$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia, 2050

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
109 reviews
Beautiful Quaint Resort

We loved this resort and definitely would go back. The resort is right on the beach. The pool is... See full review

  • Susan Canada
  • Nov 14, 2014
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
caridbou
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jan 21, 2014

Steals Credit Card Info!!!

I did not stay as a guest at the resort, but I did use their spa facilities, making an appointment on December 31st 2013 for a pedicure. I arrived, had my card processed, signed, and went for the pedicure. The pedicure itself was only so-so ... not great exfoliation and I wasn't given time to let the polish dry before being asked to leave the spa. However, the problem came 2 weeks later, when I realized there were THREE transactions on my account, all from "FLAMINGO BEACH RESORT GUANACASTE." One was processed Jan 2, the other two were Jan. 13 -- almost two weeks after my appointment. I didn't think much of it at first, thinking it was just a banking error, but shortly thereafter, I found several fraudulent charges from iTunes on my account. I cancelled my CC, called my bank and iTunes, and was told that someone from Costa Rica had made the purchases. Then I asked my bank about the Flamingo Resort charges and they told me they were ALL initiated by someone at the resort. I called the resort and was VERY rudely treated by the front desk manager and the operations manager, both of whom told me that it was normal to be charged and then refunded and then charged (for a higher amount!) later. They then told me that their resort NEVER shows up on VISA as "Flamingo Beach Resort". They also said that they had "no idea how these later transactions (2 weeks later) happened, as CCs are not kept on file unless you rent a room." In short, after a very frustrating phone call with the hotel, nothing was resolved. They THEN suggested that the charges were authorization holds, which is not true -- authorization holds don't get posted to your bank account and then refunded. They then accused me of saying their staff are thieves. Hello? No, I didn't. But clearly something is wrong here if you don't even recognize your own Visa name on a transaction... I have no idea what happened, but it was CLEARLY a case of someone using my credit card illegally because I have not used the card otherwise in CR (nervous about exactly this kind of thing!). The most frustrating thing about this is that the manager was completely unhelpful -- he kept giving ridiculous answers saying he didn't know, he didn't know how long it would take to find out information, that he wasn't inclined to help me, and that really, what could he do about it? The hotel looked lovely -- if overpriced for the area -- and the staff were quite helpful (although I'm not fond of the bands they make you wear to "tag" you as a guest of the hotel. However, given my experience here, I would NEVER recommend this resort to ANYONE, because even if the majority of folks are nice, friendly and trustworthy, if anything goes wrong, this resort does not stand by the maxim of "the customer is always right." Also, everyone monitor your credit card statements for at least a month afterwards -- you can never be too careful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go stay at Bahia del Sol instead -- I ended up needing my credit card FedEx'd to them eventhough I wasn't a guest. Costa Rica has no local addresses, and trying to give directions to my holiday rental would have been too difficult! After hearing my story, they gave me a complimentary beverage and let me stay and use their pool. They also have great yoga classes 3 times a week!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Apr 14, 2010

Disappointing experience

We stayed at the Flamingo Beach Resort for our honeymoon. Due to a canceled Delta flight we arrived a day late and initially the hotel staff was unsympathetic to our situation. The front desk staff was rude, uninformed, and not empowered to help us in any way. We were told the reservations manager would call our room but we never received a call from the manager. [...]The pool and beach were the highlights of the hotel. The pool was very nice and the beach was just across a small road. The beach is beautiful. The restaurant was good too. We took one tour to Buena Vista, organized through the hotel, and had a great experience.Our room was large but otherwise unimpressive. I did not find it any better than an average room in a Holiday Inn or Marriott. Our bathtub drained very, very slowly and despite several requests to fix the tub, the drain was never fixed. Also, the hotel shuts off the water every night. We had to leave at 4:30am for our flight home and could not take showers or brush our teeth. There was no water! We were told they would turn on the water for us if we asked, but they did not turn it on after several requests. Finally, we had cash stolen out of our locked room safe. We returned from the pool to find we could not get into our safe. We called for assistance and at least three different people came to our room, all had the master code to get into the safe. The hotel handled the theft situation well enough but we were not comfortable leaving any valuables in our room after that. If you plan on staying at this hotel put your valuables in the safe behind the front desk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurants are just a short walk from the hotel. We had good meals at Marie's and Angelina's. The bar just across from Angelina's has excellent mixed drinks. There is also a small market where you can stock up on snack, beer, and water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 25, 2007

No Help

Flaming Beach Resort, While there the hotel was under renovation. The pool was closed. The bar was out of beer and room service told me I could buy water at the nearest supermarket since they were out of that as well. I would not recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy Snapper resturant has excellent dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soccer Coach
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 20, 2009

Flamingo Beach Resort Review May 2009

The pool is outstanding, proximity to the ocean is Great! Staff is Outstanding. The hotel is old and is showing the age...needs some maintenance (ie our bathroom door would not latch and a light from the ceiling fan was hanging by the wires, and I almost fell over when sitting in the desk chair). The good news is the staff was quick to respond the problems. A guest shouldn't have to notice these problems. Over all We would return to the hotel for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mar y Sol was great and the restaurant will send a driver to pick you up and return you to the hotel to avoid the drive up the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockford, Il
Jan 22, 2011

Peaceful, and relaxing

We enjoyed our stay. It was very relaxing, and peaceful. The beach was very clean. We felt the rooms were only avarage. We also felt that they were over charging for everything, Wi Fi was extra if you wanted it in the rooms. The casino was very poor, only 2 tables, not always opened. Only< I think< 12 slots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
melovecake
Business
long beach, ca
Jul 2, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Everything was very positive but the room itself was old and had this weird smell. Not sure if it's the humidity that was the cause but the smell was overwhelming. They really need a good ventilation system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaxF
Business
Nebraska
Mar 24, 2012

Family Getaway

Pool was great for kids age 8-10. The staff didn't actually make us feel comfortable right away-we had to do that on our own-we were in a foreign country and nervous about what we could do, where we could eat off the resort, or if we could even drink the water. Talking to the other guests was much more helpful. Restaurant offered fine dining for dinner-fish was awesome. Don't lose your pool towel or ticket, one towel is $50-completely rediculous-i'm certain housekeeping picked it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lis N
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2012

Dissapointed

This is not a 4 star hotel .Also you are in a very secluded beach area that has a small town about15 min walking distance away. But you do not want to go there. The room we stayed in was big and partial ocean view. The furniture was a little dated and banged up . No hangers in open closet area. Asked for hangers. They brought around 15 mismatched old wire hangers.The bathroom tile looked dirty because it was old and patched up. The shower leaked, had to put big towel on floor when showering. The beds were the best, nice linnens. Staff was nice. Overall resort needed some sprucing up. Also the city of tamarindo is 30 min away and it is ok. cab ride round trip $50. Stayed 2 nights. I am from southern California 10/15/12

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mcuegom
Business
San José, Costa Rica
Dec 30, 2012

Not bad but not fantastic

There is only one restaurant, the big pool is dirty, and there are birds above the kid's pool and they defecate in It. The activities are boring and very few. The staff is helpful, but definitely I have been in better 4 star places than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit playa conchal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ojo11
Business
Rochester, New Yourk
Feb 19, 2013

Decent

I would rate quite good in terms of service. The rooms could do with carpets or rags for more comfort and cleanliness of the floors. And the prices of food, drinks and other related items are excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top