$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
92 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
first time

Everything was great!! The staff was friendly and courteous. The food was excellent. The price was... See full review

  • traveling von
  • Jun 13, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 92
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deb Suebear
Business
Long Island, New York
Jul 5, 2014

Disappointed family getaway

When we booked this vacation we were supposed to get a Honeymoon package which is free room upgrade, fresh flowers, stocked frig. i told them this at check-in and they said they had no other rooms to move us to check back tomorrow. Meanwhile, the resort was empty. The next day we had rotten fruit and they did put water bottles and juice in the frig. The food was just awful. We are glad we rented a car and ate out a couple meals. The drinks were a joke, watered down with cheap alcohol. The pool was nice. Very spacious and clean. The views were breathtaking. The resort is very pretty on the outside. Our room was so run down. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting and dirty. This was our first time to Costa Rica with our boys. We had an amazing time outside the resort. We learned our lesson not to book below a 3 star but I think this resort is a 2 star and they should be ashamed of themselves for not putting any effort into making it a nicer place. I would never recommend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
An Ohio Family
Business
Ohio
Jun 12, 2014

Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety of choices so that even my 3 picky children (ages 9, 17, and 19) had a lot they loved to eat. We were amazed to see many monkeys in the trees by the beach one morning and on the private island their boat takes you to (we took the boat twice - the first day the monkeys were there the whole time - the second day the monkeys didn't come out until we were just about to leave). It was like being in their playground - mothers with baby monkeys on their backs, etc. Take some bananas from the buffet and they will come right up to you! The air conditioning stopped working once, but it was only a fuse. Same thing happened to our kids' room, so it must be a common problem. They promptly fixed it. We had a great view of the ocean/gulf. Local raccoon-like creatures come up close since they're used to being fed also. They also had good shows and entertainment. All in all, you can't beat the price - it's only a like more money than a hotel. I'd heard the food was bland, so I brought hot sauces and spicy condiments from home. I didn't need them. They have a local tasty sauce called "Salsa" in stores and they also have Tabasco. Everything was really great. Wish we'd had more time there, but we stayed at a boring timeshare our first 7 nights and only had 3 nights here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shift
Business
CR
May 4, 2014

Stay away

It is an old hotel without maintenance, the a/c doesn't work, the shower doesn't work, the shoutle bus doesn't work, there are a lot of rays near to the beach, so it's dangerous to get in the sea. Won't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BLUV1805
Business
LAKE FOREST, ca
Apr 21, 2014

Terrible investment

Clean on day one but disappointed with room amenities. Although this was an all inclusive reservation, there was no stocked mini bar, no room service and no coffee available in our room. The bathroom was old and towels were not always provided or changed. The room was never swept and there was a consistent trail of ants everyday. We could hear the next door neighbors yelling, arguing, regurgitating, etc. Walls are paper thin. The accommodations were substandard compared to the accommodations we have had in Mexico. Had the rooms been cleaned and towels provided it would have made a difference. The staff work their butts off to entertain and converse with all the tourists. The stars of the week were Mainor, Madelyn and Cristian. The music was a little loud but they constantly keep the children entertained. I feel like I should receive a refund :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

IF YOU READ NOTHING ELSE - GET A RENTAL!!! ITS SOO EASY TO GET AROUND AND YOU WILL SAVE MAJORLY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jvhfl
Business
Orlando
Aug 5, 2013

Some good ... Mainly BAD!!!

First the good things ... the pool area is excellent for kids and the swim to bar adds a nice touch. The black sand beach is nice because it's from the volcanic activity that happens around the area. The beach across the bay isn't black. It's not mud as some have described, it's definitely different from any other beach you have been to because the black sand appears to have glitter as it reflects off the sunlight. The wild life is cool too. Plenty of iguanas, parrots, and occasional spider monkeys on the beach. Now the bad … if you have back problems the beds suck and woke up with back problems everyday. The TV is tiny. The workmanship inside is 2 star at best. They have Italian and Mexican resturaunts that you have to make reservations for so you don’t have to eat at the buffet, but the only way to get a reservation is to be there very early in the morning to make a reservation because only one resturaunt is open a night and book fast. Hanging out in the lobby, I noticed I wasn’t the only customer having problems. One person was having issues getting a room and another was robbed. After listening to all the complaints, we tried to transfer remaining funds to the Occidental Grand sister property across the bay however they wouldn’t accommodate us because they claim that it was completely sold out. However, they miraculously had cancelations after they were scubbed $100 (that’s how desperate we were to get out#. They wanted us to get 2 rooms and pay difference because we had kids however we only had 1 room at Allegro. The rate was over double than what we found on the internet #can you say price gouging). We then asked for a Jr Suite at the Grand for the same price of the 2 rooms which was granted but it was ok that we had the kids in the Jr Suite and didn’t have to get 2 rooms. They aren’t willing to work with you unless they get something in return. I would recommend you book elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy snorkeling package tour if you have a car. Just drive to Playa Panama which is across the bay. We paid $35/person in a family of 5 when we could have just driven to the location and saved all that money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gringoexpat
Business
San Jose
Jul 12, 2013

Don't waste your money

1) Food sucks 2) Long lines to eat and get drinks 3) Under age drinking allowed. The pool area smells foul - Vomit from night partying. Mass tourism for high school seniors that want to get loaded. 4) Beach is black sand mud. Don't waste your money....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling von
Business
liberia, costa rica
Jun 13, 2013

first time

Everything was great!! The staff was friendly and courteous. The food was excellent. The price was awesome for all inclusive. The black beach and the views were breathtaking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SuperGranDad
Business
NYC, NY
Jul 10, 2012

Family Outing

The location is great, the food is average, the staff is very helpful, but the room attendant is hard to find (the room was rarely cleaned properly). Make sure you have a working AC because it's very hot. I was charged $2 per day for the safe, but it is a must. The tours are very expensive, yet the hotel staff aggressively sells them (shop elsewhere for the tours). I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but with some caveats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the tours outside of the hotel to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane34
Business
NY, NY
Mar 12, 2012

Family Trip

This hotel was a good pick for the family. The hotel was staff was very friendly. It was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reversations right away otherwise it books up quickly and you won't be able to get a chance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randell
Business
Texas, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Get room 1023 if you can

I gave everything 4 stars. Our room was overlooking the big pool and the beach and ocean. Most of the rooms you get one or the other or neither. The air condition will freeze you out but the beds are way too hard. The food is nothing to brag about but there is usually something decent enough to fill up on. The only beer they serve is a local beer called Imperial and its good. Some of the mixed drinks are good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian food is the best place to eat at the hotel. You have to make reservations at the front desk in person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top