$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
92 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
first time

Everything was great!! The staff was friendly and courteous. The food was excellent. The price was... See full review

  • traveling von
  • Jun 13, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

10.6427 -85.6477
Area served
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport
Area description
Area activities include sightseeing tours and water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shift
Business
CR
May 4, 2014

Stay away

It is an old hotel without maintenance, the a/c doesn't work, the shower doesn't work, the shoutle bus doesn't work, there are a lot of rays near to the beach, so it's dangerous to get in the sea. Won't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nena
Business
lyndhurs,nj
Apr 5, 2010

the good ,the bad and the really ugly

the worst hotel we spend for our vacation,just to give an example:we have to beg for towells,it was a nightmare

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
charlottenc1
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 1, 2012

WORST EXPERIENCE

This was by far the worst experience I have ever had. We made a reservation at the Occidental Grand Papagayo and somehow were shifted and moved to the Allegro Papagayo. When we checked in the room was DISGUSTING - absolutely unacceptable for guests. There was mold and mildew throughout the bathroom, the air conditioner was falling out of the ceiling, the towels were filthy and had stains on them, ants were crawling all around the bathroom, you could not use the fan because if you turned it out, it would have come out of the ceiling. We paid for internet tha never worked and they tried to charge us to make a local call. The staff was not helpful or willing to work with us. We quickly checked out and went to the Hilton Papagayo which went above and beyond all of our expectations. I would not recommend this place to anyone. We have had the worst experience with the Occidental before, during and after our stay and will never consider staying at one again. Do not stay here unless you want your Costa Rican vacation ruined.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tottie the Teaveler
Business
Queens, New York
May 13, 2012

Worst vacation ever

My experience was really like no other we got a key to a room that was occupied. We did not get our complimentary drink as stated we had to pay for everything. The food was sometimes cold and not so edible. I spent most of my time eating fruits the snack bar was never open except for the day some of the owners appeared to be doing a walk through. I was actually very disappointed and sad and so were mg girlfriends traveling with me. This is the first time I ever went on vacation and couldn't wait to get home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gringoexpat
Business
San Jose
Jul 12, 2013

Don't waste your money

1) Food sucks 2) Long lines to eat and get drinks 3) Under age drinking allowed. The pool area smells foul - Vomit from night partying. Mass tourism for high school seniors that want to get loaded. 4) Beach is black sand mud. Don't waste your money....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jvhfl
Business
Orlando
Aug 5, 2013

Some good ... Mainly BAD!!!

First the good things ... the pool area is excellent for kids and the swim to bar adds a nice touch. The black sand beach is nice because it's from the volcanic activity that happens around the area. The beach across the bay isn't black. It's not mud as some have described, it's definitely different from any other beach you have been to because the black sand appears to have glitter as it reflects off the sunlight. The wild life is cool too. Plenty of iguanas, parrots, and occasional spider monkeys on the beach. Now the bad … if you have back problems the beds suck and woke up with back problems everyday. The TV is tiny. The workmanship inside is 2 star at best. They have Italian and Mexican resturaunts that you have to make reservations for so you don’t have to eat at the buffet, but the only way to get a reservation is to be there very early in the morning to make a reservation because only one resturaunt is open a night and book fast. Hanging out in the lobby, I noticed I wasn’t the only customer having problems. One person was having issues getting a room and another was robbed. After listening to all the complaints, we tried to transfer remaining funds to the Occidental Grand sister property across the bay however they wouldn’t accommodate us because they claim that it was completely sold out. However, they miraculously had cancelations after they were scubbed $100 (that’s how desperate we were to get out#. They wanted us to get 2 rooms and pay difference because we had kids however we only had 1 room at Allegro. The rate was over double than what we found on the internet #can you say price gouging). We then asked for a Jr Suite at the Grand for the same price of the 2 rooms which was granted but it was ok that we had the kids in the Jr Suite and didn’t have to get 2 rooms. They aren’t willing to work with you unless they get something in return. I would recommend you book elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy snorkeling package tour if you have a car. Just drive to Playa Panama which is across the bay. We paid $35/person in a family of 5 when we could have just driven to the location and saved all that money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KIRKLAND, WA
May 23, 2008

My review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

This hotel was in the middle of nowhere! You had to take a shuttle to get around the property. The food choices were next to nothing...very bad a for an all inclusive! No room service. No toiletries in the rooms. A/C did not work at night. We only stayed 2 of our 7 night booking and left and paid the extra money for a different hotel!! That should tell you how dissatisfied we were...I would not recommend it to any of my friends or family!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 17, 2009

Allegro Papagayo

I thought the hotel did not care about its guests. While it advertises a black sand beach and a white sand beach, both were awful. The Italian restaurant was terrible. The buffet passable at best, other than breakfeast which was fine. The drinks seemed terribly watered down. The entertainment very poor. Little in the way of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The outside Palo Verde nature boat tour was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mendota Heights, MN
Mar 21, 2011

the bad and the really ugly

Extremely dissappointing: there is NO OCEANVIEW as advertised. The hotel is located on a bay and the beach is black muddy sand. It offered the cheapest liquor we have ever tasted and the variety was limited, plus they kept on running out of dark rum. There was NO SEAFOOD BUFFET (shrimp and lobster) as advertised. There is absolutely NO Comparison to the trips and all-inclusive hotels we have stayed at in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 13, 2010

Thumbs DOWN!

The location and views are breathtaking. Monkeys on the beach everyday. Weather was perfect. Transport from the airport was simple. Tours are available at the resort. We did the Quad/Canopy half-day tour and it was well worth the money. Private beach is very relaxing. However, I would never recommend this resort to anyone. We were disappointed from the beginning. We weren't given wristbands at check-in and had to go get them the next day after seeing everyone else wearing them. We had requested 1 king bed and ended up with 2 doubles. There were ants crawling all over everything inside the room. I expected some insects due to the location, but you couldn't even set a glass down inside without ants congregating all over it. The bathroom was dirty. The shower drenched the entire bathroom every time it was used. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up. They took our dirty towels the second day and didn't replace them with clean towels for 2 days (despite many calls to the desk). There are no clocks in the rooms or around the resort. We requested a wake-up call for our last morning and they never called (luckily we expected that so we basically stayed up all night). The power was out one night so we were without air conditioning or fans. There was shattered glass on the balcony outside our door for 5 days before it was finally cleaned up. For a resort with 300 rooms, I expected better bar and food service. The food was okay, but not much selection. On a positive note, the food at the 2 restaurants was good and getting reservations was simple. Overall, we had a good vacation, but it was due to the weather and relaxation, NOT the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring an alarm clock because there are no clocks and the resort doesn't follow through with wake up calls. Cell phone alarms won't work because there is no signal to pick up the current time. I realize that vacation is a time to sleep-in, but you'll change your mind if you miss a tour or your flight home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top