$379 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Buena, Golfo Papagayo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
85 reviews
relaxing getaway

Very beautiful locale..private and enjoyable staff was ok young and inexoerienced but accomdating.... See full review

  • pisao
  • Nov 14, 2014
Great resort

The rooms were average, but the hotel staff was excellent. The resort grounds are beautiful. Highly... See full review

  • Josap
  • May 12, 2013
The luxurious, open-air lobby of the Occidental Grand Papagayo transports guests with the exotic trappings of a pure tropical escape.

The untamed, natural beauty of Costa Rica's Northern Pacific coastline echoes the sentiment. From spectacular bluffs to warm ocean waters below, the unspoiled ecodiversity this rich land offers simply carved out the perfect spot for the Occidental Grand Papagayo.

This exclusive, all-inclusive resort where premium service meets a breathtaking location is just a 35-minute ride from Liberia International Airport.

With over 160 rooms situated in 23 buildings, the Occidental Grand Papagayo blends harmoniously along the bluff showcasing stunning ocean views and extraordinary sunsets. The all-inclusive rates allow guests to enjoy meals in three restaurants, unlimited snacks and drinks, including an open bar in four bar areas, a weekly cocktail party, endless daily activities and sports, Fun Club and live evening entertainment-all included in the nightly room rate. Couples, newlyweds, families and business travelers alike can find their way to Pura Vida, or "pure life," and open their minds to the limitless adventure possibilities in this incredible setting.

HOTEL AMENITIES-
*Pool
*Conference Facilities
*Free Breakfast
*Free Parking
Concierge
*Restaurant
*Spa services
*High Speed Internet
*Health Club
*Room service
*Handicapped Rooms/Facilities
*Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

GRAND CONCIERGE DELUXE
Grand Concierge Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
*Partial View of Bahia Culebra
*Concierge Service
* Internet Stations
*Fruit Basket
*Bottle of Wine
*Turn Down Service
*Discount in Spa Treatment
*Plush Bath Robes to Wear During Your Stay
DELUXE OCEAN VIEW
Deluxe Ocean View Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
Beautiful Ocean Views of Culebra Bay.
ROYAL CLUB JUNIOR SUITE
Royal Club Junior Suite Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
Royal Club is a perfect experience for guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities.

Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including:
*Private Balcony / Terrace *Luxurious Linens and Pillows *Etro Toiletries *Nightly Turndown Service
*Fruit Basket and Plush Bath Robes *Private Check-in and Check-out Receptions
*Private Bar Service exclusive to the Royal Club members

VIP room amenities in The Royal Club:

*DVD Player *Personal Concierge Service *Stocked Mini Bar
*In-Room Dining *Private Areas *The Royal Club Lounge which is a sophisticated
*Open-Air Drawing Room where guests enjoy cocktails
*Panoramic Ocean Views from Every Seat in the House
DELUXE ROOM
Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
ROYAL CLUB LUXURY ROOM
Royal Club Luxury Rooms feature 1 King or 2 Twin Beds
Royal Club is a perfect experience for guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities.

Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including:
*Private Balcony / Terrace *Luxurious Linens and Pillows *Etro Toiletries *Nightly Turndown Service
*Fruit Basket and Plush Bath Robes *Private Check-in and Check-out Receptions
*Private Bar Service exclusive to the Royal Club members

VIP room amenities in The Royal Club:

*DVD Player *Personal Concierge Service *Stocked Mini Bar
*In-Room Dining *Private Areas *The Royal Club Lounge which is a sophisticated
*Open-Air Drawing Room where guests enjoy cocktails
*Panoramic Ocean Views from Every Seat in the House
GRAND ROMANCE DELUXE
Grand Romance Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
*Bottle of champagne
*Chocolate Covered Strawberries
*Couples Massage
*First Morning Breakfast in Bed
*Romantic Dinner
*Turn Down Service
*Discount in Spa Treatment
*A Surprise Gift
*Special Amenities for Romantic Occasion and Plush Bathrobes to wear during your stay

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

The Snack Bar
Snacks, Cocktails & Drinks
The Italian
Italian cuisine served in a la carte setting. Reservations with Guest Services required.
The Lounge
Elegant surroundings for cocktails & drinks.
The Disco
Late night entertainment with cocktails and drinks.
L'Buffet
Buffet restaurant offering an excellent international cuisine.
Breakfast 7:00 a.m.- 10:00 a.m.
Lunch 12:30 m.d.- 3:00 p.m.
Dinner7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Snacks 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
The Lobby Bar
Casual meeting for cocktails & drinks.
D'Oriental
Pan Asian cuisine served in a la carte setting. Reservations with Guest Services required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 85
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cubby Girl
Business
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

Excellent Value

We were looking for an all inclusive for the last 2 days of a 12 day vacation in Costa Rica close to the Liberia Airport. We found the perfect gem to meet our needs. Great Pool, Beach Access, Activities, Entertainment. If staying for longer, I would have preferred a room with a view and not on the ground level - a choice when booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pura Vida for Julia
Business
Berkeley, California
Aug 15, 2012

Great people, Great place, it truly is PURA VIDA!

If you want a vacation where you can relax this is the ideal place. The atmosphere is very calm, the staff is super attentive, genuinely nice and the food is Delicious. We went to the two restaurants that they have there, special shout out to Raul! from the Italian restaurant for his great service. In reality all of the staff really did make sure that we felt at home. I would also like to give Juan Pablo a shout out for his great customer service. I will definitely be going back next summer. ~Pura Vida~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del coco is the place to go if you are looking for a night life. It is 20 minutes away from the Hotel. Its like a mini Vegas in the middle of a beautiful, calm country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timer
Business
New jersey
May 25, 2012

Relaxing trip

my first trip to costa rica..the hotel was beautiful, with great views. The room was clean..The staff there was great, very friendly and accommodating. The food was not so good.. the buffet style restaurant became redundant after a few days. There were 2 restaurants which were by reservation only, but since it was off season, only one opened at a time-we got to eat at The Italian, where the pasta seemed watered down. The nightlife was non existent! There is a club and a bar there, but always empty. Overall a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Beach is good for souvenier shopping, and bars. Short taxi ride that can be arranged by hotel staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john2104
Business
Georgia, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Good trip but read this review

When we got to the airport there are people all over hassling for your business, taxi should cost $50-60, no more for 3 people. Make sure and i mean make sure you tell them Occidental Grand, we got took to Occidental Papagayo for $60. Discovered the mistake and cost another $50 to get there. If you are here for scuba diving, dives were bad with bad visibility, didnt see much at all, 10 foot visibility, forget diving here. If you happen to get lucky and water is clear, it might be great but doubt that happens often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Cocoe beach ia awesome night life but there are lots of prostitutres and some tranvestites, be careful. Do not pay more then $80 for 2 tank dive, hotel staff offered us dive for $150, they pocket the comission. Book a dive directly with memosa beach dive shops, gay guy on the resort dive shop is booking trips for $120 to pocket the difference. Rooms smell like mold, but we didnt spend much time there. Service other then dive shop is excellent, staff is very helpful and friendly, food was not bad. Oriental restaurant was great. Prepare to do lots of walking, shuttle can be very slow if they are busy. If you have knee problems do not come here. It is a 3 start not 4 but if you drink, you will probably will like it here

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lo & Liz
Business
New York
Feb 20, 2011

Disappointed

When we arrived to the resort we were shocked to hear that our reservations were not in the system and the hotel was full. Luckily, we were prepared with a printout and details of the delux ocean view room we had paid for. We were told we would be downgraded to another room until the next opened up. The first room we were placed in had a horrible sewage smell throughout the bathroom and room. We complained that the room was uninhabitable so they then moved us to a villa down the road in which we had to be shuttled back and forth for our meals. The following day we were moved to the room we had originally paid for, but after only a short two nights there we were told that the room required major repairs in the bathroom and we would have to be moved again. Overall we found the front desk manager, [...], to be rude and condescending, perhaps because we were two females. The guest services representative, [...], was much more helpful, accommodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Horseback riding was amazing!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 25, 2011

Not what I paid for.

My three friends and I arrived to the Hotel at 730pm we were told that they didn't have my reservation. Thank God I had a copy of my itinerary with me. Because the hotel was overbooked they placed us in a hotel that looked like a motel next door. (showers didnt work in one room and bathrooms were dirty, so my friends had to be moved) We were told that everything will be fixed by the following day....not true. The following day there were no rooms still available. Later that afernoon we were notified that they can get us 2 rooms but not what we paid for. We were placed in a garden view king size room. In one of the rooms the bathroom AC didnt work and the bathroom ceiling had a hole in it and a lot of mildew. We were told thats all they had at the moment. That they will try to work with us but still had no reservation from [...]to verified that we were suppost to be there. I did email you notifying you of this disaster. [...]. I have a letter from the hotel stating that we didnt not stay there for the first night of our trip due to the fact that [...]never sent the reservation as well as not receiving the ocean view double bed rooms or the 5 start service that we paid for due to the hotel been over booked.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Apr 26, 2010

Nice Resort

The room was good except for the fridge not being fully stock daily as expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pb & J
Business
Raleigh
Dec 21, 2009

Good Staff, old place

we booked 2 rooms - 1 had a safe, 1 didn't, 1 had an alarm clock,in the other room we were told it was "an upgrade". coffee makers were in rooms, but no coffee pots or coffee. Shortage of towels in rooms and at pool. We booked for a week - stayed for 3 nights....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms. Okay Stay
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 4, 2009

Everything You To Know

The hotel lobby was beautiful! The view is pictured above and it looks identical to what I saw. However, the rooms were a different story. The first room that they attempted to place me in appeared to be "OK" until I took a peek into the bathroom. The shower was supposed to be white but it was so filthy and moldy that it looked more greyish brown than anything else. I asked for a different room. The 2nd room was barely better. There were food crumbs and a previous guests hair piece under the bed but the bathroom looked better at first glance. The shower had black marble tile throughout (so that you couldn't see the dirt as much)but the sink was clogged. There was also one thing missing...A SHOWER CURTAIN! I had to call the front desk 3 times for a curtain! Then, when the cleaning lady finally showed up, she was holding towels instead of a curtain??? I was there for 4 days and I never did receive my shower curtain! Other problems? There seemed to be a shortage of towels and wash clothes all the time. I spoke with other guests and they had similar problems (The hotel would run out and you would have to wait for more to be used and laundered). We also experienced a few short power outages while staying there. Everything goes completely dark. This probably happened about 3 times in 4 days and it is very spooky when it happens at night. Another problem was the fact that they advertise two places to dine for dinner but good luck getting in. The restaurants are always booked. They told us that we would be unable to eat there because both restaurants were booked for the whole week??? Um... let's see, there was a stray cat at the resort that would beg for your food while eating near the pool. There were also large black birds that would swoop down and grab food off of the food bar outside. There were a million bees surrounding the outside drinking bar at the pool so you really couldn't enjoy sitting there. Oh yeah and the sand is not white (due to volcanoes), it's dark. There were a couple of good things about the trip. The staff was friendly and the buffet was pretty good I just wish my room had been cleaner and that I had received a shower curtain. Beware: The hotel offers different tours that you can pay for. I paid for the Panchanga Boat Tour. It's advertised as a "Sunset Boat" with a live band, music, open bar and drinks for $35. The boat was dirty and wet, there was no band and no music! The ATV Tour was much better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The ATV Tour was awesome! A taxi comes to pick you up and takes you over to the ATVs. Then, you ride through rainforests, streams and back in the country. It's beautiful and we saw things like monkeys,chickens,cows and horses (which look very different than our animals in the U.S.). You can also make a special request if there is something that you really want to see and they will take you. We went to an elementary school and the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 4, 2009

Girls going away trip!

The resort was in an excellent location. Resort had beutiful views at every angle you stand. when we first arrived our room were not ready until 7pm. we arrived from a 9 hr flight at 12 noon. Finally after all the complaining we started to do (after 3-check out time) they gave us room. I orginally requested 2 beds, they wanted give us a king bed. refured the room so they gave us a 2bed dirty room. Overall staff was pleasent especially the the activity host. The food was not the best. The resort is super relaxing. If you are looking for a party resort than this s not it. But extremely peaceful. Finally, its a safe safe country and the Ticos & Ticas are so so pleasent and friendly. Enjoy your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

While we were there we did the Buena Vista all day tour, which included Canopy, horseback riding, Water slide (which was near death experience). Buena vista is approx. a 3 hour drive from resort, but with beautiful sites. This tour is a must do activity. Also the sunset walk was cool..you leave from the resort and take a 20 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top