$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 13, 2010

Beautiful Beach Paradise

The resort was small and intimate. Beutiful location with a great beach. They offer all sorts of tours you can take and they arrange all of the details for you. The staff was wonderful and so friendly. They will even bring the resort lounge chairs for you to use on the beach. Most relaxing vacation I have ever been on. I will definatly be headed back sometime soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin Costa Rica
Business
Denver CO
Nov 5, 2009

James Bond

This resort is right out of an orginal James Bond movie, with an exotic hotel and impressive villas nestled above the crescent sand beach. The hotel sits on a penninsula right on the beach. The hotel pool is truly wonderful, if you get tired of swimming in the ocean and the beach. The restaurant at the hotel was excellent and we saw no reason to go anywhere else for dinner, however there is a restaurant across the street if you need a change. It is very safe to walk around the area and is a Tico experience especially if you visit the beaches around Portrero.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanillatutsi
Business
Calgary, Canada
Sep 8, 2009

Great overall

The Hotel was very nice, driving there from the Liberia Airport wasn't to difficult, there were signs heading to Flamingo beach. It would be nice if they had a sign that said Flamingo Beach Resort 200 meters ahead or something because you just suddenly see it and you stop. They have a guard on duty which is nice. The entrance is pretty nice, creative and beautiful flowers are arranged there as well as some comfortable Sofas. The cushions could use some washing or replacing but it was okay. There is free wireless in the pool and lobby area. If you have a good wireless card you can pick it up from a pool view room. Room was clean, bed was clean, towels were clean, no bugs, expensive mini bar (surprise surprise), cofee maker. There was shampoo but no conditioner in the bathroom. They helped us bring the bags up to the room because there is no elevator. The pool is nice, the beach is okay the water seems a little brown because of the sand and the waves. The restaurant was good, but the options are limited I wouldn't go all inconclusive due to the small lunch menu. We had breakfast included which was always good but sometimes random. Sometimes the dish would come with everything on the menu and the next day two or three items would be missing and you would have to ask for them. The Costa Rican meals (casado, costa rican rice and beans, rice and chicken) were all really good. My wife had the shrimp one night and I tried them and they didn't taste quite all right. It didn't seem like it was the spices more that the shrimp wasn't either a good quality or was almost bad. They gave us a discount. Their pesto pasta was really good too and they had an activities guy there who was pretty enthusiastic and got people doing things together. They have a tour operator who offers tours at average prices but they are limited. We went to Tamarindo for better selection and we bartered the priced own because it was the slow season. Playa Conchal or Shell beach is 5 minutes away it is the crystal blue kind of beach you imagine for your vacation. The public entrance is through a VERY bumpy dirt road, the beach (the sand) and a very steep hill about 50 meters long. There is a guy that tries to charge you for parking on the other side. Just ignore him. It isn't his land.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Tamarindo (20-30 minute drive) and eat at El Coconut, FT's or Noguis. Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Freeflynick
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 18, 2009

Enjoyable stay, but some disappointments

We did the all-inclusive, and immediately were upset at how the online menu we saw when we booked was VASTLY different from the actual menu. The one we initially saw only had 2 or 3 main courses that we had to pay extra for (lobster, best steaks, etc) but the actual menu was full of things we had to pay extra for. There were only a few basic dishes that were included in the all-in. The pool was nice and we made the most of the pool bar, which unfortunately closes at 6pm. The staff were mostly OK, but very slow, and most gave me the impression that they were doing me a favor by serving me and were quite slow. The exceptions were very friendly and fun to be around, so they (mostly) made up for the rest! Very secure hotel, we felt safe letting out children play on their own, as long as they stayed within the hotel grounds. Nice beach, not quite the pure white sands that were advertised, but nice enough and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel food is OK - nothing special. There are plenty of great local places close-by, most of which surprised us with the quality and choices they had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MM in ATL
Business
ATL, GA
Aug 3, 2009

A Mixed Bag

The hotel was pretty and seemed very nice on day 1. However, the service actually deteriorated over the course of our 4 days. The food was decent at best, but the service was extremely slow. The bartender seemed to have little patience for those that didn't speak spanish, and would forget our order half the time. There is an additional fee to use the tennis courts at night (apparently you have to pay their light bill), the casino is a nice touch (though really random) and was empty the whole time. The Taxi service to/from airport is a rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guerras Love 2 Travel
Business
San Isidro, TX.
Jul 4, 2009

A Garden of Eden in Guanacaste.

If you are looking for a place to relax, this is it. Their slogan, "Pura Vida" that is "Pure Life" is exactly what is is here. The hotel staff is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sevenmile
Business
Littleton, CO
Jul 3, 2009

Fantastic!

The hotel is very comfortable and the service is very responsive and kind. The pool area is right off the beach and was very clean. The rooms - choose a pool view on floors two or three - are newly remodeled and have nice balconies that all (or at least most) have at least some view of the ocean. Food is so-so but with many restaurants in the area, it's fun to explore. Be sure and take some days away from Flamingo to see Monteverde and Arenal! Also, shuttles and taxis are perfectly adequate all over Costa Rica if you don't want the hassle of a car rental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mar y Sol! Great views and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr seeking Paradise
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jun 29, 2009

This was a fantastic hotel!!!

The people at the hotel were all very happy and helpful. I always was made to feel very important to the hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jun 28, 2009

Awesome 1 year anniversary trip

Flamingo beach resort was great. They were very accomadating and the spa was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Del Mar restaurant was the best food wwe had all week

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanna go back to Flamingo
Business
Virginia
Jun 28, 2009

Flamingo Beach Resort

The staff was great, more than accomodating to all requests. The beach was beautiful, with very few people, as if we had it to ourselves.(we went during the "rainy season" but never saw rain while at the hotel) It does rain, hence the name rain forest, but only on one of our many excursions. We did the hotel offering Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs tour which was magical. The hotel also offered ATV tours through the beach and mountain roads on your way to a zip line canopy tour. (here we saw the famous rain) PROS- Giant pool with swim up bar, super friendly staff, price, helpful concierge, clean, secluded beach with awesome sunsets CONS-Restaurant was hit or miss(breakfast was fine, the rest was marginal) not much to do locally within walking distance, The local birds are very loud at sunrise and sunset (no daylight savings time, the sun is UP at 5AM, and sets at 6, in late June)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelinas Restaurant- right accross the street- fantastic American style cuisine concentrating on local flavors AMAZING COCKTAILS You can get a great pizza or tuna tartar. Mar Y Sol restaurant- great fine dining with the best gazpacho I have ever had. They will send a car to pick you up

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top