$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
319 reviews
Rewarding First Trip to Costa Rico

Happy with our choice! Would return. On the water. Has a sister hotel nearby. Don't need a rental car. See full review

  • George R.
  • Jul 26, 2015
Awesome Place

This resort was honestly one of the best I have ever been to. The location and the amenities in the... See full review

  • Fern Brea
  • Jul 16, 2015

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Highlights
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
Nearby attractions
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George R.
Business
Wilmington
Jul 26, 2015

Rewarding First Trip to Costa Rico

Happy with our choice! Would return. On the water. Has a sister hotel nearby. Don't need a rental car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris S.
Business
Kingsburg
Jul 24, 2015

RIU Costa Rica

Beach is below average at best food was bad overall not a 5 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fern Brea
Business
Dallas
Jul 16, 2015

Awesome Place

This resort was honestly one of the best I have ever been to. The location and the amenities in the resort made my trip a fantastic vacation. Barely no need to travel off the grounds unless you are going for a trip around the island. Overall, beautiful plce and wouldn't hesitate to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergiy L.
Business
N/A
Jul 13, 2015

Great hotel!

Great experience overall. Excellent beach! Whould like to see more dishes selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lourdes T.
Business
N/A
Jul 5, 2015

Awesome Family Vacation to Costa Rica

We had a great time at Riu Guanacaste! The place was nice, clean and the staff were very friendly, and super nice! The beach in Carillo was not the best in Costa Rica as compared to the others like in Tamarindo. But overall we had an amazing stay at Riu!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kie
Business
Brooklyn
Jun 13, 2015

Ok hotel food was blah

The beach wasnt as great as I thought it would be and its really really far from the various towns but the staff were amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kie
Business
Brooklyn
Jun 12, 2015

First time to Costa Rica

We had a great time due to the fact that we meet Esteban on the beach that booked all of our trips/tours. The food wasnt that great, but the staff were very helpful. The rooms were well equipped and cleaned everyday and it was great to have a balcony. The beach wasnt that great but we loved the pool area. All in all we would go back to have Esteban book wonderful trips for us but other than that the hotel was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sam
Business
Deville
Jun 7, 2015

Some advantages

The Pros: The hotel had wonderful grounds and a nice staff. The entertainment team did a good job of keeping us entertained and were very kind. The beach was nice, but there were lots of better beaches in the area. It had black sand, was rocky and the water wasn't as clear as other beaches. But it had beautiful sunsets and was not crowded. The beach also had fun activities. The rooms were big and had good views. The internet worked well in the lobby for free (was free all day). Also, this hotel was relatively close to the airport. The Cons: The food at the resort got old. They did have some options, but after a few days everything started to taste the same. Plus there was lots of good food at other places in Costa Rica that would be worth trying. Also, the rooms were clean, but the towels and sheets were not as clean as they should be, and we had a housekeeper take a little money from our room that we forgot to put in the safe. Recommendations: If you are looking for a resort to get away from it all, this may be the place for you. But we felt like we could have enjoyed more food, more activities, and more of the Costa Rican culture if we would have stayed somewhere else. Next time, we would probably stay at Flamingo Beach or Tamarindo to be near a town and a beach with clearer water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron B.
Business
Houston
May 26, 2015

Great Spring Getaway !!!

Really enjoyed my trip to Riu Guanacaste . The hotel staff was extremely helpful and professional . The only downside to the resort is its location . You have to catch a shuttle or cab to get around . My room as well as the entire resort was spotless .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa R.
Business
N/A
May 9, 2015

Girls Trip

The hotel was great! Food was decent for an all inclusive, most of the staff was very friendly and helpful and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. If I find myself in Costa Rica again, I would definitely return to the Rui Guanacaste. The only negative was that the internet was spotty at best, and only free in the lobby. It did force me to unplug and enjoy my vacation, though, so that wasn't a horrible thing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top