$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

4 stars
Playa Potrero, Playa Potrero, Guanacaste/Liberia, 5111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
53 reviews
Felt like visiting family :)

Everything is very laid back, warm, pleasant... No pressure, no judgement, no noise, no nonsense... See full review

  • Minea
  • Aug 13, 2014
Fantastic vacation!

The warmth, hospitality, and attentiveness of the staff of Bahia Del Sol Resort made our stay in CR... See full review

  • JenFD
  • Jul 14, 2014
Find homey comforts, like kitchen-equipped suites, on Potrero Beach

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on Potrero Beach surrounded by tropical forest, just a few minutes from Flamingo and Prieta Beaches. Guest rooms overlook the central gardens and the swimming pool, which boasts a swim-up bar and hot tub. This Costa Rican property also features a restaurant and spa services. Guests can scuba dive the Catalina Islands, visit sea turtle nesting sites and explore the Palo Verde National Park nearby. The beachfront hotel has free Wi-Fi access and can accommodate weddings and meetings.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Potrero Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast offered daily
  • Outdoor massage and spa services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • 24 hour secured parking
Rooms

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites features standard and deluxe guest rooms and one- and two-bedroom suites. All guest rooms come with two queen beds, while one-bedroom suites have one queen. The decor ranges from room to room -- some feature vibrant turquoise, corals and lime greens while others emphasize natural earth tones and exotic prints. All rooms at the Bahia del Sol Hotel and Suites have air conditioning, cable TV and telephones with international capabilities. Suites also have full kitchens, dining areas and living rooms. Standard deluxe rooms have a Jacuzzi, 2 chairs and a mini bar with drinks and snacks, plus a patio with a hammock overlooking tropical gardens.

Features

The intimate Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on lushly manicured grounds overlooking Potrero Beach and the Pacific Ocean. Guests can find a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the on-site restaurant serves local and international fare for lunch and dinner. Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites also has an open-air beach bar in a palapa overlooking the water, and guests can get outdoor massages and spa treatments on-site.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (22.3 mi/35.7 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Flamingo (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • Reserva Conchal Golf Course (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (34.9 mi/55.9 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (55 mi/88 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces available

Hotel Map

10.4475 -85.7717
Area served
Playa Potrero, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
International Airport Daniel Oduber.
Area description
Located on the north Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, in the Flamingo beach area, just 2 miles north is Potrero Bay. Bahia Potrero Beach Front Hotel & Suites is settle in this unique bay that overlooks the Catalina Islands and it has large native trees and lush colorful gardens. This exclusive 4 star boutique hotel is so conveniently situated that all of the adventure and the peacefully environment will be at hand for you to enjoy. Such as signature golf courses in Playa Conchal and in the Tamarindo area, Hacienda Pinilla.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard Room
376 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size beds, A/C & Fan, Minibar, Complementary safe deposit box, Hair dryer, TV cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffee maker, Working desk, Patio with hammock with view to the beautiful tropical garden.
Two Bedroom Suite
978 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size bed and one with 2 single beds, 2 Bathrooms, Living and Dining Room (sofas, coffee table and dining table with four chairs, Full equipped kitchen with refridgerator, Oven, Hood, Microwave, Toaster, Blender, Kitchen equipment, A/C, Complementary safe deposit - box, Hair dryer, TV/cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffe maker and Working desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bahia Restaurant
Specialized in sea food and international cuisine offer menus that allow you to choose and taste from the traditional Costa Rican cooking to the most sophisticated international dishes. All this combined with the finest selection of wines and liquors.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deedeemama
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Beautiful location

The facilities are lovely and the beach it's on is spectacular. We had a great time at the swim up bar and loved the chairs on the veranda with a view of the gardens outside our room. The staff was friendly and helpful. In fact, the cocktails they brought us at check in (after a harrowing drive brought to us by Google Maps) just about saved our lives. The downsides were that the food was a bit overpriced for what it was (with the exception of the free breakfast!). We ate one dinner at lively Coconuts across the street and highly recommend eating there instead of dinner at the hotel restaurant. There were iguanas living in the roof above our room and their nightly antics kept us awake. When we complained we were told that was just life in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconuts Beach Club (closed on Mondays)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Aug 1, 2011

Simply Awesome

The hotel was very quiet, beautiflly located on a quiet but yet immaculate beach. The entire staff was friendly and very accommodating. While there we tried several area restaurants and surprisingly they were all very delicious. We went to the watrefall in Tenorio and the hotel booked for us the Zipline and the snorkeling trips and all were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy Snapper in Brasilito. Marie's in Flamingo. Lola's in Tamarindo. and the In-Hotel Restaurant were all fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Going Native
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 25, 2011

Beautiful site to vacation.

Hotel setting was lovely and the monkeys came swinging through the trees. We loved the property and will go back to Costa Rica next year. Loved the Lazy Lizard boat for snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring bug spray if going in July but everything was so lush and green. Wonderful restaurant across the street, El Coconut

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
30th anniversary traveling couple
NJ
Jul 5, 2011

Quaint and private

When we arrived I was very disappointed... the drive in was full of potholes and then a gravel parking lot that lacked any appeal. The rooms were dated and a little tv. Racoons in the ceiling so sleep was not good. The beach was black sand/dirt but very private. The staff was great and helpful. Internet is a daily 10 charge and impossibly slow. Don't order the hamburger as it was uneatable yet they didn't take it off the bill. Other items on the menu were surprisingly good (pork and chicken). The surf is very small on this beach because it is protected by some islands. If you want surf you will have to travel to Flamingo beach about 3 miles away. Restaurants in the area are ok but expensive (30=40 dollars a plate). I didn't realize the cost of eating out in Costa Rica. Note that taxes and tip on everything at 23% over listed prices. The pool was adequate but very small. Never had a problem with finding a lounge chair, but the hotel was empty while we were there. If the hotel was booked, we would have been out of luck (5 on the beach and maybe 14 on the grass).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kabrams
Denver, Colorado
Jul 4, 2011

Wonderful!

We had a wonderful time at Bahia Del Sol. The room was clean, spacious and well-equipped. The staff was over the top wonderful, attentive and helpful. The facility overall was beautiful. The food in the restaurant was the best around (and we went to all the local haunts). I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Get a car if you are staying in this area. It is remote and can get really expensive to travel for day trips. A car allows you to go anywhere in good time to make the best of your trip. The hotel has tour packages to help you get around if you are not into driving; but if you like to make your own way and do what you like (as we are), get a car. We could go to other beaches, horseback riding, boating, fishing, and even laundry because we had the car available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
San Diego, CA
May 23, 2011

ELEGANT, LUSH FABULOUS property!

My husband and I prefer smaller, boutique type hotels with a casual but elegant charm. This describes Bahia del Sol perfectly! Right on the beach with open air dining, plenty of green lawn with chaises for reading and sunning. Pool with small waterfall and lush gardens surrounding everything! We had the opportunity to meet and spend a little time with 3 other couples. Though off the beaten path in general, there was a small store a block away and a local restaurant/bar on another corner. The airconditioning worked beautifully (thank god!) and the staff were extremely attentive to any requests. I would go back any time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forsyth
Winston-Salem, NC
Apr 3, 2011

Hidden Jewel

We were grateful that we found this small hidden gem. We almost stayed at a large resort with hundreds of other people. At Bahia del Sol, you often feel like you are one of just a few guests. We liked that we had free wifi and breakfast. You can eat lunch and dinner there too, but going out and eating in the local community is a great experience. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Mar 25, 2011

All the good reviews are true

This is a fantastic little hotel on the beach. All the staff is great. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Balty
Chicago, IL
Jan 30, 2011

Relaxing trip

The staff was very friendly and willing to help in anyway possible. They gave us advice on tours to see and answered any questions that we had. Food was good and so was the service! Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg y Marianna
San Diego,Ca
Jan 21, 2011

Amazing Hotel & Staff

We had a great experience at this hotel,the staff were amazing,went out of their way to make sure we were looked after.Any concerns we had were looked after at the front desk immediately.Sounds of the Ocean waves,tropical birds calling.Everyone went out of their way,great staff. Took a trip to Pala Verde and saw monkeys,crocodiles,iguanas and birds.This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local restaurant called Coconut Beach,short walk in the sand had great food,..local Bar called El Castillo had good atmosphere & very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search