$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia, 2050

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanna go back to Flamingo
Business
Virginia
Jun 28, 2009

Flamingo Beach Resort

The staff was great, more than accomodating to all requests. The beach was beautiful, with very few people, as if we had it to ourselves.(we went during the "rainy season" but never saw rain while at the hotel) It does rain, hence the name rain forest, but only on one of our many excursions. We did the hotel offering Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs tour which was magical. The hotel also offered ATV tours through the beach and mountain roads on your way to a zip line canopy tour. (here we saw the famous rain) PROS- Giant pool with swim up bar, super friendly staff, price, helpful concierge, clean, secluded beach with awesome sunsets CONS-Restaurant was hit or miss(breakfast was fine, the rest was marginal) not much to do locally within walking distance, The local birds are very loud at sunrise and sunset (no daylight savings time, the sun is UP at 5AM, and sets at 6, in late June)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelinas Restaurant- right accross the street- fantastic American style cuisine concentrating on local flavors AMAZING COCKTAILS You can get a great pizza or tuna tartar. Mar Y Sol restaurant- great fine dining with the best gazpacho I have ever had. They will send a car to pick you up

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Butlers
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 25, 2009

Relaxing Costa Rica Getaway Destination

Extremely friendly staff especially those working at the onsite restaurant. We had a very relaxing and much needed vacation. The pool was fantastic and always clean. Our only complaint is with housekeeping. Although the housekeeping staff is friendly as well, they don't do a very good job with cleaning the rooms. We always had to ask for washclothes and/or other missing items and the floors were hardly swept. Other than that one complaint we loved our vacation at Flamingo Beach Resort in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

At first you think it might be cheaper to leave the hotel to make purchases for things like: soda, snacks, eating out, etc.. but you will find out it is actually cheaper to just make purchases at the hotel. However, no matter where you go in Costa Rica most things are expensive in my estimation.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
May 31, 2009

Excellent Value

All of the Flamingo Resort staff were super. They had great suggestions for off-site dining and transportation to get there. The opportunities to book various excursions was fantastic. We booked three excurision on three different days. They were all as described and very affordable. The only problem we encountered during our six day stay was one night in the resort restaurant they were out of steak. What a disappointment. However, our second choices were superb. The pool and swim bar were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must eat at the Golden Shrimp. What an experience under the stars with fantastic! lobster, shrimp and calamarie!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 28, 2009

Nice Hotel

The hotel is very nice but kind of far from nightlife if you aren't planning on renting a car. The taxi's basically rob you; charging you $35-$40 to get to Tamarindo (the center of all the nightlife in this part of Costa Rica). There are a few restaurants outside of the hotel that are good but other than that not very much. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. We asked for a room change b/c our airconditioner was broken and were able to move to another room across the hall without any problems. The guest rooms are nicer than the studio's so don't bother upgrading. On another note about the staff, don't ask them for dinner recommendations. They will all send you to this place called Camerones Dorado. The food is okay but the service is slow. They send you there b/c the hotel gets some sort of commission. Do other research before you go to find out about good places to eat. Many are in Tamarindo. By the hotel, Amberes and Marie's is pretty good. The gym at the hotel is a joke. The food at the hotel is horrendous. Those would be my only two complaints. Otherwise, like I mentioned, the guest rooms are clean and really nice. The pool is a good size and the beach is right in front of the hotel. Don't listen to people who complain about having to cross the street. The hotel is right there. The area in general looked very safe. It's not the most developed part of Costa Rica but it's a great location if you plan on doing excursions. Most are only 2-3 hours away. Also, after adjusting to it, it was kind of nice to be in an underdeveloped area. Wherever we went you were able to mingle with other travelers and locals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin ,kenosha
May 16, 2009

great getaway spot

great location ,nice rooms and pool was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GBVFAN13
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 8, 2009

Beautiful Place

This is a beautiful place. The best part about it is the location, in Playa Flamingo, which is absolutely the prime beachfront location in the area. The hotel itself was filled with friendly, helpful staff and it seemed as though every guest was pleased. Super high recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GO to the local restaurants nearby. They are a very short walk and much more reasonably priced!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bronx , ny
May 2, 2009

flamingo beach resort - costa rica

very welcoming . Quick response to customer needs and wants. Very clean hotel and friendly service at the resturants and pool bar. Not much going on in regard to activities, they do try to get you involved in activities. over an hour drive from airport. Would visit again or recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2008

Good for a quick getaway

The Flamingo Beach Resort was great for a quick getaway. It was clean, comfortable, and the stuff were helpful and friendly. It was right on the beach, so it was a plus to be on the sand 5 minutes after I left the hotel room. The a la carte dining options were a bit pricey, but we dined in town, where the prices were much more reasonable. We'd recommend this place for people who want an inexpensive option for a hotel in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mariner Inn was a local hangout for the ex-pats and great for a quick, delicious and inexpensive bite. The nachos were delicious!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2008

Very Relaxing!

This was our first time to Costa Rica and I can not wait to return. For the most part, we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort. You can not beat the pool bar and its friendly, helpful bartenders! They were the best! I just wish they stayed open all evening. Being right on the beach was nice and the views beautiful. We also went fishing and had the hotel chef cook our catch for us. What a nice treat! The resort is quite isolated and not much within a short walking distance. There was still construction going on at the hotel, so the noise was not always pleasant. My only real complaint would be the front desk staff. They were not friendly or helpful at all. I approached them numerous times with questions and was never given any help. Ask the bartenders or waiters for anything as they are very friendly. Overall, our stay was good and we plan to return next summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

I beleive you can get better rates on nearby attractions from outside agencies rather than using the tour desk at the resort. Be sure you fly in to the Liberia airport, not San Jose. Its only a 45 min. drive from Liberia.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 28, 2008

family friendly

We went down to celebrate my sons 18th birthday. I asked the restaurant there if they could make a small cake of some type for his birthday, and they said they would. Well dinner that night was a disaster and they did not make a cake! But the gentlemen at the pool bar made my sons birthday very special. They made a pineapple into a face, put a drink and a candle in it, brought out an apple tart and sang happy birthday to him. All of the staff where very friendly. The breakfast and lunches where good. Some of the dinners where good and some where not. But all said, I would stay there again. The beach is beautiful and the hotel was clean. All of the employees worked very hard. I felt like I was in paradise. We had a hard time leaving there. I would definately reccomend this place to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top