$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
Beautiful Quaint Resort

We loved this resort and definitely would go back. The resort is right on the beach. The pool is... See full review

  • Susan Canada
  • Nov 14, 2014
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 28, 2009

Nice Hotel

The hotel is very nice but kind of far from nightlife if you aren't planning on renting a car. The taxi's basically rob you; charging you $35-$40 to get to Tamarindo (the center of all the nightlife in this part of Costa Rica). There are a few restaurants outside of the hotel that are good but other than that not very much. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. We asked for a room change b/c our airconditioner was broken and were able to move to another room across the hall without any problems. The guest rooms are nicer than the studio's so don't bother upgrading. On another note about the staff, don't ask them for dinner recommendations. They will all send you to this place called Camerones Dorado. The food is okay but the service is slow. They send you there b/c the hotel gets some sort of commission. Do other research before you go to find out about good places to eat. Many are in Tamarindo. By the hotel, Amberes and Marie's is pretty good. The gym at the hotel is a joke. The food at the hotel is horrendous. Those would be my only two complaints. Otherwise, like I mentioned, the guest rooms are clean and really nice. The pool is a good size and the beach is right in front of the hotel. Don't listen to people who complain about having to cross the street. The hotel is right there. The area in general looked very safe. It's not the most developed part of Costa Rica but it's a great location if you plan on doing excursions. Most are only 2-3 hours away. Also, after adjusting to it, it was kind of nice to be in an underdeveloped area. Wherever we went you were able to mingle with other travelers and locals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soccer Coach
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 20, 2009

Flamingo Beach Resort Review May 2009

The pool is outstanding, proximity to the ocean is Great! Staff is Outstanding. The hotel is old and is showing the age...needs some maintenance (ie our bathroom door would not latch and a light from the ceiling fan was hanging by the wires, and I almost fell over when sitting in the desk chair). The good news is the staff was quick to respond the problems. A guest shouldn't have to notice these problems. Over all We would return to the hotel for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mar y Sol was great and the restaurant will send a driver to pick you up and return you to the hotel to avoid the drive up the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin ,kenosha
May 16, 2009

great getaway spot

great location ,nice rooms and pool was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GBVFAN13
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 8, 2009

Beautiful Place

This is a beautiful place. The best part about it is the location, in Playa Flamingo, which is absolutely the prime beachfront location in the area. The hotel itself was filled with friendly, helpful staff and it seemed as though every guest was pleased. Super high recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GO to the local restaurants nearby. They are a very short walk and much more reasonably priced!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bronx , ny
May 2, 2009

flamingo beach resort - costa rica

very welcoming . Quick response to customer needs and wants. Very clean hotel and friendly service at the resturants and pool bar. Not much going on in regard to activities, they do try to get you involved in activities. over an hour drive from airport. Would visit again or recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2008

Good for a quick getaway

The Flamingo Beach Resort was great for a quick getaway. It was clean, comfortable, and the stuff were helpful and friendly. It was right on the beach, so it was a plus to be on the sand 5 minutes after I left the hotel room. The a la carte dining options were a bit pricey, but we dined in town, where the prices were much more reasonable. We'd recommend this place for people who want an inexpensive option for a hotel in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mariner Inn was a local hangout for the ex-pats and great for a quick, delicious and inexpensive bite. The nachos were delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2008

Very Relaxing!

This was our first time to Costa Rica and I can not wait to return. For the most part, we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort. You can not beat the pool bar and its friendly, helpful bartenders! They were the best! I just wish they stayed open all evening. Being right on the beach was nice and the views beautiful. We also went fishing and had the hotel chef cook our catch for us. What a nice treat! The resort is quite isolated and not much within a short walking distance. There was still construction going on at the hotel, so the noise was not always pleasant. My only real complaint would be the front desk staff. They were not friendly or helpful at all. I approached them numerous times with questions and was never given any help. Ask the bartenders or waiters for anything as they are very friendly. Overall, our stay was good and we plan to return next summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

I beleive you can get better rates on nearby attractions from outside agencies rather than using the tour desk at the resort. Be sure you fly in to the Liberia airport, not San Jose. Its only a 45 min. drive from Liberia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 28, 2008

family friendly

We went down to celebrate my sons 18th birthday. I asked the restaurant there if they could make a small cake of some type for his birthday, and they said they would. Well dinner that night was a disaster and they did not make a cake! But the gentlemen at the pool bar made my sons birthday very special. They made a pineapple into a face, put a drink and a candle in it, brought out an apple tart and sang happy birthday to him. All of the staff where very friendly. The breakfast and lunches where good. Some of the dinners where good and some where not. But all said, I would stay there again. The beach is beautiful and the hotel was clean. All of the employees worked very hard. I felt like I was in paradise. We had a hard time leaving there. I would definately reccomend this place to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 16, 2008

A beautiful resort

The Flamingo Beach Resort is a beautiful resort and perfectly located just across the road from the beach and some great sunsets. The pool and hotel grounds were wonderful. The casino and disco were disappointing, but the exercise room was one of the best I've seen in a hotel. The room was very clean and well appointed, but the walls were very thin and we could easily hear conversations in the next room. Some of the disappointing things included sort of bland and boring restaurants at the resort and the staff seemed to be lacking in information (or at least willingness to provide that information). For example, when we checked in, we were told that the resort's bars had happy hour, but when we later asked a bartender about it, he didn't seem to know anything about it, until we pressed him further. THen he admitted knowing something about it, but didn't seem to know what the happy hour special was. Fortunately, there were plenty of restaurants and bars in the area that we never ran out of places to go for food & drinks. THe tour desk was very helpful, but beware that different staff there quoated different prices for some things. For example the scuba diving was originally quoted to us at a price of $80, but when we later came back to sign up, we were told it was $90. Your best bet for diving is to dive with AquaCenter at the Flamingo Beach Marina hotel just down the road from Flamingo Beach Resort (they are cheaper, have a better staff and take out smaller groups). Overall I definitely recommend the Flamingo Beach Resort. It's a great resort at a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Claudia's Bike Rental, just up the hill from the Resort in the tourist info tower by the pizza & subs place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 6, 2007

Romantic Location

The Flamingo Beach Resort was better than expected in that the room was spacious and our room had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The view was marred somewhat by the construction work around the hotel. The beach was within walking distance. It's a beautiful beach but not for young children due to the waves. It was sheer heaven for me to exhale the city air and breath in the ocean air! It was an adventure having monitor lizards and iguana's greet you every morning. We ere very imoressed with the housekeeping staff. The entire hotel and including the room was kept meticulously clean even after downpours with all of us tracking mud through the lobby. It disappeared quickly! Our visit was during the slow/rainy season so it was very quiet and almost deserted which was perfect for me and my husband. It rained at nights so we were able to do some sight seeing during the day. I loved Choncal beach -blue/green translucent water with fish jumping out of the water. I recommend renting a 4 wheeler - cab fares are extremely expensive. We learned it the hard way. I was not happy with the quality of food nor selection. But the neighboring restaurants within walking distance made up for it. Marie's had excellent fish and another to the right of the hotel, I don't remember the name had the best selection and prices. The entire area is in a huge redevelopment process. It will be interesting to see how it will end up looking in a about a year - something we plan to do again. We had a great time! I recommend the hotel highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an internet cafe within 5 minutes of the hotel ($1 per hour). It's a wonderful place to lounge on the hammock and meet people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top