$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
141 reviews
family getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. This isn't a place if you are looking for nightlife but a place for... See full review

  • kpro04
  • May 4, 2014
Wonderful family vacation

We can't speak highly enough about the wonderful time we had at the resort. The staff went out of... See full review

  • GKM1
  • Mar 31, 2014
Pool-view guestrooms and kitchenette suites on protected Flamingo Beach

Situated on the northwest Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, north of Tamarindo, the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa offers an enchanting escape on the pristine sands of Flamingo Beach-an ecologically important "blue-flag" beach. From the relaxing setting, guests can take adventure tours to the surrounding forests, enjoy water sports, and visit nearby national parks and local villages. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa has a swimming pool with swim-up bar, and offers convenient airport transfers (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located directly on Flamingo Beach
  • Swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site scuba diving center
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
Rooms

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa boasts 120 spacious guest rooms in a range of sizes and styles, including pool-view rooms, kitchenette-equipped studios, and sprawling suites with ocean views. Guest rooms have either a single king-size bed or set of double beds, and a private bathroom. In-room amenities include flat-screen TVs with satellite service, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bars (fees apply), safe boxes, air conditioning and coffee makers.

Features

The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa features a wide range of amenities and activities from its oceanfront location. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, gamble in the casino, play tennis on lighted courts and exercise in the on-site fitness center. The full-service spa offers massages, and body and facial treatments. The on-site scuba center teaches dive classes and runs offshore charters.  The Arenas restaurant serves meals all day, and guests can sign up for an optional all-inclusive meal plan. The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa can accommodate weddings and conference groups, with more than 4,000 square feet of event space. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available in guest rooms and the business center.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (24.3 mi/38.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Grande Marine Turtle National Park (14 mi/22 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (18.8 mi/30.1 km)
  • Guaitil Village (42 mi/67.2 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (45.5 mi/72.8 km)
  • Palo Verde National Park and Wildlife Refuge (59.9 mi/96.4 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • 4,195 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

POOL VIEW ROOM
Pool View Room features One King or Two Double Beds
View: Resort or Pool

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
STUDIO ROOM
Studio Room features Two Double Beds
Studio has an extended living area with an equipped kitchenette(No Stove)

In Room Amenities

Living Room | Kitchenette | Pull Out Full Size Sleeper Sofa
Refridgerator | Microwave | Toaster
Kitchen Utensils | Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access
Safe in Room | Air Conditioning | Ceiling Fan
Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower | Electronic Smart Locks
Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio | Telephone
STANDARD ROOM
Standard Room features One King or Two Double Beds

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone
RUN OF THE HOUSE
Run of the House is assign at check in

In Room Amenities

Satellite Flat Screen Television | High Speed Internet Access | Mini Bar (Fee)
High Speed Internet Access | Safe in Room | Air Conditioning
Ceiling Fan | Electronic Smart Locks | Private Bath with Tub and Shower
Electronic Smart Locks | Hairdryer | Alarm Clock Radio
Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.4384 -85.7923
Area served
Flamingo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia Airport (LIR): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes. Juan Santamari Airport: Approximate driving time is 4 hours and distance is 120 miles.
Area description
A scenic, 45-minute drive from Liberia International Airport brings you to our tropical paradise. Experience this premier beachfront resort, reflecting a rich local heritage in an unspoiled natural environment.Located on the golden sands of Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica, designated a Blue Flag beach for it's environmental standards and water purity, and known for it's spectacular sunsets. Nearby shopping and nightlife are within walking distance from the resort.

Dining

ARENAS RESTAURANT
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Arenas Restaurant offers guests both air conditioned dining, or outdoor terrace dining and features International cuisine.
SUNSET LOUNGE
The resorts rooftop bar features panoramic views of the resort and the Pacific Ocean. An exquisite venue for wedding receptions and other celebrations. Enjoy delicious drinks and tantalizing light fare from 3:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday through Thursday; Friday and Saturday from 3:00pm - 12:00am. Featuring a variety of live musical entertainment (schedule varies).
MAGALLANES SWIM-UP POOL BAR
The resorts famous swim-up bar where you can eat and drink wet or dry, serves refreshing cocktails and lunch or light fare daily in a casual, relaxed setting. Open from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Serves the world best Guanabana or Mora frozen smoothie. You may never want to leave!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Known for amazing sunset beach weddings, the resort features a gorgeous beach location or garden location and has a dedicated professional wedding planner on staff. For meetings, two new meeting rooms, both equipped with high speed wireless internet access (fee). Las Palmas A offers 1,784 square feel of space and Las Palmas B offer 1,480 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaxF
Nebraska
Mar 24, 2012

Family Getaway

Pool was great for kids age 8-10. The staff didn't actually make us feel comfortable right away-we had to do that on our own-we were in a foreign country and nervous about what we could do, where we could eat off the resort, or if we could even drink the water. Talking to the other guests was much more helpful. Restaurant offered fine dining for dinner-fish was awesome. Don't lose your pool towel or ticket, one towel is $50-completely rediculous-i'm certain housekeeping picked it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingster
Texas, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Better than expected...

Everything about this hotel was as advertised. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is in a perfect location with a lot to do close by. You get alot of bang for your buck!! We are definitely going to stay here again. Don't believe the negative reviews....one of the best places I have stayed in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Resturants and Pizzerias close by are way cheaper than hotel and much better food;)

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rcmc
Pa.
Mar 17, 2012

Standard Room

When arrived, we were given a basement STANDARD room. Mildew odor,Bathroom light fixture over mirror did not work, making room dark. Water backed up in bathroom tub, and water trickled from sink. (Gurgling sound from tub and sink drain all through the night) Requested an upgrade and at first was given a difficult time by Staff who advised we paid for a Standard room and that's what we got. Day two after a lot of hassle,we were moved to a third floor with a balcony.(same layout,but 100% improvement)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michell
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Amazing Fun, Romantic & Relaxing Trip!

The website pictures doesn't give this resort justice! It's a small resort, which we liked! When we got there it was perfect! We have stayed at many resorts and most have more than one restaurant, but the one at Playa Flamingo the food was so fantastic and always changing the menu plus entertainment! We couldn't get enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Night life is 30 minutes away in Tamarindo!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny145146
Ohio
Jan 15, 2012

Perfect Weather and a great beach

My wife and I had a great time at the Flamingo. The staff was great and the rooms were spotless. Breakfast for free was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We loved the Happy Snapper for great seafood. They will pick you up at the hotel for free. And drop you off also. Great Mahi Mahi

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick and Jill
Cedar Grove, NJ, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Good place, would recommend

Staff is very friendly and helpful. We opted for paying the additional fee for the all inclusive and were very happy with the alcohol selections and buffet selections. You are in Central America, so please do not look for NYC Pizza/Bagels, and other US type foods not found elsewhere or else you will be disappointed. Lots of families with kids from all ages. At 10:30pm this hotel is quiet, it is not a party hotel. My wife really loved the towel animals from the maids placed on our bed. The bed was very comfortable but the room only came with 2 shoddy pillows, we could have used a few more. Pool, swim up bar, simple gym, was all we needed. Plus the room comes with a fridge to keep on hand cold beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Book the lazy lizard catamaran snorkel tour at the hotel. Leaves at around 1:50pm, takes you to a secluded beach for snorkeling. My wife and I saw sea rays, octopus, schools of machetes, etc. Then comes back with a nice lunch, all inclusive drinks, and a pretty sunset ride home.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gg54321
New York, NY, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Good hotel

The hotel met our expectations of a good middle-class hotel in Central America (i.e., not to be confused with the same star category in the US). The location is very good, right in front of the (public) beach. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, the food excellent (buffet and a la carte). It helps to speak Spanish, even though most of the staff also speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pegah4
houston, tx
Dec 31, 2011

Excellent for relaxing!

Great pool; Great hotel activities with activity coordinator Lulu (she's lots of fun!); great drinks; and steps away from the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobertS
Westchester County, NY
Aug 15, 2011

Family Vacation for 5

We had a great vacation here!!! The staff, overall, were very nice, from the front desk, to the wait staff to the bartenders. Denise (the concierge) was outstanding in helping us plan our excurstions with TAM! If your're debating the zip lining and Hot springs excursion . . . don't hesitate! Four out tof the fives of us did the zip line (including my 8 yr old son who rode tandem with one of the guides), but the visit and dinner at The Hot Springs Resort & Spa blew us all away! This place is incredible, and ended it all with a fantastic dinner with the Arenal volcanoe as our backdrop! The only headache was that our initial room was not in the best location. I immediately went to the front desk to see if there was a possbility for moving to a larger room. At first we were told there were no larger rooms in the Hotel, but then she mentioned suites that were larger(?) So I decided to take a look at the suite that was available and it was perfect! Two seperate rooms, a living room with a sleeper sofa, tv. bar area and balcony and a bedroom with a nice view of the ocean (whch is a short walk across a dirt road), tv, balcony and bathroom - perfect . . . until the phone rang and the front desk said they made a terrible mistake and gave us a room that was reserved 6 months prior!!!! You've Got To Be Kidding Me!!! Well, another visit to the front desk and asked to see the room they had said they now had for us . . . which we took although it was the same configuration as the "perfect one" it was not nearly as nice, mainly due to the view of the ocean which was blocked by the palm trees! That was the only negative to our stay. We opted to forego the car rental which worked out well! Took the transportation to and from the airport that the Flamingo offered, and used the transportation as well to some of the neighboring towns and walked to nearby restaurants (Angelina's whcih we loved and Marie's). Some of the other restaurants provide transportation to and from their establishments like Golden Shrimp & Mar y solo (which is a must!!! Would recommend Flamingo Resort & Spa to anyone interested in staying in this area of Costa Rica which had a beautiful beach and access to some nearby attractions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelina's, great food! Good pizza for those kids with limited appetite! Friendly staff and beautifully decorated. Also Marie's, grabbed lunch there and dinner as well!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobertS
Westchester County, NY
Aug 15, 2011

Family Vacation for 5

We had a great vacation here!!! The staff, overall, were very nice, from the front desk, to the wait staff to the bartenders. Denise (the concierge) was outstanding in helping us plan our excurstions with TAM! If your're debating the zip lining and Hot springs excursion . . . don't hesitate! Four out tof the fives of us did the zip line (including my 8 yr old son who rode tandem with one of the guides), but the visit and dinner at The Hot Springs Resort & Spa blew us all away! This place is incredible, and ended it all with a fantastic dinner with the Arenal volcanoe as our backdrop! The only headache was that our initial room was not in the best location. I immediately went to the front desk to see if there was a possbility for moving to a larger room. At first we were told there were no larger rooms in the Hotel, but then she mentioned suites that were larger(?) So I decided to take a look at the suite that was available and it was perfect! Two seperate rooms, a living room with a sleeper sofa, tv. bar area and balcony and a bedroom with a nice view of the ocean (whch is a short walk across a dirt road), tv, balcony and bathroom - perfect . . . until the phone rang and the front desk said they made a terrible mistake and gave us a room that was reserved 6 months prior!!!! You've Got To Be Kidding Me!!! Well, another visit to the front desk and asked to see the room they had said they now had for us . . . which we took although it was the same configuration as the "perfect one" it was not nearly as nice, mainly due to the view of the ocean which was blocked by the palm trees! That was the only negative to our stay. We opted to forego the car rental which worked out well! Took the transportation to and from the airport that the Flamingo offered, and used the transportation as well to some of the neighboring towns and walked to nearby restaurants (Angelina's whcih we loved and Marie's). Some of the other restaurants provide transportation to and from their establishments like Golden Shrimp & Mar y solo (which is a must!!! Would recommend Flamingo Resort & Spa to anyone interested in staying in this area of Costa Rica which had a beautiful beach and access to some nearby attractions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelina's, great food! Good pizza for those kids with limited appetite! Friendly staff and beautifully decorated. Also Marie's, grabbed lunch there and dinner as well!

Back to menu Return to top