$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Buena, Golfo Papagayo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
138 reviews
Great resort

The rooms were average, but the hotel staff was excellent. The resort grounds are beautiful. Highly... See full review

  • Josap
  • May 12, 2013
Great all-inclusive

This hotel was great. everyone who works there is friendly and extremely nice, who go out of there... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 3, 2011
Premier Guanacaste all-inclusive resort overlooks secluded Culebra Bay
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica, the Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Oriented All Inclusive offers modern luxury and lush tropical landscape. Overlooking the bluffs of Culebra Bay on the Papagayo Gulf, this adults-only resort is surrounded by nature and makes for an ideal haven for couples, honeymooners and adult guests seeking a relaxing getaway. Occidental Grand Papagayo features highly personalized five-star experience complete with scenic views of Papagayo Bay and an attentive and dedicated staff. 

The all-inclusive property boasts of multiple restaurants and bars, on-site activities and live evening entertainment. The Occidental Grand Papagayo All-Inclusive offers high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and flexible meeting and event spaces. The resort is only a 35 minute drive from the Liberia International airport.
Highlights
  • Overlooks Culebra Bay on the Papagaya Gulf
  • All-inclusive covers meals and open bars
  • Two swimming pools
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Weekly cocktail party
Rooms
With over 160 rooms situated in 23 buildings, the Occidental Grand Papagayo All-Inclusive is designed to fit nearly any budget. From deluxe guest rooms to plush suites, all accommodations are decked out with subtle colors and hardwood furnishings. Rooms come equipped with either single king-size beds or pairs of double beds. Standard in-room amenities include safe boxes, satellite TVs, telephone with data ports, and mini refrigerators. Some rooms also have oceanfront balconies, hydro-massage bathtubs and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).
Features

The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Papagayo sits on the beach of Culebra Bay, where guests can find their choice of activities, from relaxing spa treatments, to water sports and eco-tours. The Occidental Grand Papagayo features two swimming pools and a hot tub. Premium pampering is available at the spa, with outdoor massages, facials and salon services. Guests can choose from four restaurants, and all-inclusive packages include unlimited drinks at the hotel's four bars and on-site disco. Non-motorized water sports from the beach, like kayaking and snorkeling, are also included, and guests can pay extra for diving tours or off-site eco tours. Wedding and event groups can find three flexible event spaces, and business travelers will appreciate the business center with high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
Attractions
  • Liberia (24.4 mi/39 km)
  • Africa Mia (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Rincón de la Vieja Volcano National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
  • Parque Nacional Las Baulas (44.2 mi/71.2 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • Flexible, air-conditioned meeting spaces
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

10.589 -85.6704
Area served
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport San Jose International Airport
Area description
The Guanacaste area of Costa Rica offers many sightseeing tours, water sports, and exquisite experiences of the area's natural beauty.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

GRAND CONCIERGE DELUXE
Grand Concierge Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
*Partial View of Bahia Culebra
*Concierge Service
* Internet Stations
*Fruit Basket
*Bottle of Wine
*Turn Down Service
*Discount in Spa Treatment
*Plush Bath Robes to Wear During Your Stay
DELUXE OCEAN VIEW
Deluxe Ocean View Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
Beautiful Ocean Views of Culebra Bay.
ROYAL CLUB JUNIOR SUITE
Royal Club Junior Suite Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
Royal Club is a perfect experience for guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities.

Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including:
*Private Balcony / Terrace *Luxurious Linens and Pillows *Etro Toiletries *Nightly Turndown Service
*Fruit Basket and Plush Bath Robes *Private Check-in and Check-out Receptions
*Private Bar Service exclusive to the Royal Club members

VIP room amenities in The Royal Club:

*DVD Player *Personal Concierge Service *Stocked Mini Bar
*In-Room Dining *Private Areas *The Royal Club Lounge which is a sophisticated
*Open-Air Drawing Room where guests enjoy cocktails
*Panoramic Ocean Views from Every Seat in the House
DELUXE ROOM
Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
ROYAL CLUB LUXURY ROOM
Royal Club Luxury Rooms feature 1 King or 2 Twin Beds
Royal Club is a perfect experience for guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities.

Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including:
*Private Balcony / Terrace *Luxurious Linens and Pillows *Etro Toiletries *Nightly Turndown Service
*Fruit Basket and Plush Bath Robes *Private Check-in and Check-out Receptions
*Private Bar Service exclusive to the Royal Club members

VIP room amenities in The Royal Club:

*DVD Player *Personal Concierge Service *Stocked Mini Bar
*In-Room Dining *Private Areas *The Royal Club Lounge which is a sophisticated
*Open-Air Drawing Room where guests enjoy cocktails
*Panoramic Ocean Views from Every Seat in the House
GRAND ROMANCE DELUXE
Grand Romance Deluxe Rooms feature One King or Two Twin Beds
They are designed with chic, neutral colors on crisp linens, natural wood furnishings, tile floors, a private balcony or terrace with partial views of the bay and are equipped with modern conveniences.

In Room Amenities

*Private Bathroom with Shower / Bathtub *Hair Dryer *Cable TV *Telephone *Air conditioning
*Safe *Mini-Fridge *Coffee Maker *Iron and Ironing Board *Smoke Alarms.
*A Crib or Extra Bed is available (upon request) *Air conditioning *Balcony / Terrace with Seating Area
In Addition
*Bottle of champagne
*Chocolate Covered Strawberries
*Couples Massage
*First Morning Breakfast in Bed
*Romantic Dinner
*Turn Down Service
*Discount in Spa Treatment
*A Surprise Gift
*Special Amenities for Romantic Occasion and Plush Bathrobes to wear during your stay

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

The Snack Bar
Snacks, Cocktails & Drinks
The Italian
Italian cuisine served in a la carte setting. Reservations with Guest Services required.
The Lounge
Elegant surroundings for cocktails & drinks.
The Disco
Late night entertainment with cocktails and drinks.
L'Buffet
Buffet restaurant offering an excellent international cuisine.
Breakfast 7:00 a.m.- 10:00 a.m.
Lunch 12:30 m.d.- 3:00 p.m.
Dinner7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Snacks 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
The Lobby Bar
Casual meeting for cocktails & drinks.
D'Oriental
Pan Asian cuisine served in a la carte setting. Reservations with Guest Services required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Jan 17, 2010

Excellent Service!

First time at an all-inclusive and this did not disappoint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Check out Johnny D. at the beach for recreational activities!

Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Liberia, CR
Jun 3, 2011

Great all-inclusive

This hotel was great. everyone who works there is friendly and extremely nice, who go out of there way to get you what you need. Food was good and plentiful.Loved the ala carte, restuarants. And that was included also. Booze ran all day, with a lot of call brands. It's all-inclusive, but we still tipped alot. The employees don't get paid much at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruben hood
Riverside
Jun 2, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

we went jets ski, wild animal and birds observation, panaromic views to the bay area and the forest. could not get any better no complains. it is an experience very different in relation to closeness to nature

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

wild river rapids (water drafting) Volcanos and water activities

Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hermiston
Nov 15, 2008

Beautiful

This hotel was beautiful, with gorgeous views. The food was great and the staff was soooo nice. They were always happy to do anything for us, and didn't wait around expecting tips afterward. The pool was great, and so was the beach. The rooms were not as nice as we thought they were going to be, but we spent very little time there, so it was no big deal. There is so much to do there, that we only wished we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 18, 2008

Great place to re-discover romance

The Hotel was staffed with the most friendly people that I have met in all my travels. Everyone greeted you as a friend. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Food was above average. Only thing lacking was a more exciting after hours scene. Disco was nice ,but Kareoke was out dated, and entertainment area pool table was cramped. Overall the experience was one that I will never forget and plan to repeat in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

snorkeling. canopy Zip Line tours, sunset walks.

Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KaysieandPatrick
Irvine, CA
Sep 5, 2010

Honeymoon 8/23-8/28

OVERALL: We had a great honeymoon at this hotel! First word of advice, pay the extra to get the Royal Club service. I'm pretty sure the people that did not like this hotel did not have that additional service. The Royal Club has its own private bar area with snacks, and it is almost always empty. Also, if you dont have reservations or just want to do a private dinner, you can arrange to have dinner in the private club area (which has a beautiful view). You have to wear wristbands around the hotel which tell everyone basically how much you paid, and I swear the service is better if you have the Royal Club band. We literally got whatever we wanted (i.e. room service, reservations even if they were all full, etc). ROOM: We stayed in the Master Suite which was AMAZING!!!!! We got upgraded because it was our honeymoon. We originally paid for the Jr. Suite - so it was a great deal. FOOD: The food was great. Hopefully you like potatoes, because they serve them with every meal and they are SOOOOOOOO good. They had some pretty good omelets in the morning as well. Overall, I have never eaten so much in my life. ADVICE: Bring A LOT of $1 bills. The hotel does not have change EVER, so if you wanna tip (which we did) for your service, you are going to want to have lower bills. We had to keep tipping $5 to everyone so it got pretty expensive after awhile (especially when all the guy did was bring you water with your breakfast). And, just so you know, you should probably also bring some good water shoes, because the beach there is pretty rocky. And it disappears after 3 because the tide comes up so high that the only sand left is under trees. It was still beautiful though. Just plan to do the beach in the morning and the pool in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to [...] on the beach (right at the base of the hotel's stairs) for your tours. His tours were AWESOME (way better than Charlie's Tours which is the tour company through the hotel). The hotel tells you not to use the people on the beach because they may be a scam, but I'm telling you, his tours were amazing (he always adds more onto his tours and charges you less). We will definitely be using him again!!!! The greatest tour we did with him besides the ATVs (which was awesome), was the ZipLines at the five star resort on the volcano with the horseback riding, hot springs and lunch (SOOO GOOD!). It is a MUST do! I think the company he works through is called Tropical Rainbow Tours. I can't even tell you how great our experience was with him! We did the aquacombo tour with Charlies tours and hated it! They took us to a sandbar to snorkel. NO ONE saw any fish. Waste of a day to tell you the truth! YOU MUST go to [...]!

Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Jan 17, 2010

Excellent Service!

First time at an all-inclusive and this did not disappoint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Check out Johnny D. at the beach for recreational activities!

Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aurora, Colorado
Jun 24, 2009

absolutely beautiful

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for, not crowded which was expected for the time of year, peaceful, the most beautiful views no matter which way you turn, staff was amazing, food excellent, and as for being on a very hilly property which I personally would have wanted no other way, anyone who is to stay there with any handycap or disabilities of any kind they were picked up by staff and brought to any location on the resort they wanted to go with no problem. We are definetly going back to the Occidental Grand Papagayo, as soon as we are able. " remarkable " and thank you for handeling everything so well for us, all was perfect. sincerly: Chris and Valinda Carlson

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 27, 2007

Occidental Papagayo

This is the best all inclusive I've stayed at. The staff is very friendly. The food is very good. We were never disappointed with the food. Drinks were great. Bartenders were very generous with the amount of alcohol in mixed drinks. The best mojitos I've ever had. Pineapple juice is freshly squeezed. The best pineapple juice I've ever had. The beach is public, but most of the people on the beach were from the hotel. Monkeys live in the trees on hotel property. That was the most amazing experience - to watch monkeys that live in the wild. The property is beautiful and very well kept. The rooms are very nice. I will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is a little secluded from other towns, so you can't walk outside of the hotel and expect to walk around in a town and go shopping. If you want to take day trips, renting a car is super cheap.

Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KaysieandPatrick
Irvine, CA
Sep 5, 2010

Honeymoon 8/23-8/28

OVERALL: We had a great honeymoon at this hotel! First word of advice, pay the extra to get the Royal Club service. I'm pretty sure the people that did not like this hotel did not have that additional service. The Royal Club has its own private bar area with snacks, and it is almost always empty. Also, if you dont have reservations or just want to do a private dinner, you can arrange to have dinner in the private club area (which has a beautiful view). You have to wear wristbands around the hotel which tell everyone basically how much you paid, and I swear the service is better if you have the Royal Club band. We literally got whatever we wanted (i.e. room service, reservations even if they were all full, etc). ROOM: We stayed in the Master Suite which was AMAZING!!!!! We got upgraded because it was our honeymoon. We originally paid for the Jr. Suite - so it was a great deal. FOOD: The food was great. Hopefully you like potatoes, because they serve them with every meal and they are SOOOOOOOO good. They had some pretty good omelets in the morning as well. Overall, I have never eaten so much in my life. ADVICE: Bring A LOT of $1 bills. The hotel does not have change EVER, so if you wanna tip (which we did) for your service, you are going to want to have lower bills. We had to keep tipping $5 to everyone so it got pretty expensive after awhile (especially when all the guy did was bring you water with your breakfast). And, just so you know, you should probably also bring some good water shoes, because the beach there is pretty rocky. And it disappears after 3 because the tide comes up so high that the only sand left is under trees. It was still beautiful though. Just plan to do the beach in the morning and the pool in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to [...] on the beach (right at the base of the hotel's stairs) for your tours. His tours were AWESOME (way better than Charlie's Tours which is the tour company through the hotel). The hotel tells you not to use the people on the beach because they may be a scam, but I'm telling you, his tours were amazing (he always adds more onto his tours and charges you less). We will definitely be using him again!!!! The greatest tour we did with him besides the ATVs (which was awesome), was the ZipLines at the five star resort on the volcano with the horseback riding, hot springs and lunch (SOOO GOOD!). It is a MUST do! I think the company he works through is called Tropical Rainbow Tours. I can't even tell you how great our experience was with him! We did the aquacombo tour with Charlies tours and hated it! They took us to a sandbar to snorkel. NO ONE saw any fish. Waste of a day to tell you the truth! YOU MUST go to [...]!

Back to menu Return to top