$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

4 stars
Playa Potrero, Playa Potrero, Guanacaste/Liberia, 5111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Felt like visiting family :)

Everything is very laid back, warm, pleasant... No pressure, no judgement, no noise, no nonsense... See full review

  • Minea
  • Aug 13, 2014
Fantastic vacation!

The warmth, hospitality, and attentiveness of the staff of Bahia Del Sol Resort made our stay in CR... See full review

  • JenFD
  • Jul 14, 2014
Find homey comforts, like kitchen-equipped suites, on Potrero Beach

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on Potrero Beach surrounded by tropical forest, just a few minutes from Flamingo and Prieta Beaches. Guest rooms overlook the central gardens and the swimming pool, which boasts a swim-up bar and hot tub. This Costa Rican property also features a restaurant and spa services. Guests can scuba dive the Catalina Islands, visit sea turtle nesting sites and explore the Palo Verde National Park nearby. The beachfront hotel has free Wi-Fi access and can accommodate weddings and meetings.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Potrero Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast offered daily
  • Outdoor massage and spa services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • 24 hour secured parking
Rooms

Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites features standard and deluxe guest rooms and one- and two-bedroom suites. All guest rooms come with two queen beds, while one-bedroom suites have one queen. The decor ranges from room to room -- some feature vibrant turquoise, corals and lime greens while others emphasize natural earth tones and exotic prints. All rooms at the Bahia del Sol Hotel and Suites have air conditioning, cable TV and telephones with international capabilities. Suites also have full kitchens, dining areas and living rooms. Standard deluxe rooms have a Jacuzzi, 2 chairs and a mini bar with drinks and snacks, plus a patio with a hammock overlooking tropical gardens.

Features

The intimate Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites sits on lushly manicured grounds overlooking Potrero Beach and the Pacific Ocean. Guests can find a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the on-site restaurant serves local and international fare for lunch and dinner. Bahia del Sol Beachfront Hotel and Suites also has an open-air beach bar in a palapa overlooking the water, and guests can get outdoor massages and spa treatments on-site.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (22.3 mi/35.7 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Flamingo (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • Reserva Conchal Golf Course (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Africa Mia (34.9 mi/55.9 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (55 mi/88 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces available

Hotel Map

10.4475 -85.7717
Area served
Playa Potrero, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
International Airport Daniel Oduber.
Area description
Located on the north Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, in the Flamingo beach area, just 2 miles north is Potrero Bay. Bahia Potrero Beach Front Hotel & Suites is settle in this unique bay that overlooks the Catalina Islands and it has large native trees and lush colorful gardens. This exclusive 4 star boutique hotel is so conveniently situated that all of the adventure and the peacefully environment will be at hand for you to enjoy. Such as signature golf courses in Playa Conchal and in the Tamarindo area, Hacienda Pinilla.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard Room
376 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size beds, A/C & Fan, Minibar, Complementary safe deposit box, Hair dryer, TV cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffee maker, Working desk, Patio with hammock with view to the beautiful tropical garden.
Two Bedroom Suite
978 square feets
Includes:2 Queen size bed and one with 2 single beds, 2 Bathrooms, Living and Dining Room (sofas, coffee table and dining table with four chairs, Full equipped kitchen with refridgerator, Oven, Hood, Microwave, Toaster, Blender, Kitchen equipment, A/C, Complementary safe deposit - box, Hair dryer, TV/cable with 63 channels, Alarm clock, Coffe maker and Working desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bahia Restaurant
Specialized in sea food and international cuisine offer menus that allow you to choose and taste from the traditional Costa Rican cooking to the most sophisticated international dishes. All this combined with the finest selection of wines and liquors.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Square
Business
Athens Ga
Jun 21, 2012

A wonderful hotel

We were only scheduled to stay for 1 day but we stretched it out to 1 week, due to the warmth and quality of the hotel and its staff. The hotel was exceptionally nice. We had a very simple, standard room, which was wholly adequate. The next time we stay there we will get a suite though. The housecleaning staff was quite good, and the remainder of the staff were simply excellent and accommodating as well, giving warm, friendly personalized service. Maik, Leo, and Hector especially went out of their way in making our stay a delightful one. The pool area was totally lovely, as was the easily accessible beach, with the occasional dog or cow wandering by. The sunsets from the pool area were otherworldly beautiful. The food was 5 star. The drinks (try the mango and mint cocktail) were 6 star! This is a somewhat out of the way hotel, maybe a 10 minute drive or a 40 minute walk from Flamingo, but I found its relative remoteness a definite plus, affording the perfect blend of local culture and feel, with the lushness of a beautiful, tropical hotel. If you are looking for a really nice hotel, with just a touch of local funkiness, this is for sure the place. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dcmcneil
Business
Maine
Jun 11, 2012

Beautiful out of the way destination

We fell in love with this resort. Great food, reasonable prices. Staff made our stay even better if that's possible! So friendly and helpful, every one of them! Small, quiet and relaxing, just what we were looking for and right on the beach! We couldn't have dreamed of a better honeymoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevinran
Business
dallas texas
May 22, 2012

Bahia Del Sol

The staff was great and the hotel was nice although it is in a remote location that requires a 3 km drive on an unpaved road. We went at the beginning of the rainy season and the humidity was very high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We reserved a car thru Oxxxxx for $122 for the week when we arrived the people from U-Save rental car co.l were there to pick us up, took us to there lot about 5 miles from airport where we were told our charges for the car would be over $600. we declined to do business with them and found a car back at the airport for far less. not as cheap as $122 but half the $600. After talking with Ashley w/ customer service she defended the car rental co.telling me these were "incidental" charges. 5x the rental esimate????? as opposed to my feeling of being taken advantage of. She has refered this to there marketing dept. I probably should not expect a response. Don't rent your car thru Oxxxxx!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kulejohn
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
May 2, 2012

Nice place

Followed 36 reviews 4.2 and booked. Cost $80.00 and 1 hour to get there which was ok but no free shuttle. So incorporate this in your cost. 23 rooms, nicely equiped and clean but not perfect. . Air conditioning was great. Food was good but meals satisfaction varies from great to average depending on day. Sat was awesome, Sunday average. Monday Ok. Need more consistency. Staff was very good, not excellent. Emphasis was on savings, I could sense it. Cost to travel around is twice if normal travel in U.S. Food prices the same as U.S and maybe dearer. Two coffees at airport were $13..00 Be advised there is a departure tax of $28.00 per person. Airport is new but disorganized. Give this country another 5 years and it will be fantastic. Beautiful and rugged. They need some management from people who have lived abroad if they want to attract a stable tourism industry. Their tourism right now is setting records but bottom line I felt a little gouged. Held up the aircraft for 30 minutes on departure because of one person not paying their departure tax. This is Costa Rica. I will come back but felt the country is a liittle bit disorganized for this day. Caribbean still a 5 times better choice at this time in my opinion unless you are prepared for the unexpected and do not mind. I would rate this hotel 4.5 for relaxation as it is quiet and no tourist feel of the large resorts. If they can do it this could be a 5 star place if they upped the food and made the rooms a little nicer. Nice boutique type hotel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beooo
Business
San Pablo, California
Apr 27, 2012

Great Experience

I had a great time! it was calm and relaxing not to much going on like other huge resorts. very few children and the staff was abosolutely wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Brisas if you like to go out and dance

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SusanKHN
Business
Kennett Square, PA 19348, USA
Mar 19, 2012

A little gem

We loved going down to breakfast at Bahia Del Sol and sitting under the canopy to a breakfast bar that started with fresh fruit, pastries, rice and beans, platanos, and more, then ordering eggs. The beach is quiet and peaceful, unlike Tamarindo where someone's trying to sell you a necklace every 5 minutes. While the sand isn't white, it's clean. Check-in and out was very efficient. This is a small hotel with a nice mix of couples and families. More Europeans than Americans go there. The pool is on the small side but nice, with a little waterfall and walk in sloping, and there's a wet bar. We had a lovely time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I tried to use my GPS from the States without programming it and it didn't work. So we got lost all over Costa Rica! Also, if you're not adventurous, just book a tour at the hotel... The main roads are fine but getting to Rincon la Vieja or Monteverde is rough!

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aviationkiwi
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 18, 2012

Weekend Gateway

Hotel is about 1 hr west of Liberia Airport and it sits in a gravel road. Road is dusty and not well kept. Plenty of restaurants in the area. They are all expensive but tasty. I would recommend to stay elsewhere, much nice places in other parts of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Coconut Beach Club. Great for lunch and dinner.

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dallasite
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 12, 2011

Good place to call home for a week, with reservations

Overall the hotel was a great place to stay. Location was remote relatively to the nearby Playa Flamingo hotels where a lot of the action was, but if you're looking for a good place to get away from it all while still taking in what CR has to offer, then I think you'll like it. A couple of notes though: 1. We were told the beds were queen size in the standard rooms. When we got there, they turned out to be double beds. It was explained away that the queen measurements were based on local bed sizes but the only option was to make due or pay to upgrade to a suite with a king (significantly more expensive). 2. Watch the drink tab at the pool bar. Was given one price for shots and drinks one night, but the bill came with different prices. 3. Book the local excursions you do outside of the hotel concierge, it will save you between 5-20 bucks per person per excursion. 4. Were told room had iron, ironing board, but didn't. Hotel never rectified this. We were in t-shirts most of the week anyway, but never got a chance to use. 5. Hotel needs more beach/pool chairs. You need to get out there early to get one, if not you're pretty much out of luck. Not a good situation when you go do a tour in the morning. 6. Pool hot tub was never hot, was same temp as pool. Hotel said they turned heat on, but it never got any warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the dining within walking distance was good, except the Rico italian place above the Super Guido supermarket two blocks from the hotel. It was our only bad dining experience. Pepto, Tums saved the day though.

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sontay
Business
new york
Sep 23, 2011

Skip it- Go somewhere else

Room is very noisey and it was difficult to sleep. Location of hotel is very far from town. No taxi- would take 2 hours. No public transportation and no roads to walk on. Food in the hotel is extremely expensive and few selection to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MacMike
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

exceeded expectations

I can't say enough of how helpful and nice the staff was, from housekeeping to the reception to the cheff at the restaurant. Place was really well kept, no complaints whatsoever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

the little town has a bar that plays good music, the club scene is way better a couple towns down, short taxi ride away in Tamarindo

Back to menu Return to top