$266 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
92 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
good for the price !

the price was soo low , it was better then i expect. the beach is not nice but it is not the hotel... See full review

  • Samijosy
  • Sep 25, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 92
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alana1
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 19, 2014

Great vacation

The hotel was good for the price, food was actually excellent and people very nice. The resort is big and on the hill, but great view. Ocean was not so clean but that might be the time (July).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nick Coming Correct
Business
New York
Mar 13, 2014

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive - The Truth about my 8 day stay

Me and my fiancée purchased a premium package with the resort. . I checked in and they gave me a room with double beds that was the first problem. The air conditioner didn't work at all. I called them and the next day they moved us to another part of property, which was the king size bed. The air conditioner was leaking all over the place and had to have them fix that. All they have to eat is buffet style food. The food is good thought. No pool side drink service which was awful. No gym!!! They only have one bar with one bartender, so get ready to wait in line for every drink with the cheapest liquor possible. Property is a little old and out of date. Bring your walking shoes because the property is like a campus style setting. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Looks like a haven for every Canadian!! They had a large group of Canadian kids there with a company called Vtrip so expect a lot of noise every day you are there. The beach was nice and quiet. I would seek other options for the price. definitely not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't bother. go somewhere else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual vacationer
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 20, 2014

Average all inclusive getaway

The beach is black sand so the water can get very mucky, not very ideal to wade around in. The pool area however is very large and beautiful so it makes up for the lack of swimable beach area. They do offer a free boat service to a "white sand" beach which definitely is a better beach than the one at the resort. It's made of little rocks and shells though, and not sand. We went around 9:30am and were brought back at around 3:00pm despite being told we would be brought back at 1:30pm. Drinks are provided while there, and they have these horrible looking ham and cheese sandwiches they offer for lunch. So my advice to you would be to eat a big breakfast or to bring your own snack with you. Our room was great. I was worried after reading some negative reviews but we had a positive experience in building 5. Our towels were replaced daily and the air conditioning worked perfectly (I read reviews where this was not the case).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservations for the 2 restaurants on premise can only be made the same day and they book up fast. I would suggest making them at 8am right when guest services open.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samijosy
Business
Guanacaste, costa Rica
Sep 25, 2013

good for the price !

the price was soo low , it was better then i expect. the beach is not nice but it is not the hotel fault. the staff was efficient and very nice. food was simple but we like it. we had a reservation at the italian restaurant and that was a great choice. the hotel room need an updathing but for the price we paid it was expecting. if you are looking for a nice beach you are at the wrong place but if you are on a budget. you will be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Retirers
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 25, 2013

Get what you pay for, perhap a tad less.

1. Place is old, definitely needs renovation. 2. STEEP walk to pool, eating, beach though provide 10 minute interval vans. 3. Long drive to tours, expensive! Prices change daily! 4. Shower nothing but a dribble of water. 5. They shut your AC off daily when they clean the rooms. The last day they even shut the breakers down for the entire building! Luckily my husband was experienced enough to discover the problem & knew how to turn the one four our building back on. 6. While we were 2 people they left only 1 coffee cup & enough coffee for 2. 7. We were "nabbed" by a man claiming to be our concessionaire (sp?) but after 15 minutes we discovered was nothing but someone who wanted to put us on a tour the next day to sell units in one of their sister properties - not the best greeting after a long trip and just arriving. 8. 99% of the employees were very friendly and accommodating, great people! However as it was a all inclusive trip, including gratuities, we discovered tipping a few dollars brought us even more attention. 9. Jacuzzi never did work during a week long stay. 10. Beach was small, black sand where some was sandy and 1/2 black mud, maybe good for a mud spa? 11. Food good but not all 3 options (2 restaurants and buffet) open everyday, usually only 1 option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you're looking for a one stop place with everything included at a low price and don't mind a bit old and are in shape for steep walks you won't mind this place at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
okie35
Business
charlotte nc
Oct 28, 2012

Average

Potential to be very good. Just lacked the little touches that make a great stay. Nothing seriously wrong but lacked the polish and finish that most of the Costa Rica hotels-resorts have. Food was the same everyday, no real changes . Pool ok not great, drinks in serious need of knowing the proper way to make some of them and everything was el cheapo on the liquor. Staff friendly but lacking in English. Beach was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GISELLE77
Business
LAS VEGAS
Aug 20, 2012

BEAUTIFUL COSTA RICA!!!

THE FOOD WAS FANTASTIC! DRINKS REALLY GOOD. THE ONLY BAD THNG THAT HAPPEND...MY HUSBAND RING GOT STOLEN FROM THE ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnnys
Business
New York,
Jul 27, 2012

Getaway

There is nothing spectacular about this hotel. The first room that they placed us in was dirty and they originally wanted us to wait an hour for the maid to come and clean it which was unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnnys
Business
New York,
Jul 21, 2012

Couple Getaway

you get what you pay for, this resort was ok nothing spectactular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
russells
Business
florida
Jun 25, 2012

nice 4 day getaway

i had no complaints however i can see where the 3.5 is over rated. service is nothing special. the bartenders are the waiters are the host, are the greaters, are the drivers... over worked but freindly. if you want to be pampered and waited on i suggest the other property they have. rooms are ordinary- dated but ours was clean! food is average, wish it would have been more native to the area, no complaints with it thou. premium liquior and internet are extra! we did not have that big of a walk to pool area, but the rooms behind us had to take the bus. entertainment is not up to par. overall it is about a 2 star but i did have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car!!! it is cheap and convenent! staff will help direct you to local attractions.. most are only few hours away! freinds rented car and we saw volcanos, waterfalls for fraction of cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top