$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
141 reviews
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Wonderful family vacation

We can't speak highly enough about the wonderful time we had at the resort. The staff went out of... See full review

  • GKM1
  • Mar 31, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.4384 -85.7923
Area served
Flamingo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia Airport (LIR): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes. Juan Santamari Airport: Approximate driving time is 4 hours and distance is 120 miles.
Area description
A scenic, 45-minute drive from Liberia International Airport brings you to our tropical paradise. Experience this premier beachfront resort, reflecting a rich local heritage in an unspoiled natural environment.Located on the golden sands of Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica, designated a Blue Flag beach for it's environmental standards and water purity, and known for it's spectacular sunsets. Nearby shopping and nightlife are within walking distance from the resort.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whirliam
san francisco, ca
Aug 14, 2010

Great little secluded getaway

Great resort, they hooked us up with a great deal for a honeymoon suite. I only wished they gave us a room on one of the higher floors, ours was partly underground and we had many little visitors at night (i.e. tiny crabs and geckos in our room). It would have also been nice to have a deck overlooking the pool. Otherwise great location, great staff, and awesome pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Mar y Sol for happy hour from 5-7. They have a shuttle that picks you up right at the hotel. Awesome views and strong drinks!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis, TN
Jun 30, 2010

Fantastic Vacation

Amazing. Wonderful food and great service. We will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis, TN
Jun 30, 2010

Fantastic Vacation

Amazing. Wonderful food and great service. We will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 16, 2010

21/7

Generally quite acceptable facility. They don't mention that there's running water only about 21 hours per day...(off from 1am - 4am more or less). Not a major problem; just a surprise the first night. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Not much life "off campus".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sign-up for breakfast-only inclusive when booking. You can add supplement for $65/day upon arrival (min of 2 days). Gives you more options for longer stays; chance to check local area.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 16, 2010

21/7

Generally quite acceptable facility. They don't mention that there's running water only about 21 hours per day...(off from 1am - 4am more or less). Not a major problem; just a surprise the first night. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Not much life "off campus".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sign-up for breakfast-only inclusive when booking. You can add supplement for $65/day upon arrival (min of 2 days). Gives you more options for longer stays; chance to check local area.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Muskegon, MI
Apr 14, 2010

Disappointing experience

We stayed at the Flamingo Beach Resort for our honeymoon. Due to a canceled Delta flight we arrived a day late and initially the hotel staff was unsympathetic to our situation. The front desk staff was rude, uninformed, and not empowered to help us in any way. We were told the reservations manager would call our room but we never received a call from the manager. [...]The pool and beach were the highlights of the hotel. The pool was very nice and the beach was just across a small road. The beach is beautiful. The restaurant was good too. We took one tour to Buena Vista, organized through the hotel, and had a great experience.Our room was large but otherwise unimpressive. I did not find it any better than an average room in a Holiday Inn or Marriott. Our bathtub drained very, very slowly and despite several requests to fix the tub, the drain was never fixed. Also, the hotel shuts off the water every night. We had to leave at 4:30am for our flight home and could not take showers or brush our teeth. There was no water! We were told they would turn on the water for us if we asked, but they did not turn it on after several requests. Finally, we had cash stolen out of our locked room safe. We returned from the pool to find we could not get into our safe. We called for assistance and at least three different people came to our room, all had the master code to get into the safe. The hotel handled the theft situation well enough but we were not comfortable leaving any valuables in our room after that. If you plan on staying at this hotel put your valuables in the safe behind the front desk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurants are just a short walk from the hotel. We had good meals at Marie's and Angelina's. The bar just across from Angelina's has excellent mixed drinks. There is also a small market where you can stock up on snack, beer, and water.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Muskegon, MI
Apr 14, 2010

Disappointing experience

We stayed at the Flamingo Beach Resort for our honeymoon. Due to a canceled Delta flight we arrived a day late and initially the hotel staff was unsympathetic to our situation. The front desk staff was rude, uninformed, and not empowered to help us in any way. We were told the reservations manager would call our room but we never received a call from the manager. [...]The pool and beach were the highlights of the hotel. The pool was very nice and the beach was just across a small road. The beach is beautiful. The restaurant was good too. We took one tour to Buena Vista, organized through the hotel, and had a great experience.Our room was large but otherwise unimpressive. I did not find it any better than an average room in a Holiday Inn or Marriott. Our bathtub drained very, very slowly and despite several requests to fix the tub, the drain was never fixed. Also, the hotel shuts off the water every night. We had to leave at 4:30am for our flight home and could not take showers or brush our teeth. There was no water! We were told they would turn on the water for us if we asked, but they did not turn it on after several requests. Finally, we had cash stolen out of our locked room safe. We returned from the pool to find we could not get into our safe. We called for assistance and at least three different people came to our room, all had the master code to get into the safe. The hotel handled the theft situation well enough but we were not comfortable leaving any valuables in our room after that. If you plan on staying at this hotel put your valuables in the safe behind the front desk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurants are just a short walk from the hotel. We had good meals at Marie's and Angelina's. The bar just across from Angelina's has excellent mixed drinks. There is also a small market where you can stock up on snack, beer, and water.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Apr 10, 2010

Tips for you

The tours were great except for the callousness of the tour leaders. My husband and another gentleman had a bad stomach virus. We asked the guide if they could stay on the air conditioned bus while we finished with horseback riding-- they were completely unsympathetic and told us they had to ride a tractor down the mountain. When we arrived at the bottom of the mtn. the tour bus driver never heard the large tractor pull up because he was fast asleep in the ac bus!!!!! Why couldn't 2 very sick passengers have that PRIVILEGE!!!!!?????????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the currency there-- everyone there changes the rate to what pleases them. It pays to go to a grocery store and purchase staples {food} and a cooler.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Apr 10, 2010

Tips for you

The tours were great except for the callousness of the tour leaders. My husband and another gentleman had a bad stomach virus. We asked the guide if they could stay on the air conditioned bus while we finished with horseback riding-- they were completely unsympathetic and told us they had to ride a tractor down the mountain. When we arrived at the bottom of the mtn. the tour bus driver never heard the large tractor pull up because he was fast asleep in the ac bus!!!!! Why couldn't 2 very sick passengers have that PRIVILEGE!!!!!?????????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the currency there-- everyone there changes the rate to what pleases them. It pays to go to a grocery store and purchase staples {food} and a cooler.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chattanooga, TN
Apr 1, 2010

refreshed

Recommend getting included breakfast and eating out at local places. You dont need to rent car but it can make it easier. Just down the road you can rent a boat to paddle and snorkeling gear to travel to small island for great isolated snorkeling. Outback jacks just further done road is a most to eat. You can go in the cage with spider monkeys close by on a canopy tour. We broke up our trip and stayed at another hotel to get more views. We met a couple there who has been going to this place for 7 straight years with other families. If your a surfer not the place to a quick ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top