$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
94 reviews
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Wonderful family vacation

We can't speak highly enough about the wonderful time we had at the resort. The staff went out of... See full review

  • GKM1
  • Mar 31, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Hotel Map

10.4384 -85.7923
Area served
Flamingo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia Airport (LIR): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes. Juan Santamari Airport: Approximate driving time is 4 hours and distance is 120 miles.
Area description
A scenic, 45-minute drive from Liberia International Airport brings you to our tropical paradise. Experience this premier beachfront resort, reflecting a rich local heritage in an unspoiled natural environment.Located on the golden sands of Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica, designated a Blue Flag beach for it's environmental standards and water purity, and known for it's spectacular sunsets. Nearby shopping and nightlife are within walking distance from the resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno. NV
Apr 18, 2011

We had a really great vacation!

We booked the family studio which exceeded our expectations. It was actually more like a 1 bedroom condo. Perfect for our teenage son to have his own space in the livingroom area. The staff was very friendly and kept the resort and pool very nice and clean. We booked 2 days of diving with the dive center and they took good care of us and our gear...easy diving and fun. Went on the ATV 2 hour tour, good time!We also had the inclusive daily breakfast which was delicious. The location of the resort is perfect on the beach with constant waves for body surfing/boogey boarding every day. We had a great time and would stay here again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book everything through the hotel activity desks. They are friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 13, 2011

Wonderful vacation

The hotel was nicer than expected. Rooms were very clean and the decor was nice. We had a "pool view" room, which was really an "ocean front room". The private balcony with table/chairs was nice. Free wifi in the lobby/pool area. Pool was nice - no happy hour at poolbar. Poolbar was food better than the restaurant's dinner menu. Breakfast buffet (included for us) had many more options than a standard continental breakfast. Hotel gameroom sold cheap ice cream bars. Hotel was about 5 steps away from Flamingo Beach. Nice sand, no shells, gentle surf, wonderful sunsets. A ~5min walk from the hotel will get you to a couple of restaurants, shops, and a grocery store. The Arenal Volcano and Canopy Tours booked through the hotel were fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store nearby to stock up on beer, water and snacks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Apr 11, 2011

Great resort for the family

We had a wonderful time at the hotel, it is located across the street from a beautiful beach and has a very nice pool. It also has a game room where the kids can spend time out of the sun. The room we stayed in could use a little updating, not luxurious as one would expect after entering the nice lobby of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Food in this area is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Loves Park, Il.
Mar 27, 2011

Beatiful setting, clean rooms,

Enjoyed this resort one of our best vacations. Excellent ocean views and sunsets,clean rooms, helpful staff, and good day trips available.Make sure you arrange for round trip transportation from air port, about 1 hour to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping,dining,pharmacy,general store allwithin 2 blocks. Dining,pool,scuba,on site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 24, 2011

Satisfied Babymooner

The Good The people there were very friendly and helpful. The beach is very close. I would recommend it. The bad The food there was way overpriced for what it was. I would not do an all-inclusive. The Ugly Ended up with a room that overlooked the parking lot. Make sure you get a good view. !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Restaurant Mar y Sol up the hill is pricey but way worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Cloud, MN
Mar 22, 2011

Great Hotel and Staff Expensive area

The hotel its self was gorgous and right by the beach which was very great for sunsets. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My biggest disapointment was the cost of everything. I had been on the Carribean side of Costa Rica and spent no where near as much as I did on this side. If you can pack snacks in your suitcase I would recommend. The prices at the hotel and in the area are super expensive. Excursions are also expensive but my favorite was the whitewater rafting we were able to see monkeys, tucans, snakes, spiders and more. Very fun!Think you will like the hotel just bring enough money because there is no atm on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2011

Great Hotel-Careful w/ Grayline Transprt

The Flamingo Beach hotel and resort was a very nice place to stay. The location is peaceful and approximately a 15 - 25 minute drive to the nearby touristy town of Tamarindo. Flamingo Beach is about a 5 minute drive to Brasilito / Playa Conchal (also a bit more touristy). It's kind of nice to stay somewhere just off the path of the crazy tourism but still close enough to get everywhere.Be VERY CAREFUL with airport transfer. We traveled with another couple (but arrived and departed independently of each other) and both of us had a terrible experience with Gray Line (GrayLineCostaRica.com). We paid $80 per person for a round trip transfer from Liberia airport to Flamingo Beach Hotel. There were significant problems on both ends of arrival and departure. We almost missed our flight on departure because the ride never showed up. We were forced to pay an ADDITIONAL $80 per couple to arrange alternative transport to the airport with the hotel shuttle service.I would highly recommend seeking Eco Trans (http://www.ecotranscostarica.com/) transport which is $40 per person round trip from the airport. Their office is across the street from Flamingo Beach Resort and their rate is half the price of the resort transport or Gray Line.Furthmore, Eco Trans is less expensive for all of the tours and excursions than the hotel/resort services. We used them for at least 2 or 3 different excursions and had excellent experiences for half the price.Overall, the Flamingo Beach Hotel / Resort is a cost effective, clean facility with a nice pool and literally located on the beach. There is a tiny dirt road you cross from the hotel to the beach but it's basically located on the beach. The road is all of 6 feet wide and barely any cars ever on it. The beach is beautiful and not loaded with tourists or vendors. The food at the resort is good enough and the resort staff is wonderful and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an EXCELLENT restaraunt (probably one of the best in Costa Rica) located within walking distance of Flamingo Beach Resort called, "Mar Y Sol". It's up the hill and has a beautiful cliff view over the ocean and beaches. They have excellent food and service for approximately $30 per person without drinks and $50 per person with a few drinks each. Save some money by going for their happy hour from 5 - 7pm for half priced $15 (down from $30) pitchers of tropical drinks during the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indy brew master
fort wayne indiana
Mar 20, 2011

unbeatable for the price

Positives: Grounds were very nice. Trips- zip lining and boat trip to wetlands were excellant. Food was very good. Negatives: Room was very musty smelling. Staff would do nothing to help the smell. Husband got very ill and front staff called Doctor but could not give us directions how to get to his location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maries was very good and not costly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Mar 17, 2011

great resort

After reading some less positive reviews we still decided to go with this resort. The only thing that we experienced according to reviews was the towels were difficult to change at times. The pool area could use some more shade. It was difficult to find a place in the shade with the resort pretty full. The "all in" option is a little different than we were used to. We didn't go for that option because we wanted to dine out and we did. About 100 ft from the resort are multiple little restaurants all with their own choice of food. The service and staff in the resort were very friendly and helpfull. The resort had more to offer than we expected (or maybe than we researched) Like a scuba diving school and a place were they rented out beds,boogie boards and such for on the beach. We went on a couple of hikes and ziplining. All awesome but you need a 4x4 to get to the national parks. All in all we wouldn't hesitate to go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the sunset at the lounge in Mar Y Sol restaurant (they'll even pick you up and drop you off!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sandy Springs, GA
Jan 31, 2011

recent trip to Flamingo Beach

Great hotel! Beautiful resort. We were greeted with a cool wash cloth and a tropical drink. The view when you walked up the stairs to the chec in desk was amazing because you could see the pool and the ocean view. The pool would light up a night with different colors and they would light tiki torches lining the pool which made for such a beautiful setting. The beach was just a hop across a little road and was absolutely beautiful with mountains and rock formations in the distance. Once complaint would be the food ends at the hotel and location restaurants at 9:30 so you better eat early or go hungry! Also, drinks at the resort at mucho expensivo! The restaurant/bar taxes in Costa Rica are outrageous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marie's and Angelina's across the street from the resort were both very good. Angelina's has delicious pizza you can share there or even order to go. The guacamole at Marie's was delicious. It is family owned by a lady named Marie who is usually there and is from the US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search