$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

4 stars
Playa Potrero, Playa Potrero, Guanacaste/Liberia, 5111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Felt like visiting family :)

Everything is very laid back, warm, pleasant... No pressure, no judgement, no noise, no nonsense... See full review

  • Minea
  • Aug 13, 2014
Fantastic vacation!

The warmth, hospitality, and attentiveness of the staff of Bahia Del Sol Resort made our stay in CR... See full review

  • JenFD
  • Jul 14, 2014
Find homey comforts, like kitchen-equipped suites, on Potrero Beach

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on Potrero Beach surrounded by tropical forest, just a few minutes from Flamingo and Prieta Beaches. Guest rooms overlook the central gardens and the swimming pool, which boasts a swim-up bar and hot tub. This Costa Rican property also features a restaurant and spa services. Guests can scuba dive the Catalina Islands, visit sea turtle nesting sites and explore the Palo Verde National Park nearby. The beachfront hotel has free Wi-Fi access and can accommodate weddings and meetings.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Potrero Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast offered daily
  • Outdoor massage and spa services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • 24 hour secured parking
Rooms

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites features standard and deluxe guest rooms and one- and two-bedroom suites. All guest rooms come with two queen beds, while one-bedroom suites have one queen. The decor ranges from room to room -- some feature vibrant turquoise, corals and lime greens while others emphasize natural earth tones and exotic prints. All rooms at the Bahia del Sol Hotel and Suites have air conditioning, cable TV and telephones with international capabilities. Suites also have full kitchens, dining areas and living rooms. Standard deluxe rooms have a Jacuzzi, 2 chairs and a mini bar with drinks and snacks, plus a patio with a hammock overlooking tropical gardens.

Features

The intimate Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on lushly manicured grounds overlooking Potrero Beach and the Pacific Ocean. Guests can find a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the on-site restaurant serves local and international fare for lunch and dinner. Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites also has an open-air beach bar in a palapa overlooking the water, and guests can get outdoor massages and spa treatments on-site.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (22.3 mi/35.7 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Flamingo (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • Reserva Conchal Golf Course (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (34.9 mi/55.9 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (55 mi/88 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard Room
376 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size beds, A/C & Fan, Minibar, Complementary safe deposit box, Hair dryer, TV cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffee maker, Working desk, Patio with hammock with view to the beautiful tropical garden.
Two Bedroom Suite
978 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size bed and one with 2 single beds, 2 Bathrooms, Living and Dining Room (sofas, coffee table and dining table with four chairs, Full equipped kitchen with refridgerator, Oven, Hood, Microwave, Toaster, Blender, Kitchen equipment, A/C, Complementary safe deposit - box, Hair dryer, TV/cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffe maker and Working desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bahia Restaurant
Specialized in sea food and international cuisine offer menus that allow you to choose and taste from the traditional Costa Rican cooking to the most sophisticated international dishes. All this combined with the finest selection of wines and liquors.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 54
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Tico
Business
Palmares, Alajuela
Sep 29, 2014

Little paradise

Playa Potrero is a very peaceful place, and the hotel goes with the mood. Small hotel but great experience. Nice people in the staff, great chef in the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minea
Business
Houston, tx
Aug 13, 2014

Felt like visiting family :)

Everything is very laid back, warm, pleasant... No pressure, no judgement, no noise, no nonsense :). You feel like you are visiting family who cares and makes sure you have everything you need at all times. Wonderful staff. Bahia del Sol is a small hotel and you easily become known by name :). They give you cookies everyday. Know your favorite breakfast and drinks :). Everything is on time and as requested. Lots of comfort and warmth. And at night you can hear the ocean, so hope you like some white noise :). Chill, it the Pacific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try coco loco at the wet bar!:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tequila1
Business
Albany, NY
Jun 14, 2014

Great hotel

Nice pool and couldn't be closer to the ocean. I wouldn't call it a four star hotel but we really didn't want that anyway. It was perfect for our family. No hair dryer and poorly lit rooms are my only issues with the room. Good size and cold A/C. Staff was the best and the food was very good. Good restaurants in immediate vicinity. La perla was excellent. And take-out pizza from Cara Pizza was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Cara Pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom 's vacation
Business
Houston
Dec 30, 2013

Vacation with my son

Staff was very nice and helpful. They promised double bed end up with small room with a king bed which was very uncomfortable to share. The hotel charges are super expensive they dint even have microwave. The old small fridge hardly worked breakfast was great friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevinatcat
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 28, 2013

Diamond In The Rough

This place is a surprising little diamond just far away from the hustle and bustle of larger tourist towns. You will love the peace and quiet of the resort as well as a beach all to yourself, yet still be 15-30 minutes away from Costa Rica's adventure, food and shopping. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which had a private balcony, full kitchen and everything you could ever want. The staff was very friendly and most spoke English. My only negative is that the pool is not that large and tended to get leaves blown into it from the nearby trees…but that is a minor issue, since the ocean is literally at your back door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask the staff to point you to local food places (such as Las Brisas and the Golden Shrimp) since they offer the same outstanding food on the beach and cost 25% -30% less than the touristy places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva and Jim
Business
Wayside, NJ
Mar 29, 2013

Great Family Experience

Stayed @ Bahia Del Sol 3/21/2013-2/27/2013. Had an awsome family experience. Hotel was very quaint. Our room was perfect for a family of 5. All the staff was helpful and accomidating. Got to know the bartenders by name. Jose and Jimmy were wonderful and Marvin was the best. They gave us recommendations on where to eat if we wanted to explore the area. Never had a bad meal. Dinner @ hotel was delicious. We order Mai Hi Mahi Chipolte that was out of this world. The only thing bad I have to say was the that the beds were not comfortable. Woke up achy and stiff. Besides that we were able to over look it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chipwich
Business
Belleville, NJ, USA
Jul 29, 2012

beach getaway

For starters, we had a delicious mango mint welcome.drink made with Costa Rican sugar cane rum. That was a great start. The room itself was nice...we had a standard.room with 2 double bed. We slept on the inner sheet that you would normally cover yourself with because the fitted sheet was dirty with sand and dirt. Not cool. Otherwise, the bathroom was clean. A safe was provided for valuable items. A big problem is the number of mosquitoes in the room. Clearly the windows didn't keep them out and we were bitten multiple times in our sleep. The decor of the hotel is nice. They have hammocks in front of the rooms which are unique and comfy. Breakfast was included with our stay which was great. The staff was kind and allowed us a late checkout of 1pm. One of the most awesome things about this place is it's location on playa portero. We felt like we were on our own private beach. The sand is a dark brown/black which is different for us and is underated by most beacuse of the other beaches nearby (playa conchal, brasilito, and flamingo). The sand felt like velvet in the water. The view of the sunset from here is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy seafood, el coconut restaurant across.the way has a delicious bbq whole red snapper that comes with rice and steamed vegetables. The bbq is done argentinian style and you can watch the chef cook it on the unique-style grill. She stuffed the inside of the fish with tomatoes, onions, and bay leaves. What flavor! This was enough for 2of us and we split a fried calamari dish as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Square
Business
Athens Ga
Jun 21, 2012

A wonderful hotel

We were only scheduled to stay for 1 day but we stretched it out to 1 week, due to the warmth and quality of the hotel and its staff. The hotel was exceptionally nice. We had a very simple, standard room, which was wholly adequate. The next time we stay there we will get a suite though. The housecleaning staff was quite good, and the remainder of the staff were simply excellent and accommodating as well, giving warm, friendly personalized service. Maik, Leo, and Hector especially went out of their way in making our stay a delightful one. The pool area was totally lovely, as was the easily accessible beach, with the occasional dog or cow wandering by. The sunsets from the pool area were otherworldly beautiful. The food was 5 star. The drinks (try the mango and mint cocktail) were 6 star! This is a somewhat out of the way hotel, maybe a 10 minute drive or a 40 minute walk from Flamingo, but I found its relative remoteness a definite plus, affording the perfect blend of local culture and feel, with the lushness of a beautiful, tropical hotel. If you are looking for a really nice hotel, with just a touch of local funkiness, this is for sure the place. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SusanKHN
Business
Kennett Square, PA 19348, USA
Mar 19, 2012

A little gem

We loved going down to breakfast at Bahia Del Sol and sitting under the canopy to a breakfast bar that started with fresh fruit, pastries, rice and beans, platanos, and more, then ordering eggs. The beach is quiet and peaceful, unlike Tamarindo where someone's trying to sell you a necklace every 5 minutes. While the sand isn't white, it's clean. Check-in and out was very efficient. This is a small hotel with a nice mix of couples and families. More Europeans than Americans go there. The pool is on the small side but nice, with a little waterfall and walk in sloping, and there's a wet bar. We had a lovely time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I tried to use my GPS from the States without programming it and it didn't work. So we got lost all over Costa Rica! Also, if you're not adventurous, just book a tour at the hotel... The main roads are fine but getting to Rincon la Vieja or Monteverde is rough!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
30th anniversary traveling couple
Business
NJ
Jul 5, 2011

Quaint and private

When we arrived I was very disappointed... the drive in was full of potholes and then a gravel parking lot that lacked any appeal. The rooms were dated and a little tv. Racoons in the ceiling so sleep was not good. The beach was black sand/dirt but very private. The staff was great and helpful. Internet is a daily 10 charge and impossibly slow. Don't order the hamburger as it was uneatable yet they didn't take it off the bill. Other items on the menu were surprisingly good (pork and chicken). The surf is very small on this beach because it is protected by some islands. If you want surf you will have to travel to Flamingo beach about 3 miles away. Restaurants in the area are ok but expensive (30=40 dollars a plate). I didn't realize the cost of eating out in Costa Rica. Note that taxes and tip on everything at 23% over listed prices. The pool was adequate but very small. Never had a problem with finding a lounge chair, but the hotel was empty while we were there. If the hotel was booked, we would have been out of luck (5 on the beach and maybe 14 on the grass).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top