$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Wonderful family vacation

We can't speak highly enough about the wonderful time we had at the resort. The staff went out of... See full review

  • GKM1
  • Mar 31, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Hotel Map

10.4384 -85.7923
Area served
Flamingo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia Airport (LIR): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes. Juan Santamari Airport: Approximate driving time is 4 hours and distance is 120 miles.
Area description
A scenic, 45-minute drive from Liberia International Airport brings you to our tropical paradise. Experience this premier beachfront resort, reflecting a rich local heritage in an unspoiled natural environment.Located on the golden sands of Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica, designated a Blue Flag beach for it's environmental standards and water purity, and known for it's spectacular sunsets. Nearby shopping and nightlife are within walking distance from the resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pegah4
houston, tx
Dec 31, 2011

Excellent for relaxing!

Great pool; Great hotel activities with activity coordinator Lulu (she's lots of fun!); great drinks; and steps away from the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobertS
Westchester County, NY
Aug 15, 2011

Family Vacation for 5

We had a great vacation here!!! The staff, overall, were very nice, from the front desk, to the wait staff to the bartenders. Denise (the concierge) was outstanding in helping us plan our excurstions with TAM! If your're debating the zip lining and Hot springs excursion . . . don't hesitate! Four out tof the fives of us did the zip line (including my 8 yr old son who rode tandem with one of the guides), but the visit and dinner at The Hot Springs Resort & Spa blew us all away! This place is incredible, and ended it all with a fantastic dinner with the Arenal volcanoe as our backdrop! The only headache was that our initial room was not in the best location. I immediately went to the front desk to see if there was a possbility for moving to a larger room. At first we were told there were no larger rooms in the Hotel, but then she mentioned suites that were larger(?) So I decided to take a look at the suite that was available and it was perfect! Two seperate rooms, a living room with a sleeper sofa, tv. bar area and balcony and a bedroom with a nice view of the ocean (whch is a short walk across a dirt road), tv, balcony and bathroom - perfect . . . until the phone rang and the front desk said they made a terrible mistake and gave us a room that was reserved 6 months prior!!!! You've Got To Be Kidding Me!!! Well, another visit to the front desk and asked to see the room they had said they now had for us . . . which we took although it was the same configuration as the "perfect one" it was not nearly as nice, mainly due to the view of the ocean which was blocked by the palm trees! That was the only negative to our stay. We opted to forego the car rental which worked out well! Took the transportation to and from the airport that the Flamingo offered, and used the transportation as well to some of the neighboring towns and walked to nearby restaurants (Angelina's whcih we loved and Marie's). Some of the other restaurants provide transportation to and from their establishments like Golden Shrimp & Mar y solo (which is a must!!! Would recommend Flamingo Resort & Spa to anyone interested in staying in this area of Costa Rica which had a beautiful beach and access to some nearby attractions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelina's, great food! Good pizza for those kids with limited appetite! Friendly staff and beautifully decorated. Also Marie's, grabbed lunch there and dinner as well!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, Texas
Aug 9, 2011

Great place to vacation

Hotel was a perfect location to take in the beach activities yet close enough to travel to neighboring cities to enjoy the culture and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dorado Camaron Restaurant will pick you and bring you back to your hotel for no cost.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the perfect girlfriend
Nj
Jul 26, 2011

Boyfriend's surprise 30th bday gift!

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Flamngo. The resort was very modern, and clean. Our room was comfy and inviting. While here we lounged by the pool daily with very talented bartenders at the pool bar. You can order food at the pool bar so you didn't have to go far for anything. We loved the beach, just a few steps across a small dirt road. The beach is a public beach but doesn't get crowded at all. You can walk down the beach in peace. The tide rolls in and comes pretty far in the beach but it was nice to lay on the beach chairs the hotel provides and have the water rush up too you. The concierge was helpful in planning our Arenal/ Zipline/Hot Springs tour. A littler pricey but well worth the $. You can rent jet skis, go snorkeling and try scuba; as well as surfing. I strongly suggest renting dirt bikes to see the beaches along the coast its a beautiful experience. The activities director planned a trip to a local bar for ladies night that was fun. (there is not much of a nightlife on the resort after 12pm, unless you gamble and the casino is open til 2am) We also went to the Happy Snapper for dinner one night and had the best meal of our stay. The all inclusive plan is worth it for the drinks, as the food is not great. But it was edible and good to have if you are too lazy to venture off the resort. It was the rainy season but it only rained a few hours in the late afternoon 2 of the 8 days we were there. Wear sun screen as you are close to the equator and the sun is strong. The staff was beyond great. Everyone speaks English very well. But try and speak Spanish they will help if you don't know. I would return definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy Snapper restaurant in Barsalito less than 10 minute ride from the resort. Great food and view. With free transportation.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Liberia, Guanacaste
Jul 20, 2011

Things you need to know

We did enjoy our stay at the Hotel, they offer good tours and a lot of activities. The people from the Front desk are very friendly and helpful. Very good Cutomer Service skills. The food was good and so do was the service. The only concern that we had was at the beach, the big waves didn't let the kids to enjoy the beach as they usually do, it looks very dangerous for the kids to stay to close to the ocean. The Resort should have a Life Guard on duty(at least during the peak hours), I heard of some incidents around the area. They should help us to protect our kids of danger.Anothe beach closed by is the"Conchal Beach, also very unsafe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Golden Shrimp Restaurant, The Septimo Cielo Restaurant (Italian) my kids loved the pizza.For Recreaction/attraction the "Buena Vista" tour is very good.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jul 19, 2011

Jewel of a Beach

Flamingo Beach Resort has a great staff but, the rooms were a bit dingy. I stayed on the lowest level and kept getting bit my something. A storm hit on day2 of my visit and flooded the hotel room to my ankles! The front desk person initally said he WOULD NOT move me to an upper level because he had already accomodated others and he would send someone to clean the room. I didn't make a big deal as I knew as soon as whomever went down there would see the DISASTER it was. Thank goodness I had nothing personal on the floor!! Needless to say the maid who arrived with two towels in hand let out a YELP and radio'd the front desk. I was moved to a suite on the same level but, still kept getting bit by something in the bed. The room was dingy as well (floors along the baseboards and bathroom mirror border. The beach is AMAZING and the restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive. The food at the hotel was decent, the breakfast buffet options were more than enough. Costa Rica is a jewel of a Country. The people are amazing and the excursions were superb! The Buena Vista Combo is a must! FYI-Arenal Volcano has not been active for 8mo's.[...] I had my own tour guide each time and I was not with a group but, my OWN personal guide. It was great not having to be with a big group. I was able to take as much time as I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...] Gray Line was GREAT and the tour guides are very knowledgeable and accomodating! Skip the Arenal Volcano..tourist trap to another resort which is about a 3hour drive away..and the volcano is not active.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Blacksburg, VA
Jul 6, 2011

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

We intended to stay at the beach and tour the volcanos, rainforests, and other sites. This may have been a bit ambitious as the most popular volcano (Arenal) and most rainforests were several hours away. Although this didn't affect the experience at the hotel, it is something to think about. We did enjoy our proximity tot he beach. The hotel sits just across a dirt road from the beach and is easily walked to and from. IN addition to the beach you can also cool off in the pool. There is only one pool, but it is decently large and was never overcrowded while we were there. One of the covered sections contains a swim up bar, and the other a shallow section for the pool for children. The hotel is rather small, two main wings with three levels of rooms. We had a pool view room on the third floor and it was fine. Certainly nothing special about it, but it was adequate. Each room has an air conditioner and ours was great. The bathroom was tile, mediocre, and adequate. The bed was fine, there was also a TV ( a few channels in english, most in spanish), balcony, mini-bar, safe, dresser, and open closet setup. Although it would seem a shame to spend too much time in your room (in my opinion). The hotel offers one restaurant, Arenas. We did not choose the all inclusive option, but did get the breakfast option. Food at Arenas was adequate, but it wasn't great. Prices were on par with other local restaurants for food. We did not purchase alcohol at Arenas, so I can't say expensive the drinks were. The hotel also offered a game room, gym, and casino. We didn't use the game room, but it appeared to contain several pool tables, ping pong tables, and a TV. The gym was small but offered several stationary bikes, a universal machine, free weights, treadmill, and elliptical machine. There was no air conditioner, so it was ghastly hot during the day. The casino was a joke, although we didn't gamble there it was small and posted signs stating they were operated by third party. All in all the hotel is fine, offers access to a nice area of beach, and has a pool for cooling off midday. The service was fine, front desk wasn't great, but the other personnel were pretty good. An important aspect of the hotel, we found after staying there, was the location. This hotel is relatively isolated. That means the beach isn't overly crowded but it also means there aren't a lot of other options in the area. There are three or four restaurants within walking distance. That's about it, no small shops, or places to get fresh fruit smoothies, etc. There are tours available through the hotel, and there are tours available through other vendors. Just up the street from the hotel is a plaza of sorts. It has two restaurants, a shop, and EcoTrans (tour company). EcoTrans is a great way to save about $10 on average per person for tours. Many of which are the same exact tours as the hotel offers. Outside of that, there are a lot of options around this hotel. If you want more bars, more restaurants, more shops, etc., stay in Tamarindo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ecotrans can get you to and from the airport for $20 per person each way. They can also get you to Tamarindo and back for $20 per person total. Check both the hotel tour costs, and Ecotrans to get the best rate. There are also places online that you can get prices and setup tours before you go.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
melovecake
long beach, ca
Jul 2, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Everything was very positive but the room itself was old and had this weird smell. Not sure if it's the humidity that was the cause but the smell was overwhelming. They really need a good ventilation system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
May 27, 2011

Very Nice

The staff was very nice and seemed like they enjoyed their jobs. The hotel has an excellent pool and is 20ft from one of the nicest beaches around. Our room was facing away from the pool and ocean, but it had a nice balcony. We were never in the room because the beach and the pool were so nice. The shower head was bad. It was one of the old super water savers that sprayed a light mist. That sucked, but otherwise the room was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flamingo Subs and Pizza was the cheapest and some of the best food we had in costa rica. As you walk out of the parking lot take a right and go past Maria's and on the next street take a left and the right hand side of the street you will see a little alley with pizza, subs and good smoothies for real cheap.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno. NV
Apr 18, 2011

We had a really great vacation!

We booked the family studio which exceeded our expectations. It was actually more like a 1 bedroom condo. Perfect for our teenage son to have his own space in the livingroom area. The staff was very friendly and kept the resort and pool very nice and clean. We booked 2 days of diving with the dive center and they took good care of us and our gear...easy diving and fun. Went on the ATV 2 hour tour, good time!We also had the inclusive daily breakfast which was delicious. The location of the resort is perfect on the beach with constant waves for body surfing/boogey boarding every day. We had a great time and would stay here again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book everything through the hotel activity desks. They are friendly and helpful.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search