$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arenilla, Golfo de Papagayo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
92 reviews
Amazing getaway

My husband and I were happy the moment we arrived to the resort. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Leslie Super Mom
  • Aug 11, 2014
Outstanding

We had the best vacation ever. The food ,the staff and the resort was outstanding. We will be going... See full review

  • hall04
  • Aug 15, 2013
Family friendly all-inclusive resort on the beach near Playas del Coco

Immersed in the lush vegetation surrounding the Papagayo Gulf, the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers a vacation oasis overlooking Culebra Bay. Designed to mesh with the natural setting, the eco-friendly resort features bungalow-style accommodations surrounded by local wildlife. Kid-friendly accommodations and activities make the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa ideal for families. The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also has a business center, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Beachfront location on Culebra Bay
  • Family-friendly programs and guest rooms
  • On-site water sports and scuba center
  • All-inclusive meals, snacks and drinks
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Rooms

The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers 202 suites and bungalows, all featuring private terraces or balconies with garden or ocean views. Bungalows have two bedrooms, with kings or sets of double beds. Guest suites have single king beds and living rooms. All bungalows and suites have polished wood furnishings, premium mattresses and Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities. Other in-room amenities include 32-inch LCD TVs with U.S. channels, MP3 clock radios, stocked mini-fridges, coffee makers and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive resort features family-friendly amenities like a Kids Club, children's swimming pool and family guest rooms. Visitors can find tropical escapes and endless activities with a three-level infinity pool, beach access, a water sports center, spa and 24-hour fitness center.  Meals include buffets with international and local fare, a casual grill, and guests can make reservations at the Mediterranean-style a la carte restaurant. Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the property (fees apply). Business travelers can find a full-service business center and more than 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting space.

 

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Airport, Liberia (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (9.2 mi/14.7 km)
  • Africa Mia (23.7 mi/37.9 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (32.3 mi/51.7 km)

 

Business
  • Business center with computers
  • Flexible meeting spaces
  • Presentation equipment available
  • Print, copy and fax services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

10.602 -85.6464
Area served
Near Playa Panama, Playa Hermosa, Gulf of Papagayo, Liberia, Guanacaste the resort is located on the beautiful Gulf of Papagayo, Guanacaste only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport and In close proximity to Playa Hermosa and Playas del Coco.
Nearby airports
International Airport: Liberia International (LIR) Distance 11 miles
Domestic Airport: San Jose International (SJO) Distance: 131 miles
Closest Public transport: Taxi - Car Rental.
Closest Major City: Liberia
Area description
Near Playa Panama, the resort is located on the beautiful Gulf of Papagayo, Guanacaste only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport and In close proximity to Playa Hermosa and Playas del Coco.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

King Ocean View Balcony
Our King Bedded guest rooms offer panoramic views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All rooms are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

Our guest rooms offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our rooms feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Tropical
    Enjoy the tropical setting from your private balcony with teak wood furniture. All Tropical bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    King Bungalow Oceanfront
    These King Bedded bungalows feature charming views of the The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony where you will hear the relaxing sound of the waves. All oceanfront bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Oceanview
    These Two Double Bedded bungalows offer charming views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    Junior Suite
    Enjoy a Jr. Suite with a private patio, individual plunge pool overlooking spectacular views of The Gulf of Papagayo.

    Beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.
    King Bungalow Ocean View
    These King Bedded bungalows offer charming views of the resorts tropical setting and The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony. All bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Our guest rooms offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    King Bungalow Tropical
    Enjoy the tropical setting from your private balcony with teak wood furniture. All Tropical bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Each bungalow offers
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.
    2 Double Bungalow Oceanfront
    These Two double bedded bungalows feature charming views of The Gulf of Papagayo from your private balcony where you will hear the relaxing sound of the waves.

    All oceanfront bungalows are beautifully decorated with dark solid wood furniture with all the necessities for an unforgettable stay.

    Our bungalows offer
  • 32-inch flat panel LCD TV
  • Comfortable Chairs with Activity Table
  • Cordless Two-Line Telephone with Voicemail
  • Electronic In-Room Safe
  • Coffeemaker
  • In-Room Fridge
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer.


  • Our bungalows feature the famous Hilton Serenity Collection: The Serenity Bed includes an exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box springs, Super Topper mattress pad, down-filled comforter, Touch of Down pillows, 250 thread-count sheets and duvet cover as well as bolster pillows.

    Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    With over 1,700 sq. feet of meeting and event space, Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa offers a full range of facilities to easily accommodate gatherings up to 250 in an indoor setting or up to 150 in an open area. Meetings rooms offer a variety of configurations and themed events can be custom-designed to your needs, and with a picture-perfect locale, our staff can make your Costa Rica wedding an unforgettable event.

    Dining

    Grill del Fuego
    Located in the tranquil Spa area, Grill del Fuego offers a day-time menu with fresh, casual fare and fresh fruit smoothie menu.
    In the evening, enjoy classic Italian cuisine, with pastas and traditional Italian sweets
    Hours
  • Open Dayli 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
  • In-Room Dining Experience
    Available daily from 4:00 p.m. until 10:00 p.m. There is a 15 USD delivery charge per order.

    Hours
  • Open Dayli 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • La Cosecha
    At La Cosecha, start your day with our full breakfast buffet; enjoy your favorites and sample local dishes. The a la carte lunch offers a variety of options, changing every day. At dinner, you and your family will enjoy nightly specials of international cuisine.
  • Open Dayli 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
  • El Dorado
    In the elegant ambiance of El Dorado restaurant, youll experience Chef Nicolas Piattis expression of contemporary cuisine..

    The restaurant is open for dinner from 6:15pm to 10:00pm.

    El Ritual Bar
    El Rituals bar team will delight you with fresh mixes of your favorite spirits and tropical fruit flavors, as well as the bars full range of beer, wine and soft drinks. Accompany your beverages with the Pura Vida-style bar snacks menu.

    Open Dayli from 11:00am to 1:00am Hours

    Fuente de Vida - Pool Bar
    Swim up pool bar located in the main swimming pool, serves cocktails, beer and soft drinks. Perfect for a beverage in the sun!

    Open from 11:00 am to 5:00 pm Hours .

    El Bocadillo Snack Bar & Grill
    This palm-roofed open air restaurant with Gulf of Papagayo views offers a lunch menu featuring local dishes and modern, lunch classics.
    El Bocadillos evening Steakhouse-style menu features grilled specialties and creative sides.
    hours
  • Open Dayli 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
  • Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (92)

    Ratings and reviews for Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    92 out of 92
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.4
    Room comfort:
    4.1
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    3.9

    76% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    hall04
    Chattanoga,tn
    Aug 15, 2013

    Outstanding

    We had the best vacation ever. The food ,the staff and the resort was outstanding. We will be going back next year for our 25th wedding anniversary.I have read the negative review and don't know why they had such and bad time. It was more the we were expecting.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    The food was like a 5 star restaurant and the staff was very good.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Julito
    Business
    Queens, NY
    Oct 19, 2014

    Overrated

    The resort is beautiful!! Location, location, location! But besides that it starts going down hill... The staff is non engaging except for the exception of people like Julio mr. Do it all... Hector at the bar, Francisco At the restaurants, Jose Angel one of the servers and a few others who really went all out to make your stay memorable.... But really sad only few provide good customer service. Problem 1. Only 2 restaurants open... #2 No open buffet for an all inclusive... #3 Did not warn of construction during our stay...#4 Raccoons all over the place even while you are having dinner they are trying to steal your dinner... #5 If no reservation at the restaurants they will simply tell you we are closed although it's not time to close and the place is empty! Mind you only 2 restaurants and no buffet!!! Lmao so your only alternative is fried food at the bar#6 everything is a la cart no serve yourself meaning if you want seconds you need to ask (keep in mind plates are very small)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Go to Cocoa beach for entertainment, suverniers, attractions and nightlife... Great place and nightlife!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Leslie Super Mom
    Business
    Camarillo, California
    Aug 11, 2014

    Amazing getaway

    My husband and I were happy the moment we arrived to the resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful. The food was fresh and delicious. We are already planning a return trip with the kids next time. Loved it!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Request a room close to the main pool to avoid relying on the shuttles. The property is large!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    B.hamil
    Business
    Minneapolis
    Jun 15, 2014

    Honeymoon

    We had a great time at this hilton resort for our honeymoon

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make dinner reservations for the same day first thing in the morning

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    The Vistas
    Business
    Fort Lauderdale Florida
    May 13, 2014

    Great getaway but needs some help

    Had a great trip! Love Costa Rica! Very beautiful place to visit... The hotel was OK, I expected alittle more for a 4 star hotel. On our first day we had paid for an ocean view room and got a partial view, they tried to accommodate us and change rooms but it was to an even worst partial ocean view. The first room was not too clean and all the rooms need an upgrade repair wise.The manager at the front desk Denise was not easily accommodating to our needs and complaints. After a lot of back and forth regarding the room and availability they finally put us in a room we felt we paid for a full ocean view room but according to them was a beachfront view. In the mist of them trying to make it better she had offered a complimentary spa treatment for my husband and myself. When I contacted her later that day she didn't want to offer the spa treatment because she "gave" us a better room which to us was a room we actually wanted at first and paid for. So again pulling for our accommodations. She finally agreed to contact the spa and advise them of our arraignment. When at the spa they had no idea of this and when contacted her she told them it was 1/2 an hour for only one person. The communication with the staff was the most upsetting. Also in our last room we were "upgraded" to had a hole on the floor on the balcony, the tv wouldn't work & the AC started leaking water and made a huge water puddle on the floor that almost made me slip and fall and I am pregnant. But overall it was nice to be at an all inclusive hotel. It was a nice stay and great location close to everything.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    Coco beach

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    amykat
    Business
    Rockwall, TX
    Mar 26, 2014

    Good but sprained ankle on hilly terrain

    We were very excited to arrive at Hilton Papagayo during our first trip to Costa Rica. The staff are sweet and attentive, the food was mostly good and the views were awesome. The only big complaint is our first room was up a high hill with lots of twists and I twisted ankle badly with immediate swelling two nights before we left, which made our trip to the hot springs and horseback riding excursion very difficult, where I there again twisted the already messed up ankle. I would definitely pay extra for seaside room so that this won't happen to you. Or else insist that they not put you in the back of the resort when you book!! Because of the pain I endured, I give this resort 3 stars and also they need to update the cinder block stairs stepping down from resort to beach. They are worn and someone's bound to get hurt there, too.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    AL2014
    Business
    N.J.
    Mar 3, 2014

    couple getaway

    We were group of 4 people and we staid in this resort in February. I would like to share my experience. Location is good, ground is very nice, room is clean, stuff is very friendly, food is good. But this resort needs renovations: rooms is very old, sidewalks to the rooms in a terrible conditions. You have to be very careful when you walk to your room, specially when it is dark. We travel a lot and it is our first experience that in all inclusive resort you have entertainment only twice a week. And if you a beach person this resort it is not for you.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Can't get out this loop
    Business
    Bellingham, wa
    Feb 14, 2014

    Middle of the road for all inclusives

    Enjoyed our stay, but resort needs updating. Staff was excellent. Food was average and you had to make reservations at all the restaurants. We found the El Bocadillo to be the best of the bunch, but El Darado had nice ambience. The no fee water sports was limited to snorkeling. They didn't have sail boats or paddle boats. The resort is a little remote, so you need to book excursions or rent a car.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    World Travelers...
    Business
    New York / Texas
    Oct 27, 2013

    Beautiful Location & Wonderful Staff

    My wife and I celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary at this gorgeous spot in Costa Rica, a place my wife always wanted to visit. The views are incredible and the staff are exceptional and that's what sets this place apart from other hotels.The bungalows situated all over the steep slopes overlook the ocean bay or countryside, giving it an intimate feel and charm. Shuttles take you to the various resort locations and are only a call away.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: In Hotel

    If you're looking for night Life this is not the place for you. This a place for relaxation , to enjoy the views, spa, various pools , ocean , wildlife ,or casual dining .

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Minimefix
    Business
    Red Bank, New Jersey
    Oct 27, 2013

    Cool getaway

    Just got back from our vacation in Costa Rica. Very cool experience. First time visiting. Decided on all inclusive to make things easier and also decided on Hilton due to branding. Hotel very close to Liberia airport. You can get a taxi upon arrival or have pre-arranged shuttle pickup. We decided on pre-arranged which worked out fine. Overall stay at Hilton Papagayo was enjoybable but 3 things are worth mentioning: 1) was upgraded to a ocean front room but had to switch rooms due to drainage issue in bathroom. Bathrooom had no tub (walk in shower but the shower area is level with the rest of the bathroom) because it was handicap accessible but it did have a spout. Once you turn shower on, the Water flowed from spout and shower head and drainage was very very slow hence water fills up bathroom floor. 2) Some areas of the hotel could use a face lift. Steps leading to and from beach to the main pool area are in poor condition which could lead to injuries. The room's furniture and bathroom fixtures could use face lift. 3# smell of sewage near main pool bar area. Not sure if there were sewage issues the week we were there but someone should look to fixing this. Doesn't make an enjoyable hang when you can smell raw sewage. The staff was wonderful. Julio #shuttle driver# was the best and willing to do anything to please you. Jose #bartender at Fuego grill# gets a big thumbs up as well. He makes a mean Howler Monkey drink. Drinks are plentiful though there is only one kind of beer #costa rican brand-Imperia# which isn't bad. As for wines-you can have cabernet or sauvignon blanc #both chilean#. Bartenders not stingy with alcohol once you get to know them. I recommend having the local liquor-Guaro Cacique. Smooth and delish. Have it with club and splash of cranbery. Food was fine though not spectacular. Portions are small but it worked for us. Breakfast buffet was very nice. Had no trouble with dinner reservations due to low season. Hotel has Swiss Tours on site and we booked several excursions throught them which was very convenient. Hilton Honors member gets 10% off tours. Highly recommend zipline tour-highlight of our trip. There are two hiking trails on the property-saw howler monkeys on our first day. Very cool. A family of racoons tend to come out about 8:30 pm near the pool area! A costa rica racoon #coati) also lives on the property. I highly recommend brining bug spray unless you don't mind paying $20 for a can at the hotel. Would definitely go back to Costa Rica but likely to stay nearer the Arenal/La Fortuna next time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    2 hiking trails on property-one behind reception and one by the 400 block of rooms. You will likely howler monkeys in the trees during hike.Have cameras ready.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Kirkswlms
    Business
    St.Petersburg, FL.
    Aug 21, 2013

    Dissapointed

    I was surprised that Hilton would put it's name on this property! The resort is tired and in need of renovation! The front desk help is horrible and of little help! The food in the general dinning room was of poor quality and you were rushed to eat! There is only one bar, the drinks are small, and weak! The property is large, shuttles are provided, and the drivers are great! The shuttle to and from the airport that was booked through this site was twice the cost of a taxi plus dropped us off at the airport and hour before it opened!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Costa Rica is beautiful..... see country!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top