$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Hotel Guanamar

3 stars
Del Campo De Aterrizaje De Playa Carrillo 700 Sur Y 200 Este, Playa Carrillo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
14 reviews
Perfect view on bay

Hotel rooms are a little outdated but we love the location. Since 1985 no serious update has been... See full review

  • Puwo
  • Apr 29, 2014
Excellent hotel, service and location

After visiting Playa Samara and Playa Carillo years ago, I took my family back to experience Costa... See full review

  • GungHo
  • Mar 14, 2011
Guanamar is located on the hill top of the southern end of the bay, perfectly situated inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views. The charming typical thatch roof bungalows, garden trails and swimming pool, bar and restaurant decks offer guests the ideal sites for admiring the beautiful sunsets over the Pacific. From your arrival you will be able to admire Carrillo Beach, a beautiful half moon bay of white sandy beach extending for nearly two kilometers. Rolling hills and mountains covered by tropical forest as well as the reef at the northern end of the bay protect the beach from the strong winds and waves, acting as natural barriers for the calm waters ideal of water sports and sport fishing. Playa Carrillo is safe and ideal place for visitors, especially at the southern end where parallel to the beach and road palm trees line the coast line providing shade and picturesque views for those strolling long the scenic beach. Carrillo Beach was awarded Blue Flag status, nominated as one of the cleanest beaches in Costa Rica.

The hotel also offers below services:
41 rooms
1 swimming pool
1 Restaurant (Mahi- Mahi)
1 Bar (Marlin)
Money Exchange: available at reception
Luggage service: brought to your room
Wake up calls: available through reception
Laundry service: ready on the same day if delivered before 9:00 am
Spacious parking
Free Internet service available in the lobby, bar & restaurant
Security 24 hours
Tour desk
At 7 kms from the property the client will find commercial Center with: souvenirs shops, stores, banks, legal assessment services, local airlines, car rentals, pharmacy, supermarket, restaurants, casino and bars with varied nocturnal settings.

Additional Charges:
Only room and taxes.

Hotel Guanamar Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 Queen size beds with Air conditioning, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room and Tea and coffee making facilities.

These rooms are located directly in front of an exotic tropical garden and it will offer you a spacious balcony to overlook the Pacific Ocean.
Ocean View Room
Ocean View Room offers 1 King size bed and 1 Twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room and Tea and coffee making facilities.

These rooms have a very nice balcony facing a marvelous view of the best sunsets you can see from the Pacific Ocean.
Family Suite
Family Suite offers 4 Queen size beds with Air conditioning, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room and Tea and coffee making facilities.
If you prefer spacious rooms and wide terraces for big families, these rooms will be your best choice.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Guanamar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

9.866 -85.482
Area served
Playa Carrillo.
Nearby airports
Liberia International airport 2 hours distance – Juan Santamaria airport 4 hours distance.
Area description
Hotel Guanamar is a three star family style hotel running for the last 25 years in North Pacific coast of Guanacaste, Costa Rica near to the warm waters of Carrillo Beach, surrounded by the rich fauna and typical flora from the area that still remain intact. Also at 7 kms from Sama Beach.

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel has 1 bar and 1 restaurant that offer one of the most memorable views of Carrillo Bay. Comfortably seated 50 feet above sea level, the fresh ocean breeze awakens your appetite for the local and international specialties such as the famous seafood salad, fresh lobster and jumbo shrimp served daily in the kitchen, fresh from the local fishermen. The restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes from pastas, salads, and selection of beef cuts. The sun set from the bar is one of the most spectacular in the country and framing a romantic evening accompanied by a Margarita or Piña Colada. You may also savor the exquisite appetizers such as the calamari or seafood brochettes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Guanamar

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 14
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puwo
Costa Rica
Apr 29, 2014

Perfect view on bay

Hotel rooms are a little outdated but we love the location. Since 1985 no serious update has been done on the place, our mattress was replaced after we made a complaint that you can not sleep on those old rags any more. AC is loud but terrace is gorgeous on middle house units 118-130. Spacious room no luxury , no internet available there only in bar or restaurant level about 100 stairs up. Still no Flat screen TV. Staff is helpful and competent. Forget booking over their own service, to expensive and rude to customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

2 Km to Hotel La Leyenda or Hotel MonteLaguna. Good Fish, Tuna blackened, Tuna asian stile. Walking possible to El Colibri but only for dinner time.

Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sawski
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Apr 8, 2012

Family vacation

The bayfront rooms are spacious and clean. End rooms have the best views. Some of it is dated but the view off the balcony of the bay below makes up for any small shortfall. The location of the room about halfway down a very large hill does require some physical activity. This is not a good choice if you have physical limitations. We felt that each day we got a very good work out without going to the gym. We found the staff at the bar and restuarant very friendly. The restaurant also was very good. We did not rent a car and we were a little worried about limited dining choices, However, the town had many choices and it is short walk down the road to reach them. We wish we could go every year and cannot wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza place, steakhouse and local soda in town were all very good.

Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GungHo
Sacramento, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Excellent hotel, service and location

After visiting Playa Samara and Playa Carillo years ago, I took my family back to experience Costa Rica. Flew into Liberia and only an hour and a half drive. Hotel Guanamar is beautiful, relaxed and overlooks one of the best beaches in the country. Not over developed or touristy in this whole area. Oceanview rooms are spacious, comfortable,and clean with fabulous views off huge porches. Simple furnishings but comfy bed, plenty of storage, huge showers and great water pressure/hot water. AC is a tad noisy, but not bad. Hotel grounds and pool are very well maintained and the open air bar and restaurant are really nice, serving great food at reasonable prices - and the views are amazing. Hearty typical or continental breakfast is included. Beach, animal sanctuary and small town with markets and a few restaurant/bars are right there, within walking distance, while larger Samara is a short drive - bus or cab ride. All sorts of activities can be booked at the front desk - we went snorkeling, kayaking, horseback riding (good healthy horses) and saw sea turtles coming ashore to lay their eggs. A wonderful retreat, we will be returning soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Horseback ride was two and a half hours down to a remote beach then up into high hills for fantastic views of the area. Healthy sound horses but steep trail. Saw monkeys and unforgettable coastline - but be in fair shape for it.

Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GungHo
Sacramento, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Excellent hotel, service and location

After visiting Playa Samara and Playa Carillo years ago, I took my family back to experience Costa Rica. Flew into Liberia and only an hour and a half drive. Hotel Guanamar is beautiful, relaxed and overlooks one of the best beaches in the country. Not over developed or touristy in this whole area. Oceanview rooms are spacious, comfortable,and clean with fabulous views off huge porches. Simple furnishings but comfy bed, plenty of storage, huge showers and great water pressure/hot water. AC is a tad noisy, but not bad. Hotel grounds and pool are very well maintained and the open air bar and restaurant are really nice, serving great food at reasonable prices - and the views are amazing. Hearty typical or continental breakfast is included. Beach, animal sanctuary and small town with markets and a few restaurant/bars are right there, within walking distance, while larger Samara is a short drive - bus or cab ride. All sorts of activities can be booked at the front desk - we went snorkeling, kayaking, horseback riding (good healthy horses) and saw sea turtles coming ashore to lay their eggs. A wonderful retreat, we will be returning soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Horseback ride was two and a half hours down to a remote beach then up into high hills for fantastic views of the area. Healthy sound horses but steep trail. Saw monkeys and unforgettable coastline - but be in fair shape for it.

Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Depauw, Indiana
Dec 31, 2010

Wonderful experience

The hotel far exceeded our expectations. The family suite was huge, we had all the hot water we needed, and the wait staff were incredible. We took advantage of C&C surf school and wingnuts canopy tour while near Samara, and enjoyed Playa Carrillo beach. Casa Esmerelda in Samara had great food and was reasonably priced. Overall, great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa Esmerelda and El Guarto (sp) are both in Samara and have wonderful food.

Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Depauw, Indiana
Dec 31, 2010

Wonderful experience

The hotel far exceeded our expectations. The family suite was huge, we had all the hot water we needed, and the wait staff were incredible. We took advantage of C&C surf school and wingnuts canopy tour while near Samara, and enjoyed Playa Carrillo beach. Casa Esmerelda in Samara had great food and was reasonably priced. Overall, great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa Esmerelda and El Guarto (sp) are both in Samara and have wonderful food.

Back to menu Return to top