$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

4 stars
Playa Potrero, Playa Potrero, Guanacaste/Liberia, 5111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Felt like visiting family :)

Everything is very laid back, warm, pleasant... No pressure, no judgement, no noise, no nonsense... See full review

  • Minea
  • Aug 13, 2014
Fantastic vacation!

The warmth, hospitality, and attentiveness of the staff of Bahia Del Sol Resort made our stay in CR... See full review

  • JenFD
  • Jul 14, 2014
Find homey comforts, like kitchen-equipped suites, on Potrero Beach

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on Potrero Beach surrounded by tropical forest, just a few minutes from Flamingo and Prieta Beaches. Guest rooms overlook the central gardens and the swimming pool, which boasts a swim-up bar and hot tub. This Costa Rican property also features a restaurant and spa services. Guests can scuba dive the Catalina Islands, visit sea turtle nesting sites and explore the Palo Verde National Park nearby. The beachfront hotel has free Wi-Fi access and can accommodate weddings and meetings.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Potrero Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast offered daily
  • Outdoor massage and spa services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • 24 hour secured parking
Rooms

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites features standard and deluxe guest rooms and one- and two-bedroom suites. All guest rooms come with two queen beds, while one-bedroom suites have one queen. The decor ranges from room to room -- some feature vibrant turquoise, corals and lime greens while others emphasize natural earth tones and exotic prints. All rooms at the Bahia del Sol Hotel and Suites have air conditioning, cable TV and telephones with international capabilities. Suites also have full kitchens, dining areas and living rooms. Standard deluxe rooms have a Jacuzzi, 2 chairs and a mini bar with drinks and snacks, plus a patio with a hammock overlooking tropical gardens.

Features

The intimate Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on lushly manicured grounds overlooking Potrero Beach and the Pacific Ocean. Guests can find a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the on-site restaurant serves local and international fare for lunch and dinner. Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites also has an open-air beach bar in a palapa overlooking the water, and guests can get outdoor massages and spa treatments on-site.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (22.3 mi/35.7 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Flamingo (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • Reserva Conchal Golf Course (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (34.9 mi/55.9 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (55 mi/88 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces available

Hotel Map

10.4475 -85.7717
Area served
Playa Potrero, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
International Airport Daniel Oduber.
Area description
Located on the north Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, in the Flamingo beach area, just 2 miles north is Potrero Bay. Bahia Potrero Beach Front Hotel & Suites is settle in this unique bay that overlooks the Catalina Islands and it has large native trees and lush colorful gardens. This exclusive 4 star boutique hotel is so conveniently situated that all of the adventure and the peacefully environment will be at hand for you to enjoy. Such as signature golf courses in Playa Conchal and in the Tamarindo area, Hacienda Pinilla.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard Room
376 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size beds, A/C & Fan, Minibar, Complementary safe deposit box, Hair dryer, TV cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffee maker, Working desk, Patio with hammock with view to the beautiful tropical garden.
Two Bedroom Suite
978 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size bed and one with 2 single beds, 2 Bathrooms, Living and Dining Room (sofas, coffee table and dining table with four chairs, Full equipped kitchen with refridgerator, Oven, Hood, Microwave, Toaster, Blender, Kitchen equipment, A/C, Complementary safe deposit - box, Hair dryer, TV/cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffe maker and Working desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bahia Restaurant
Specialized in sea food and international cuisine offer menus that allow you to choose and taste from the traditional Costa Rican cooking to the most sophisticated international dishes. All this combined with the finest selection of wines and liquors.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O&K Vacation
Business
Laurel MD
Jun 16, 2009

Bahia del Sol Peaceful Hideaway

We chose the Bahia del Sol for our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly and when we arrived we were escorted to our room (a standard) and discovered that the AC was broken. We were then upgraded to a deluxe suite with kitchenette at no extra charge. The place was extremely clean and the staff was friendly. The hotel was very empty at the beginning, which was perfect for us, the beach is lovely and quiet. It's great for people who want to "get away from it all" literally. The surrounding area is very rural, 2 restaurants within close walking distance and a few stores. It would probably not be good for people who like a lot of nightlife and clubbing, but if you are OK with sitting on the beach or soaking up the sun by the pool in solitude the place is paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant "Donde La Chola" for delicious cheap food and cheap highspeed internet access.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bern, NC
Jun 3, 2009

Great....loved it!

If you like a smaller hotel (only 28 rooms and suites) with a good restaurant and friendly atmosphere, beautiful tropical gardens, with fantastic beachfront and breathtaking sunsets.........this is the place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Marco Polo Restaurant is a must.....excellent Italian food and brick oven tuscan pizza is outrageously good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Richard Canopy Man
Business
Charlotte NC
May 31, 2009

Absolutly the Best!!!

This place is Great!!! Hotel on the beach, Beautiful surroundings. This Staff was the Most friendly and helpful of any resort or Hotel that I have ever been to. The staff was fantastic, I just can say enough about them. They ALL bent over backwards for us. They treated us like Family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try to get to the little Local type resturants so you can enjoy the food of the country. There are good high dollar resturants like Marco Polo for Italian,. or Camarone Dorado for seafood but if you don't experience what the locals eat you will cheating yourself. Just ask th staff for a couple of Good Ethnic resturants and you won't be disstaisfied.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs CO
May 27, 2009

Bahia Del Sol May 2009

Courteous, knowledgeable, english-speaking staff, quiet location, "boutique" motel, individually prepared meals availiable till 10pm, good connections with local tour operators,limited meal options within walking distance--plenty with car rental, grounds immaculate, rooms large and well appointed, right on the ocean, beach could be beter maintained, prices comperable with upscale US properties (not a good "tight budget" option), about 6 hours round trip to Volcanoes, 4 hours to Palo Verde, excellent snorkeling tour,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan to go to the Flamingo, Shopping ditto, Entertainment same

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DEAN A LANSING
Business
SAN ANTONIO TEXAS
Apr 22, 2009

WAS THE PERFECT EXPERIANCE FOR US--

WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR STAY--WE WANTED TO LAY BACK AND RELAX--THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER--WE ARE CONSIDERING COMING AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

WE LIKE TO VISIT DIFFERENT RESTAURANTS--THE HOTEL REST WAS VERY GOOD--LOCAL PLACES WERE EASILY AVAILABLE AND THE FOOD WAS GOOD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 22, 2009

great spring break getaway

I was very surprised at the location of the hotel, off the beaten path on Potrero beach this hotel was very good for a family vacation. You definitely needed a car to get around, htere si nothing around the hotel for miles. I would definitely not recommend it for singles or people looking for more activities or easy access to town, night life etc. The hotel staff was very kind but everything was overpriced, taxi ride, tours, outrageously expensive. I don't think it was worth the money. I would have prefered to stay in playa Tamarindo, Conchal or Flamingo. My grand-son and I spent a lot of time in the pool, driving around and enjoying the sunsets. This trip was unique, very restful, I only wish it was a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice local restaurant in Playa Brasalito

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 19, 2008

great place

the place was great. everyday we took our own cooler to the beach full of beer and had a great time. the people who work there were so nice, ane the place was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great food everywhere we went

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coquitlam
Nov 30, 2008

Quiet and Comfortable

Great hotel; clean, quiet, safe, great attentative staff. Was there with my two boys and found it was a good fit for us; it was our homebase as we spent the majority of our time adventuring by car. I do have some criticisms though; restaurant didn't really have much in the way of local food, internet was almost non existent and the hotel didn't really do a very good job of informing us of the activities onsite, i.e. there was a yoga class that we missed out on because we were unaware of it and the sailing/jetskiing operation was a bit of a mystery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 17, 2007

VERY FAMILY FRIELDLY

THE SERVICE AND STAFF WERE VERY COMPENTENT, FRIELDLY, WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO PLEASE US. THE LIGHTING IN THE ROOM COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

BEACH TOWN SHOPPING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 15, 2007

Beautiful smaller scale resort

Bahia Del Sol was a lovely resort for those looking for a relaxing low key vacation. Our studio had two comfortable sized bedrooms each with a bathroom. It had a kitchen area and small livingroom area. The studio was spacious and clean. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The resort is fairly secluded but the staff is very helpful in arranging transportation via taxi or all day tours. The tour we took was an absolute treasure and very reasonably priced (zipline, horseback riding, waterslide, mudbath/massage,hike and lunch all for $140 usd) The pool and landscaping at Bahia Del Sol was beautifully designed, lots of open air lounges to relax in. One criticism however was the hotel restaurant. The included breakfast was the exact same meal of fruit, toast,rice and eggs. Everyday! Lunch and dinner seemed was overpriced compared to other restaurants in nearby towns-we felt it was worth the walk. Overall I would and have highly recommended Bahia Del Sol to anyone looking for a nicely appointed hotel off the beaten path.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Breezas in Portero was a fun restraurant right on the sand about a 10 minute walk on the beach from Bahia Del Sol. The servings were large and inexpesive. Make sure you try the fish taco. The beers were ice cold and plentiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top