$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

4 stars
Playa Potrero, Playa Potrero, Guanacaste/Liberia, 5111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Felt like visiting family :)

Everything is very laid back, warm, pleasant... No pressure, no judgement, no noise, no nonsense... See full review

  • Minea
  • Aug 13, 2014
Fantastic vacation!

The warmth, hospitality, and attentiveness of the staff of Bahia Del Sol Resort made our stay in CR... See full review

  • JenFD
  • Jul 14, 2014
Find homey comforts, like kitchen-equipped suites, on Potrero Beach

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on Potrero Beach surrounded by tropical forest, just a few minutes from Flamingo and Prieta Beaches. Guest rooms overlook the central gardens and the swimming pool, which boasts a swim-up bar and hot tub. This Costa Rican property also features a restaurant and spa services. Guests can scuba dive the Catalina Islands, visit sea turtle nesting sites and explore the Palo Verde National Park nearby. The beachfront hotel has free Wi-Fi access and can accommodate weddings and meetings.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Potrero Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast offered daily
  • Outdoor massage and spa services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • 24 hour secured parking
Rooms

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites features standard and deluxe guest rooms and one- and two-bedroom suites. All guest rooms come with two queen beds, while one-bedroom suites have one queen. The decor ranges from room to room -- some feature vibrant turquoise, corals and lime greens while others emphasize natural earth tones and exotic prints. All rooms at the Bahia del Sol Hotel and Suites have air conditioning, cable TV and telephones with international capabilities. Suites also have full kitchens, dining areas and living rooms. Standard deluxe rooms have a Jacuzzi, 2 chairs and a mini bar with drinks and snacks, plus a patio with a hammock overlooking tropical gardens.

Features

The intimate Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on lushly manicured grounds overlooking Potrero Beach and the Pacific Ocean. Guests can find a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the on-site restaurant serves local and international fare for lunch and dinner. Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites also has an open-air beach bar in a palapa overlooking the water, and guests can get outdoor massages and spa treatments on-site.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (22.3 mi/35.7 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Flamingo (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • Reserva Conchal Golf Course (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (34.9 mi/55.9 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (55 mi/88 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard Room
376 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size beds, A/C & Fan, Minibar, Complementary safe deposit box, Hair dryer, TV cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffee maker, Working desk, Patio with hammock with view to the beautiful tropical garden.
Two Bedroom Suite
978 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size bed and one with 2 single beds, 2 Bathrooms, Living and Dining Room (sofas, coffee table and dining table with four chairs, Full equipped kitchen with refridgerator, Oven, Hood, Microwave, Toaster, Blender, Kitchen equipment, A/C, Complementary safe deposit - box, Hair dryer, TV/cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffe maker and Working desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bahia Restaurant
Specialized in sea food and international cuisine offer menus that allow you to choose and taste from the traditional Costa Rican cooking to the most sophisticated international dishes. All this combined with the finest selection of wines and liquors.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 54
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cberks
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 14, 2014

Great spot.

We were there in the down season, so the place was pretty deserted and we basically had the hotel/beach to ourselves. Rooms were nice & clean. Great A/C. Beach was nice - black sand, which was cool, but the water was really murky because of it, so you'd come out with the suit full of black sand inside & out. But pretty beach. Not much to the little town in the down season - seemed like most of the restaurants were closed. Good pool bar at the hotel with decent happy hour deals - we ate dinner there one night and were shocked by how expensive it was and how horrible the wine was (first time we've ever not finished a bottle hah) but over this place is a good find & we enjoyed it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't order wine!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenFD
Business
Middle River, Maryland
Jul 14, 2014

Fantastic vacation!

The warmth, hospitality, and attentiveness of the staff of Bahia Del Sol Resort made our stay in CR very special and unforgettable. Thank you! Pura Vida! We love Costa Rica!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Costa rican friend
Business
Kalamazoo Mi
May 16, 2013

paradise

the ocean at your doorstep. beautiful and quiet setting. The staff without exception is friendly, courteous and will knowledgeable. good restaurants in the area, very safe. Staff will help to arrange any activity you want. This is our second time and we are already talking about are next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the place may look a little shabby by US standards but don't be put off. The food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dcmcneil
Business
Maine
Jun 11, 2012

Beautiful out of the way destination

We fell in love with this resort. Great food, reasonable prices. Staff made our stay even better if that's possible! So friendly and helpful, every one of them! Small, quiet and relaxing, just what we were looking for and right on the beach! We couldn't have dreamed of a better honeymoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevinran
Business
dallas texas
May 22, 2012

Bahia Del Sol

The staff was great and the hotel was nice although it is in a remote location that requires a 3 km drive on an unpaved road. We went at the beginning of the rainy season and the humidity was very high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We reserved a car thru Oxxxxx for $122 for the week when we arrived the people from U-Save rental car co.l were there to pick us up, took us to there lot about 5 miles from airport where we were told our charges for the car would be over $600. we declined to do business with them and found a car back at the airport for far less. not as cheap as $122 but half the $600. After talking with Ashley w/ customer service she defended the car rental co.telling me these were "incidental" charges. 5x the rental esimate????? as opposed to my feeling of being taken advantage of. She has refered this to there marketing dept. I probably should not expect a response. Don't rent your car thru Oxxxxx!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aviationkiwi
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 18, 2012

Weekend Gateway

Hotel is about 1 hr west of Liberia Airport and it sits in a gravel road. Road is dusty and not well kept. Plenty of restaurants in the area. They are all expensive but tasty. I would recommend to stay elsewhere, much nice places in other parts of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Coconut Beach Club. Great for lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dallasite
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 12, 2011

Good place to call home for a week, with reservations

Overall the hotel was a great place to stay. Location was remote relatively to the nearby Playa Flamingo hotels where a lot of the action was, but if you're looking for a good place to get away from it all while still taking in what CR has to offer, then I think you'll like it. A couple of notes though: 1. We were told the beds were queen size in the standard rooms. When we got there, they turned out to be double beds. It was explained away that the queen measurements were based on local bed sizes but the only option was to make due or pay to upgrade to a suite with a king (significantly more expensive). 2. Watch the drink tab at the pool bar. Was given one price for shots and drinks one night, but the bill came with different prices. 3. Book the local excursions you do outside of the hotel concierge, it will save you between 5-20 bucks per person per excursion. 4. Were told room had iron, ironing board, but didn't. Hotel never rectified this. We were in t-shirts most of the week anyway, but never got a chance to use. 5. Hotel needs more beach/pool chairs. You need to get out there early to get one, if not you're pretty much out of luck. Not a good situation when you go do a tour in the morning. 6. Pool hot tub was never hot, was same temp as pool. Hotel said they turned heat on, but it never got any warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the dining within walking distance was good, except the Rico italian place above the Super Guido supermarket two blocks from the hotel. It was our only bad dining experience. Pepto, Tums saved the day though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sontay
Business
new york
Sep 23, 2011

Skip it- Go somewhere else

Room is very noisey and it was difficult to sleep. Location of hotel is very far from town. No taxi- would take 2 hours. No public transportation and no roads to walk on. Food in the hotel is extremely expensive and few selection to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MacMike
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

exceeded expectations

I can't say enough of how helpful and nice the staff was, from housekeeping to the reception to the cheff at the restaurant. Place was really well kept, no complaints whatsoever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

the little town has a bar that plays good music, the club scene is way better a couple towns down, short taxi ride away in Tamarindo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wwweee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 18, 2011

uuggh

the hotel was good, their staf needs to smile a lit. more,. i notice they treat certain people ... better then others..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top