$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
first time

Everything was great!! The staff was friendly and courteous. The food was excellent. The price was... See full review

  • traveling von
  • Jun 13, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

10.6427 -85.6477
Area served
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport
Area description
Area activities include sightseeing tours and water sports.

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 139
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shy1982
rancho cucamonga, ca
May 30, 2014

it was nice but to far from the city

The hotel has a great view of the beach. The staff is nice. I probably wouldn't stay here again. Its to far from the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is to far away from the city. If you stay here be sure to rent a car. If not its $80 in a taxi everytime you want to go to coco beach or Liberia.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Super Chica
Redlands, CA
Mar 29, 2014

Pool Bar

Overall the staff was very friendly and I enjoyed my time in the resort. My only concern was that the pool by the bar had a bit of a urination smell, so needless to say I did not spend too much time near that pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip-lining is a must!

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BajesPI
Tampa, Florida
Aug 13, 2013

Nice Weekend Retreat

The hotel overall was not bad, pool was great, drinks were good, beach was pleasant. The hotel staff was really helpful every time I needed something they helped. The Hills traveling back and forth was a big pain. The soap and shampoo in the bathroom stunk like garbage. I had my really expensive shorts stolen from my balcony. Would I stay there again. I guess I would...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

all in one hotel

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
horsechick
Gettysburg,PA
May 12, 2012

beautiful location

They did not have my reservation when I arrived so that was a surprise, but after I showed them my paid receipt I was given a room with a beautiful view relatively quickly. The food leaves alot to be desired, although you will not go hungry. The breakfasts were really quite good but the variety at other meals was sorely lacking. The drinks for the most part were watered down and lost taste in a short time. The hotel is showing its age but they do try to keeps things fresh and maintain the grounds well. The hill on which the hotel is located becomes a real pain after awhile. There is a shuttle than runs every 10 minutes or so and they will come when you call them - still the hill is a pain. The black sand beach was really quite unusual and there is a white sand beach that they will take you to by boat for free. Quite lovely and very quiet.As far as a rating goes 3.5 stars is really as high as I can go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cwilliegotyou
milwaukee, wi
Nov 8, 2011

Single getaway

The room was molded and mildewed; the food was average and the location was 40 minutes ($70) from any place to purchase anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin" Fool
Indianapolis
Jul 19, 2010

Fine for Families .... But Not Me

Fine mid-priced all-inclusive resort for a family looking for a somewhat exotic locale. But it is too isolated for my taste. Rooms were fine and staff -- with exception of front desk staff who were indifferent -- were welcoming. Most other guests were Spanish speaking. The Costa Ricans were lovely. Be aware that there is no food service between 10 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. (But the bar is open and I decided pina coladas would count as a food group.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't expect to shop here. The gift shops have little of interest and the resort is very far (45 minutes or more) from nearby towns.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin" Fool
Indianapolis
Jul 19, 2010

Fine for Families .... But Not Me

Fine mid-priced all-inclusive resort for a family looking for a somewhat exotic locale. But it is too isolated for my taste. Rooms were fine and staff -- with exception of front desk staff who were indifferent -- were welcoming. Most other guests were Spanish speaking. The Costa Ricans were lovely. Be aware that there is no food service between 10 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. (But the bar is open and I decided pina coladas would count as a food group.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't expect to shop here. The gift shops have little of interest and the resort is very far (45 minutes or more) from nearby towns.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bearfoot
Georgia
Jun 9, 2010

Great place! nice people!

nice staff, and every day and night always have activities your can enjoy. It didn't mention on the hotel website, but you can really enjoy all the entertainment. If you are tired of staying in the hotel, you can pay for other day trips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a rental car[...]! Easy to drive from Liberia Airport.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bearfoot
Georgia
Jun 9, 2010

Great place! nice people!

nice staff, and every day and night always have activities your can enjoy. It didn't mention on the hotel website, but you can really enjoy all the entertainment. If you are tired of staying in the hotel, you can pay for other day trips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a rental car[...]! Easy to drive from Liberia Airport.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wood Ridge
Dec 18, 2008

Nice escape

Its a great place to get away but remember you get what you paid for. the rooms are clean but nothing special. my bathroom did smell humid but i just closed the door and the smell didnt travel to the rest of the room. my true complaint would be front desk. some of the staff is clueless and unprofessional. They might benefit from more days of training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top