$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste/Liberia, 2050

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shantal
Single
Bloomington, IN
Dec 23, 2012

Great for quiet relaxation

I enjoyed the stay. Staff was very helpful. I few things in the room did not work right, but they cased minor problems only and were fixed upon request. The food was good, but far from outstanding. The place is a bit isolated and to get there from the airport is expensive. Activities were good and the beach outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lis N
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2012

Dissapointed

This is not a 4 star hotel .Also you are in a very secluded beach area that has a small town about15 min walking distance away. But you do not want to go there. The room we stayed in was big and partial ocean view. The furniture was a little dated and banged up . No hangers in open closet area. Asked for hangers. They brought around 15 mismatched old wire hangers.The bathroom tile looked dirty because it was old and patched up. The shower leaked, had to put big towel on floor when showering. The beds were the best, nice linnens. Staff was nice. Overall resort needed some sprucing up. Also the city of tamarindo is 30 min away and it is ok. cab ride round trip $50. Stayed 2 nights. I am from southern California 10/15/12

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MishG
Family
White Plains, NY
Jul 8, 2012

Great Vacation

The Flamingo Resort was a great experience for my family. I traveled with my husband and children ages 19 and 22. The grounds, pool and beach are beautiful and very well maintained. We did the all inclusive and the food was good. In the dining room Alex was wonderful, she was always helpful and smiling...Orlando was also terrific! The staff was always polite. The only negatives I could say are the room and beach towels need to be upgraded although they were always clean. There is little night life, the casino was empty, and for some reason on Friday night the bar was closed to a private party. There are two restaurant/bars in walking distance, though we didn't try them. Use ecotrans for your excursions they were great!! We used rizo transportation to and from the airport also a good experience. Don't rent a car, while it is cheap roads are not really labeled and some barely qualify as roads. Costa Rica is a beautiful country terrific people I want to go back and visit the other parts of the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

do tour the national park by boat (use Ecotrans, Luis was great) It was a beautiful not to be missed experience!

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny B2
Friends
Detroit, MI
Jul 8, 2012

Friends' getaway

Great location on Flamingo Beach. The staff and hotel cleanliness was very good. There is one main restaurant and the pool swim-up bar can also serve food & drinks. Breakfast was included, but get the all-inclusive if you plan on staying at the resort the entire time...it will pay for itself. The room with king bed was extremely spacious...a pleasant surprise! The town itself is very small and you will likely need transportation to get to any other beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelina's or Marie's are very close and offer good food/drinks. If more on a budget, then try Mariner Inn.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Travelers
Friends
New Jersey
May 23, 2012

Great Staff

We recently stayed at the Flamingo Resort and Spa. The hotel didn't have anything that really set it apart from others EXCEPT the staff. They were friendly and accomodating and made you feel very comfortable. The staff would recognize you and go out of their way to meet any of your needs. Overall, the hotel was clean and had very good restaurants nearby. Unfortunately, there was not many other things nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazenuts
Family
Albany, NY
Apr 15, 2012

Paradise for a family or couple

One of our nicest travel experiences ever. Only complaint was full instead of queen beds- we are a tall family and were a bit crowded (2 adults, 2 children in room). Staff was exceptional, as was location & resort layout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Polo Tropicale in Brasilito. Owners welcome you as family, food typical Costa Rican & delicious. Looks like nothing but definitely a gem! Went 3 times during week-long stay in Flamingo.

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaxF
Family
Nebraska
Mar 24, 2012

Family Getaway

Pool was great for kids age 8-10. The staff didn't actually make us feel comfortable right away-we had to do that on our own-we were in a foreign country and nervous about what we could do, where we could eat off the resort, or if we could even drink the water. Talking to the other guests was much more helpful. Restaurant offered fine dining for dinner-fish was awesome. Don't lose your pool towel or ticket, one towel is $50-completely rediculous-i'm certain housekeeping picked it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingster
Friends
Texas, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Better than expected...

Everything about this hotel was as advertised. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is in a perfect location with a lot to do close by. You get alot of bang for your buck!! We are definitely going to stay here again. Don't believe the negative reviews....one of the best places I have stayed in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Resturants and Pizzerias close by are way cheaper than hotel and much better food;)

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rcmc
Couples
Pa.
Mar 17, 2012

Standard Room

When arrived, we were given a basement STANDARD room. Mildew odor,Bathroom light fixture over mirror did not work, making room dark. Water backed up in bathroom tub, and water trickled from sink. (Gurgling sound from tub and sink drain all through the night) Requested an upgrade and at first was given a difficult time by Staff who advised we paid for a Standard room and that's what we got. Day two after a lot of hassle,we were moved to a third floor with a balcony.(same layout,but 100% improvement)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michell
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Amazing Fun, Romantic & Relaxing Trip!

The website pictures doesn't give this resort justice! It's a small resort, which we liked! When we got there it was perfect! We have stayed at many resorts and most have more than one restaurant, but the one at Playa Flamingo the food was so fantastic and always changing the menu plus entertainment! We couldn't get enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Night life is 30 minutes away in Tamarindo!

Back to menu Return to top