$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Hotel Guanamar

3 stars
Del Campo De Aterrizaje De Playa Carrillo 700 Sur Y 200 Este, Playa Carrillo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
11 reviews
Perfect view on bay

Hotel rooms are a little outdated but we love the location. Since 1985 no serious update has been... See full review

  • Puwo
  • Apr 29, 2014
Excellent hotel, service and location

After visiting Playa Samara and Playa Carillo years ago, I took my family back to experience Costa... See full review

  • GungHo
  • Mar 14, 2011
Guanamar is located on the hill top of the southern end of the bay, perfectly situated inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views. The charming typical thatch roof bungalows, garden trails and swimming pool, bar and restaurant decks offer guests the ideal sites for admiring the beautiful sunsets over the Pacific. From your arrival you will be able to admire Carrillo Beach, a beautiful half moon bay of white sandy beach extending for nearly two kilometers.

Rolling hills and mountains covered by tropical forest as well as the reef at the northern end of the bay protect the beach from the strong winds and waves, acting as natural barriers for the calm waters ideal of water sports and sport fishing. Playa Carrillo is safe and ideal place for visitors, especially at the southern end where parallel to the beach and road palm trees line the coast line providing shade and picturesque views for those strolling long the scenic beach.

Carrillo Beach was awarded Blue Flag status, nominated as one of the cleanest beaches in Costa Rica. The hotel also offers below services:-41 rooms-1 swimming pool -1 Restaurant (Mahi- Mahi)-1 Bar (Marlin)- Money Exchange: available at reception-Luggage service: brought to your room-Wake up calls: available through reception-Laundry service: ready on the same day if delivered before 9:00 am- Spacious parking-Free Internet service available in the lobby, bar & restaurant-Security 24 hours-Tour desk -At 7 kms from the property the client will find commercial Center with: souvenirs shops, stores, banks, legal assessment services, local airlines, car rentals, pharmacy, supermarket, restaurants, casino and bars with varied nocturnal settings.Additional Charges:Only room and taxes.

Hotel Map

9.866 -85.482
Area served
Playa Carrillo.
Nearby airports
Liberia International airport 2 hours distance - Juan Santamaria airport 4 hours distance.
Area description
Hotel Guanamar is a three star family style hotel running for the last 25 years in North Pacific coast of Guanacaste, Costa Rica near to the warm waters of Carrillo Beach, surrounded by the rich fauna and typical flora from the area that still remain intact. Also at 7 kms from Sama Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Guanamar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Hotel Guanamar Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 Queen size beds with Air conditioning, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room.

These rooms are located directly in front of an exotic tropical garden and it will offer you a spacious balcony to overlook the Pacific Ocean.
Ocean View Room
Ocean View Room offers 1 King size bed and 1 Twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms Safe in room.

These rooms have a very nice balcony facing a marvelous view of the best sunsets you can see from the Pacific Ocean.
Family Suite
Family Suite offers 4 Queen size beds with Air conditioning, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room.

If you prefer spacious rooms and wide terraces for big families, these rooms will be your best choice.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel has 1 bar and 1 restaurant that offer one of the most memorable views of Carrillo Bay. Comfortably seated 50 feet above sea level, the fresh ocean breeze awakens your appetite for the local and international specialties such as the famous seafood salad, fresh lobster and jumbo shrimp served daily in the kitchen, fresh from the local fishermen. The restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes from pastas, salads, and selection of beef cuts. The sun set from the bar is one of the most spectacular in the country and framing a romantic evening accompanied by a Margarita or Pia Colada. You may also savor the exquisite appetizers such as the calamari or seafood brochettes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Guanamar

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ocorella
Business
San José, Costa Rica
Jan 27, 2013

Not on green Season

I'm a very regular guess on that Hotel due to my work, since last year, the experience on low season is very nice, but when green season come is to crowd and the services is poor. Location is good, but rooms need a little refresh, looks old and not well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danBlanco
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 13, 2014

Interesting old school Costa Rica

This place is right in the heart of Carrillo above the beach. The view is amazing. They two nice bars with a view and a decent pool. Back in the 90's when Costa Rica took off as a beach destination this pace would have been one of the pioneers, but it's very dated and obvious the owners are maintaining it based on a low cost structure. Everything is very old and they make you wear a wrist band like you are at a club Mead. The staff is friendly but very young across the board, another sign they are running things for cost management. I recommend it if you get a good price on a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The local beach is not populated and beautiful. Dolphin tours and snoring right outside the door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dr.Jones
boston mass. usa
Mar 2, 2011

guanamar

there should be a small refrigerator and a coffee maker.all the staff and care takers were exellent.my only real complaint was the fact that the gave me a 320 sq.ft.room with 2 single beds,when I paid for a 940sq.ft.with 2 doubles.presumably because I was by myself,& they could make a lot more money putting me in the small room and filling up the room I paid for.they didn't evenbring it up,or offer me a free dinner.I didn't appreciate the blatent dishonesty of the management.they were gonna rent my room as long as I didn't complain.I just wanted to see if they would even bring it up.that is the only reason i would not stay there again.the place was great&all the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

no what your limitations are.if you want to be in a area WERE YOU dodn't have to worry about transportion,stay in one of the more developed areas,or rent a car.the taxis just get to exspensive.every one is looking to shake you down with the gringo prices.so unless you like public transportation,get a car.or stay in busy area.do not attempt to drive the dirt roads in the rainy season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rexandanis
New Yorl
Mar 12, 2014

Good family getaway

Best beach, clean, has shade, benches, parking Hotel is average, but friendly stuff, good restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sawski
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Apr 8, 2012

Family vacation

The bayfront rooms are spacious and clean. End rooms have the best views. Some of it is dated but the view off the balcony of the bay below makes up for any small shortfall. The location of the room about halfway down a very large hill does require some physical activity. This is not a good choice if you have physical limitations. We felt that each day we got a very good work out without going to the gym. We found the staff at the bar and restuarant very friendly. The restaurant also was very good. We did not rent a car and we were a little worried about limited dining choices, However, the town had many choices and it is short walk down the road to reach them. We wish we could go every year and cannot wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza place, steakhouse and local soda in town were all very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pnaygemini76
Belmont, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Perfect holiday getaway

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Guanamar over the holidays and had an excellent time. We had a huge room with a wide balcony and a great bay view. The view from the pool deck and restaurant was also amazing. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had dinner frequently at the hotel restaurant...delicious food, amazing views, excellent service, professional staff...overall a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bhama
New York, État de New York, États-Unis
Feb 6, 2012

perfect holidays

We stayed t the hotel for a week. We spent the perfect quiet holidays at the beach, in the sun enjoying the delicious food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
freepeolple
SEATTLE WA
May 21, 2011

WHERE TIME STOPS....

Good experience ,remote area,quiet and peacefull it feels like time stops.. people live so simple but it works.I admire them.The small hotel that feels more like a vacation home its nice,with nice staff. The only thing its hard that there is no refrigirator.For this location you defenetly need a car. I think the best way to explore beautyfull COSTA RICA is to not stay in the same hotel brake it up .Dont expect luxury in COSTA RICA ,be prepared to step back in time maybe 40 years?But if you like nature ,exploring ,animals,then its the place to be. PURA VIDA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The spanish restaurant in SAMARA ,its pretty good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puwo
Costa Rica
Apr 29, 2014

Perfect view on bay

Hotel rooms are a little outdated but we love the location. Since 1985 no serious update has been done on the place, our mattress was replaced after we made a complaint that you can not sleep on those old rags any more. AC is loud but terrace is gorgeous on middle house units 118-130. Spacious room no luxury , no internet available there only in bar or restaurant level about 100 stairs up. Still no Flat screen TV. Staff is helpful and competent. Forget booking over their own service, to expensive and rude to customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

2 Km to Hotel La Leyenda or Hotel MonteLaguna. Good Fish, Tuna blackened, Tuna asian stile. Walking possible to El Colibri but only for dinner time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GungHo
Sacramento, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Excellent hotel, service and location

After visiting Playa Samara and Playa Carillo years ago, I took my family back to experience Costa Rica. Flew into Liberia and only an hour and a half drive. Hotel Guanamar is beautiful, relaxed and overlooks one of the best beaches in the country. Not over developed or touristy in this whole area. Oceanview rooms are spacious, comfortable,and clean with fabulous views off huge porches. Simple furnishings but comfy bed, plenty of storage, huge showers and great water pressure/hot water. AC is a tad noisy, but not bad. Hotel grounds and pool are very well maintained and the open air bar and restaurant are really nice, serving great food at reasonable prices - and the views are amazing. Hearty typical or continental breakfast is included. Beach, animal sanctuary and small town with markets and a few restaurant/bars are right there, within walking distance, while larger Samara is a short drive - bus or cab ride. All sorts of activities can be booked at the front desk - we went snorkeling, kayaking, horseback riding (good healthy horses) and saw sea turtles coming ashore to lay their eggs. A wonderful retreat, we will be returning soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Horseback ride was two and a half hours down to a remote beach then up into high hills for fantastic views of the area. Healthy sound horses but steep trail. Saw monkeys and unforgettable coastline - but be in fair shape for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top