$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Ocotal Beach Resort

3 stars
3 Kms From Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste/Liberia, 1-5019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
42 reviews
outstanding place for Costa Rica visit

if you are not looking for 4 seasons enclosed compound, this is perhaps the best and most... See full review

  • nd007
  • Aug 4, 2012
Is this Eden?

The view from the top pool!To my left is a cove with black sandy beaches that become rocky running... See full review

  • PIATT D
  • Dec 29, 2011
Ocean-view rooms, diving, fishing at Ocotal Beach Resort
Located just south of Playas del Coco, the Ocotal Beach Resort overlooks the southern Papagayo Gulf and the offshore Catalina Islands. With an on-site dive center and sport fishing charters, the Ocotal Beach Resort makes a good jumping-off point for water sports. Guests participate in activities like ziplining, rafting and hiking either on-site or in the nearby town. Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi, breakfast, tennis, fitness center and a small meeting space accommodates 20 people.
Highlights
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in public areas
  • Jacuzzis in all suites
  • Three outdoor swimming pools
Rooms
Standard rooms at Ocotal Beach Resort come furnished with two queen or single king beds including air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer and private terrace or balconies. Bungalow rooms offer two queen beds with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, walk-in closet, private parking space, private terrace. A semi-private pool sits outside each set of bungalows.
Features
The 4-star Ocotal Beach Resort stuns guests with its water sports-ready beachfront location and panoramic ocean views. The on-site dive center runs daily charters to popular sites like the Catalina and Bat islands. Venture out to fish for marlin, tuna, mahi mahi, sailfish and more. Cool off after a day of adventure in any of the three swimming pools. Soak in the Jacuzzi, workout in the fitness center or play some tennis at the on-site tennis courts. Guests dine any time at two on-site restaurants. The Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and groups reserve a small meeting space.
Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (22.8 mi/36.5 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (18.5 mi/29.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (28.8 mi/46.3 km)
  • Diria National Park (34.1 mi/54.6 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.5 mi/60.3 km)
  • Parque Nacional Las Baulas (46.3 mi/74.5 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park (60.7 mi/97.1 km)

 

Business
  • Small meeting space accommodates 20
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocotal Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Ocotal Beach Resort Rooms

STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room offers Two Queen or One King Size Bed

In Room Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • CD Players
  • HONEYMOON SUITE

    Honeymoon Suite offers a King Size Bed.

    With a Balcony and great mountain or ocean view. Settle onto the select comfort bed with cotton linens for an excellent night's rest.

    Includes:
  • Breakfasts Daily for Two
  • 1 Bottle of Wine
  • 1 Dinner for 2 at the hotel restaurant

  • Valid anytime, subject to availabilit. Offer may not include taxes or gratuities. Other restriccions may apply.

    In Room Amenities
  • FREE Wireles Internet
  • Flat Screen TVs
  • Coffee / Tea Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Independent Living Area
  • Dining Area
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Panoramic View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Safety Box
  • Refrigerator
  • CD Players
  • BEACH FRONT SUITE

    Suite Room offers a King Size Bed.

    "Ideal for couples, the suites number 510 have an independent living area, spacious bathrooms with Jacuzzi and an impressive panoramic view.

    The Ocean Suite is beachfront with a spacious bathroom, living and dining area, refrigerator and private terrace.

    In Room Amenities
  • Independent Living Area
  • Dining Area
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Panoramic View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Safety Box
  • Refrigerator
  • CD Players
  • BUNGALOW JUNIOR SUITE

    Bungalow Junior Suites Offers Two Queen Size Beds.

    Newly remodeled and located along a cliff overlooking Ocotal bay, between the Reception and the beach, the spacious duplex Bungalows provide more privacy in a classy ambience.
    Extra features include refrigerator, private parking space and a plunge pool with ocean view (every 2 bungalows share a pool).

    In Room Amenities

  • Plunge Pool
  • Private Parking Space
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • Refridgerator
  • CD Players
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Roca Bruja Restaurant
    "Roca Bruja Restaurant", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Sitting on the top of a cliff and surrounded by a 270 degree view of the Pacific Ocean, Ocotal's main restaurant, "Roca Bruja", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (42)

    Ratings and reviews for Ocotal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    6 out of 42
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Room cleanliness:
    3.5
    Hotel staff:
    3.5
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    3.2
    Value:
    3.8

    67% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Sad tourist costa rica
    Business
    Brazil
    Jan 8, 2014

    DON´T GO!

    I can tell you... it does not worthy!, You think it´s a beautiful resort... Well, nature there is perfect. That´s the good thing. Staff is really bad! They charged us 2x our 150 dollars New´s Year Dinner... And said it was a mistake! Things like that happened a lot... We almost had a fight to have a small minibar at our room, because they said there was none anymore... We spent 12 days asking to fix the safebox... It was not fixed, so we didnt had it. Pools are always dirty. We were 3 people but only 2 towels were given each day, so we needed to ask for the 3rd one every single day... If you go dont´ stay at the beach... there are employees who use to work at late night (I mean 3 or 4 am) next to your place... it´s weird because they dont tell you... So you wake up in the middle of the night with a guy at your window and it´s normal!!! Tissues, linens not always dirty. Get your own toillete paper because sometimes they forget to put it for you... Ok, breakfast is nice and some people who work there too... But definetely, I would not recommend... because you pay for something you won´t get! And Ocotal is far away everything... I suggest you yo be around Tamarindo or Playa Grande... We had a 4x4 rented car, but needed to travel around 1 -2 hour everyday to go to other nice playas... total 2-4 hours driving per day...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    TheCrow
    Business
    Castle Rock, CO, USA
    Mar 27, 2012

    We were a bad example

    Initial impressions are that you ARE in a 4 star resort, though you can see the wear on this once nice place. There are two security checks to get in and the weather was nice so we slept with the patio doors open...mistake. Somehow a beach bum sneaked up the path from the beach and grabbed our cell phones and everything on the floor into my roommates bag. Though our big money and passports were in the safe, he managed to get away with a couple hundred dollars. Our contributory negligence notwithstanding, the hotel offered nothing in aide or comfort, much less compensation. In fact, the collect calls to the bank to arrange for more funds showed up at check out as $150 for two calls. I could see where someone would have a great time here, we just couldn't, so I won't recommend the resort The food and drinks in town were neither great nor cheap. The ocean was affected by 'red tide' preventing swimming, snorkeling or recreating at all on the beach for the smell. I got certified to dive there, and the crew was perfect. Completely honest, patient and very friendly. I'm not interested that this review gets posted or not, SOMEone has to have bad karma once in a while and I think both they and we were experiencing it at the time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    not much going on at the resort with that tide there, so Coco is the only place with food and drinks close by. The tours we heard second hand were good and we found one on our own in town that was better I think but it's probably best to call it risky.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Gatoredge
    Business
    Parker, CO
    Jul 19, 2011

    ok for value

    Scuba shop and boat was excellent. Lots of wildlife but unfortunetly the soft coral is mostly gone at this point. Breakfast was included and good being fruit, eggs, toast, rice, and a piece of bacon/sausage. Rooms are average. Very thin walls which allowed you to listen to the actual conversations next door. Wifi was horrible and I knew more than they did on how to fix it. Very steep hills so beware between beach, rooms and lounge. 3 pools are fine but not resort like. Don't expect to sit by the pool while someone brings you a pina colada. Staff was friendly but at times very under prepared to handle any issues. Not close to town (Coco beach) so fairly isolated if you don't have a car. The price was about right in terms of value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Father Rooster's is a short walk from the resort and absolutely perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    playa ocotal
    Apr 2, 2011

    awesome!

    this hotel was awesome. it included breakfast (buffet style most days). the staff were all very friendly and helpful. there were two pools - well maintained (one for laps and another for v-ball and swim up bar). the beach was black sand and very pretty. i especially loved diving and the guys who run the dive shop are excellent! very professional. clean. one of my favourite parts was hanging out on the private patio or pool (included in the villas) and watching the monkeys and iguanas!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    short walk to father roosters for dinner at ocotal (if you don't want to go into coco). taxi to coco is about $7 US. dinner at roosters is tasty and reasonable!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    ninjalawyer
    Business
    oklahoma
    Mar 8, 2010

    Great resort

    ice machines in a foreign country - amazing and greatly appreciated! Food was great

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Lexington, USA
    Jan 4, 2010

    Lovely setting

    Lovely setting with good restaurants near by if you have a car.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top