$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia, 2050

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Costa Rica sunset

The hotel is clean and the in a great location (just across the road is the famous white sand beach) where you can enjoy beautiful sunsets. It also offers a good variaty of tours for any price and need. I recommend renting your own car because taxi from and to the resort are $10/one way to go to the closest little town just few miles away. The restaurant inside the resort was very good and it offers a buffet dinner option for $24 which is reasonable for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The little restaurant called La Casita del Pescado in Brasilito offers very fresh fish dishes (the best ceviche we had during our vacation) for reasonable prices. It also has seating on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elgin, IL
Jan 4, 2011

Great Resort!

Hotel was clean and staff very helpful. All staff spoke English. Trip was great more expensive then some. Drinks at hotel very expensive. Did not have all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Dec 23, 2010

Glorious View

After one week of traveling the Costa Rican country side we felt that we had picked an excellent location for our resort. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Our room was very comfortable with a great view of the beautiful pool area. The beach is just steps from here and we ate the bountiful buffet breakfast on the patio ocean front. WOW! We couldn't ask for anything better. We ate at surrounding restaurtants for dinner but decided to do the all inclusive at the hotel the last couple of days and got our best bargain that way. The food is every bit as good at the hotel as any where else although exploring was fun. Doing the all inclusive did make us feel like we were living a millionaire life style. We ordered anything we wanted from the menu and enjoyed trying new cocktails as well as they were also included. Pura Vida! It was the good life and we want to come back to Playa Flamingo!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Dec 23, 2010

Glorious View

After one week of traveling the Costa Rican country side we felt that we had picked an excellent location for our resort. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Our room was very comfortable with a great view of the beautiful pool area. The beach is just steps from here and we ate the bountiful buffet breakfast on the patio ocean front. WOW! We couldn't ask for anything better. We ate at surrounding restaurtants for dinner but decided to do the all inclusive at the hotel the last couple of days and got our best bargain that way. The food is every bit as good at the hotel as any where else although exploring was fun. Doing the all inclusive did make us feel like we were living a millionaire life style. We ordered anything we wanted from the menu and enjoyed trying new cocktails as well as they were also included. Pura Vida! It was the good life and we want to come back to Playa Flamingo!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whirliam
Business
san francisco, ca
Aug 14, 2010

Great little secluded getaway

Great resort, they hooked us up with a great deal for a honeymoon suite. I only wished they gave us a room on one of the higher floors, ours was partly underground and we had many little visitors at night (i.e. tiny crabs and geckos in our room). It would have also been nice to have a deck overlooking the pool. Otherwise great location, great staff, and awesome pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Mar y Sol for happy hour from 5-7. They have a shuttle that picks you up right at the hotel. Awesome views and strong drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 30, 2010

Fantastic Vacation

Amazing. Wonderful food and great service. We will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 16, 2010

21/7

Generally quite acceptable facility. They don't mention that there's running water only about 21 hours per day...(off from 1am - 4am more or less). Not a major problem; just a surprise the first night. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Not much life "off campus".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sign-up for breakfast-only inclusive when booking. You can add supplement for $65/day upon arrival (min of 2 days). Gives you more options for longer stays; chance to check local area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Apr 14, 2010

Disappointing experience

We stayed at the Flamingo Beach Resort for our honeymoon. Due to a canceled Delta flight we arrived a day late and initially the hotel staff was unsympathetic to our situation. The front desk staff was rude, uninformed, and not empowered to help us in any way. We were told the reservations manager would call our room but we never received a call from the manager. [...]The pool and beach were the highlights of the hotel. The pool was very nice and the beach was just across a small road. The beach is beautiful. The restaurant was good too. We took one tour to Buena Vista, organized through the hotel, and had a great experience.Our room was large but otherwise unimpressive. I did not find it any better than an average room in a Holiday Inn or Marriott. Our bathtub drained very, very slowly and despite several requests to fix the tub, the drain was never fixed. Also, the hotel shuts off the water every night. We had to leave at 4:30am for our flight home and could not take showers or brush our teeth. There was no water! We were told they would turn on the water for us if we asked, but they did not turn it on after several requests. Finally, we had cash stolen out of our locked room safe. We returned from the pool to find we could not get into our safe. We called for assistance and at least three different people came to our room, all had the master code to get into the safe. The hotel handled the theft situation well enough but we were not comfortable leaving any valuables in our room after that. If you plan on staying at this hotel put your valuables in the safe behind the front desk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurants are just a short walk from the hotel. We had good meals at Marie's and Angelina's. The bar just across from Angelina's has excellent mixed drinks. There is also a small market where you can stock up on snack, beer, and water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Apr 10, 2010

Tips for you

The tours were great except for the callousness of the tour leaders. My husband and another gentleman had a bad stomach virus. We asked the guide if they could stay on the air conditioned bus while we finished with horseback riding-- they were completely unsympathetic and told us they had to ride a tractor down the mountain. When we arrived at the bottom of the mtn. the tour bus driver never heard the large tractor pull up because he was fast asleep in the ac bus!!!!! Why couldn't 2 very sick passengers have that PRIVILEGE!!!!!?????????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the currency there-- everyone there changes the rate to what pleases them. It pays to go to a grocery store and purchase staples {food} and a cooler.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chattanooga, TN
Apr 1, 2010

refreshed

Recommend getting included breakfast and eating out at local places. You dont need to rent car but it can make it easier. Just down the road you can rent a boat to paddle and snorkeling gear to travel to small island for great isolated snorkeling. Outback jacks just further done road is a most to eat. You can go in the cage with spider monkeys close by on a canopy tour. We broke up our trip and stayed at another hotel to get more views. We met a couple there who has been going to this place for 7 straight years with other families. If your a surfer not the place to a quick ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top