$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arenilla, Golfo de Papagayo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
91 reviews
Amazing getaway

My husband and I were happy the moment we arrived to the resort. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Leslie Super Mom
  • Aug 11, 2014
Outstanding

We had the best vacation ever. The food ,the staff and the resort was outstanding. We will be going... See full review

  • hall04
  • Aug 15, 2013
Family friendly all-inclusive resort on the beach near Playas del Coco

Immersed in the lush vegetation surrounding the Papagayo Gulf, the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers a vacation oasis overlooking Culebra Bay. Designed to mesh with the natural setting, the eco-friendly resort features bungalow-style accommodations surrounded by local wildlife. Kid-friendly accommodations and activities make the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa ideal for families. The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also has a business center, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Beachfront location on Culebra Bay
  • Family-friendly programs and guest rooms
  • On-site water sports and scuba center
  • All-inclusive meals, snacks and drinks
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Rooms

The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers 202 suites and bungalows, all featuring private terraces or balconies with garden or ocean views. Bungalows have two bedrooms, with kings or sets of double beds. Guest suites have single king beds and living rooms. All bungalows and suites have polished wood furnishings, premium mattresses and Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities. Other in-room amenities include 32-inch LCD TVs with U.S. channels, MP3 clock radios, stocked mini-fridges, coffee makers and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive resort features family-friendly amenities like a Kids Club, children's swimming pool and family guest rooms. Visitors can find tropical escapes and endless activities with a three-level infinity pool, beach access, a water sports center, spa and 24-hour fitness center.  Meals include buffets with international and local fare, a casual grill, and guests can make reservations at the Mediterranean-style a la carte restaurant. Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the property (fees apply). Business travelers can find a full-service business center and more than 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting space.

 

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (9.2 mi/14.7 km)
  • Africa Mia (23.7 mi/37.9 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (32.3 mi/51.7 km)

 

Business
  • Business center with computers
  • Flexible meeting spaces
  • Presentation equipment available
  • Print, copy and fax services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

10.602 -85.6464
Area served
Near Playa Panama, Playa Hermosa, Gulf of Papagayo, Liberia, Guanacaste the resort is located on the beautiful Gulf of Papagayo, Guanacaste only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport and In close proximity to Playa Hermosa and Playas del Coco.
Nearby airports
International Airport: Liberia International (LIR) Distance 11 miles
Domestic Airport: San Jose International (SJO) Distance: 131 miles
Closest Public transport: Taxi - Car Rental.
Closest Major City: Liberia
Area description
Near Playa Panama, the resort is located on the beautiful Gulf of Papagayo, Guanacaste only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport and In close proximity to Playa Hermosa and Playas del Coco.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

King Ocean View Balcony
Our King Bedded guest rooms offer panoramic views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All rooms are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

Our guest rooms offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our rooms feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Tropical
    Enjoy the tropical setting from your private balcony with teak wood furniture. All Tropical bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    King Bungalow Oceanfront
    These King Bedded bungalows feature charming views of the The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony where you will hear the relaxing sound of the waves. All oceanfront bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Oceanview
    These Two Double Bedded bungalows offer charming views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    Junior Suite
    Enjoy a Jr. Suite with a private patio, individual plunge pool overlooking spectacular views of The Gulf of Papagayo.

    Beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.
    King Bungalow Ocean View
    These King Bedded bungalows offer charming views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Our guest rooms offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    King Bungalow Tropical
    Enjoy the tropical setting from your private balcony with teak wood furniture. All Tropical bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Oceanfront
    These Two double bedded bungalows feature charming views of The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony where you will hear the relaxing sound of the waves.

    All oceanfront bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Our bungalows offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.

    Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    With over 1,700 sq. feet of meeting and event space, Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa offers a full range of facilities to easily accommodate gatherings up to 250 in an indoor setting or up to 150 in an open area. Meetings rooms offer a variety of configurations and themed events can be custom-designed to your needs, and with a picture-perfect locale, our staff can make your Costa Rica wedding an unforgettable event.

    Dining

    Grill del Fuego
    Located in the tranquil Spa area, Grill del Fuego offers a day-time menu with fresh, casual fare and fresh fruit smoothie menu.
    In the evening, enjoy classic Italian cuisine, with pastas and traditional Italian sweets
    Hours
  • Open Dayli 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
  • In-Room Dining Experience
    Available daily from 4:00 p.m. until 10:00 p.m. There is a 15 USD delivery charge per order.

    Hours
  • Open Dayli 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • La Cosecha
    At La Cosecha, start your day with our full breakfast buffet; enjoy your favorites and sample local dishes. The a la carte lunch offers a variety of options, changing every day. At dinner, you and your family will enjoy nightly specials of international cuisine.
  • Open Dayli 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
  • El Dorado
    In the elegant ambiance of El Dorado restaurant, youll experience Chef Nicolas Piattis expression of contemporary cuisine..

    The restaurant is open for dinner from 6:15pm to 10:00pm.

    El Ritual Bar
    El Rituals bar team will delight you with fresh mixes of your favorite spirits and tropical fruit flavors, as well as the bars full range of beer, wine and soft drinks. Accompany your beverages with the Pura Vida-style bar snacks menu.

    Open Dayli from 11:00am to 1:00am Hours

    Fuente de Vida - Pool Bar
    Swim up pool bar located in the main swimming pool, serves cocktails, beer and soft drinks. Perfect for a beverage in the sun!

    Open from 11:00 am to 5:00 pm Hours .

    El Bocadillo Snack Bar & Grill
    This palm-roofed open air restaurant with Gulf of Papagayo views offers a lunch menu featuring local dishes and modern, lunch classics.
    El Bocadillos evening Steakhouse-style menu features grilled specialties and creative sides.
    hours
  • Open Dayli 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
  • Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (91)

    Ratings and reviews for Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    13 out of 91
    Amenities:
    3.9
    Room cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.5
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    3.9
    Value:
    3.9

    77% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    The Vistas
    Fort Lauderdale Florida
    May 13, 2014

    Great getaway but needs some help

    Had a great trip! Love Costa Rica! Very beautiful place to visit... The hotel was OK, I expected alittle more for a 4 star hotel. On our first day we had paid for an ocean view room and got a partial view, they tried to accommodate us and change rooms but it was to an even worst partial ocean view. The first room was not too clean and all the rooms need an upgrade repair wise.The manager at the front desk Denise was not easily accommodating to our needs and complaints. After a lot of back and forth regarding the room and availability they finally put us in a room we felt we paid for a full ocean view room but according to them was a beachfront view. In the mist of them trying to make it better she had offered a complimentary spa treatment for my husband and myself. When I contacted her later that day she didn't want to offer the spa treatment because she "gave" us a better room which to us was a room we actually wanted at first and paid for. So again pulling for our accommodations. She finally agreed to contact the spa and advise them of our arraignment. When at the spa they had no idea of this and when contacted her she told them it was 1/2 an hour for only one person. The communication with the staff was the most upsetting. Also in our last room we were "upgraded" to had a hole on the floor on the balcony, the tv wouldn't work & the AC started leaking water and made a huge water puddle on the floor that almost made me slip and fall and I am pregnant. But overall it was nice to be at an all inclusive hotel. It was a nice stay and great location close to everything.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    Coco beach

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Nova Scotian
    NS, Canada
    Aug 17, 2013

    Relaxing, rejueventaing

    The food was wonderful - very tastefully created. The staff was great - they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The resort was in a beautiful setting - pools, beaches and the smoothie bar was fantastic!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Day trips are great experiences

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Kat and Kitty
    Connecticut, USA
    Jul 14, 2013

    Relaxation at the Hilton

    After a strenuous couple of days hiking the Arenol Volcano area it was wonderful to relax at this hotel! First of all, it was a very easy 20 minute drive from Liberia Airport. The majority of the rooms are actually bungalows which are like mini-condos. You can walk the windy roads to the various restaurants or take the tram/trolley which is very easy and convenient. The exterior of our bungalow was a bit worn and dated, and the walkway was not in good shape. Also, every morning we awoke to an unpleasant surprise....apparently a large animal defecated right by our walkway! Now let me tell you....that was a little bothersome thinking - what large animal is lurking by our bungalow at night! That, along with the fact that it was pitch black early in the evening with little lights to brighten the walkway, we were a bit nervous returning to our room after dinner. However, our room was terrific - modern and clean! We sunbathed at the adult pool during our stay and that was nice and quiet. The beach was close, but the sand was black from the volcano so very few people went swimming. The all-inclusive aspect was great. The food was quite good as were the drinks which kept coming. Beware of the raccoons though....they were brazen and tried to join us for dinner twice! If you are looking for big-time nightlife, you can forget it. The evenings are long as it's already dark at 6pm. We were pretty much in our room by 9/9:30 each night because in spite of the bar, there wasn't anything else to do.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make dinner reservations as soon as you check in!

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    nolabi
    Illinois
    Jun 14, 2013

    Costa Rica 2013

    Great staff. Went out of their way to be accomodating. The service was excellent. The food was ok, nothing to brag about. The entertainment is adequate. During the day the music could be a bit louder by the pool. The beach was nice but I was not impressed. I prefer white sand. The rooms were wonderful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    The presentation was great.

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Chicagoens
    ChicGo
    Jun 3, 2012

    Costa rica getaway

    Wonderful. Entertainment was fun! Staff very very friendly. The overall experience was very good. Ask for Julio...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    4 restaurants and the best at the buffet.

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Moscow, Russia
    Jan 10, 2011

    Nice hotel!

    Good food. All-inclusive. Good animation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Tucson, AZ
    Jul 16, 2010

    Hilton Papgayo

    The accomodations were wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. However, there are no activities for teenagers at the hotel, and everything at the hotel was very, very, very, expensive. A can of coke cost $3.50 at the gift shop.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    There is no shopping in the area. The nearest place is about 45 minutes away.

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    austin, tx
    Jul 11, 2010

    Very nice resort, not extravagant!

    Overall our stay here was wonderful and I definitely recommend. Everyone is friendly and eager to help. There are 4 restaurants, including one with a daily buffet. All of the food and drinks were wonderful! Tons of fresh fruit and vegetarian-friendly food options in addition to meat. Take advantage of the free hotel activities - the snorkeling right on the beach was great - don't have to pay big money to go out with the diver company, beach volleyball, dancing lessons, etc. There is a lot of walking to get around, but if you're not up to it a shuttle is there within minutes. The main pool area/bar is very nice, but the pool is actually separated into about 3 pools, so the main one is smaller than expected, and You have to get out to go between them. My major criticism - there is not enough information provided about the resort - what is available, when, what number to call for various needs, and just generally how to do things. No big information book in our room like at every hotel in America! And there is a lot going on there, so we just had to figure things out as we went. Takes a few day though!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Nicos Constantinou
    Saddle River, New Jersey
    Apr 15, 2010

    Good location, Poor facility

    The hotel is quite old, we were checked into a room that had mold, and a but smell. After I told them that I would not put my family into this room, 2 hours later they send a maintenance person with w40 spray to clean the A/c coil. That did not do anything, and 5 hours later we got transfered to a different room that smelled as bad. The next day after returning from breakfast we got locked outside the room for more than 1 hour, because no key would work. After finally making it into the room, I complained to the front desk manager and the answer I got was that I had to understand that the room locks operate on batteries, and the batteries needed to be replaced and that was why we could not get into the room. I really did not want to know how the room locks operate. Two days later my daughter got locked out of the room again, and she had to walk the one mile trip to the front desk to figure out the problem again. They also skipped a day of cleaning the room. They are still trying to figure out why???? MISERABLE WEEK.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Cultural Observer
    Boise, ID
    Mar 31, 2010

    Not Recommended

    The hotel location, staff, and amenities were great, but be aware that you will not necessarily receive the standard set by the Hilton Corporation at this location. We booked this as an all inclusive as described on the Hilton website, but when we arrived they said they were not an all inclusive resort. Needless to say, it makes for additional stress on a vacation when you need to deal with this level of activity with a property. If you want to really relax, look elsewhere.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Take advantage of the many sites of Costa Rica and don't be afraid to venture out with either the excursion group at the hotel or one of the many others around the area. The roads in the dry season were not as bad as many of the reviews stated!

    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search