$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 20, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
93 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
good for the price !

the price was soo low , it was better then i expect. the beach is not nice but it is not the hotel... See full review

  • Samijosy
  • Sep 25, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee WI
May 10, 2009

Great Vacation

We were there April 30 - May 8, 2009. It was in the 90's with at least 90% humidity. Way too hot for me! Very difficult to get around the hotel property, steep steep hills but they did run shuttles to help you move about. The staff was outstanding, everyone was exceptional. Great language skills, very helpful, and friendly. The food was varied and well presented. We had a rental car which helped, as there is nothing in the area, at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You really should have a rental car or sign up for tours. There is little to do in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rowlett texas
Apr 28, 2009

had a really good time

hotel was ok for the value. really didnt have any problems. trip was as good as can be. food included lots of fish, rice, beans, and fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wood Ridge
Dec 18, 2008

Nice escape

Its a great place to get away but remember you get what you paid for. the rooms are clean but nothing special. my bathroom did smell humid but i just closed the door and the smell didnt travel to the rest of the room. my true complaint would be front desk. some of the staff is clueless and unprofessional. They might benefit from more days of training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus
Oct 10, 2008

Allegro Papagayo

The staff wasn't very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would suggest you take a day or two and stay at a resort that has natural hot spring pools. for example - Baldi. This hotel was about 3 hour drive from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 4, 2008

Great Fun, but not a luxury resort

Do not expect any luxuries at Allegro Papagayo. It is a beautiful place and we enjoyed ourselves very much, but it is not what many people would call a great hotel. No room service. Food was ok. Shuttle bus was very convienent and very necessary to get up the hills. Wildlife was FANTASTIC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stuart
Jun 21, 2008

Not for surfers

I was dissaponted by the hotel location. Costa Rica is famous place for surfers, but this hotel is on the bay, so there are no waves, no way to surf. Also hotel staff was not very friendly and food was not the best. Practically no activities, my teenage daughters were very bored. We got a good time only on the tours, which are very expensive. Costa Rica is not cheap anymore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KIRKLAND, WA
May 23, 2008

My review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

This hotel was in the middle of nowhere! You had to take a shuttle to get around the property. The food choices were next to nothing...very bad a for an all inclusive! No room service. No toiletries in the rooms. A/C did not work at night. We only stayed 2 of our 7 night booking and left and paid the extra money for a different hotel!! That should tell you how dissatisfied we were...I would not recommend it to any of my friends or family!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 6, 2008

peacefull place

The Allegro papagayo is a quiet place. If you need to relax I will recomend this all inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1-The buffet offers a large variety of food. 2-You must take the tour to volcan Arenal & Tabacon, its great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2007

Great place

Costa Rica in genral is a wonderful country to visit and staying at this hotel made even better. The rooms were a good size. The staff we all pretty much friendly. The pool was a huge hit as well as the swim up bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you take one of the ATV tours... I promise you wont regret it! I went 2 times during my stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 13, 2007

If you get bored, it's your own fault

My husband and I visited Costa Rica for the first time. We really enjoyed our stay at Allegro Papagayo. They had plenty of activities for everyone. If you get bored, it's your own fault. Everything from kids crafts to dance lessons. You won't be disappointed. My only suggestion is to learn spanish. The front desk attendants did not understand english well and made it hard to check in and out. Otherwise a great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top