$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Ocotal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 3 Kms From Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste/Liberia, 1-5019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
39 reviews
Nice if you want a "resort" in Costa Rica

Very nice, guarded resort. But beware - the beach is a very long walk down (and then, of course, up... See full review

  • SSRB
  • Dec 30, 2014
outstanding place for Costa Rica visit

if you are not looking for 4 seasons enclosed compound, this is perhaps the best and most... See full review

  • nd007
  • Aug 4, 2012
Located just south of Playas del Coco, the Ocotal Beach Resort overlooks the southern Papagayo Gulf and the offshore Catalina Islands. With an on-site dive center and sport fishing charters, the Ocotal Beach Resort makes a good jumping-off point for water sports. Guests participate in activities like ziplining, rafting and hiking either on-site or in the nearby town. Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi, breakfast, tennis, fitness center and a small meeting space accommodates 20 people.
Rooms
Standard rooms at Ocotal Beach Resort come furnished with two queen or single king beds including air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer and private terrace or balconies. Bungalow rooms offer two queen beds with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, walk-in closet, private parking space, private terrace. A semi-private pool sits outside each set of bungalows.
Property features
The 4-star Ocotal Beach Resort stuns guests with its water sports-ready beachfront location and panoramic ocean views. The on-site dive center runs daily charters to popular sites like the Catalina and Bat islands. Venture out to fish for marlin, tuna, mahi mahi, sailfish and more. Cool off after a day of adventure in any of the three swimming pools. Soak in the Jacuzzi, workout in the fitness center or play some tennis at the on-site tennis courts. Guests dine any time at two on-site restaurants. The Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and groups reserve a small meeting space.
Highlights
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in public areas
  • Jacuzzis in all suites
  • Three outdoor swimming pools
Nearby attractions
  • Playas del Coco (18.5 mi/29.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (28.8 mi/46.3 km)
  • Diria National Park (34.1 mi/54.6 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.5 mi/60.3 km)
  • Parque Nacional Las Baulas (46.3 mi/74.5 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park (60.7 mi/97.1 km)

 

Business
  • Small meeting space accommodates 20
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (22.8 mi/36.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocotal Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Ocotal Beach Resort Rooms

SUITE WITH TERRACE

Honeymoon Suite offers a King Size Bed.

With a Balcony and great mountain or ocean view. Settle onto the select comfort bed with cotton linens for an excellent night's rest.
BUNGALOW JUNIOR SUITE

Bungalow Junior Suites Offers Two Queen Size Beds.

Newly remodeled and located along a cliff overlooking Ocotal bay, between the Reception and the beach, the spacious duplex Bungalows provide more privacy in a classy ambience.
Extra features include refrigerator, private parking space and a plunge pool with ocean view (every 2 bungalows share a pool).

In Room Amenities

  • Plunge Pool
  • Private Parking Space
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • Refridgerator
  • CD Players
  • STANDARD ROOM
    Standard Room offers Two Queen or One King Size Bed

    In Room Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • CD Players
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Roca Bruja Restaurant
    "Roca Bruja Restaurant", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Sitting on the top of a cliff and surrounded by a 270 degree view of the Pacific Ocean, Ocotal's main restaurant, "Roca Bruja", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Ocotal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    3.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    39 out of 39
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Cleanliness:
    3.6
    Hotel staff:
    3.5
    Comfort:
    3.5
    Location:
    3.9
    Value:
    3.5

    69% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    PIATT D
    Business
    Denton,tx
    Dec 29, 2011

    Is this Eden?

    The view from the top pool!To my left is a cove with black sandy beaches that become rocky running up to the mountains.My front view is the beautiful blue Pacific with far off mountain peaks.To my right is a stunning cove with a black sandy beach and the cove is dotted with fishing and sail boats. I could go on forever about this stunning resort.I looked at other much more expensive resorts but nothing could touch this if for sheer beauty alone!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

    Marvin with Mardigi can help you with bargain tours or just free info on everything concerning his beautiful countryMarvin can help plan your entire vacation or just keep you out of trouble such as do not drive your rent car across the border to the north!

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    nd007
    Business
    North Carolina
    Aug 4, 2012

    outstanding place for Costa Rica visit

    if you are not looking for 4 seasons enclosed compound, this is perhaps the best and most picturesque place in Costa Rica.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    kannapolis, nc
    Mar 9, 2011

    bad reviews???

    ocotal is awesome..great exploring and snorkeling around the sides of the beaches near rocks...room was great (#210)..whoever is giving this place bad reviews are prolly just snobby idoits anyway...almost didnt stay because of the other reviews, but am so glad i did...if you are considering going there and reading this...do it!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    dine in coco for great seafood..father roosters down the beach was awesome too

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Arijana
    Business
    Atlanta, GA
    Jul 5, 2011

    Wonderful Resort

    We stayed at this resort for 10 days, and it was our first time in Costa Rica. All rooms have ocean view and it is the best view ever. Our room was on the highest level righ next to the infinite edge pool which offerd a great sunset view every night. The room was very clean. The staff was amazing, everyone was ready to help and offer advice. On our first day we met the owner Mr. Patel, which normally never happens. He was always available for any questions we may have had. The beach is a black sand beach, very clean and the water was clear. We were travelling out of season so the resort and the beach were not too busy. The resort has 3 big pools. Also, breakfast was included which was great. They offered a variety of choices for breakfast including a omlet made as you wish. We booked a one day adventure tour through the hotel which was $390 for both of us and it was worth it. We went to the Burlinque Park. The tour inlcuded horseback riding, zip-lining, lunch, ATVs & the mud bath. Andres was our tour guide and he was wonderful, he took pictures of us and plus stopped at a grocery store on our way back so that we could stack up on goods we needed for the resort. The hotel does't have anything within walking distance but one restaurant called Father Rooster. The closest town is Coco Beach and it's only 5 minute drive, the taxi fee is $7.00 in one direction. I would definitely stay here again, however if you don't like animals than this may not be the place for you. We saw exotic birds, racoons, iguanas, and monkeys all around us but none of them were annoying or scary. Again, wonderful resort and loved every minute of it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Father Rooster - It had great food and it was only a 2 minute walk down the beach from the resort.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    New York, NY
    Apr 19, 2008

    great ocean view

    This was a very nice staying. The hotel brings together a hill- and beachside setting, with stunning views of the surrounding areas and ocean. Rooms are comfortable, the only negative note being a certain, sometimes strong, smell of sewage coming from the bathroom. Dining was not always up to scratch. We went off-season, and one could tell than in the days when the hotel had few guests the quality of the food tended to decline. Prices at lunch and dinner were sometimes exorbitant (around 15 dollars for really small and not particularly good salads and starters). Leave the hotel and visit the nearby town for dinner.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Dining spots in nearby Coco are better value and better quality than at the resort.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Pipe
    Business
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Aug 23, 2011

    Superb

    my wife and I were on our honey moon and we absolutely have no complaints. The room was great, they catered to our every need. The view was perfect; we had an ocean view and a direct site to seeing the sun rise and the sun set each day. Our room location couldn't have been any better for us. I will say that you are surrounded by nature. That's a beauty in and of itself, but not everyone is nature friendly. But we loved our stay and our room and the staff were very nice people and service driven. Excellent hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Go to a restaurant called "Father Rooster". It is about five minutes from the hotel. Excellent food and excellent drinks. We went to this place about 70% of the time we were there.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    grolsch
    Business
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Feb 6, 2012

    Nice quiet place, relaxed atmosphere

    Had a great time relaxing at Ocotal Resort with my girlfriend for a week. Staff was helpful and mostly fluent in English. The views were fantastic, well kept grounds with iguanas, coatis, and some beautiful birds roaming around. We had a suite which was large, clean and comfortable. This resort is a couple of miles from Coco and kind of limited as far as dining options within walking distance but only a $6 taxi ride to Coco. The beach is down a steep hill which was sometimes a long haul back up after a few cocktails, but a shuttle service is available.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    kimkj
    Business
    Oklahoma City, OK, USA
    Mar 24, 2012

    Wonderful family or couples resort.

    The views from all rooms was amazing! Staff was extremely hospitable, knowledgeable and eager to please. Everything was as we expected. The tour company located at the resort (Mardigi Tours) was outstanding! They go above and beyond on their tours with competitve prices. Will definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to the Guancaste area of Costa Rica! Thank you Ocotal Beach Resort and Mardigi Tours!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mighty Young Joe
    Business
    Grapevine TEXAS
    Aug 3, 2012

    Beautiful Views - Great Value

    Hightly recomended - Best value for your money if you are not looking to be pampered. Dive shop is one of the best in country. Father Rooster was a recommended place to eat on another review I read but was not all that ----- Hermosa has better .

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Playa Hermosa

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Triportwo
    Business
    Canada
    Dec 7, 2012

    Beach Resort

    Ocotal Beach Resort was a great way to end a wonderful 2 week vacation, we stayed here, because it was only a half an hour away from the Liberia airport, and wanted to stay on the coast before our early flight out. Although the resort is a little worn, it certainly has charm, and amazing views! If you want a 5 star, with all the amenities, and no costarican authenticity, stay at an all inclusive! Enjoyed the stay!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top