$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Ocotal Beach Resort

3 stars
3 Kms From Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste/Liberia, 1-5019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
60 reviews
Great view and location

We really liked the location of the hotel as it was a short cab ride ($6 each way) to the town... See full review

  • linzi2013
  • Apr 7, 2013
outstanding place for Costa Rica visit

if you are not looking for 4 seasons enclosed compound, this is perhaps the best and most... See full review

  • nd007
  • Aug 4, 2012
Ocean-view rooms, diving, fishing at Ocotal Beach Resort
Located just south of Playas del Coco, the Ocotal Beach Resort overlooks the southern Papagayo Gulf and the offshore Catalina Islands. With an on-site dive center and sport fishing charters, the Ocotal Beach Resort makes a good jumping-off point for water sports. Guests participate in activities like ziplining, rafting and hiking either on-site or in the nearby town. Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi, breakfast, tennis, fitness center and a small meeting space accommodates 20 people.
Highlights
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in public areas
  • Jacuzzis in all suites
  • Three outdoor swimming pools
Rooms
Standard rooms at Ocotal Beach Resort come furnished with two queen or single king beds including air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer and private terrace or balconies. Bungalow rooms offer two queen beds with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, walk-in closet, private parking space, private terrace. A semi-private pool sits outside each set of bungalows.
Features
The 4-star Ocotal Beach Resort stuns guests with its water sports-ready beachfront location and panoramic ocean views. The on-site dive center runs daily charters to popular sites like the Catalina and Bat islands. Venture out to fish for marlin, tuna, mahi mahi, sailfish and more. Cool off after a day of adventure in any of the three swimming pools. Soak in the Jacuzzi, workout in the fitness center or play some tennis at the on-site tennis courts. Guests dine any time at two on-site restaurants. The Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and groups reserve a small meeting space.
Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (22.8 mi/36.5 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (18.5 mi/29.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (28.8 mi/46.3 km)
  • Diria National Park (34.1 mi/54.6 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.5 mi/60.3 km)
  • Parque Nacional Las Baulas (46.3 mi/74.5 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park (60.7 mi/97.1 km)

 

Business
  • Small meeting space accommodates 20
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas

Hotel Map

10.5448 -85.7233
Area served
Located 8 klms from Playas del Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
Daniel Oduber Liberia's International Airport is located around 25 Kms from our Resort
Area description
Playa Ocotal is a calm, sandy beach, about a third of a mile long; it's ideal for swimming, snorkeling, and other outdoor activities. It's also a perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocotal Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Ocotal Beach Resort Rooms

STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room offers Two Queen or One King Size Bed

In Room Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • CD Players
  • HONEYMOON SUITE

    Honeymoon Suite offers a King Size Bed.

    With a Balcony and great mountain or ocean view. Settle onto the select comfort bed with cotton linens for an excellent night's rest.

    Includes:
  • Breakfasts Daily for Two
  • 1 Bottle of Wine
  • 1 Dinner for 2 at the hotel restaurant

  • Valid anytime, subject to availabilit. Offer may not include taxes or gratuities. Other restriccions may apply.

    In Room Amenities
  • FREE Wireles Internet
  • Flat Screen TVs
  • Coffee / Tea Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Independent Living Area
  • Dining Area
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Panoramic View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Safety Box
  • Refrigerator
  • CD Players
  • BEACH FRONT SUITE

    Suite Room offers a King Size Bed.

    "Ideal for couples, the suites number 510 have an independent living area, spacious bathrooms with Jacuzzi and an impressive panoramic view.

    The Ocean Suite is beachfront with a spacious bathroom, living and dining area, refrigerator and private terrace.

    In Room Amenities
  • Independent Living Area
  • Dining Area
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Panoramic View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Safety Box
  • Refrigerator
  • CD Players
  • BUNGALOW JUNIOR SUITE

    Bungalow Junior Suites Offers Two Queen Size Beds.

    Newly remodeled and located along a cliff overlooking Ocotal bay, between the Reception and the beach, the spacious duplex Bungalows provide more privacy in a classy ambience.
    Extra features include refrigerator, private parking space and a plunge pool with ocean view (every 2 bungalows share a pool).

    In Room Amenities

  • Plunge Pool
  • Private Parking Space
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • Refridgerator
  • CD Players
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Roca Bruja Restaurant
    "Roca Bruja Restaurant", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Sitting on the top of a cliff and surrounded by a 270 degree view of the Pacific Ocean, Ocotal's main restaurant, "Roca Bruja", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (60)

    Ratings and reviews for Ocotal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    3.5 / 5
    5.01.0
    60 out of 60
    Amenities:
    3.3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.7
    Hotel staff:
    3.7
    Room comfort:
    3.5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3.7

    73% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Chanty
    Montréal, QC, Canada
    Aug 30, 2011

    A magnificent view!!!

    Ocotal Beach Resort is a nice and comfortable hotel. His location on the top of a hill gives an incredible view on the Pacific Ocean and Ocotal Bay. The rooms are nice and clean. The pools and spas are just great. And the food at the restaurant is good as the staff is nice and polite. So I don’t have anything else to say than I had a great experience and a nice peaceful stay at Ocotal hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    The only thing with Ocotal Beach Resort is that it's a bit far from Playa del Coco town (3 km). So every time you go to town, you have to plan a 6$ - 7$ trip (so 12$ or 14$ for the round trip).

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Pipe
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Aug 23, 2011

    Superb

    my wife and I were on our honey moon and we absolutely have no complaints. The room was great, they catered to our every need. The view was perfect; we had an ocean view and a direct site to seeing the sun rise and the sun set each day. Our room location couldn't have been any better for us. I will say that you are surrounded by nature. That's a beauty in and of itself, but not everyone is nature friendly. But we loved our stay and our room and the staff were very nice people and service driven. Excellent hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Go to a restaurant called "Father Rooster". It is about five minutes from the hotel. Excellent food and excellent drinks. We went to this place about 70% of the time we were there.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Pipe
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Aug 23, 2011

    Superb

    my wife and I were on our honey moon and we absolutely have no complaints. The room was great, they catered to our every need. The view was perfect; we had an ocean view and a direct site to seeing the sun rise and the sun set each day. Our room location couldn't have been any better for us. I will say that you are surrounded by nature. That's a beauty in and of itself, but not everyone is nature friendly. But we loved our stay and our room and the staff were very nice people and service driven. Excellent hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Go to a restaurant called "Father Rooster". It is about five minutes from the hotel. Excellent food and excellent drinks. We went to this place about 70% of the time we were there.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Gator
    ATL, GA
    Aug 18, 2011

    Great hotel with beautiful ocean views

    This hotel has one of the most beautiful hilltop views of the Pacific Ocean in the world. The dining terrace overlooks the turquoise water and black sand beach, and the hilltop pool and our room overlooked the Pacific. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were very clean. The hotel staff were very friendly and most accommodating. They helped us set up a zip-line canopy tour with Marvin and Digi, and they were fabulous! It's a very short trip to the small town of Coco to shop for souvenirs, dine, and buy groceries. We had a wonderful and very relaxing stay, and would stay here again!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Gatoredge
    Parker, CO
    Jul 19, 2011

    ok for value

    Scuba shop and boat was excellent. Lots of wildlife but unfortunetly the soft coral is mostly gone at this point. Breakfast was included and good being fruit, eggs, toast, rice, and a piece of bacon/sausage. Rooms are average. Very thin walls which allowed you to listen to the actual conversations next door. Wifi was horrible and I knew more than they did on how to fix it. Very steep hills so beware between beach, rooms and lounge. 3 pools are fine but not resort like. Don't expect to sit by the pool while someone brings you a pina colada. Staff was friendly but at times very under prepared to handle any issues. Not close to town (Coco beach) so fairly isolated if you don't have a car. The price was about right in terms of value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Father Rooster's is a short walk from the resort and absolutely perfect.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Gatoredge
    Parker, CO
    Jul 19, 2011

    ok for value

    Scuba shop and boat was excellent. Lots of wildlife but unfortunetly the soft coral is mostly gone at this point. Breakfast was included and good being fruit, eggs, toast, rice, and a piece of bacon/sausage. Rooms are average. Very thin walls which allowed you to listen to the actual conversations next door. Wifi was horrible and I knew more than they did on how to fix it. Very steep hills so beware between beach, rooms and lounge. 3 pools are fine but not resort like. Don't expect to sit by the pool while someone brings you a pina colada. Staff was friendly but at times very under prepared to handle any issues. Not close to town (Coco beach) so fairly isolated if you don't have a car. The price was about right in terms of value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Father Rooster's is a short walk from the resort and absolutely perfect.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Arijana
    Atlanta, GA
    Jul 5, 2011

    Wonderful Resort

    We stayed at this resort for 10 days, and it was our first time in Costa Rica. All rooms have ocean view and it is the best view ever. Our room was on the highest level righ next to the infinite edge pool which offerd a great sunset view every night. The room was very clean. The staff was amazing, everyone was ready to help and offer advice. On our first day we met the owner Mr. Patel, which normally never happens. He was always available for any questions we may have had. The beach is a black sand beach, very clean and the water was clear. We were travelling out of season so the resort and the beach were not too busy. The resort has 3 big pools. Also, breakfast was included which was great. They offered a variety of choices for breakfast including a omlet made as you wish. We booked a one day adventure tour through the hotel which was $390 for both of us and it was worth it. We went to the Burlinque Park. The tour inlcuded horseback riding, zip-lining, lunch, ATVs & the mud bath. Andres was our tour guide and he was wonderful, he took pictures of us and plus stopped at a grocery store on our way back so that we could stack up on goods we needed for the resort. The hotel does't have anything within walking distance but one restaurant called Father Rooster. The closest town is Coco Beach and it's only 5 minute drive, the taxi fee is $7.00 in one direction. I would definitely stay here again, however if you don't like animals than this may not be the place for you. We saw exotic birds, racoons, iguanas, and monkeys all around us but none of them were annoying or scary. Again, wonderful resort and loved every minute of it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Father Rooster - It had great food and it was only a 2 minute walk down the beach from the resort.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Arijana
    Atlanta, GA
    Jul 5, 2011

    Wonderful Resort

    We stayed at this resort for 10 days, and it was our first time in Costa Rica. All rooms have ocean view and it is the best view ever. Our room was on the highest level righ next to the infinite edge pool which offerd a great sunset view every night. The room was very clean. The staff was amazing, everyone was ready to help and offer advice. On our first day we met the owner Mr. Patel, which normally never happens. He was always available for any questions we may have had. The beach is a black sand beach, very clean and the water was clear. We were travelling out of season so the resort and the beach were not too busy. The resort has 3 big pools. Also, breakfast was included which was great. They offered a variety of choices for breakfast including a omlet made as you wish. We booked a one day adventure tour through the hotel which was $390 for both of us and it was worth it. We went to the Burlinque Park. The tour inlcuded horseback riding, zip-lining, lunch, ATVs & the mud bath. Andres was our tour guide and he was wonderful, he took pictures of us and plus stopped at a grocery store on our way back so that we could stack up on goods we needed for the resort. The hotel does't have anything within walking distance but one restaurant called Father Rooster. The closest town is Coco Beach and it's only 5 minute drive, the taxi fee is $7.00 in one direction. I would definitely stay here again, however if you don't like animals than this may not be the place for you. We saw exotic birds, racoons, iguanas, and monkeys all around us but none of them were annoying or scary. Again, wonderful resort and loved every minute of it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Father Rooster - It had great food and it was only a 2 minute walk down the beach from the resort.

    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Kid
    ??
    May 14, 2011

    Great design&price but needs maintenance

    the hotel was in better condition in 2007

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    playa ocotal
    Apr 2, 2011

    awesome!

    this hotel was awesome. it included breakfast (buffet style most days). the staff were all very friendly and helpful. there were two pools - well maintained (one for laps and another for v-ball and swim up bar). the beach was black sand and very pretty. i especially loved diving and the guys who run the dive shop are excellent! very professional. clean. one of my favourite parts was hanging out on the private patio or pool (included in the villas) and watching the monkeys and iguanas!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    short walk to father roosters for dinner at ocotal (if you don't want to go into coco). taxi to coco is about $7 US. dinner at roosters is tasty and reasonable!

    Back to menu Return to top