$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia, 2050

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno. NV
Apr 18, 2011

We had a really great vacation!

We booked the family studio which exceeded our expectations. It was actually more like a 1 bedroom condo. Perfect for our teenage son to have his own space in the livingroom area. The staff was very friendly and kept the resort and pool very nice and clean. We booked 2 days of diving with the dive center and they took good care of us and our gear...easy diving and fun. Went on the ATV 2 hour tour, good time!We also had the inclusive daily breakfast which was delicious. The location of the resort is perfect on the beach with constant waves for body surfing/boogey boarding every day. We had a great time and would stay here again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book everything through the hotel activity desks. They are friendly and helpful.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 13, 2011

Wonderful vacation

The hotel was nicer than expected. Rooms were very clean and the decor was nice. We had a "pool view" room, which was really an "ocean front room". The private balcony with table/chairs was nice. Free wifi in the lobby/pool area. Pool was nice - no happy hour at poolbar. Poolbar was food better than the restaurant's dinner menu. Breakfast buffet (included for us) had many more options than a standard continental breakfast. Hotel gameroom sold cheap ice cream bars. Hotel was about 5 steps away from Flamingo Beach. Nice sand, no shells, gentle surf, wonderful sunsets. A ~5min walk from the hotel will get you to a couple of restaurants, shops, and a grocery store. The Arenal Volcano and Canopy Tours booked through the hotel were fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store nearby to stock up on beer, water and snacks

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Apr 11, 2011

Great resort for the family

We had a wonderful time at the hotel, it is located across the street from a beautiful beach and has a very nice pool. It also has a game room where the kids can spend time out of the sun. The room we stayed in could use a little updating, not luxurious as one would expect after entering the nice lobby of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Food in this area is very expensive.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Loves Park, Il.
Mar 27, 2011

Beatiful setting, clean rooms,

Enjoyed this resort one of our best vacations. Excellent ocean views and sunsets,clean rooms, helpful staff, and good day trips available.Make sure you arrange for round trip transportation from air port, about 1 hour to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping,dining,pharmacy,general store allwithin 2 blocks. Dining,pool,scuba,on site.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 24, 2011

Satisfied Babymooner

The Good The people there were very friendly and helpful. The beach is very close. I would recommend it. The bad The food there was way overpriced for what it was. I would not do an all-inclusive. The Ugly Ended up with a room that overlooked the parking lot. Make sure you get a good view. !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Restaurant Mar y Sol up the hill is pricey but way worth it

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2011

Great Hotel-Careful w/ Grayline Transprt

The Flamingo Beach hotel and resort was a very nice place to stay. The location is peaceful and approximately a 15 - 25 minute drive to the nearby touristy town of Tamarindo. Flamingo Beach is about a 5 minute drive to Brasilito / Playa Conchal (also a bit more touristy). It's kind of nice to stay somewhere just off the path of the crazy tourism but still close enough to get everywhere.Be VERY CAREFUL with airport transfer. We traveled with another couple (but arrived and departed independently of each other) and both of us had a terrible experience with Gray Line (GrayLineCostaRica.com). We paid $80 per person for a round trip transfer from Liberia airport to Flamingo Beach Hotel. There were significant problems on both ends of arrival and departure. We almost missed our flight on departure because the ride never showed up. We were forced to pay an ADDITIONAL $80 per couple to arrange alternative transport to the airport with the hotel shuttle service.I would highly recommend seeking Eco Trans (http://www.ecotranscostarica.com/) transport which is $40 per person round trip from the airport. Their office is across the street from Flamingo Beach Resort and their rate is half the price of the resort transport or Gray Line.Furthmore, Eco Trans is less expensive for all of the tours and excursions than the hotel/resort services. We used them for at least 2 or 3 different excursions and had excellent experiences for half the price.Overall, the Flamingo Beach Hotel / Resort is a cost effective, clean facility with a nice pool and literally located on the beach. There is a tiny dirt road you cross from the hotel to the beach but it's basically located on the beach. The road is all of 6 feet wide and barely any cars ever on it. The beach is beautiful and not loaded with tourists or vendors. The food at the resort is good enough and the resort staff is wonderful and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an EXCELLENT restaraunt (probably one of the best in Costa Rica) located within walking distance of Flamingo Beach Resort called, "Mar Y Sol". It's up the hill and has a beautiful cliff view over the ocean and beaches. They have excellent food and service for approximately $30 per person without drinks and $50 per person with a few drinks each. Save some money by going for their happy hour from 5 - 7pm for half priced $15 (down from $30) pitchers of tropical drinks during the sunset.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indy brew master
Business
fort wayne indiana
Mar 20, 2011

unbeatable for the price

Positives: Grounds were very nice. Trips- zip lining and boat trip to wetlands were excellant. Food was very good. Negatives: Room was very musty smelling. Staff would do nothing to help the smell. Husband got very ill and front staff called Doctor but could not give us directions how to get to his location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maries was very good and not costly.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Mar 17, 2011

great resort

After reading some less positive reviews we still decided to go with this resort. The only thing that we experienced according to reviews was the towels were difficult to change at times. The pool area could use some more shade. It was difficult to find a place in the shade with the resort pretty full. The "all in" option is a little different than we were used to. We didn't go for that option because we wanted to dine out and we did. About 100 ft from the resort are multiple little restaurants all with their own choice of food. The service and staff in the resort were very friendly and helpfull. The resort had more to offer than we expected (or maybe than we researched) Like a scuba diving school and a place were they rented out beds,boogie boards and such for on the beach. We went on a couple of hikes and ziplining. All awesome but you need a 4x4 to get to the national parks. All in all we wouldn't hesitate to go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the sunset at the lounge in Mar Y Sol restaurant (they'll even pick you up and drop you off!)

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandy Springs, GA
Jan 31, 2011

recent trip to Flamingo Beach

Great hotel! Beautiful resort. We were greeted with a cool wash cloth and a tropical drink. The view when you walked up the stairs to the chec in desk was amazing because you could see the pool and the ocean view. The pool would light up a night with different colors and they would light tiki torches lining the pool which made for such a beautiful setting. The beach was just a hop across a little road and was absolutely beautiful with mountains and rock formations in the distance. Once complaint would be the food ends at the hotel and location restaurants at 9:30 so you better eat early or go hungry! Also, drinks at the resort at mucho expensivo! The restaurant/bar taxes in Costa Rica are outrageous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marie's and Angelina's across the street from the resort were both very good. Angelina's has delicious pizza you can share there or even order to go. The guacamole at Marie's was delicious. It is family owned by a lady named Marie who is usually there and is from the US.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zipline Queen
Business
Broomfield, Colorado
Jan 10, 2011

Barb E.

We had an outstanding time at the Flamingo Beach Resort. We were greeted on our arrival with a warm smile and cool wash clothes from a front desk staff named [...] who remember our names and greeted us continually throughout our stay. The location was perfect to get to other beaches. The night before our departure we were walking along the beach and stumbled on a leatherback turtle coming ashore to lay her eggs. We loved Costa Rica! The people, food, wildlife, flowers and birds were amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a fabulous time taking a catamaran on the Lazy Lizard out to nearby islands for snorkeling, sea kayaking, drinks and lunch. Our trip ended just after a spectacular sunset.

Back to menu Return to top