$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
98 reviews
Beautiful Quaint Resort

We loved this resort and definitely would go back. The resort is right on the beach. The pool is... See full review

  • Susan Canada
  • Nov 14, 2014
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Top hotels

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 98
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camille T
Business
Skillman NJ
Jul 14, 2014

Beach trip

Great hotel, but the food could be better. Great beach access and clean and nice rooms, plus affordable price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
faithnmoe
Business
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2013

Beware of Additional Fees

When I arrived at the hotel I was hit with additional charges for an extra guests. Normally when I travel its 2 ppl to a room but that is not the case here. In addition the staff person was very rude about the charges. And they always charge you more than advertised at the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny B2
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 8, 2012

Friends' getaway

Great location on Flamingo Beach. The staff and hotel cleanliness was very good. There is one main restaurant and the pool swim-up bar can also serve food & drinks. Breakfast was included, but get the all-inclusive if you plan on staying at the resort the entire time...it will pay for itself. The room with king bed was extremely spacious...a pleasant surprise! The town itself is very small and you will likely need transportation to get to any other beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelina's or Marie's are very close and offer good food/drinks. If more on a budget, then try Mariner Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Travelers
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2012

Great Staff

We recently stayed at the Flamingo Resort and Spa. The hotel didn't have anything that really set it apart from others EXCEPT the staff. They were friendly and accomodating and made you feel very comfortable. The staff would recognize you and go out of their way to meet any of your needs. Overall, the hotel was clean and had very good restaurants nearby. Unfortunately, there was not many other things nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingster
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Better than expected...

Everything about this hotel was as advertised. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is in a perfect location with a lot to do close by. You get alot of bang for your buck!! We are definitely going to stay here again. Don't believe the negative reviews....one of the best places I have stayed in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Resturants and Pizzerias close by are way cheaper than hotel and much better food;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elgin, IL
Jan 4, 2011

Great Resort!

Hotel was clean and staff very helpful. All staff spoke English. Trip was great more expensive then some. Drinks at hotel very expensive. Did not have all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
May 31, 2009

Excellent Value

All of the Flamingo Resort staff were super. They had great suggestions for off-site dining and transportation to get there. The opportunities to book various excursions was fantastic. We booked three excurision on three different days. They were all as described and very affordable. The only problem we encountered during our six day stay was one night in the resort restaurant they were out of steak. What a disappointment. However, our second choices were superb. The pool and swim bar were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must eat at the Golden Shrimp. What an experience under the stars with fantastic! lobster, shrimp and calamarie!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 28, 2009

Nice Hotel

The hotel is very nice but kind of far from nightlife if you aren't planning on renting a car. The taxi's basically rob you; charging you $35-$40 to get to Tamarindo (the center of all the nightlife in this part of Costa Rica). There are a few restaurants outside of the hotel that are good but other than that not very much. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. We asked for a room change b/c our airconditioner was broken and were able to move to another room across the hall without any problems. The guest rooms are nicer than the studio's so don't bother upgrading. On another note about the staff, don't ask them for dinner recommendations. They will all send you to this place called Camerones Dorado. The food is okay but the service is slow. They send you there b/c the hotel gets some sort of commission. Do other research before you go to find out about good places to eat. Many are in Tamarindo. By the hotel, Amberes and Marie's is pretty good. The gym at the hotel is a joke. The food at the hotel is horrendous. Those would be my only two complaints. Otherwise, like I mentioned, the guest rooms are clean and really nice. The pool is a good size and the beach is right in front of the hotel. Don't listen to people who complain about having to cross the street. The hotel is right there. The area in general looked very safe. It's not the most developed part of Costa Rica but it's a great location if you plan on doing excursions. Most are only 2-3 hours away. Also, after adjusting to it, it was kind of nice to be in an underdeveloped area. Wherever we went you were able to mingle with other travelers and locals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 26, 2007

Great Location

Having stayed in Flamingo numerous times I have to say that this has been my favorite hotel. Great location...you are practically on the beach. Nice pool with a small bar...the pool was a great hang out with lots of people to socialize and meet. The bartenders were also very friendly. I really liked the fact that i could open the sliding glass doors and in just a few steps I was at the pool, and within walking distance..just beyond the pool was the beach. I didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant there, but the other facilities I used were good. The only complaints that I would have was the construction that was going on to the grounds around the pool area (which is practically the center piece of the hotel). A bit noisy...but I spent most of my time at the beach so it wasn't much of a problem. And I would have liked to have seen better front desk service. The check in process took forever, and any time I needed some sort of assistance from someone at the front desk it was always the same. It wasn't like they were busy or anything...I feel like it's just part of the cuture, lifestyle to be very laidback, and part of the work ethic of also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beaches, Restaurants, Adventure tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 30, 2007

Comfortable and safe

The Flamingo Beach Resort is in an area of transition. There is presently new construction across the street to the north for a new mini mall of shops and Marie's Restaurant (very good food) will be redone. During my 10 day stay, I did have to ask for clean cups and glasses one day. There was a frig in the room - handy since we did lots of sightseeing during the day and didn't always feel like going to a formal meal. Good supply of coffee but no tea in the room - ah, well, it is Costa Rica coffee country. There was a balconey with to lawn chairs and a table - very comfortable for enjoying the rain. The air conditioning was challenging to adjust - but then we couldn't agree how cold to have it anyway! The formal dining room had rather late hours so we didn't utilize it. We did utilize the open air dining for most breakfasts and a couple of lunches. Service was very friendly and food was good. The second floor gift shop had split hours - morning and evening - sometimes open sign was up but no one was there. The first floor gift shop was very reasonably priced with friendly, knowledgeable staff but did not have stamps for postcards. Staff at the front desk was very friendly and had good multilingual skills. Bell person was available immediately anytime you needed help. The main pool was very nice but was going to be closing for repairs the day after I left - apparently tile was cracking in the bottom, possibly from tree roots. Due to rolling blackouts in Costa Rica, there were street lights out a couple of times at night but the Flamingo Beach Resort had generator power so that service were not impacted. There was a guard at a front gate checking all cars so that there was always parking available for our rental. There is not security at the back toward the beach since there is a public road between the resort and the public beach area. Artesians sold Nicaraguan pottery and handmade jewelry on the beach each day. The work was very nice quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marie's Restaurant - open air - modestly priced; midst of construction zone now but you can drive or walk to it. Food delicious - delicious coconut ice cream. Alcohol. Cash/credit card Marina Inn Restaurant/Bar - rugged semi open air with character - modestly priced - takes colones or dollars - best calamari ever had - beer is cold.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top