$266 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
92 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
good for the price !

the price was soo low , it was better then i expect. the beach is not nice but it is not the hotel... See full review

  • Samijosy
  • Sep 25, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane34
Business
NY, NY
Mar 12, 2012

Family Trip

This hotel was a good pick for the family. The hotel was staff was very friendly. It was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reversations right away otherwise it books up quickly and you won't be able to get a chance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
charlottenc1
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 1, 2012

WORST EXPERIENCE

This was by far the worst experience I have ever had. We made a reservation at the Occidental Grand Papagayo and somehow were shifted and moved to the Allegro Papagayo. When we checked in the room was DISGUSTING - absolutely unacceptable for guests. There was mold and mildew throughout the bathroom, the air conditioner was falling out of the ceiling, the towels were filthy and had stains on them, ants were crawling all around the bathroom, you could not use the fan because if you turned it out, it would have come out of the ceiling. We paid for internet tha never worked and they tried to charge us to make a local call. The staff was not helpful or willing to work with us. We quickly checked out and went to the Hilton Papagayo which went above and beyond all of our expectations. I would not recommend this place to anyone. We have had the worst experience with the Occidental before, during and after our stay and will never consider staying at one again. Do not stay here unless you want your Costa Rican vacation ruined.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
olerim
Business
Fort Lee, NJ, USA
Feb 18, 2012

A nice place to escape.

Very clean territory. People are nice and helpful. Food is good. Ocean is clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The place is very beautiful but it is hard to get to shopping malls or restaurants outside the resoprt, unless you buy a tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natynavarroz
Business
Costa Rica
Jan 22, 2012

Very Relax Trip

Perfect!! We enjoyed a lot. We went to the party beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randell
Business
Texas, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Get room 1023 if you can

I gave everything 4 stars. Our room was overlooking the big pool and the beach and ocean. Most of the rooms you get one or the other or neither. The air condition will freeze you out but the beds are way too hard. The food is nothing to brag about but there is usually something decent enough to fill up on. The only beer they serve is a local beer called Imperial and its good. Some of the mixed drinks are good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian food is the best place to eat at the hotel. You have to make reservations at the front desk in person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim O
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Great for Kids

This was our 3rd trip to Allegro Papagayo. The Staff are very freindly and helpful. The location is some what isolated however once at the hotel complex there is little or no need to leave. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Great place to take the Kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Take a Day trip to CoCo Beach for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cwilliegotyou
Business
milwaukee, wi
Nov 8, 2011

Single getaway

The room was molded and mildewed; the food was average and the location was 40 minutes ($70) from any place to purchase anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sand in our flip flops
Business
Nebraska, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Excellent vacation time

The welcome we received when we arrived was very good and we enjoyed our stay very much. The food was excellent and there was a large selection of all types of fruits and vegetables. We had a good selection of meats, fish, and poultry. For the money, we received more than we expected. The facility has a little age on it but it is being constantly upgraded. We plan to return another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located on the side of a small mountain so the buildings are on different levels and the dining, bars, swimming pools, and beaches are on the lower level. The hotel provides a shuttle service every 15 or 20 minutes so this was not a problem. The highway markers to the facility could have been more numerous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cassi
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Oct 12, 2011

beautiful family vacation

We are happy with the hotel staff, very nice people. The food, the drinks, the rooms, were excellent. The best for the price we paid and the swimming pool is a paradise... We will go back... no doubt about it. It's only a thing, the black birds called zanates, they are a nuisance in the dinning room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the low season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A.W.Tracey
Business
Escazu, Costa Rica
Oct 2, 2011

A GOOD VACATION AND A GOOD VALUE

Overall, the Allegro Papagayo was a quite decent all inclusive resort that offered a very nice vacation at a very good price. Although the resort is not in prime condition, especially the public areas, they seemed worn, the rooms were in good, clean condition. LOCATION - Is isolated, you cant really leave the resort unless you have rented a car or take a tour. If your goal is to just hang out at the resort and relax then that's fine. If you want to see Costa Rica then stay in San Jose and take day trips. But I was happy to take a long walk on the very natural and uncrowded beach each day which was nice. ROOMS - Were clean and spacious enough. If you dont want to walk up stairs then ask for a first floor room. But if you can handle the stairs ask for a third floor room because the ceiling is much higher and you will have a better view of the ocean too. The air conditioners were old and loud. The beds were not the best quality, but the linens were OK. RESTAURANT - Overall the food was OK, not great, but not bad either. We always found something we liked. The deserts were very disappointing. The buffet area has a real problem with birds that get in and try to get at the food and make messes. We ate in the Italian and Mexican restaurants that were nicer, cleaner, cooler and that was a much better more formal experience than the buffet at night, but for breakfast and lunch the buffet was passable. The snack bar area served up pizza, fries, burgers, nachos, which kids like, my wife and I liked the thin crust pizza a lot. BEVERAGES - I would pop down to the Bar for a couple of glasses of wine before dinner. If you are a wine drinker you will be disappointed as they serve the absolute cheapest wine. You can buy a bottle, but that's extra. The cocktails by the pool are OK and I enjoyed many Margaritas in the afternoons. They will also make you mixed drinks if you want. After dinner you can request a Coffee Liquer or an Amaretto if you wish. After lunch and dinner we asked for cappuccinos, which were a nice touch. They use the cheapest national products, but if you are not too fussy about brands then its just fine. SERVICE - The service was the best thing really. If you speak even a little Spanish and can be patient and friendly with the cooks, servers, maids and bartenders then this will really enhance your stay. We found the staff to be very friendly and attentive and willing to help you with whatever you need. IN CONCLUSION - If you want a higher end experience, then go to another higher priced resort, like the Grand Papagayo or RIU, But, if you can deal with the relatively minor issues I have described then I think you will have a great time like we did, and at a very fair, economical price point, and maybe spend the money you save on a tour or two. We felt we got a lot out of it and really chilled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

First thing you must do when you check in is to make your dinner reservations at the Italian or Mexican restaurants for your entire stay so you wont have to dine at night in the hot, busy, noisy buffet area. The restaurants are clean, more formal, quiet and air conditioned for your comfort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top