$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
Beautiful Quaint Resort

We loved this resort and definitely would go back. The resort is right on the beach. The pool is... See full review

  • Susan Canada
  • Nov 14, 2014
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Hotel Map

10.4384 -85.7923
Area served
Flamingo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia Airport (LIR): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes. Juan Santamari Airport: Approximate driving time is 4 hours and distance is 120 miles.
Area description
A scenic, 45-minute drive from Liberia International Airport brings you to our tropical paradise. Experience this premier beachfront resort, reflecting a rich local heritage in an unspoiled natural environment.Located on the golden sands of Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica, designated a Blue Flag beach for it's environmental standards and water purity, and known for it's spectacular sunsets. Nearby shopping and nightlife are within walking distance from the resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 95
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan Canada
Business
Las Sabanas, Nica
Nov 14, 2014

Beautiful Quaint Resort

We loved this resort and definitely would go back. The resort is right on the beach. The pool is gorgeous and super clean. Loved the swim up bar. The breakfast was just ok. However the salads are amazing, as well as the entrees and desserts. As for the vegetables, they are grown on their own organic farm, which is cool. The service was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB and JB
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Feb 10, 2014

Met expectations, had a great week

I read reviews before booking and found most to be right on, except for the real negative ones, disregard them. We thoroughly enjoyed the beach,but advise the ocean is not for non-swimmers. The hotel staff was great (courteous and prompt) and able to help english only guests better than we have encountered before. We found the food to be excellent, would advise non or light drinkers to not choose the all inclusive option, otherwise it would probably be better. There are no shows or entertainment, and tours are a bit costly, as reviewers have noted. I would suggest the hotel support some local musicians and have occcasional performers. We would definitely go back to Flamingo beach, especially if a deal came available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ivarz
Business
North Brunswick, New jersey
Jan 21, 2014

Awesome location

The hotel got its location perfect. It is just across a beautiful beach. It has got a very nice pool too. The bathrooms need to be upgraded a bit as we found some semi-broken tiles in the shower. The hotel staff are very nice and cheerful. Breakfasts are awesome with lots of variety. The restaurant is expensive but good.You can find some restaurants outside the hotel too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Ask for rooms on second or third floors on the pool side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samijosy
Business
Guanacaste, costa Rica
Aug 12, 2013

love Flamingo beach !

we live in Costa Rica and we love Flamingo beach , it is our first time at Flamingo beach resort we went for our 30 th aniversary and everithing was beter than expected, the breakfast was great, food is reasonable and very good , service excelent very friendly staff ,very well welcome from the receptionist girl ,and the location can not be better we had a wonderfull sunset .we will be back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yoly cord
Business
Oceanside Ny
Jul 23, 2013

great place!

Love the ocean front location great relaxation loved the hotel staff very accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelina's restaurant was wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nyc traveler11
Business
manhattan, new york
Mar 27, 2013

Great spot

The hotel staff was friendly and when we had trouble with our first room they switched us to a new one quickly (by costa rica standards) Practically on the beach and big pool with swim up bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great italian restaurant that makes oven baked pizzas, huge glasses of wine and fresh salads about a 5 min drive to the right of the hotel. Ask the staff for the name but it is well worth the short drive. It is moderately priced for the tasty dinner we had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lis N
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2012

Dissapointed

This is not a 4 star hotel .Also you are in a very secluded beach area that has a small town about15 min walking distance away. But you do not want to go there. The room we stayed in was big and partial ocean view. The furniture was a little dated and banged up . No hangers in open closet area. Asked for hangers. They brought around 15 mismatched old wire hangers.The bathroom tile looked dirty because it was old and patched up. The shower leaked, had to put big towel on floor when showering. The beds were the best, nice linnens. Staff was nice. Overall resort needed some sprucing up. Also the city of tamarindo is 30 min away and it is ok. cab ride round trip $50. Stayed 2 nights. I am from southern California 10/15/12

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rcmc
Business
Pa.
Mar 17, 2012

Standard Room

When arrived, we were given a basement STANDARD room. Mildew odor,Bathroom light fixture over mirror did not work, making room dark. Water backed up in bathroom tub, and water trickled from sink. (Gurgling sound from tub and sink drain all through the night) Requested an upgrade and at first was given a difficult time by Staff who advised we paid for a Standard room and that's what we got. Day two after a lot of hassle,we were moved to a third floor with a balcony.(same layout,but 100% improvement)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michell
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Amazing Fun, Romantic & Relaxing Trip!

The website pictures doesn't give this resort justice! It's a small resort, which we liked! When we got there it was perfect! We have stayed at many resorts and most have more than one restaurant, but the one at Playa Flamingo the food was so fantastic and always changing the menu plus entertainment! We couldn't get enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Night life is 30 minutes away in Tamarindo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny145146
Business
Ohio
Jan 15, 2012

Perfect Weather and a great beach

My wife and I had a great time at the Flamingo. The staff was great and the rooms were spotless. Breakfast for free was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We loved the Happy Snapper for great seafood. They will pick you up at the hotel for free. And drop you off also. Great Mahi Mahi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top