$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia, 2050

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rcmc
Business
Pa.
Mar 17, 2012

Standard Room

When arrived, we were given a basement STANDARD room. Mildew odor,Bathroom light fixture over mirror did not work, making room dark. Water backed up in bathroom tub, and water trickled from sink. (Gurgling sound from tub and sink drain all through the night) Requested an upgrade and at first was given a difficult time by Staff who advised we paid for a Standard room and that's what we got. Day two after a lot of hassle,we were moved to a third floor with a balcony.(same layout,but 100% improvement)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michell
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Amazing Fun, Romantic & Relaxing Trip!

The website pictures doesn't give this resort justice! It's a small resort, which we liked! When we got there it was perfect! We have stayed at many resorts and most have more than one restaurant, but the one at Playa Flamingo the food was so fantastic and always changing the menu plus entertainment! We couldn't get enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Night life is 30 minutes away in Tamarindo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny145146
Business
Ohio
Jan 15, 2012

Perfect Weather and a great beach

My wife and I had a great time at the Flamingo. The staff was great and the rooms were spotless. Breakfast for free was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We loved the Happy Snapper for great seafood. They will pick you up at the hotel for free. And drop you off also. Great Mahi Mahi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick and Jill
Business
Cedar Grove, NJ, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Good place, would recommend

Staff is very friendly and helpful. We opted for paying the additional fee for the all inclusive and were very happy with the alcohol selections and buffet selections. You are in Central America, so please do not look for NYC Pizza/Bagels, and other US type foods not found elsewhere or else you will be disappointed. Lots of families with kids from all ages. At 10:30pm this hotel is quiet, it is not a party hotel. My wife really loved the towel animals from the maids placed on our bed. The bed was very comfortable but the room only came with 2 shoddy pillows, we could have used a few more. Pool, swim up bar, simple gym, was all we needed. Plus the room comes with a fridge to keep on hand cold beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Book the lazy lizard catamaran snorkel tour at the hotel. Leaves at around 1:50pm, takes you to a secluded beach for snorkeling. My wife and I saw sea rays, octopus, schools of machetes, etc. Then comes back with a nice lunch, all inclusive drinks, and a pretty sunset ride home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gg54321
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Good hotel

The hotel met our expectations of a good middle-class hotel in Central America (i.e., not to be confused with the same star category in the US). The location is very good, right in front of the (public) beach. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, the food excellent (buffet and a la carte). It helps to speak Spanish, even though most of the staff also speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pegah4
Business
houston, tx
Dec 31, 2011

Excellent for relaxing!

Great pool; Great hotel activities with activity coordinator Lulu (she's lots of fun!); great drinks; and steps away from the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobertS
Business
Westchester County, NY
Aug 15, 2011

Family Vacation for 5

We had a great vacation here!!! The staff, overall, were very nice, from the front desk, to the wait staff to the bartenders. Denise (the concierge) was outstanding in helping us plan our excurstions with TAM! If your're debating the zip lining and Hot springs excursion . . . don't hesitate! Four out tof the fives of us did the zip line (including my 8 yr old son who rode tandem with one of the guides), but the visit and dinner at The Hot Springs Resort & Spa blew us all away! This place is incredible, and ended it all with a fantastic dinner with the Arenal volcanoe as our backdrop! The only headache was that our initial room was not in the best location. I immediately went to the front desk to see if there was a possbility for moving to a larger room. At first we were told there were no larger rooms in the Hotel, but then she mentioned suites that were larger(?) So I decided to take a look at the suite that was available and it was perfect! Two seperate rooms, a living room with a sleeper sofa, tv. bar area and balcony and a bedroom with a nice view of the ocean (whch is a short walk across a dirt road), tv, balcony and bathroom - perfect . . . until the phone rang and the front desk said they made a terrible mistake and gave us a room that was reserved 6 months prior!!!! You've Got To Be Kidding Me!!! Well, another visit to the front desk and asked to see the room they had said they now had for us . . . which we took although it was the same configuration as the "perfect one" it was not nearly as nice, mainly due to the view of the ocean which was blocked by the palm trees! That was the only negative to our stay. We opted to forego the car rental which worked out well! Took the transportation to and from the airport that the Flamingo offered, and used the transportation as well to some of the neighboring towns and walked to nearby restaurants (Angelina's whcih we loved and Marie's). Some of the other restaurants provide transportation to and from their establishments like Golden Shrimp & Mar y solo (which is a must!!! Would recommend Flamingo Resort & Spa to anyone interested in staying in this area of Costa Rica which had a beautiful beach and access to some nearby attractions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelina's, great food! Good pizza for those kids with limited appetite! Friendly staff and beautifully decorated. Also Marie's, grabbed lunch there and dinner as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Aug 9, 2011

Great place to vacation

Hotel was a perfect location to take in the beach activities yet close enough to travel to neighboring cities to enjoy the culture and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dorado Camaron Restaurant will pick you and bring you back to your hotel for no cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the perfect girlfriend
Business
Nj
Jul 26, 2011

Boyfriend's surprise 30th bday gift!

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Flamngo. The resort was very modern, and clean. Our room was comfy and inviting. While here we lounged by the pool daily with very talented bartenders at the pool bar. You can order food at the pool bar so you didn't have to go far for anything. We loved the beach, just a few steps across a small dirt road. The beach is a public beach but doesn't get crowded at all. You can walk down the beach in peace. The tide rolls in and comes pretty far in the beach but it was nice to lay on the beach chairs the hotel provides and have the water rush up too you. The concierge was helpful in planning our Arenal/ Zipline/Hot Springs tour. A littler pricey but well worth the $. You can rent jet skis, go snorkeling and try scuba; as well as surfing. I strongly suggest renting dirt bikes to see the beaches along the coast its a beautiful experience. The activities director planned a trip to a local bar for ladies night that was fun. (there is not much of a nightlife on the resort after 12pm, unless you gamble and the casino is open til 2am) We also went to the Happy Snapper for dinner one night and had the best meal of our stay. The all inclusive plan is worth it for the drinks, as the food is not great. But it was edible and good to have if you are too lazy to venture off the resort. It was the rainy season but it only rained a few hours in the late afternoon 2 of the 8 days we were there. Wear sun screen as you are close to the equator and the sun is strong. The staff was beyond great. Everyone speaks English very well. But try and speak Spanish they will help if you don't know. I would return definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy Snapper restaurant in Barsalito less than 10 minute ride from the resort. Great food and view. With free transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Liberia, Guanacaste
Jul 20, 2011

Things you need to know

We did enjoy our stay at the Hotel, they offer good tours and a lot of activities. The people from the Front desk are very friendly and helpful. Very good Cutomer Service skills. The food was good and so do was the service. The only concern that we had was at the beach, the big waves didn't let the kids to enjoy the beach as they usually do, it looks very dangerous for the kids to stay to close to the ocean. The Resort should have a Life Guard on duty(at least during the peak hours), I heard of some incidents around the area. They should help us to protect our kids of danger.Anothe beach closed by is the"Conchal Beach, also very unsafe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Golden Shrimp Restaurant, The Septimo Cielo Restaurant (Italian) my kids loved the pizza.For Recreaction/attraction the "Buena Vista" tour is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top