$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 5, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Ocotal Beach Resort

3 stars
3 Kms From Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste/Liberia, 1-5019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
42 reviews
outstanding place for Costa Rica visit

if you are not looking for 4 seasons enclosed compound, this is perhaps the best and most... See full review

  • nd007
  • Aug 4, 2012
Is this Eden?

The view from the top pool!To my left is a cove with black sandy beaches that become rocky running... See full review

  • PIATT D
  • Dec 29, 2011
Ocean-view rooms, diving, fishing at Ocotal Beach Resort
Located just south of Playas del Coco, the Ocotal Beach Resort overlooks the southern Papagayo Gulf and the offshore Catalina Islands. With an on-site dive center and sport fishing charters, the Ocotal Beach Resort makes a good jumping-off point for water sports. Guests participate in activities like ziplining, rafting and hiking either on-site or in the nearby town. Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi, breakfast, tennis, fitness center and a small meeting space accommodates 20 people.
Highlights
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in public areas
  • Jacuzzis in all suites
  • Three outdoor swimming pools
Rooms
Standard rooms at Ocotal Beach Resort come furnished with two queen or single king beds including air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer and private terrace or balconies. Bungalow rooms offer two queen beds with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, safe deposit box, hairdryer, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, walk-in closet, private parking space, private terrace. A semi-private pool sits outside each set of bungalows.
Features
The 4-star Ocotal Beach Resort stuns guests with its water sports-ready beachfront location and panoramic ocean views. The on-site dive center runs daily charters to popular sites like the Catalina and Bat islands. Venture out to fish for marlin, tuna, mahi mahi, sailfish and more. Cool off after a day of adventure in any of the three swimming pools. Soak in the Jacuzzi, workout in the fitness center or play some tennis at the on-site tennis courts. Guests dine any time at two on-site restaurants. The Ocotal Beach Resort offers free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and groups reserve a small meeting space.
Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (22.8 mi/36.5 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (18.5 mi/29.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (28.8 mi/46.3 km)
  • Diria National Park (34.1 mi/54.6 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.5 mi/60.3 km)
  • Parque Nacional Las Baulas (46.3 mi/74.5 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park (60.7 mi/97.1 km)

 

Business
  • Small meeting space accommodates 20
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas

Hotel Map

10.5448 -85.7233
Area served
Located 8 klms from Playas del Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
Daniel Oduber Liberia's International Airport is located around 25 Kms from our Resort
Area description
Playa Ocotal is a calm, sandy beach, about a third of a mile long; it's ideal for swimming, snorkeling, and other outdoor activities. It's also a perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocotal Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Ocotal Beach Resort Rooms

STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room offers Two Queen or One King Size Bed

In Room Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • CD Players
  • HONEYMOON SUITE

    Honeymoon Suite offers a King Size Bed.

    With a Balcony and great mountain or ocean view. Settle onto the select comfort bed with cotton linens for an excellent night's rest.

    Includes:
  • Breakfasts Daily for Two
  • 1 Bottle of Wine
  • 1 Dinner for 2 at the hotel restaurant

  • Valid anytime, subject to availabilit. Offer may not include taxes or gratuities. Other restriccions may apply.

    In Room Amenities
  • FREE Wireles Internet
  • Flat Screen TVs
  • Coffee / Tea Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Independent Living Area
  • Dining Area
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Panoramic View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Safety Box
  • Refrigerator
  • CD Players
  • BEACH FRONT SUITE

    Suite Room offers a King Size Bed.

    "Ideal for couples, the suites number 510 have an independent living area, spacious bathrooms with Jacuzzi and an impressive panoramic view.

    The Ocean Suite is beachfront with a spacious bathroom, living and dining area, refrigerator and private terrace.

    In Room Amenities
  • Independent Living Area
  • Dining Area
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Panoramic View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Safety Box
  • Refrigerator
  • CD Players
  • BUNGALOW JUNIOR SUITE

    Bungalow Junior Suites Offers Two Queen Size Beds.

    Newly remodeled and located along a cliff overlooking Ocotal bay, between the Reception and the beach, the spacious duplex Bungalows provide more privacy in a classy ambience.
    Extra features include refrigerator, private parking space and a plunge pool with ocean view (every 2 bungalows share a pool).

    In Room Amenities

  • Plunge Pool
  • Private Parking Space
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable / Satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Maker
  • Alarm Clock
  • Telephone with Direct International Access
  • Hairdryer
  • Private Terrace or Balcony
  • Safety Box
  • Refridgerator
  • CD Players
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Roca Bruja Restaurant
    "Roca Bruja Restaurant", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Sitting on the top of a cliff and surrounded by a 270 degree view of the Pacific Ocean, Ocotal's main restaurant, "Roca Bruja", is regarded as one of Costa Rica's most picturesque spots.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (42)

    Ratings and reviews for Ocotal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    3.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    42 out of 42
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Room cleanliness:
    3.6
    Hotel staff:
    3.6
    Room comfort:
    3.5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3.5

    71% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Triportwo
    Canada
    Dec 7, 2012

    Beach Resort

    Ocotal Beach Resort was a great way to end a wonderful 2 week vacation, we stayed here, because it was only a half an hour away from the Liberia airport, and wanted to stay on the coast before our early flight out. Although the resort is a little worn, it certainly has charm, and amazing views! If you want a 5 star, with all the amenities, and no costarican authenticity, stay at an all inclusive! Enjoyed the stay!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Carol cr
    Business
    San José, Costa Rica
    Jul 28, 2014

    Nice!

    Nice hotel, the restarant has a beautiful view ! There are 3 pools! One of them is super close to the beach!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Rchavesco
    Business
    San Jose, Costa RIca
    Jul 14, 2014

    Fantastic Place

    Amazing Ocean View, confortable rooms, good swimming pool. Need a little care about building maintence.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Father Roadster

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    RandallF
    Business
    Chicago
    Jan 27, 2014

    NO NO NO

    If you are going to Guanacaste in the Playa del Coco area DO NOT use this hotel. First of all, it is very difficult to find. When we finally found it there was confusion from the guards at the 3 security checkpoints we had to go through. The entrance to the ocean view rooms are like an office door lock that you must use going out or in. What happens if there is a fire??? You must open it with a door key and push curtains aside to enter. The bed in my room was VERY uncomfortable; the AC was not working correctly, and the water pressure was very low.. We had dinner in their restaurant; the food was VERY bad for all 3 of us. I ordered a gin tonic and the tonic was flat. The server did finally fix that with opening a new can of tonic water. He explained the carbon dioxide was low in the machine. The margarita tasted funny for another friend. The breakfast the next morning (which came with the stay) was bland. Every pool and/or jacuzzi were filthy; looks like it hasn't been cleaned in months. Unfortunately, the place is so isolated it's difficult to go anywhere else to eat. When I asked the receptionist at the front desk if there was a shuttle available to the Liberia Airport (20 minutes away) she said it would be $60 (what a rip off)! We only paid $50 each for a shuttle from Manuel Antonio area to Guanacaste which is a 4 hour ride the day before. .Do yourself a favor and stay in Playa Hermosa; we saw lots of very nice hotels in that area which is only 10 minutes away and even closer to the Liberia Airport.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Sad tourist costa rica
    Business
    Brazil
    Jan 8, 2014

    DON´T GO!

    I can tell you... it does not worthy!, You think it´s a beautiful resort... Well, nature there is perfect. That´s the good thing. Staff is really bad! They charged us 2x our 150 dollars New´s Year Dinner... And said it was a mistake! Things like that happened a lot... We almost had a fight to have a small minibar at our room, because they said there was none anymore... We spent 12 days asking to fix the safebox... It was not fixed, so we didnt had it. Pools are always dirty. We were 3 people but only 2 towels were given each day, so we needed to ask for the 3rd one every single day... If you go dont´ stay at the beach... there are employees who use to work at late night (I mean 3 or 4 am) next to your place... it´s weird because they dont tell you... So you wake up in the middle of the night with a guy at your window and it´s normal!!! Tissues, linens not always dirty. Get your own toillete paper because sometimes they forget to put it for you... Ok, breakfast is nice and some people who work there too... But definetely, I would not recommend... because you pay for something you won´t get! And Ocotal is far away everything... I suggest you yo be around Tamarindo or Playa Grande... We had a 4x4 rented car, but needed to travel around 1 -2 hour everyday to go to other nice playas... total 2-4 hours driving per day...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    C.L.J.C.
    Business
    Iowa
    Jul 18, 2013

    Worst experience ever!!!

    They gave us a king bed for four people, when we booked two doubles. The jacuzzi, the ice machines, the lights, everything was broken! The restaurant staff was friendly, but the chef refused to prepare half the menut. Our room floor was filthy, and the beds were as hard as a rock. To get to the beach was challenging from the hotel. There was no where near the hotel to purchase anything, you had to drive a long ways. When we requested compensation because of the fact everything was broken and because of the terrible service we received, they told us that was not possible, so they gave us a free dinner. At that free dinner, they couldn't prepare what we wanted (they said they ran out of ingredients) and refused to give us dessert. An all around SUB-PAR hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    There's a restaurant just outside of the complex that serves Amazing food with an amazing atmosphere (right on the beach) it's called Father Roosters

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    kerjo
    Business
    riverside,ct.
    May 28, 2013

    good for value

    swim up bar was not open , gym was not open for whole stay

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Jackie Chicago
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    Apr 22, 2013

    Ocotal was in disrepair

    This hotel needs some lovin'! Chips in the tile floor of our room, the ice machine by our room didn't work (so we had to hike it to the one up a steep hill from our room), and the hotel restaurant was often out of items. On the upside, the staff was friendly, the location felt very secure, and the pools were nice for watching the sunset. We didn't go down to the beach because the water didn't look healthy. There were much nicer beaches to visit in Costa Rica, I don't think I'd go back here.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    linzi2013
    Business
    Waukesha, wi
    Apr 7, 2013

    Great view and location

    We really liked the location of the hotel as it was a short cab ride ($6 each way) to the town nearby (Playas del Coco) where we could experience different restaurants and shops. The resort had great views and the black sand beach of Ocotal was nice. The breakfast was simple but good. The only other meal we had at the restaurant was pizza and it was excellent. We paid a little extra to stay in the bungalo and would definitely recommend it. We had a nice private patio with a small pool outside our room that we enjoyed. We stayed in 210, which was right in between the restaurant/main lobby and the beach, which was convenient. The room was very spacious. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The staff at the resort was very nice, helpful and always smiling. We knew going into this vacation that the resort was not five star, so it met our expectations. For example the bathrooms are not modern or fancy. We would recommend this resort to others who are looking for an alternative to the all inclusive resorts, where you can experience the culture, town, and excursions on the vacation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    YCat
    Business
    seattle
    Jan 27, 2013

    could have done better some where else

    Ocotal Beach Resort is far from a resort status. Rumor has it, the hotel is up for sale, and it looks like the owner has not kept up with basic repair. The service was poor. I was very disappointed.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Triportwo
    Business
    Canada
    Dec 7, 2012

    Beach Resort

    Ocotal Beach Resort was a great way to end a wonderful 2 week vacation, we stayed here, because it was only a half an hour away from the Liberia airport, and wanted to stay on the coast before our early flight out. Although the resort is a little worn, it certainly has charm, and amazing views! If you want a 5 star, with all the amenities, and no costarican authenticity, stay at an all inclusive! Enjoyed the stay!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top