Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia, 2050

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
Beautiful Quaint Resort

We loved this resort and definitely would go back. The resort is right on the beach. The pool is... See full review

  • Susan Canada
  • Nov 14, 2014
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Property features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space
Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 85
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine P.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Beautiful hotel!!!

The hotel, pool and beach were awesome! It wasn't crowded, the food was good and we had a great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roykwon
Business
Chino hills ca
Jul 17, 2014

Stay here

Don't expect Mexico resort style convenience and you'll be just fine, but most people that travel to Costa Rica tend to be adventurous and don't plan on staying at the resort anyways. The location is good for diving the Catalina's some zip lining, horse riding, jet skiing and atving. About an hours drive to tamarindo for surfing. Water pressure is low in the shower but aside from that, no notable negatives. The pool is clean and the grounds are well maintained. The food is decent but not worth getting the all inclusive Hope that helps I traveled with my wife and 2 kids3/4

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tubla for Italian and coconut beach for seafood was my choices. Just across the street is Marie's for decent food as well if the resort food doesn't meet your needs. Lots of restaurants are closed during the low season

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kpro04
Business
boston
May 4, 2014

family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for a quiet romantic getaway or for families. The resort set up a lot of excursions that are affordable and the beach is right across from the resort. One thing is that this hotel is on the pacific side fyi so the waves are a little bit stronger than if on the caribbean side. The rooms with a balcony are on the smaller side but offer a great view and very clean. The food I would say varies and is average. There are a few restaurants in walking distance to change it up a bit. The best part was probably the pool bar and the awesome bartenders manolo, leo, elias to name a few that became part of the family and extremely entertaining. Pool bar is open to 6 and then there is an open air restaraunt and bar that opens at 6 and alberto is great as well. This is a small resort so you feel like you know everyone and we met a lot of people, some that even knew the same people as us. It was great and just what we needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GKM1
Business
Glenview, IL
Mar 31, 2014

Wonderful family vacation

We can't speak highly enough about the wonderful time we had at the resort. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The pools and rooms were clean. The food was delicious. The wait staff were very attentive. The beach was clean and the best in the area. Without a doubt, would recommend Flamingo beach resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce.Mexico
Business
Indiana U.S.A.
Feb 6, 2014

Perfect experience

From the time we arrived we were given th VIP treatment and the hotel with all it's amenities ,wright next to the beach was a perfect vacation. Would recommend the Flamingo hotel to all my friends and family and I will go back there for sure . bruce Young Indiana U.S.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rtwaka
Business
Fair Oaks, CA
Jan 15, 2013

family

Great location to relax at the beach. Located out of main traffic area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun to see the world
Business
Austin, Texas
Jan 4, 2013

Loved it!

Amazing beach, good room, great pool and free breakfast. Great location - town is tiny but the beach is just so wonderful! The bathrooms could use an update to give an overall cleaner feeling, but the room was clean and comfy and large. Very safe and would live to come back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the panache catamaran excursion offered at the concierge desk. So fun, well organized, includes dinner and one of our best Costa Rica memories.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mcuegom
Business
San José, Costa Rica
Dec 30, 2012

Not bad but not fantastic

There is only one restaurant, the big pool is dirty, and there are birds above the kid's pool and they defecate in It. The activities are boring and very few. The staff is helpful, but definitely I have been in better 4 star places than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit playa conchal!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MishG
Business
White Plains, NY
Jul 8, 2012

Great Vacation

The Flamingo Resort was a great experience for my family. I traveled with my husband and children ages 19 and 22. The grounds, pool and beach are beautiful and very well maintained. We did the all inclusive and the food was good. In the dining room Alex was wonderful, she was always helpful and smiling...Orlando was also terrific! The staff was always polite. The only negatives I could say are the room and beach towels need to be upgraded although they were always clean. There is little night life, the casino was empty, and for some reason on Friday night the bar was closed to a private party. There are two restaurant/bars in walking distance, though we didn't try them. Use ecotrans for your excursions they were great!! We used rizo transportation to and from the airport also a good experience. Don't rent a car, while it is cheap roads are not really labeled and some barely qualify as roads. Costa Rica is a beautiful country terrific people I want to go back and visit the other parts of the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

do tour the national park by boat (use Ecotrans, Luis was great) It was a beautiful not to be missed experience!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazenuts
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 15, 2012

Paradise for a family or couple

One of our nicest travel experiences ever. Only complaint was full instead of queen beds- we are a tall family and were a bit crowded (2 adults, 2 children in room). Staff was exceptional, as was location & resort layout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Polo Tropicale in Brasilito. Owners welcome you as family, food typical Costa Rican & delicious. Looks like nothing but definitely a gem! Went 3 times during week-long stay in Flamingo.

Back to menu Return to top