$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arenilla, Golfo de Papagayo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
92 reviews
Amazing getaway

My husband and I were happy the moment we arrived to the resort. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Leslie Super Mom
  • Aug 11, 2014
Outstanding

We had the best vacation ever. The food ,the staff and the resort was outstanding. We will be going... See full review

  • hall04
  • Aug 15, 2013
Family friendly all-inclusive resort on the beach near Playas del Coco

Immersed in the lush vegetation surrounding the Papagayo Gulf, the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers a vacation oasis overlooking Culebra Bay. Designed to mesh with the natural setting, the eco-friendly resort features bungalow-style accommodations surrounded by local wildlife. Kid-friendly accommodations and activities make the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa ideal for families. The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also has a business center, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Beachfront location on Culebra Bay
  • Family-friendly programs and guest rooms
  • On-site water sports and scuba center
  • All-inclusive meals, snacks and drinks
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Rooms

The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers 202 suites and bungalows, all featuring private terraces or balconies with garden or ocean views. Bungalows have two bedrooms, with kings or sets of double beds. Guest suites have single king beds and living rooms. All bungalows and suites have polished wood furnishings, premium mattresses and Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities. Other in-room amenities include 32-inch LCD TVs with U.S. channels, MP3 clock radios, stocked mini-fridges, coffee makers and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive resort features family-friendly amenities like a Kids Club, children's swimming pool and family guest rooms. Visitors can find tropical escapes and endless activities with a three-level infinity pool, beach access, a water sports center, spa and 24-hour fitness center.  Meals include buffets with international and local fare, a casual grill, and guests can make reservations at the Mediterranean-style a la carte restaurant. Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the property (fees apply). Business travelers can find a full-service business center and more than 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting space.

 

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (9.2 mi/14.7 km)
  • Africa Mia (23.7 mi/37.9 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (32.3 mi/51.7 km)

 

Business
  • Business center with computers
  • Flexible meeting spaces
  • Presentation equipment available
  • Print, copy and fax services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

10.602 -85.6464
Area served
Near Playa Panama, Playa Hermosa, Gulf of Papagayo, Liberia, Guanacaste the resort is located on the beautiful Gulf of Papagayo, Guanacaste only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport and In close proximity to Playa Hermosa and Playas del Coco.
Nearby airports
International Airport: Liberia International (LIR) Distance 11 miles
Domestic Airport: San Jose International (SJO) Distance: 131 miles
Closest Public transport: Taxi - Car Rental.
Closest Major City: Liberia
Area description
Near Playa Panama, the resort is located on the beautiful Gulf of Papagayo, Guanacaste only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport and In close proximity to Playa Hermosa and Playas del Coco.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

King Ocean View Balcony
Our King Bedded guest rooms offer panoramic views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All rooms are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

Our guest rooms offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our rooms feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Tropical
    Enjoy the tropical setting from your private balcony with teak wood furniture. All Tropical bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    King Bungalow Oceanfront
    These King Bedded bungalows feature charming views of the The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony where you will hear the relaxing sound of the waves. All oceanfront bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Oceanview
    These Two Double Bedded bungalows offer charming views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    Junior Suite
    Enjoy a Jr. Suite with a private patio, individual plunge pool overlooking spectacular views of The Gulf of Papagayo.

    Beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.
    King Bungalow Ocean View
    These King Bedded bungalows offer charming views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Our guest rooms offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    King Bungalow Tropical
    Enjoy the tropical setting from your private balcony with teak wood furniture. All Tropical bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Oceanfront
    These Two double bedded bungalows feature charming views of The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony where you will hear the relaxing sound of the waves.

    All oceanfront bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Our bungalows offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.

    Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    With over 1,700 sq. feet of meeting and event space, Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa offers a full range of facilities to easily accommodate gatherings up to 250 in an indoor setting or up to 150 in an open area. Meetings rooms offer a variety of configurations and themed events can be custom-designed to your needs, and with a picture-perfect locale, our staff can make your Costa Rica wedding an unforgettable event.

    Dining

    Grill del Fuego
    Located in the tranquil Spa area, Grill del Fuego offers a day-time menu with fresh, casual fare and fresh fruit smoothie menu.
    In the evening, enjoy classic Italian cuisine, with pastas and traditional Italian sweets
    Hours
  • Open Dayli 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
  • In-Room Dining Experience
    Available daily from 4:00 p.m. until 10:00 p.m. There is a 15 USD delivery charge per order.

    Hours
  • Open Dayli 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • La Cosecha
    At La Cosecha, start your day with our full breakfast buffet; enjoy your favorites and sample local dishes. The a la carte lunch offers a variety of options, changing every day. At dinner, you and your family will enjoy nightly specials of international cuisine.
  • Open Dayli 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
  • El Dorado
    In the elegant ambiance of El Dorado restaurant, youll experience Chef Nicolas Piattis expression of contemporary cuisine..

    The restaurant is open for dinner from 6:15pm to 10:00pm.

    El Ritual Bar
    El Rituals bar team will delight you with fresh mixes of your favorite spirits and tropical fruit flavors, as well as the bars full range of beer, wine and soft drinks. Accompany your beverages with the Pura Vida-style bar snacks menu.

    Open Dayli from 11:00am to 1:00am Hours

    Fuente de Vida - Pool Bar
    Swim up pool bar located in the main swimming pool, serves cocktails, beer and soft drinks. Perfect for a beverage in the sun!

    Open from 11:00 am to 5:00 pm Hours .

    El Bocadillo Snack Bar & Grill
    This palm-roofed open air restaurant with Gulf of Papagayo views offers a lunch menu featuring local dishes and modern, lunch classics.
    El Bocadillos evening Steakhouse-style menu features grilled specialties and creative sides.
    hours
  • Open Dayli 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
  • Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (92)

    Ratings and reviews for Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    92 out of 92
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.4
    Room comfort:
    4.1
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    3.9

    76% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Tucson, AZ
    Jul 30, 2011

    Vacation made easy

    My new husband and I honeymooned at the Hilton Papagayo and really enjoyed it. The resort is large, but easy to get around. We were lucky enough to get a bungalow near the main pool area, so it was easy enough to go back and forth from the room and walk down for meals, swimming, and activities. There are definitely a lot of hills, but it was good exercise to work off all of those cocktails. The consensus we heard from other guests is that if you're looking for a quieter vacation, staying near the spa is a great option. The beach was great because it was right there, but it is a little rocky so if you have water shoes, they're worth taking. The hotel activities, such as the snorkeling and kayaking, were a lot of fun and easy to do. We spent most of our time at the pool and never had a problem getting chairs, although I believe we went during a slower season (July). The food was not anything amazing, but good, and there are a lot of options to choose from, which is not usually the case at an all inclusive resort. The breakfast buffet was my favorite, and lunch at the spa restaurant was very good as well. The cocktails were delish! Try the mango mojito and the howler monkey. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We rented a car and it was pretty easy to get to from the airport. We drove into Coco one day (about 20 minutes away) and walked around, but there's not much to see. It's a great place to buy souvenirs though. We also went ziplining one day. We purchased the trip through one of the guys on the beach and it was easy, safe, and a lot of fun. The company picked us up, drove us to the location, waited while we zipped, and then drove us back. Overall, it was perfect for a honeymoon - relaxing, can drink and eat as much as you desire without worrying about the cost, and can do some activities without going far. We recommend it too anyone who's looking for a vacation that is easy and worry-free!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    We went ziplining at a place called the Congo Trail. The guides were incredibly friendly, patient, and fun. They offered to take pictures of us, got to know us through the entire experience, and were very helpful. One of the ladies in our group was fearful and they were very patient and considerate with her, all while allowing my husband and I to safely be more adventurous (my husband opted to go upside down twice so they helped him do that, and they were encouraging of me wanting to go faster). We'd definitely recommend them!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Skifox
    Business
    Boulder, CO
    Jul 24, 2011

    Nice all around inclusive

    The food was excellent, four restaurants to choose from. Two pool areas, the one by the spa was for adults only and a very peaceful place to be. Decent selection of off-hotel activities, but not as adventitious and they sound on paper.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    You might shop around on-line for activities prior to arrival; once at the hotel you are somewhat locked into their provider.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    LoloK
    Business
    Memphis, TN
    Jun 21, 2011

    Decent hotel

    Our stay at the Hilton was okay. The hotel is nice and the food is pretty good. I have stayed at much better hotels, and would not consider this property Hilton quality. However, the people in Costa Rica are very friendly and we enjoyed ourselves. The best part of the stay was the tours. We did most of our day tours with Issy's Tours. You will find them on the beach. We booked with a guy named [...]. Their tours are small group, and are very reasonably priced. Definitely do NOT book at the hotel. Their prices are much higher and the group sizes seem much larger.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Check out the guys with Issy's Tours. They are a great tour company.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Houston, TX
    Jun 6, 2011

    Dont go for the food!!

    My wife and I traveled to the Hilton Papagayo for some adventure and relaxation. We found both here at this "resort" but were still left a bit disappointed. While most staff is nice enough and the propoerty is beautiful this is no 4 or 5 star resort. We both felt that the property needed some common sense maintenance such as reparing the steps to get to the beach, refurbishing of the bathrooms, and other minor annoyances. Biggest complaint is that the food is TERRIBLE and I can not reccomend any of them. Basically the food quality is generally bad, and bugs delivered in the food is the norm. Particularly in the buffet which they leave the main door open and the food sitting out which the bugs collect. Come here for the beautiful property and not the food. We both lost weight while here, but I guess its good that we didnt overeat.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Try to get a room closer to the beach so you wont have to call for the on propoerty shuttles to come get you every time. We were near the "adult" pool and spa which was fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    marriot fan now
    Business
    ny
    Jun 5, 2011

    cant believe this is hilton

    at he bar one night as we were leaving we had walked leaving our wallet on the bar. when we returned a minute later it had been taken. there was no one around except a security guard and when asked he denied taking it. after calling the manager the wallet showed up 45 mins later about 20 feet away sitting on a bench. and guess who found it. the same security guard.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Santa Clarita Ca.
    May 28, 2011

    Trip of a lifetime

    We flew into Liberia and rented a small 4 wheel drive suv and drove ourselves to the hotel. It was a few hours early but our room was ready. Met a fellow on the beach named [...] from Issy's tours and arranged all our tours through him. Mega Combo, Fishing (fantastic) and a jungle riverboat cruise. All were delivered as promised and perfect. We met a lovely couple and drove to Playa Del Coco with them for beers and shopping and Cuban cigars. The Food at the Hilton was excellent the bar staff friendly and fast and the grounds beautiful. Do not let negative reviews scare you away. This is about as good as it gets

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Charles & Michelle
    Business
    Charleston, SC
    May 1, 2011

    Fantastis Honeymoon in Costa Rica

    This trip was fantastic in every way. The resort was beautiful and very accomadating. Our room was perfect with a goregous view. The staff was amazing, so friendly and helpful. We went on two excursions, snorkeling and zip lining. Both were so much fun. We also rented a car with another couple and traveled 4 hours to the Arenal Volcano. This was a great day, we say Costa Rica up close and personal. We saw this outstanding volcano and relaxed in some hot springs! We will go back to this resort and Costa Rica anytime!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chicago
    Apr 3, 2011

    Beautiful

    The travel desk was helpful. The staff is very attentive.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    California
    Jan 12, 2011

    Great Location

    The property was beautiful! Rooms are in good shape and pools/bars/restaurants look great. Rooms were cleaned well every day. The staff (and locals) were all very nice and friendly. The bar was fantastic. The rest of the experience was mediocre - the food was ok, very limited activities, and no night life. The 2 restaurants were reservation-only and filled up very quickly. Even if space was open at dinner time, we were not allowed in because we didn't reserve ahead of time. The restaurant food was good, but the buffet was horrible. The hotel is in a secluded spot, so you should rent a car, pay for excursions, or be prepared to stay on property. We rented a car and had a much better time off property than on. It ended up being mostly just a bed to sleep on, so not worth the "all-inclusive" price tag. Overall - beautiful location, very nice staff, and wonderful country. For us, the money was not worth what we got here, but it could be a good choice for some people.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make all dinner reservations on the first day you're there.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Moscow, Russia
    Jan 10, 2011

    Nice hotel!

    Good food. All-inclusive. Good animation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top