$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Ocotal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 3 Kms From Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste/Liberia, 1-5019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocotal Beach Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
Feb 25, 2011

Excellent Location!

The hotel was great! Location and view from every room was excellent. There's a lot to do around the hotel (scuba and snorkel). There was a lot of marine life around the rock on the beach infront of the hotel. Reception might need some improvement (excursions, shuttle services, and having a back up plan if something dooesn't work out). I hate to this say this because they were nice but there was not much effort to help from reception. The Scuba place in the hotel was great, and convenient, at a great price too. It was also a nice quiet and peaceful hotel. There was a tour place that saved me from staying in because of the hotel mix ups, that was Fabi Tours. Thanks to them I was picked up and had my private tour to Llanos del Cortez waterfalls, visiting diffrent beaches (Langosta, tamarindo, and Playa grande, my favorite!). If your a surfer, some of these beaches were great for surfing. That was my back up plan! Overall, great location, great view, and rooms were clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Fabi Tours, not sure if they might have this number in the hotel (as I passed it along to them before I left). Contact person, Andres G. A 8941-55-62. They were great, helpful, respecful, and courteus. They know all the great spots!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta,ga.
Jan 21, 2011

the view and weather worth the flaws

the hotel is situated on a beautiful piece of property with outstanding view of pacific ocean. The staff is very friendly and try to help but the the whole complex needs a lot of work. does not deserve 31/2 or 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to father roosters on beach below complex for dinner, very good, less than 500 meters

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jan 5, 2011

needs improvements!

The hotel has an excellent view and location but the new owners ([*]) Have not kept a good maintenance of the hotel which needs a major cosmetic repairs and the service was horribal [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boat riding, sport fishing and the beach with almost no wave at all swimpool like!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 2, 2011

HORRIBLE, run down, falling apart!

EXTREMELY disappointed. This hotel is VERY misleading by the website! Everything was falling apart, there were open wires hanging out of open outlets in our bathroom; there was only one person on staff at the pool, it took 30 minutes to get a drink because they ran out of ice, they than ran off with my credit card which took another 20 minutes to get back. I tried to order 3 different meals and couldn't because they were out of chips, shells, strawberries, the fish for the tacos, and cheese. The hot tub was broken and had crabs swimming in it. There was some type of animal poop surrounding the pool. The staff was not very friendly or helpful. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone and felt completely ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 30, 2010

Great Beach Holiday

The Hotel was nearly perfect. Superb, superb view. Great room and attentive staff. The only lowdown was no variety in breakfast. If they would improve that it would rate a 5. The beach excellent. Not crowded. Climate excellent. Great opportunities for boating. For tours, I suggest that you do them on your own with a rental car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do some dining in nearby Playa Coco and at Father Rooster on th esame Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in 20 years with no kids.
Business
Moreno valley, ca
Jul 25, 2010

the best beach for swimming

The hotel was clean and quiet, the stuff was very helpful. Upon reguest we got a late check-out. One thing stands out : the blanket has a duvet cover, that is replaced after every quest, so you know you are sitting on top of a clean bed. The beach is perfect for a swimmer, the water is clean, warm and very calm. Coco beach, which is 3 miles away has a little bazar with some of the lowest prices for souvenires in Costa Rica. One thing I would add: on top of heavy light-blocking curtains add light ones to let the sunlight in while maintaining privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Papagaio restaurant, seafood platter, the best I've ever eatten. The dish and an appetizer easily feed two people and some.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, CA
Jul 23, 2010

beautiful views

The hotel needs a lot of TLC, specially the rooms, we were very disappointed how old and lack of care the rooms were. The views were awesome, food was okay and staff friendly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ninjalawyer
Business
oklahoma
Mar 8, 2010

Great resort

ice machines in a foreign country - amazing and greatly appreciated! Food was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Feb 14, 2010

Wonderful View Of The Pacific

We had a wonderful view of the Pacific from our room. Although the roads are not great, there is lots to do and see within a reasonable drive. Dining at the resort can be boring after several days so you would be wise to get a rental car and explore of if nothing else use it to find some great local dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay in the resort to rest...but rent a car to explore

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, USA
Jan 4, 2010

Lovely setting

Lovely setting with good restaurants near by if you have a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top