t know if it’s the cleaning lady or that guest/staff whoever but the fact is my purse got stolen! It was a Coach Purse with my new iPhone, my credit card, US $$$ and my driving license. It doesn’t make much sense why would any guest spending good amount of money to stay in a 5 start resort steal someone else’s purse?? Anyhow, someone did it, and I guess we’ll never find out who. The FOOD was a great disappointment for me except steak at the seafood restaurant. They have two buffets option for dinner, one is Liberia and another is Asian buffet. The Liberia buffet had awful food at our first night. The food were not labeled properly, cold and blend! Well if you went to eat salad in a 5 start resort then it’s a different story. But I certainly didn’t go to eat salads in a tropical resort! I don’t eat pork, as the items were not labeled properly I always had to ask someone whether it has pork or not which was frustrating! Lunch is also the same story with limited option for seafood! They serve poolside ‘seafood paella’ and some snacks in the noon which was decent. The Service was another disappointment for us! We were not even offered water at our very first night in the Liberia buffet! Most of the time it was self-service for us, we had to get our own water and drinks. In our previous resorts, usually we were seated by someone whenever we entered the buffets and asked for the drinks! I always left tips at the table until my purse got stolen. The beach was quite rocky with lots of black rocks everywhere. It was almost impossible to walk on the beach on barefoot which made getting into the water quite challenging. If you want a nice beach to walk on, coco beach is a good option. Only positive thing about this resort was the entrainment crew! We liked their nightly entertainment shows which was mostly new every night. I don’t know what the hype is about this RIU resort, May be we have become picky after three all-inclusive experiences. But this resort was a huge disappointment for us. This is our first time in RIU and certainly the last one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veronica M.
Business
Las Vegas
Feb 22, 2015

Pura Vida

Most amazing time and resort. The beach and shopping was amazing. The staff was so friendly and helpful. THE COCKTAILS WERE ENDLESS. I'd go there again in a heartbeat. Perfect resort for family, friends and couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NickyinChicago
Business
Chicago
Feb 16, 2015

Solo in Costa Rica

Hotel staff do a great job making you feel welcomed when traveling alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGSG
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Awesome

Great value, great entertainment tip people and you shall rule the hotel. Bartenders look to you first, cleaning ladies take care of you, and everyone is happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eugene L.
Business
Brooklyn
Feb 9, 2015

The kids thought it was the best vacation ever

Great stay in a great place to visit. Beautiful grounds and great views of both ocean and lush forests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top