$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arenilla, Golfo de Papagayo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
91 reviews
Amazing getaway

My husband and I were happy the moment we arrived to the resort. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Leslie Super Mom
  • Aug 11, 2014
Outstanding

We had the best vacation ever. The food ,the staff and the resort was outstanding. We will be going... See full review

  • hall04
  • Aug 15, 2013
Family friendly all-inclusive resort on the beach near Playas del Coco

Immersed in the lush vegetation surrounding the Papagayo Gulf, the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers a vacation oasis overlooking Culebra Bay. Designed to mesh with the natural setting, the eco-friendly resort features bungalow-style accommodations surrounded by local wildlife. Kid-friendly accommodations and activities make the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa ideal for families. The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also has a business center, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Beachfront location on Culebra Bay
  • Family-friendly programs and guest rooms
  • On-site water sports and scuba center
  • All-inclusive meals, snacks and drinks
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Rooms

The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers 202 suites and bungalows, all featuring private terraces or balconies with garden or ocean views. Bungalows have two bedrooms, with kings or sets of double beds. Guest suites have single king beds and living rooms. All bungalows and suites have polished wood furnishings, premium mattresses and Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities. Other in-room amenities include 32-inch LCD TVs with U.S. channels, MP3 clock radios, stocked mini-fridges, coffee makers and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive resort features family-friendly amenities like a Kids Club, children's swimming pool and family guest rooms. Visitors can find tropical escapes and endless activities with a three-level infinity pool, beach access, a water sports center, spa and 24-hour fitness center.  Meals include buffets with international and local fare, a casual grill, and guests can make reservations at the Mediterranean-style a la carte restaurant. Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the property (fees apply). Business travelers can find a full-service business center and more than 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting space.

 

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (9.2 mi/14.7 km)
  • Africa Mia (23.7 mi/37.9 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (32.3 mi/51.7 km)

 

Business
  • Business center with computers
  • Flexible meeting spaces
  • Presentation equipment available
  • Print, copy and fax services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

10.602 -85.6464
Area served
Near Playa Panama, Playa Hermosa, Gulf of Papagayo, Liberia, Guanacaste the resort is located on the beautiful Gulf of Papagayo, Guanacaste only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport and In close proximity to Playa Hermosa and Playas del Coco.
Nearby airports
International Airport: Liberia International (LIR) Distance 11 miles
Domestic Airport: San Jose International (SJO) Distance: 131 miles
Closest Public transport: Taxi - Car Rental.
Closest Major City: Liberia
Area description
Near Playa Panama, the resort is located on the beautiful Gulf of Papagayo, Guanacaste only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport and In close proximity to Playa Hermosa and Playas del Coco.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

King Ocean View Balcony
Our King Bedded guest rooms offer panoramic views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All rooms are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

Our guest rooms offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our rooms feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Tropical
    Enjoy the tropical setting from your private balcony with teak wood furniture. All Tropical bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    King Bungalow Oceanfront
    These King Bedded bungalows feature charming views of the The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony where you will hear the relaxing sound of the waves. All oceanfront bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Oceanview
    These Two Double Bedded bungalows offer charming views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    Junior Suite
    Enjoy a Jr. Suite with a private patio, individual plunge pool overlooking spectacular views of The Gulf of Papagayo.

    Beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.
    King Bungalow Ocean View
    These King Bedded bungalows offer charming views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Our guest rooms offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    King Bungalow Tropical
    Enjoy the tropical setting from your private balcony with teak wood furniture. All Tropical bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Oceanfront
    These Two double bedded bungalows feature charming views of The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony where you will hear the relaxing sound of the waves.

    All oceanfront bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Our bungalows offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.

    Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    Grill del Fuego
    Located in the tranquil Spa area, Grill del Fuego offers a day-time menu with fresh, casual fare and fresh fruit smoothie menu.
    In the evening, enjoy classic Italian cuisine, with pastas and traditional Italian sweets
    Hours
  • Open Dayli 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
  • In-Room Dining Experience
    Available daily from 4:00 p.m. until 10:00 p.m. There is a 15 USD delivery charge per order.

    Hours
  • Open Dayli 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • La Cosecha
    At La Cosecha, start your day with our full breakfast buffet; enjoy your favorites and sample local dishes. The a la carte lunch offers a variety of options, changing every day. At dinner, you and your family will enjoy nightly specials of international cuisine.
  • Open Dayli 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
  • El Dorado
    In the elegant ambiance of El Dorado restaurant, youll experience Chef Nicolas Piattis expression of contemporary cuisine..

    The restaurant is open for dinner from 6:15pm to 10:00pm.

    El Ritual Bar
    El Rituals bar team will delight you with fresh mixes of your favorite spirits and tropical fruit flavors, as well as the bars full range of beer, wine and soft drinks. Accompany your beverages with the Pura Vida-style bar snacks menu.

    Open Dayli from 11:00am to 1:00am Hours

    Fuente de Vida - Pool Bar
    Swim up pool bar located in the main swimming pool, serves cocktails, beer and soft drinks. Perfect for a beverage in the sun!

    Open from 11:00 am to 5:00 pm Hours .

    El Bocadillo Snack Bar & Grill
    This palm-roofed open air restaurant with Gulf of Papagayo views offers a lunch menu featuring local dishes and modern, lunch classics.
    El Bocadillos evening Steakhouse-style menu features grilled specialties and creative sides.
    hours
  • Open Dayli 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
  • Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    With over 1,700 sq. feet of meeting and event space, Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa offers a full range of facilities to easily accommodate gatherings up to 250 in an indoor setting or up to 150 in an open area. Meetings rooms offer a variety of configurations and themed events can be custom-designed to your needs, and with a picture-perfect locale, our staff can make your Costa Rica wedding an unforgettable event.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (91)

    Ratings and reviews for Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    91 out of 91
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.4
    Room comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3.9

    77% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Nova Scotian
    NS, Canada
    Aug 17, 2013

    Relaxing, rejueventaing

    The food was wonderful - very tastefully created. The staff was great - they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The resort was in a beautiful setting - pools, beaches and the smoothie bar was fantastic!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Day trips are great experiences

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    hall04
    Chattanoga,tn
    Aug 15, 2013

    Outstanding

    We had the best vacation ever. The food ,the staff and the resort was outstanding. We will be going back next year for our 25th wedding anniversary.I have read the negative review and don't know why they had such and bad time. It was more the we were expecting.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    The food was like a 5 star restaurant and the staff was very good.

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Fun Couple
    Southern Pines, NC
    Jul 27, 2013

    AWESOME TRIP!

    Highly recommend this hotel! Nice people, good drinks, amazing food and clean rooms!!!....Our trip was flawless and would definitely stay here again. The food was my favorite part. After eating at this hotel, I'm surprised anyone has anything bad to say about the food!....The restaurant menus were good, snack bar food had great options and food at the buffet was full of flavor. (If you like plain foods and are just a meat and potato type person, then that would be the only reason not to like the food. It is very flavorful and They also use a lot of cilantro!) This is my third all-inclusive and I think it goes neck and neck with Dreams Puerto Vallarta (loved that trip) and it blows Gran Bahia (hated everything about that hotel) in Jamaica OUT OF THE WATER!!! Food is very important to me and I was concerned before we got there, but it went above expectatons. Great drink menu!...It also is very convenient to Liberia, El Coco Beach and I would say one of the better locations to get to all of the volcanos and national parks!......If you are young and want a night life, this wouldn't be the best hotel, go to Coco Beach, but if your young adults/adults and want to relax with a great atmosphere this is the hotel for you! Thank you to all the staff :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Kat and Kitty
    Connecticut, USA
    Jul 14, 2013

    Relaxation at the Hilton

    After a strenuous couple of days hiking the Arenol Volcano area it was wonderful to relax at this hotel! First of all, it was a very easy 20 minute drive from Liberia Airport. The majority of the rooms are actually bungalows which are like mini-condos. You can walk the windy roads to the various restaurants or take the tram/trolley which is very easy and convenient. The exterior of our bungalow was a bit worn and dated, and the walkway was not in good shape. Also, every morning we awoke to an unpleasant surprise....apparently a large animal defecated right by our walkway! Now let me tell you....that was a little bothersome thinking - what large animal is lurking by our bungalow at night! That, along with the fact that it was pitch black early in the evening with little lights to brighten the walkway, we were a bit nervous returning to our room after dinner. However, our room was terrific - modern and clean! We sunbathed at the adult pool during our stay and that was nice and quiet. The beach was close, but the sand was black from the volcano so very few people went swimming. The all-inclusive aspect was great. The food was quite good as were the drinks which kept coming. Beware of the raccoons though....they were brazen and tried to join us for dinner twice! If you are looking for big-time nightlife, you can forget it. The evenings are long as it's already dark at 6pm. We were pretty much in our room by 9/9:30 each night because in spite of the bar, there wasn't anything else to do.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make dinner reservations as soon as you check in!

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    nolabi
    Illinois
    Jun 14, 2013

    Costa Rica 2013

    Great staff. Went out of their way to be accomodating. The service was excellent. The food was ok, nothing to brag about. The entertainment is adequate. During the day the music could be a bit louder by the pool. The beach was nice but I was not impressed. I prefer white sand. The rooms were wonderful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    The presentation was great.

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Mapeter6
    West Warwick RI
    Feb 11, 2013

    Winter vacation

    Went to Costa Rica for vacation and stayed at the Hilton where I knew I would get a nice resort. Very pleasantly surprised that it was better than imagined. Views were awesome, staff was very pleasant and they went out of there way to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. They were really great. Had the main pool for all and an adult pool for those who want quiet It was a very fun time

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Well Traveled Latina
    Washington DC
    Jul 8, 2012

    Swim up bar, great food, what else is there?

    There was beautiful bungalow next to another one. There was a Jurassic park trolley would pick you up. There was an adults only pool. Snoozefest but the food at the cafe was healthy and clean. For the swim up bar you had to go to the other pool. We met great people who were on the same wavelength as us. As you know at these all inclusive sometimes the drinks aren't as as strong here was great. Hiltom works with united miles. We also had a little aardvark possum friend visit at lunch. Food was fantastic!beach is on the pacific side. Enough said

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    We took the best excursion-zip lining horse ride to bottom of mountain we we had a sauna followedd by mud bath (ladies bring a dark bathing suit the mud stained my bikini ) then a shower the relaxing thermal bath. I would have loved to stay there all day. We even ate salad and other great food. First trip we never got sick!!

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Chicagoens
    ChicGo
    Jun 3, 2012

    Costa rica getaway

    Wonderful. Entertainment was fun! Staff very very friendly. The overall experience was very good. Ask for Julio...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    4 restaurants and the best at the buffet.

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Skippy McGee
    Chicago
    May 13, 2012

    Great place; avoid the lobby

    Everything at the Hilton Papguayo was wonderful -- as long as you stay away from the lobby. We were nickle-and-dimed and got screwed over just about every time we walked in there. It was far from the type of service I expect from a Hilton property. The biggest gripe: The $60 private BMW I reserved through the hotel to pick us up at the airport turned out to be a communal (non BMW, of course) shuttle that we shared with another couple ($50 a party). It was our honeymoon and it was a very frustrating start to the trip. It was even more frustrating knowing the hotel wound up making an extra $40 on our wrong transportation. The guy at the front desk showed no remorse to us or the other couple and didn't even consider lowering the price. So a 10 or 12 mile ride somehow costs $100. Unreal. It didn't get much better any other time we stepped foot in the lobby. Stay away from it, and you'll be very pleased. The rooms, the views, the beach, the pools, the FREE food, everything was very nice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Do the Rincon de la Vieja tour. Zip lining, rock climbing, cliff diving, horseback riding, lunch, tubing, hot spring and mud bath all for $80 a person. Excellent time. Excellent value.

    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    SEVR
    Boulder, CO, USA
    Apr 9, 2012

    Very nice - different than the RIUs

    The Hilton Papagayo is a very nice resort. The bungalow setup makes it unigue as compared to other all inclusives. Food was very good, pools and surroundings are well taken care of. No complaints other than the room cleanliness could have been better. The bungallows are worn, and not like a Hilton in the USA, but the furniture and accomodations are fine for being in a remote country! Use ISSYS tours as they are very reasonable.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search