$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia, 2050

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairbanks, AK
Mar 18, 2010

Wonderful relaxing retreat

This was a beautiful resort right on the beach. We had toured the country with a tour group and then booked this resort to stay at 4 days before returning home. We didn't leave the resort but to just walk across the street to Marie's restaurant one night. You would have to take a taxi, shuttle or have a car to get to any where because nothing is close by. Thank goodness we did our shopping for souvenirs before arriving here because there was not much or it was very expensive. But it is a wonderful relaxing resort away from it all, if that is what your looking for. We didn't do the all-inclusive, just the "breakfast only" and we were very happy with that choice. The food was very good, but pretty much the same every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own sunscreen, it is very expensive in Costa Rica.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 15, 2010

Fun family vacation

Great location, very friendly staff, but make sure you do not get a ground floor room...they are dark, musty and not nearly as nice as the second and third floor pool or ocean view rooms. The hotel offers nice excursion packages and the beach is beautiful. It is about 30 minutes drive into Tamarindo and well worth having a rental car to have dinner there and see the nearby sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car to see Tamarind and some of the other beaches.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Mar 12, 2010

Nice beach in Guanacaste, quiet hotel

Breakfast buffet could be improved, not tasty for cooked items, good for fruits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at hotel, go to Marie's restaurant a few feet across the street in the shopping center, better and cheaper.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skidoorider
Business
Oley,Pa
Mar 5, 2010

OUTSTANDING

Could not have been better / very friendly staff / great pool / great location / had breakfast package only - would recommend to anyone !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take lots of $1 dollar and $5 dollar bills -

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nellandterry
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 1, 2010

Best Vacation Ever

The hotel is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way for us to ensure our stay was amazing. The pool is incredible, we spent a lot of time at the swin-up bar. It tends to be crowded during the day, so we mainly hung out there at dusk or after dark, when the crowd tends to be more adults and calmer. The beach is the most beautiful one we saw during our stay, and right across from the hotel. We had a view of the ocean and pool from our room. The town is small, and the nightlife consists of only a few locations (we enjoyed YellowFin and Angelina's in the plaza down the block from the resort). If you are looking for a more bustling nightlife, I would suggest going to/staying in nearby Tamarindo. I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area. And make sure to go to Mar y Sol Lounge up the hill for sunset at least once during your stay! Incredible view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the little store a block away from the resort for your booze and mix your own drinks. You will save hundreds compared to the hotel drink prices. And I would only do the breakfast-inclusive package, there are a lot of great places to walk to and dine for a little variety.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 13, 2010

Beautiful Beach Paradise

The resort was small and intimate. Beutiful location with a great beach. They offer all sorts of tours you can take and they arrange all of the details for you. The staff was wonderful and so friendly. They will even bring the resort lounge chairs for you to use on the beach. Most relaxing vacation I have ever been on. I will definatly be headed back sometime soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 13, 2010

Beautiful Beach Paradise

The resort was small and intimate. Beutiful location with a great beach. They offer all sorts of tours you can take and they arrange all of the details for you. The staff was wonderful and so friendly. They will even bring the resort lounge chairs for you to use on the beach. Most relaxing vacation I have ever been on. I will definatly be headed back sometime soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin Costa Rica
Business
Denver CO
Nov 5, 2009

James Bond

This resort is right out of an orginal James Bond movie, with an exotic hotel and impressive villas nestled above the crescent sand beach. The hotel sits on a penninsula right on the beach. The hotel pool is truly wonderful, if you get tired of swimming in the ocean and the beach. The restaurant at the hotel was excellent and we saw no reason to go anywhere else for dinner, however there is a restaurant across the street if you need a change. It is very safe to walk around the area and is a Tico experience especially if you visit the beaches around Portrero.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanillatutsi
Business
Calgary, Canada
Sep 8, 2009

Great overall

The Hotel was very nice, driving there from the Liberia Airport wasn't to difficult, there were signs heading to Flamingo beach. It would be nice if they had a sign that said Flamingo Beach Resort 200 meters ahead or something because you just suddenly see it and you stop. They have a guard on duty which is nice. The entrance is pretty nice, creative and beautiful flowers are arranged there as well as some comfortable Sofas. The cushions could use some washing or replacing but it was okay. There is free wireless in the pool and lobby area. If you have a good wireless card you can pick it up from a pool view room. Room was clean, bed was clean, towels were clean, no bugs, expensive mini bar (surprise surprise), cofee maker. There was shampoo but no conditioner in the bathroom. They helped us bring the bags up to the room because there is no elevator. The pool is nice, the beach is okay the water seems a little brown because of the sand and the waves. The restaurant was good, but the options are limited I wouldn't go all inconclusive due to the small lunch menu. We had breakfast included which was always good but sometimes random. Sometimes the dish would come with everything on the menu and the next day two or three items would be missing and you would have to ask for them. The Costa Rican meals (casado, costa rican rice and beans, rice and chicken) were all really good. My wife had the shrimp one night and I tried them and they didn't taste quite all right. It didn't seem like it was the spices more that the shrimp wasn't either a good quality or was almost bad. They gave us a discount. Their pesto pasta was really good too and they had an activities guy there who was pretty enthusiastic and got people doing things together. They have a tour operator who offers tours at average prices but they are limited. We went to Tamarindo for better selection and we bartered the priced own because it was the slow season. Playa Conchal or Shell beach is 5 minutes away it is the crystal blue kind of beach you imagine for your vacation. The public entrance is through a VERY bumpy dirt road, the beach (the sand) and a very steep hill about 50 meters long. There is a guy that tries to charge you for parking on the other side. Just ignore him. It isn't his land.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Tamarindo (20-30 minute drive) and eat at El Coconut, FT's or Noguis. Great food.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Freeflynick
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 18, 2009

Enjoyable stay, but some disappointments

We did the all-inclusive, and immediately were upset at how the online menu we saw when we booked was VASTLY different from the actual menu. The one we initially saw only had 2 or 3 main courses that we had to pay extra for (lobster, best steaks, etc) but the actual menu was full of things we had to pay extra for. There were only a few basic dishes that were included in the all-in. The pool was nice and we made the most of the pool bar, which unfortunately closes at 6pm. The staff were mostly OK, but very slow, and most gave me the impression that they were doing me a favor by serving me and were quite slow. The exceptions were very friendly and fun to be around, so they (mostly) made up for the rest! Very secure hotel, we felt safe letting out children play on their own, as long as they stayed within the hotel grounds. Nice beach, not quite the pure white sands that were advertised, but nice enough and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel food is OK - nothing special. There are plenty of great local places close-by, most of which surprised us with the quality and choices they had.

Back to menu Return to top