$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
Beautiful Quaint Resort

We loved this resort and definitely would go back. The resort is right on the beach. The pool is... See full review

  • Susan Canada
  • Nov 14, 2014
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan Canada
Business
Las Sabanas, Nica
Nov 14, 2014

Beautiful Quaint Resort

We loved this resort and definitely would go back. The resort is right on the beach. The pool is gorgeous and super clean. Loved the swim up bar. The breakfast was just ok. However the salads are amazing, as well as the entrees and desserts. As for the vegetables, they are grown on their own organic farm, which is cool. The service was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dawgsmom
Business
San Francisco CA
Aug 27, 2014

Beautiful resort

Very lovely overall. Beautiful pool, a few yards to the beach. Trying to be a resort that offers a guest everything so that you never have to leave. They have an activities director that holds ping pong competitions, water aerobics and so on. What I didn't like was the photography staff bugging you to take pictures (they want you to buy them of course). The gym is ridiculously hot to work out in! I do like that they encourage you to refill your water bottles instead of buying plastic. They have about 3 clean water stations for you refill your bottles. Breakfast food was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roykwon
Business
Chino hills ca
Jul 17, 2014

Stay here

Don't expect Mexico resort style convenience and you'll be just fine, but most people that travel to Costa Rica tend to be adventurous and don't plan on staying at the resort anyways. The location is good for diving the Catalina's some zip lining, horse riding, jet skiing and atving. About an hours drive to tamarindo for surfing. Water pressure is low in the shower but aside from that, no notable negatives. The pool is clean and the grounds are well maintained. The food is decent but not worth getting the all inclusive Hope that helps I traveled with my wife and 2 kids3/4

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tubla for Italian and coconut beach for seafood was my choices. Just across the street is Marie's for decent food as well if the resort food doesn't meet your needs. Lots of restaurants are closed during the low season

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ritztvs
Business
Dallas, tx
Jul 15, 2014

Great All-inclusive deal

I stayed at the resort for a destination wedding for 4 days. Booked a double and was given a king, so before I arrived, friend asked them to move us to a double, which turned out to be a handicap room. We kept the room simply bc it overlooked the pool. Beds were really comfortable, but showering without a tub made for a flooded bathroom. (Definitely not a wise idea to blow dry your hair after showering). Bar/waitstaff were great, unless you had one of the young kids pouring drinks. In that case, drinks were less than a shot of liquor. Good was great. Beach was right there, only problem, there were no beach chairs available. Most amazing sunsets I've ever seen. I'd definitely recommend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Pablo's surfing lessons is a must. $50

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camille T
Business
Skillman NJ
Jul 14, 2014

Beach trip

Great hotel, but the food could be better. Great beach access and clean and nice rooms, plus affordable price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kpro04
Business
boston
May 4, 2014

family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for a quiet romantic getaway or for families. The resort set up a lot of excursions that are affordable and the beach is right across from the resort. One thing is that this hotel is on the pacific side fyi so the waves are a little bit stronger than if on the caribbean side. The rooms with a balcony are on the smaller side but offer a great view and very clean. The food I would say varies and is average. There are a few restaurants in walking distance to change it up a bit. The best part was probably the pool bar and the awesome bartenders manolo, leo, elias to name a few that became part of the family and extremely entertaining. Pool bar is open to 6 and then there is an open air restaraunt and bar that opens at 6 and alberto is great as well. This is a small resort so you feel like you know everyone and we met a lot of people, some that even knew the same people as us. It was great and just what we needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GKM1
Business
Glenview, IL
Mar 31, 2014

Wonderful family vacation

We can't speak highly enough about the wonderful time we had at the resort. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The pools and rooms were clean. The food was delicious. The wait staff were very attentive. The beach was clean and the best in the area. Without a doubt, would recommend Flamingo beach resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB and JB
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Feb 10, 2014

Met expectations, had a great week

I read reviews before booking and found most to be right on, except for the real negative ones, disregard them. We thoroughly enjoyed the beach,but advise the ocean is not for non-swimmers. The hotel staff was great (courteous and prompt) and able to help english only guests better than we have encountered before. We found the food to be excellent, would advise non or light drinkers to not choose the all inclusive option, otherwise it would probably be better. There are no shows or entertainment, and tours are a bit costly, as reviewers have noted. I would suggest the hotel support some local musicians and have occcasional performers. We would definitely go back to Flamingo beach, especially if a deal came available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce.Mexico
Business
Indiana U.S.A.
Feb 6, 2014

Perfect experience

From the time we arrived we were given th VIP treatment and the hotel with all it's amenities ,wright next to the beach was a perfect vacation. Would recommend the Flamingo hotel to all my friends and family and I will go back there for sure . bruce Young Indiana U.S.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
caridbou
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jan 21, 2014

Steals Credit Card Info!!!

I did not stay as a guest at the resort, but I did use their spa facilities, making an appointment on December 31st 2013 for a pedicure. I arrived, had my card processed, signed, and went for the pedicure. The pedicure itself was only so-so ... not great exfoliation and I wasn't given time to let the polish dry before being asked to leave the spa. However, the problem came 2 weeks later, when I realized there were THREE transactions on my account, all from "FLAMINGO BEACH RESORT GUANACASTE." One was processed Jan 2, the other two were Jan. 13 -- almost two weeks after my appointment. I didn't think much of it at first, thinking it was just a banking error, but shortly thereafter, I found several fraudulent charges from iTunes on my account. I cancelled my CC, called my bank and iTunes, and was told that someone from Costa Rica had made the purchases. Then I asked my bank about the Flamingo Resort charges and they told me they were ALL initiated by someone at the resort. I called the resort and was VERY rudely treated by the front desk manager and the operations manager, both of whom told me that it was normal to be charged and then refunded and then charged (for a higher amount!) later. They then told me that their resort NEVER shows up on VISA as "Flamingo Beach Resort". They also said that they had "no idea how these later transactions (2 weeks later) happened, as CCs are not kept on file unless you rent a room." In short, after a very frustrating phone call with the hotel, nothing was resolved. They THEN suggested that the charges were authorization holds, which is not true -- authorization holds don't get posted to your bank account and then refunded. They then accused me of saying their staff are thieves. Hello? No, I didn't. But clearly something is wrong here if you don't even recognize your own Visa name on a transaction... I have no idea what happened, but it was CLEARLY a case of someone using my credit card illegally because I have not used the card otherwise in CR (nervous about exactly this kind of thing!). The most frustrating thing about this is that the manager was completely unhelpful -- he kept giving ridiculous answers saying he didn't know, he didn't know how long it would take to find out information, that he wasn't inclined to help me, and that really, what could he do about it? The hotel looked lovely -- if overpriced for the area -- and the staff were quite helpful (although I'm not fond of the bands they make you wear to "tag" you as a guest of the hotel. However, given my experience here, I would NEVER recommend this resort to ANYONE, because even if the majority of folks are nice, friendly and trustworthy, if anything goes wrong, this resort does not stand by the maxim of "the customer is always right." Also, everyone monitor your credit card statements for at least a month afterwards -- you can never be too careful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go stay at Bahia del Sol instead -- I ended up needing my credit card FedEx'd to them eventhough I wasn't a guest. Costa Rica has no local addresses, and trying to give directions to my holiday rental would have been too difficult! After hearing my story, they gave me a complimentary beverage and let me stay and use their pool. They also have great yoga classes 3 times a week!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top