$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Ocotal Beach Resort

3 stars
3 Kms From Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste/Liberia, 1-5019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
42 reviews
outstanding place for Costa Rica visit

if you are not looking for 4 seasons enclosed compound, this is perhaps the best and most... See full review

  • nd007
  • Aug 4, 2012
Is this Eden?

The view from the top pool!To my left is a cove with black sandy beaches that become rocky running... See full review

  • PIATT D
  • Dec 29, 2011
Ocean-view rooms, diving, fishing at Ocotal Beach Resort
Located just south of Playas del Coco, the Ocotal Beach Resort overlooks the southern Papagayo Gulf and the offshore Catalina Islands. With an on-site dive center and sport fishing charters, the Ocotal Beach Resort makes a good jumping-off point for water sports. Guests participate in activities like ziplining, rafting and hiking either on-site or in the nearby town. Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi, breakfast, tennis, fitness center and a small meeting space accommodates 20 people.
Highlights
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in public areas
  • Jacuzzis in all suites
  • Three outdoor swimming pools
Rooms
Standard rooms at Ocotal Beach Resort come furnished with two queen or single king beds including air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer and private terrace or balconies. Bungalow rooms offer two queen beds with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, walk-in closet, private parking space, private terrace. A semi-private pool sits outside each set of bungalows.
Features
The 4-star Ocotal Beach Resort stuns guests with its water sports-ready beachfront location and panoramic ocean views. The on-site dive center runs daily charters to popular sites like the Catalina and Bat islands. Venture out to fish for marlin, tuna, mahi mahi, sailfish and more. Cool off after a day of adventure in any of the three swimming pools. Soak in the Jacuzzi, workout in the fitness center or play some tennis at the on-site tennis courts. Guests dine any time at two on-site restaurants. The Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and groups reserve a small meeting space.
Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (22.8 mi/36.5 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (18.5 mi/29.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (28.8 mi/46.3 km)
  • Diria National Park (34.1 mi/54.6 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.5 mi/60.3 km)
  • Parque Nacional Las Baulas (46.3 mi/74.5 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park (60.7 mi/97.1 km)

 

Business
  • Small meeting space accommodates 20
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocotal Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Ocotal Beach Resort Rooms

STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room offers Two Queen or One King Size Bed

In Room Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • CD Players
  • HONEYMOON SUITE

    Honeymoon Suite offers a King Size Bed.

    With a Balcony and great mountain or ocean view. Settle onto the select comfort bed with cotton linens for an excellent night's rest.

    Includes:
  • Breakfasts Daily for Two
  • 1 Bottle of Wine
  • 1 Dinner for 2 at the hotel restaurant

  • Valid anytime, subject to availabilit. Offer may not include taxes or gratuities. Other restriccions may apply.

    In Room Amenities
  • FREE Wireles Internet
  • Flat Screen TVs
  • Coffee / Tea Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Independent Living Area
  • Dining Area
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Panoramic View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Safety Box
  • Refrigerator
  • CD Players
  • BEACH FRONT SUITE

    Suite Room offers a King Size Bed.

    "Ideal for couples, the suites number 510 have an independent living area, spacious bathrooms with Jacuzzi and an impressive panoramic view.

    The Ocean Suite is beachfront with a spacious bathroom, living and dining area, refrigerator and private terrace.

    In Room Amenities
  • Independent Living Area
  • Dining Area
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Panoramic View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Safety Box
  • Refrigerator
  • CD Players
  • BUNGALOW JUNIOR SUITE

    Bungalow Junior Suites Offers Two Queen Size Beds.

    Newly remodeled and located along a cliff overlooking Ocotal bay, between the Reception and the beach, the spacious duplex Bungalows provide more privacy in a classy ambience.
    Extra features include refrigerator, private parking space and a plunge pool with ocean view (every 2 bungalows share a pool).

    In Room Amenities

  • Plunge Pool
  • Private Parking Space
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • Refridgerator
  • CD Players
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Roca Bruja Restaurant
    "Roca Bruja Restaurant", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Sitting on the top of a cliff and surrounded by a 270 degree view of the Pacific Ocean, Ocotal's main restaurant, "Roca Bruja", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (42)

    Ratings and reviews for Ocotal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    3.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    42 out of 42
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Room cleanliness:
    3.6
    Hotel staff:
    3.6
    Room comfort:
    3.5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3.5

    71% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    nd007
    Business
    North Carolina
    Aug 4, 2012

    outstanding place for Costa Rica visit

    if you are not looking for 4 seasons enclosed compound, this is perhaps the best and most picturesque place in Costa Rica.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mighty Young Joe
    Business
    Grapevine TEXAS
    Aug 3, 2012

    Beautiful Views - Great Value

    Hightly recomended - Best value for your money if you are not looking to be pampered. Dive shop is one of the best in country. Father Rooster was a recommended place to eat on another review I read but was not all that ----- Hermosa has better .

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Playa Hermosa

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    BMF10
    Business
    New Jersey
    Apr 10, 2012

    Ocotal Beach Resort

    Unbelievable views from the top of the hill. Modest amenities and a restaurant on the premises, though after 3 days or so we started looking for alternatives. Hotel needs improvements. Rooms are clean but after a heavy rain we had ants in our room for a few days. Local beach is nice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    NaToya
    Business
    Cincinnati, OH, USA
    Apr 4, 2012

    Great vacation!!

    Staff was very helpful, excursions were awesome. We went on excursions daily the Palo river boat & Nicaragua was my favorite, the kids was The National Park tour & ATV. I felt very safe, & the staff was very accommodating!! We ate for the most part at Father Roosters which was a 5-8 min walk on the beach. The only wildlife we saw on the property were iguanas & a few birds. The Palo river boat tour allowed us to see everything Costa Rica is known for; monkeys, bats, crocodiles, beautiful birds & different trees/plant species. I will stay here again when I return next year.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    TheCrow
    Business
    Castle Rock, CO, USA
    Mar 27, 2012

    We were a bad example

    Initial impressions are that you ARE in a 4 star resort, though you can see the wear on this once nice place. There are two security checks to get in and the weather was nice so we slept with the patio doors open...mistake. Somehow a beach bum sneaked up the path from the beach and grabbed our cell phones and everything on the floor into my roommates bag. Though our big money and passports were in the safe, he managed to get away with a couple hundred dollars. Our contributory negligence notwithstanding, the hotel offered nothing in aide or comfort, much less compensation. In fact, the collect calls to the bank to arrange for more funds showed up at check out as $150 for two calls. I could see where someone would have a great time here, we just couldn't, so I won't recommend the resort The food and drinks in town were neither great nor cheap. The ocean was affected by 'red tide' preventing swimming, snorkeling or recreating at all on the beach for the smell. I got certified to dive there, and the crew was perfect. Completely honest, patient and very friendly. I'm not interested that this review gets posted or not, SOMEone has to have bad karma once in a while and I think both they and we were experiencing it at the time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    not much going on at the resort with that tide there, so Coco is the only place with food and drinks close by. The tours we heard second hand were good and we found one on our own in town that was better I think but it's probably best to call it risky.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    SSRB
    Business
    NJ
    Mar 25, 2012

    More retreat than resort

    While this hotel provides a wonderful view, its extremely remote location and lack of activities left us disappointed. If you are looking for a place relax by the pool, this may be the place for you (but the pools, as well as the grounds could be better maintained). If you are impressed by the "oceanview rooms" be warned that his hotel sits atop a very large mountain and that the beach is a long (hot) walk down and back up very steep slopes to get to the very narrow, rocky beach. Additionally, the black sand looks pretty, but it is extremely hot and it is a sticky sand, so it is not a good spot for laying out. Nearby, Coco Beach is a much bigger beach with nicer, smoother, cleaner sand but it will cost you $6 taxi fee each direction from the hotel. Overall, the view was beautiful, but this definitely should not be considered a "resort", and is not recommended for those seeking excitement, variety, or entertainment--if you are looking to hide away, this may be the place for you.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    The menu is static, so if you are staying a week or more, you will be limited with dining choices: the hotel restaurant lists only the same 6 entrees every evening. Additionally, although alcohol is served, there is not a bar or lounge area.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    kimkj
    Business
    Oklahoma City, OK, USA
    Mar 24, 2012

    Wonderful family or couples resort.

    The views from all rooms was amazing! Staff was extremely hospitable, knowledgeable and eager to please. Everything was as we expected. The tour company located at the resort (Mardigi Tours) was outstanding! They go above and beyond on their tours with competitve prices. Will definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to the Guancaste area of Costa Rica! Thank you Ocotal Beach Resort and Mardigi Tours!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Santiago del Norte
    Business
    New Mexico, USA
    Feb 12, 2012

    Great view...OK resort

    The resort is definitely a little old and in need of some re-furbishing but the location was great due to the tremendous views. One major negative is the walls are paper thin and if you have noisy neighbors that could be a problem. Breakfast buffet was pretty good and we had many of our meals at Roosters which is on the beach and not connected to the hotel. If you like to fish....go for the Pez Gallo (roosterfish) since this is a great location to catch them.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Go to Roosters for a varied menu and good food.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    grolsch
    Business
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Feb 6, 2012

    Nice quiet place, relaxed atmosphere

    Had a great time relaxing at Ocotal Resort with my girlfriend for a week. Staff was helpful and mostly fluent in English. The views were fantastic, well kept grounds with iguanas, coatis, and some beautiful birds roaming around. We had a suite which was large, clean and comfortable. This resort is a couple of miles from Coco and kind of limited as far as dining options within walking distance but only a $6 taxi ride to Coco. The beach is down a steep hill which was sometimes a long haul back up after a few cocktails, but a shuttle service is available.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    PIATT D
    Business
    Denton,tx
    Dec 29, 2011

    Is this Eden?

    The view from the top pool!To my left is a cove with black sandy beaches that become rocky running up to the mountains.My front view is the beautiful blue Pacific with far off mountain peaks.To my right is a stunning cove with a black sandy beach and the cove is dotted with fishing and sail boats. I could go on forever about this stunning resort.I looked at other much more expensive resorts but nothing could touch this if for sheer beauty alone!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

    Marvin with Mardigi can help you with bargain tours or just free info on everything concerning his beautiful countryMarvin can help plan your entire vacation or just keep you out of trouble such as do not drive your rent car across the border to the north!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top