$379 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Buena, Golfo Papagayo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
84 reviews
relaxing getaway

Very beautiful locale..private and enjoyable staff was ok young and inexoerienced but accomdating.... See full review

  • pisao
  • Nov 14, 2014
Great resort

The rooms were average, but the hotel staff was excellent. The resort grounds are beautiful. Highly... See full review

  • Josap
  • May 12, 2013
Premier Guanacaste all-inclusive resort overlooks secluded Culebra Bay
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica, the Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Oriented All Inclusive offers modern luxury and lush tropical landscape. Overlooking the bluffs of Culebra Bay on the Papagayo Gulf, this adults-only resort is surrounded by nature and makes for an ideal haven for couples, honeymooners and adult guests seeking a relaxing getaway. Occidental Grand Papagayo features highly personalized five-star experience complete with scenic views of Papagayo Bay and an attentive and dedicated staff. 

The all-inclusive property boasts of multiple restaurants and bars, on-site activities and live evening entertainment. The Occidental Grand Papagayo All-Inclusive offers high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and flexible meeting and event spaces. The resort is only a 35 minute drive from the Liberia International airport.
Highlights
  • Overlooks Culebra Bay on the Papagaya Gulf
  • All-inclusive covers meals and open bars
  • Two swimming pools
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Weekly cocktail party
Rooms
With over 160 rooms situated in 23 buildings, the Occidental Grand Papagayo All-Inclusive is designed to fit nearly any budget. From deluxe guest rooms to plush suites, all accommodations are decked out with subtle colors and hardwood furnishings. Rooms come equipped with either single king-size beds or pairs of double beds. Standard in-room amenities include safe boxes, satellite TVs, telephone with data ports, and mini refrigerators. Some rooms also have oceanfront balconies, hydro-massage bathtubs and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).
Features

The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Papagayo sits on the beach of Culebra Bay, where guests can find their choice of activities, from relaxing spa treatments, to water sports and eco-tours. The Occidental Grand Papagayo features two swimming pools and a hot tub. Premium pampering is available at the spa, with outdoor massages, facials and salon services. Guests can choose from four restaurants, and all-inclusive packages include unlimited drinks at the hotel's four bars and on-site disco. Non-motorized water sports from the beach, like kayaking and snorkeling, are also included, and guests can pay extra for diving tours or off-site eco tours. Wedding and event groups can find three flexible event spaces, and business travelers will appreciate the business center with high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
Attractions
  • Liberia (24.4 mi/39 km)
  • Africa Mia (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Rincón de la Vieja Volcano National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
  • Parque Nacional Las Baulas (44.2 mi/71.2 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • Flexible, air-conditioned meeting spaces
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

GRAND CONCIERGE DELUXE
Grand Concierge Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
*Partial View of Bahia Culebra
*Concierge Service
* Internet Stations
*Fruit Basket
*Bottle of Wine
*Turn Down Service
*Discount in Spa Treatment
*Plush Bath Robes to Wear During Your Stay
DELUXE OCEAN VIEW
Deluxe Ocean View Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
Beautiful Ocean Views of Culebra Bay.
ROYAL CLUB JUNIOR SUITE
Royal Club Junior Suite Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
Royal Club is a perfect experience for guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities.

Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including:
*Private Balcony / Terrace *Luxurious Linens and Pillows *Etro Toiletries *Nightly Turndown Service
*Fruit Basket and Plush Bath Robes *Private Check-in and Check-out Receptions
*Private Bar Service exclusive to the Royal Club members

VIP room amenities in The Royal Club:

*DVD Player *Personal Concierge Service *Stocked Mini Bar
*In-Room Dining *Private Areas *The Royal Club Lounge which is a sophisticated
*Open-Air Drawing Room where guests enjoy cocktails
*Panoramic Ocean Views from Every Seat in the House
DELUXE ROOM
Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
ROYAL CLUB LUXURY ROOM
Royal Club Luxury Rooms feature 1 King or 2 Twin Beds
Royal Club is a perfect experience for guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities.

Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including:
*Private Balcony / Terrace *Luxurious Linens and Pillows *Etro Toiletries *Nightly Turndown Service
*Fruit Basket and Plush Bath Robes *Private Check-in and Check-out Receptions
*Private Bar Service exclusive to the Royal Club members

VIP room amenities in The Royal Club:

*DVD Player *Personal Concierge Service *Stocked Mini Bar
*In-Room Dining *Private Areas *The Royal Club Lounge which is a sophisticated
*Open-Air Drawing Room where guests enjoy cocktails
*Panoramic Ocean Views from Every Seat in the House
GRAND ROMANCE DELUXE
Grand Romance Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
*Bottle of champagne
*Chocolate Covered Strawberries
*Couples Massage
*First Morning Breakfast in Bed
*Romantic Dinner
*Turn Down Service
*Discount in Spa Treatment
*A Surprise Gift
*Special Amenities for Romantic Occasion and Plush Bathrobes to wear during your stay

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

The Snack Bar
Snacks, Cocktails & Drinks
The Italian
Italian cuisine served in a la carte setting. Reservations with Guest Services required.
The Lounge
Elegant surroundings for cocktails & drinks.
The Disco
Late night entertainment with cocktails and drinks.
L'Buffet
Buffet restaurant offering an excellent international cuisine.
Breakfast 7:00 a.m.- 10:00 a.m.
Lunch 12:30 m.d.- 3:00 p.m.
Dinner7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Snacks 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
The Lobby Bar
Casual meeting for cocktails & drinks.
D'Oriental
Pan Asian cuisine served in a la carte setting. Reservations with Guest Services required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 25, 2011

Not what I paid for.

My three friends and I arrived to the Hotel at 730pm we were told that they didn't have my reservation. Thank God I had a copy of my itinerary with me. Because the hotel was overbooked they placed us in a hotel that looked like a motel next door. (showers didnt work in one room and bathrooms were dirty, so my friends had to be moved) We were told that everything will be fixed by the following day....not true. The following day there were no rooms still available. Later that afernoon we were notified that they can get us 2 rooms but not what we paid for. We were placed in a garden view king size room. In one of the rooms the bathroom AC didnt work and the bathroom ceiling had a hole in it and a lot of mildew. We were told thats all they had at the moment. That they will try to work with us but still had no reservation from [...]to verified that we were suppost to be there. I did email you notifying you of this disaster. [...]. I have a letter from the hotel stating that we didnt not stay there for the first night of our trip due to the fact that [...]never sent the reservation as well as not receiving the ocean view double bed rooms or the 5 start service that we paid for due to the hotel been over booked.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jen & Len
Business
Eatontown, NJ
Jun 8, 2011

Truth about the "Accidental" Grand Papa

We came here for our honeymoon and expected to stay at a reputable 5 star hotel but was extremely very unhappy. First of all the fact that you couldn't check into your room when you arrived and had to wait a few hours out in the heat with your belongings was the first red flag. We then had to wait 2 days for hot water in the shower. Every night we woke up in a pool of sweat because our air condition unit turned off between the hours of 2 and 5am (we we're in building number 1). The food that was served was terrible and what you ate for dinner was left overs for breakfast. Don't even bother with the food at the snack bar because that was even worse. We thought going to an all inclusive would be great but all the drinks were watered down. You could drink all day and not even feel drunk. As soon as you arrived the staff stalked you out to try to get you to sign up for a breakfast to sell you a time share. So annoying!! The tours through the hotel were very expensive and sucked. You're better off going through [...]who you can find at the beach. The country was absolutely beautiful once you got away from the hotel and everywhere we ate the food was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Cocco Beach for shopping and good local food. Seafood Papagayo is a great restaurant to go to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
papagayo
Dec 14, 2009

Horrible

horrible, don't recommend it to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

playa hermosa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 30, 2011

This Hotel is comparable to a Motel 6

My wife & I went to Costa Rica in May with family and friends. We would not stay at another Occidental Hotel after this experience. The BIGGEST focus of Management was trying to sell "Vacation Memberships" (code for Time Share). Customer service was completly absent. We tried to talk to the main manager at least 3 different times and were not even given the courtesy of a response back. The rooms were beat up. We were told we could get better rooms if we purchased their vacation membership. The buffet food was fair to poor. We had 8 people in our group and the hotel wouldn't let us book all 8 of us together in their speciality restaurants because they said they needed to let the other customers eat at the specialty restaurants (weren't us 8 all current customers also?). 4 of us were able to eat in the Italian restaurant where the food was good but the air conditioning didn't work properly so we were dripping sweat as we were trying to eat. Like many of the other reviews, we couldn't get bottled water in our room and the other individuals travling with us had the same problem getting water in their rooms. I was told by the individual at the front desk that this was a bad week for getting drinking water to the rooms. When I let this individual know that lack of water is a reaccuring issue on the travel reviews. I was then told by this individual that management only cared about their budget and they don't have enough bottled water to give to the rooms. If you think you might work out in the hotel gym while you're there, think again. The gym's air conditioning didn't work so for 5 minutes I tried to workout while standing in a sauna type atmosphere. The positivie to our vacation was vacationing with family & friends in beautiful Costa Rica. It was the first time in Costa Rica for all 8 of us. The country is beautiful and we enjoyed our excursions away from the hotel. I plan on going back to Costa Rica but I won't go back to the Occidental Grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We enjoyed all excursions outside of the hotel (ie. Canopy, Volcano, hot baths, mud baths, Palo Verde Jungle tour, exploring in rental vehicle)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Dec 28, 2009

Stay away from this hotel

The hotel sits on a hillside. The view is great, but you need to get hotel transportation to take you all around the property and they are very slow. The head of guest transportation was extremely rude and attempted to bully me into paying for a service that he did not deliver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pb & J
Business
Raleigh
Dec 21, 2009

Good Staff, old place

we booked 2 rooms - 1 had a safe, 1 didn't, 1 had an alarm clock,in the other room we were told it was "an upgrade". coffee makers were in rooms, but no coffee pots or coffee. Shortage of towels in rooms and at pool. We booked for a week - stayed for 3 nights....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati OH
May 20, 2010

Don't be fooled by the photos!

We read the reviews of this resort prior to booking and despite all the negatives, we decided to give it a try. We aren't experienced travelers and thought that mostly only negative experiences are reported. We regretted ignoring them right away. The pictures are nice, but what you can't see is how stained and tattered ALL the linens are. (from couches in lobby to curtains in rooms) They tried to give us a standard room even though we booked a suite, as well as the couple checking next to us. After touring 5 rooms we decided all linens/robes ect. were stained so we just settled for the good view. I mention the other couple b/c they booked the same package, checked them in the room next to us and after 3 hours and several phone calls we were bothed moved to another room. Maybe a pattern? The next major dissapointment was the food. Best compairason is an elementary school cafeteria... at best! You have to make reservations for the Italian/Oreintal btwn the hours of 8-11am, or else or can't eat there. Also, is only one of the two open a night. The grill no longer exists at this location. The snack bar is wretched! We basically ate so we didn't starve, never felt satisfied. We didn't meet anyone who thought the food was good. We were lucky enough to stay in Arenal region before checking in here and the food was amazing, we took pictures of every meal it was so impressive! So we did have something to compare to. Finally, Occidental properties own two resorts close together and there was another couple on one of the excursions from the sister resort. They said it was the same deal over there, and based on that I will never stay at a property owned by them again. I hated feeling disappointed every day of my very expensive vacation so I tried to focus on how wonderful and hard working the staff are. They make an effort to remember everyone's name which was a nice touch. We felt really ripped off for the price! I recommend comparing the number of negative reviews of this propery to the good ones, we wish we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 4, 2009

Girls going away trip!

The resort was in an excellent location. Resort had beutiful views at every angle you stand. when we first arrived our room were not ready until 7pm. we arrived from a 9 hr flight at 12 noon. Finally after all the complaining we started to do (after 3-check out time) they gave us room. I orginally requested 2 beds, they wanted give us a king bed. refured the room so they gave us a 2bed dirty room. Overall staff was pleasent especially the the activity host. The food was not the best. The resort is super relaxing. If you are looking for a party resort than this s not it. But extremely peaceful. Finally, its a safe safe country and the Ticos & Ticas are so so pleasent and friendly. Enjoy your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

While we were there we did the Buena Vista all day tour, which included Canopy, horseback riding, Water slide (which was near death experience). Buena vista is approx. a 3 hour drive from resort, but with beautiful sites. This tour is a must do activity. Also the sunset walk was cool..you leave from the resort and take a 20 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
visdavid
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Misleading advertising

I had multiple bad experiences and some good ones. If you want to know what to expect, read this. 1) high speed internet only in lobby, long walk from some rooms. 2) bar at pool only open until 5 pm, pool only open until 7 pm 3) Italian and Oriental restaurants are very good, but you are limited to how many times you can eat dinner anywhere but the buffet. The buffet is not good at all. I stayed 3 nights and got 1 good dinner ( I got a second good dinner after my complaint about what happened in item 6 below). 4) A lot of family and kids, not ideal for adult only honeymoon or getaway. 5) Staff is friendly (had to put a good thing down) 6) May let construction workers in your room without notice and they may smoke weed in your bathroom (yes this happened to me) 7) transport to hotel is not easy or cheap. make sure wherever you go to have transport organized before trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not happy in Michigan
Business
Commerce Township, Michigan
Mar 7, 2012

Phone didn't work all week!

Not that great. No phone all week. Lots of steps to get from your room to the lobby, restaurants and pool. They did have a van service they said to call 24 hours a day; but how could you if you didn't have a phone!! We couldn't get a wash cloth for 3 days. Finally, when we got one, we hid it in a nightstand drawer. No dressers in the rooms. Other than that we did have hot water and a toilet that worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure your phone works as there are alot of steps to get anyplace on the grounds. They have a van service to call.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top