$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 20, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
93 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
good for the price !

the price was soo low , it was better then i expect. the beach is not nice but it is not the hotel... See full review

  • Samijosy
  • Sep 25, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 93
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
2.8
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sunshiine799
Business
Vancouver, BC
Apr 16, 2014

needs improvement

Overall I had expected it to be a value hotel. It is in need updating. I would give it 2 stars not 3 The room- Was very outdated and the beds were old and had a musky smell. Dresser was falling apart. Fridge was hot inside. NO mini bar. Cost 15 a day for 2 beer. 2 water, 2 soda. Not worth it for ocean view. We had a view of the pool. Not what we paid for and they didn't care. The 2nd and 3rd floor are considered ocean view. Recommend building 10 and 11 closer to everything. Building 15 is on pool level. Food- be selective what you eat. Many friends we made had food poisoning not to mention my friend who I traveled with. The food is recycled from lunch to dinner. Bring immodium just in case and gastrolyt. The Bathroom- No hot water and a moldy shower curtain w water stains on the floor. Bathroom door wouldnt close at all. Pool- Great pool Staff- All staff were great and treated everyone great. Not like mexico where they expect a tip for every little thing they do. The nightly shows were....very very sad. The staff tries really hard to make it a great show. It really wasn't. Location- water taxi on the beach if you have 4 or more ppl going you can barter and say 20 each or you can also cab it into town for 20 each. The driver will wait for about 4 hours for 80. For 25 each you can have a night out dt coco beach and return to the hotel at about 4am. We rented a car for 84 a day with gps and premium coverage. Make sure you agree on a price in writing before you take the car or he may add more when you return. Money- recommend you convert your money to the colonial currency. The correct conversion is 540 colonials to 1 american dollar. Convert before you head out to shop or you will be ripped off plenty. Shopping- prices are very high for everything. they do not barter and don't seem to care if you buy or not. Overall I did like the hotel but it is need of repairs and updating. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Spend the extra money and go to the Rui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alex ct
Business
california
Nov 13, 2012

Good Stuff

place was awesome... the staff was super friendly, and also the rooms were kept clean all the time and had a great working AC.... It is a bit tiering to keep climbing up the hill to get to the rooms since they are up hill but for the most part you get used to it and there is a shuttle there to pick you up every 10 min at a location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G Man5431
Business
Cincy, OH
May 14, 2012

Paradise !!!

Great location. Beautiful natural beach. Decent food options. Definately make reservations at the sit down restaurant. Great bartenders and fun staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tottie the Teaveler
Business
Queens, New York
May 13, 2012

Worst vacation ever

My experience was really like no other we got a key to a room that was occupied. We did not get our complimentary drink as stated we had to pay for everything. The food was sometimes cold and not so edible. I spent most of my time eating fruits the snack bar was never open except for the day some of the owners appeared to be doing a walk through. I was actually very disappointed and sad and so were mg girlfriends traveling with me. This is the first time I ever went on vacation and couldn't wait to get home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blacksand
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Bachelorette Party

The overall experience was good but they can surely improved. When they said the total price was all inclusive I was expecting everything in general including the exit tax $30 that I was not aware off @ the airports; the fact that there is no toothpaste in the rooms, a shower cap for the duration of the trip, no iron in the rooms, just little things like that they forget to mention and a taxi ride to town is $30 US out of pocket, the spas & sightseeing are all expensive out of pocket cost still and all; the staff was wonderful especially in the dining room and at the bar the food was good, especially the many diverse fruits they offer with meals, they were succulent and I very much enjoyed the entertainers, the dancers and the different shows they put on every night, it was fun, friendly, & lively. If ever they act on my suggestions; I shall happily go back within 2 years or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Prepare to spend an extra $200 on top off whatever the all inclusive price the resort tell you it will be!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gwfabulous
Business
Bronx. NY
May 1, 2011

Need to be updated

The landscape was beautiful, and so was the staff, But the food was not delicious, the pool needed to be cleaned often, the beach is'nt maintained, and its alot of walking to get to buffet and pool,and beach areas, If u don't like stairs this hotel is Not for u , I repeat is Not for u !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Frick
Business
NYC
Sep 15, 2010

Fair

Overall fair! They have the ability to make it better in terms of food selection and updated rooms to include basic stuff up to the standar of the hotel (ex. an alarming clock, coffee power). The entertaiment staff was also weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CRB
Business
chicago, il
Feb 24, 2010

Costa Rica

We were never sure if we ever checked in. Power went out for 36 hours although we still had running water and restaurant was run on a generator. Requested additional towels and wake up call but never received them. Great pool and swim up bar. Friendly staff. Good selection of food choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 30, 2009

Pura Vida

Furniture looked cheap and bathrooms could have been cleaner, as far as the shower. Otherwise I had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 17, 2009

Allegro Papagayo

I thought the hotel did not care about its guests. While it advertises a black sand beach and a white sand beach, both were awful. The Italian restaurant was terrible. The buffet passable at best, other than breakfeast which was fine. The drinks seemed terribly watered down. The entertainment very poor. Little in the way of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The outside Palo Verde nature boat tour was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top