$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
140 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
first time

Everything was great!! The staff was friendly and courteous. The food was excellent. The price was... See full review

  • traveling von
  • Jun 13, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

10.6427 -85.6477
Area served
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport
Area description
Area activities include sightseeing tours and water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FatherMike
Farmington, ME
Apr 3, 2010

Nice, isolated and VERY laid back

Pura Vida is the Costa Rican motto meaning 'this is life' but be aware that life has many sides to it. Prepare to wait, and wait, and wait...but to be treated well by some of the friendliest people you can ever hope to meet. When I go back to CR, I will stay on the ocean, not in a bay...but I like to surf. If you want to be away from it all, then Allegro Papagayo Resort might be the perfect place for you. There is nothing else within 10 miles except one other resort. The internet is not included and when you do pay for it, it only works at the lobby or the pool and then so slow it isn't worth it. The food was good. The drinks flowed freely, but didn't have much effect, and I don't drink often. Maybe it's an effect of the heat. There is a group of a dozen white-faced monkeys (capuchin) that visits regularly (for food) and "resident" iguanas, coatimundi (raccoon family), howler monkeys, etc also liven up the experience. Take a tour. We did one combo adventure that included lunch, horses, zip-lines, a water fall, rock climbing, mud bath, and hot springs. It was great. another trip was a surfing day in Tamarindo, an hour south. It was the only surfing excursion from this resort and was too short for my taste. Only 2 hrs on the board, and the rental/instructors kept calling me James and trying to talk while I was trying to surf. I wanted to just go to another shop and rent a board outright and abandon the excursion. Even still, a bad day surfing in Costa Rica beats a good day doing almost anything in Farmington, Maine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst vacation ever
Springfield, VA
Mar 15, 2010

Only go here if you are in good shape

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Don't go here unless you enjoy lots of stairs and walking up steep hills or waiting around for buses. The front desk staff was not helpful at all. The hotel is located on a very steep hill so you take a shuttle bus everywhere, but the bus let you off at the top of the stairs that lead down to the pool, beach and dining areas, so if you had any difficulty with stairs you were in trouble. If you were not right on time for your excursions they left without you, so if you do go here make sure to bring a watch, because there is only 1 clock on the premises, and no clock in your room. The weather is HOT and HUMID! The second you leave your room you are drenched in sweat, so if you're not into sweating CR is not for you. On the nice side, the bar staff were great, the food was good, 3 of our 5 nights had great entertainment and the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother changing any of your US $ over to CR $ because EVERYONE there will take US $.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst vacation ever
Springfield, VA
Mar 15, 2010

Only go here if you are in good shape

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Don't go here unless you enjoy lots of stairs and walking up steep hills or waiting around for buses. The front desk staff was not helpful at all. The hotel is located on a very steep hill so you take a shuttle bus everywhere, but the bus let you off at the top of the stairs that lead down to the pool, beach and dining areas, so if you had any difficulty with stairs you were in trouble. If you were not right on time for your excursions they left without you, so if you do go here make sure to bring a watch, because there is only 1 clock on the premises, and no clock in your room. The weather is HOT and HUMID! The second you leave your room you are drenched in sweat, so if you're not into sweating CR is not for you. On the nice side, the bar staff were great, the food was good, 3 of our 5 nights had great entertainment and the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother changing any of your US $ over to CR $ because EVERYONE there will take US $.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CRB
chicago, il
Feb 24, 2010

Costa Rica

We were never sure if we ever checked in. Power went out for 36 hours although we still had running water and restaurant was run on a generator. Requested additional towels and wake up call but never received them. Great pool and swim up bar. Friendly staff. Good selection of food choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CRB
chicago, il
Feb 24, 2010

Costa Rica

We were never sure if we ever checked in. Power went out for 36 hours although we still had running water and restaurant was run on a generator. Requested additional towels and wake up call but never received them. Great pool and swim up bar. Friendly staff. Good selection of food choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jan 13, 2010

Thumbs DOWN!

The location and views are breathtaking. Monkeys on the beach everyday. Weather was perfect. Transport from the airport was simple. Tours are available at the resort. We did the Quad/Canopy half-day tour and it was well worth the money. Private beach is very relaxing. However, I would never recommend this resort to anyone. We were disappointed from the beginning. We weren't given wristbands at check-in and had to go get them the next day after seeing everyone else wearing them. We had requested 1 king bed and ended up with 2 doubles. There were ants crawling all over everything inside the room. I expected some insects due to the location, but you couldn't even set a glass down inside without ants congregating all over it. The bathroom was dirty. The shower drenched the entire bathroom every time it was used. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up. They took our dirty towels the second day and didn't replace them with clean towels for 2 days (despite many calls to the desk). There are no clocks in the rooms or around the resort. We requested a wake-up call for our last morning and they never called (luckily we expected that so we basically stayed up all night). The power was out one night so we were without air conditioning or fans. There was shattered glass on the balcony outside our door for 5 days before it was finally cleaned up. For a resort with 300 rooms, I expected better bar and food service. The food was okay, but not much selection. On a positive note, the food at the 2 restaurants was good and getting reservations was simple. Overall, we had a good vacation, but it was due to the weather and relaxation, NOT the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring an alarm clock because there are no clocks and the resort doesn't follow through with wake up calls. Cell phone alarms won't work because there is no signal to pick up the current time. I realize that vacation is a time to sleep-in, but you'll change your mind if you miss a tour or your flight home.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jan 13, 2010

Thumbs DOWN!

The location and views are breathtaking. Monkeys on the beach everyday. Weather was perfect. Transport from the airport was simple. Tours are available at the resort. We did the Quad/Canopy half-day tour and it was well worth the money. Private beach is very relaxing. However, I would never recommend this resort to anyone. We were disappointed from the beginning. We weren't given wristbands at check-in and had to go get them the next day after seeing everyone else wearing them. We had requested 1 king bed and ended up with 2 doubles. There were ants crawling all over everything inside the room. I expected some insects due to the location, but you couldn't even set a glass down inside without ants congregating all over it. The bathroom was dirty. The shower drenched the entire bathroom every time it was used. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up. They took our dirty towels the second day and didn't replace them with clean towels for 2 days (despite many calls to the desk). There are no clocks in the rooms or around the resort. We requested a wake-up call for our last morning and they never called (luckily we expected that so we basically stayed up all night). The power was out one night so we were without air conditioning or fans. There was shattered glass on the balcony outside our door for 5 days before it was finally cleaned up. For a resort with 300 rooms, I expected better bar and food service. The food was okay, but not much selection. On a positive note, the food at the 2 restaurants was good and getting reservations was simple. Overall, we had a good vacation, but it was due to the weather and relaxation, NOT the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring an alarm clock because there are no clocks and the resort doesn't follow through with wake up calls. Cell phone alarms won't work because there is no signal to pick up the current time. I realize that vacation is a time to sleep-in, but you'll change your mind if you miss a tour or your flight home.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2010

Good but not great

A good vacation at an all inclusive resort right on the pacific coast, but was hoping for more. Should have realized that price was too good to be true and regret not spending a bit more to have a place with more amenities and better food. Would recommend this place for someone looking for an affordable resort on the ocean and looking for lots of sun and a young adult scene (more couples than singles). But would caution that this is not the place if you are looking for luxury. Hotel is right on the beach with great sunset views. Rooms are a good size and all have balconies. Rooms closer to the pool are much better located, but can be noisy at night due to proximity to bars. Service is outstanding - the staff works very hard and will help with everything. They are eager to please and very attentive. Food was average. Most meals were limited to one buffet and breakfast was best meal, lunches were mediocre and dinners were very good on special occasion nights (new year's was excellent). There are also 2 specialty restaurants (which were very good), but guests can only go for one dinner for every 3 nights they stay there. Pool was great (and better than beach), but there are not enough chairs for all guests and people go out at 7am to leave towels/clothes to reserve chairs and then don't return until 9 or 10am (sometimes later). The hotel provides free canoe rental (which was great fun) and you can also pay for wave runners. Native to Costa Rica, you can also see a large and friendly family of spider monkeys on the beach along with iguanas and birds. The crowd is on the younger side - lots of young couples, families with small kids and some singles. There is no fitness center, but the hike up the hill to reception is very steep and can provide good exercise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you want to get a seat at the pool, wake up early (suggest by 7am) and leave a towel, clothes, book or something else by the pool to reserve your selected seat (especially if you want something with some shade) as they get taken very quickly and there are not enough for all guests when the hotel is full.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2010

Good but not great

A good vacation at an all inclusive resort right on the pacific coast, but was hoping for more. Should have realized that price was too good to be true and regret not spending a bit more to have a place with more amenities and better food. Would recommend this place for someone looking for an affordable resort on the ocean and looking for lots of sun and a young adult scene (more couples than singles). But would caution that this is not the place if you are looking for luxury. Hotel is right on the beach with great sunset views. Rooms are a good size and all have balconies. Rooms closer to the pool are much better located, but can be noisy at night due to proximity to bars. Service is outstanding - the staff works very hard and will help with everything. They are eager to please and very attentive. Food was average. Most meals were limited to one buffet and breakfast was best meal, lunches were mediocre and dinners were very good on special occasion nights (new year's was excellent). There are also 2 specialty restaurants (which were very good), but guests can only go for one dinner for every 3 nights they stay there. Pool was great (and better than beach), but there are not enough chairs for all guests and people go out at 7am to leave towels/clothes to reserve chairs and then don't return until 9 or 10am (sometimes later). The hotel provides free canoe rental (which was great fun) and you can also pay for wave runners. Native to Costa Rica, you can also see a large and friendly family of spider monkeys on the beach along with iguanas and birds. The crowd is on the younger side - lots of young couples, families with small kids and some singles. There is no fitness center, but the hike up the hill to reception is very steep and can provide good exercise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you want to get a seat at the pool, wake up early (suggest by 7am) and leave a towel, clothes, book or something else by the pool to reserve your selected seat (especially if you want something with some shade) as they get taken very quickly and there are not enough for all guests when the hotel is full.

Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marina del Rey, CA
Oct 27, 2009

The Best Deal Ever!

It was our first introduction to Costa Rica. We loved the warm water and the shade trees on the black beach. Monkeys and Iguanas entertained us daily. The rooms are standard with gorgeous views of Golfo Papagayo. The food is Costa Rican meaning all fresh veggies and fruit, beans and rice, fish, chicken,pork and beef. Drinks are bottomless and made with all fresh juices. Good Spainish wines! The locals pack the place on Friday and Saturday nights. They are the nicest people. Lots to do...kayaking, fishing, swimming and horseback riding. My favorite was the boat ride to Playa Panama to do a 2 1/2 hour horseback ride. If you are an experienced rider just make sure you are the last on the trail. Hang back and let your horse eat and drink along the way. The big pay-off is the lengthy gallop to catch up with rest of the group!!! The all day trip to Arenal was not worth it. Do the MegaTour to Rincon instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your Friday and Saturday night dinners in the Italian and Mexican restaurants to avoid the large families in line at the buffet. Week nights are better at the buffet.

Back to menu Return to top