$266 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

3 stars
Plaza Manzanillo, P.O. Box 48-5000, Guanacaste/Liberia, 000000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
92 reviews
Best Value in Costa Rica

My family of 5 absolutely loved it here. It was an incredible value. The buffets had a wide variety... See full review

  • An Ohio Family
  • Jun 12, 2014
good for the price !

the price was soo low , it was better then i expect. the beach is not nice but it is not the hotel... See full review

  • Samijosy
  • Sep 25, 2013
On-site scuba diving at family-friendly resort on Papagayo Bay

Located on Guanacaste's scenic Northern Pacific coast, the Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort sits on green bluffs overlooking Costa Rica's Papagayo Gulf. Near the black-sand Manzanillo Beach, guests can find rest and relaxation with serene ocean views, sultry open-air dining, and endless water sports. Kids under 12 stay free and families will love the on-site Kids Club offering art activities, theatre and more. Business travelers enjoy an on-site business center, flexible event spaces and high-speed Internet access in public areas (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Take a shuttle boat to a Private Beach Club on private white-sand beach (fees apply)
  • Rooms have cool terra cotta tile floors
  • On-site activities include volleyball, beach soccer, ping-pong, water polo, aqua aerobics, snorkeling, sailing and more
  • Free shuttle service takes guests across the resort
Rooms

The Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive resort features 300 Spanish-style guest rooms in 14 three-story buildings. Built into a Costa Rican hillside, accommodations overlook the Papagayo Gulf and the sprawling property. Guest rooms feature one king or two full-size beds, and balconies or terraces with garden or ocean views. In-room amenities include hair dryers, air conditioning, satellite TVs, telephones, coffee makers, in-room safes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The Allegro Papagayo offers direct beach access to the black-sand Manzanillo beach, and a boat charters guests to a Private Beach Club on an exclusive white-sand beach. The Papagayo Gulf is a great jumping off point for area water sports like water polo, boogie boarding, windsurfing and snorkeling, and the on-site dive center offers lessons. On-site amenities include a giant freeform pool and live nightly entertainment.

Dining

The all-inclusive resort features two a la carte restaurants, two snack bars and three bars, and an international buffet -- Los Corales -- is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Trattoria serves Italian in a dressier atmosphere, and La Cantina serves casual Tex-Mex cuisine.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (16.6 mi/26.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (149 mi/238.4 km)
Attractions
  • Playas del Coco (21.9 mi/35 km)
  • Africa Mia (29.2 mi/46.7 km)
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park (37.9 mi/60.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting spaces available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms include the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite television, mini bar, safety box, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. Cribs are available upon request. Rooms are situated along a grand hillside.
Superior Ocean View Premium
Superior Ocean View Premium rooms are closer to the pool and beachin addition to featuring the all inclusive plan, feature king bedding or 2 queens, as well as a balcony or terrace, refrigerator, Cable TV and hair dryer.
Superior Ocean View
Identical to Superior rooms with the addition an exquisite ocean view of the majestic Bay of Papagayo.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sports Bar and Night Club
Casual cocktails and fun.
La Trattoria
A la carte dining serving Italian specialties.
Wet Bar
Swim-up bar.
Pablo's Bar
Pool Bar.
Beach Club
Casual snacks.
El Mirador
Casual Lobby Bar.
Los Corales
Buffet restaurant offering international cuisine. Continental breakfast from 6 AM to 7 AM, breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM, lunch from 1 PM to 3 PM, dinner from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM and snack bar from 11 AM to 5 PM.
Las Cantina
A la carte dining serving Mexican specialties.
Snack Bar
Casual bites to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnnys
Business
New York,
Jul 21, 2012

Couple Getaway

you get what you pay for, this resort was ok nothing spectactular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SuperGranDad
Business
NYC, NY
Jul 10, 2012

Family Outing

The location is great, the food is average, the staff is very helpful, but the room attendant is hard to find (the room was rarely cleaned properly). Make sure you have a working AC because it's very hot. I was charged $2 per day for the safe, but it is a must. The tours are very expensive, yet the hotel staff aggressively sells them (shop elsewhere for the tours). I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but with some caveats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the tours outside of the hotel to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
russells
Business
florida
Jun 25, 2012

nice 4 day getaway

i had no complaints however i can see where the 3.5 is over rated. service is nothing special. the bartenders are the waiters are the host, are the greaters, are the drivers... over worked but freindly. if you want to be pampered and waited on i suggest the other property they have. rooms are ordinary- dated but ours was clean! food is average, wish it would have been more native to the area, no complaints with it thou. premium liquior and internet are extra! we did not have that big of a walk to pool area, but the rooms behind us had to take the bus. entertainment is not up to par. overall it is about a 2 star but i did have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car!!! it is cheap and convenent! staff will help direct you to local attractions.. most are only few hours away! freinds rented car and we saw volcanos, waterfalls for fraction of cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIKE FROM ROC CITY
Business
ROCHESTER NY
Jun 21, 2012

4th anny

The site of this resort was nice but the beach is a boat ride away. Also raccoons were every where along with other wildlife animals. There is only 3 places to eat dinner which really sucked. This resort needs updating on roofs. You have to walk up a real high hill to get back and forth from the pool and your room. I would rate this resort a 3 out of 5 and would never go here more than once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G Man5431
Business
Cincy, OH
May 14, 2012

Paradise !!!

Great location. Beautiful natural beach. Decent food options. Definately make reservations at the sit down restaurant. Great bartenders and fun staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tottie the Teaveler
Business
Queens, New York
May 13, 2012

Worst vacation ever

My experience was really like no other we got a key to a room that was occupied. We did not get our complimentary drink as stated we had to pay for everything. The food was sometimes cold and not so edible. I spent most of my time eating fruits the snack bar was never open except for the day some of the owners appeared to be doing a walk through. I was actually very disappointed and sad and so were mg girlfriends traveling with me. This is the first time I ever went on vacation and couldn't wait to get home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
horsechick
Business
Gettysburg,PA
May 12, 2012

beautiful location

They did not have my reservation when I arrived so that was a surprise, but after I showed them my paid receipt I was given a room with a beautiful view relatively quickly. The food leaves alot to be desired, although you will not go hungry. The breakfasts were really quite good but the variety at other meals was sorely lacking. The drinks for the most part were watered down and lost taste in a short time. The hotel is showing its age but they do try to keeps things fresh and maintain the grounds well. The hill on which the hotel is located becomes a real pain after awhile. There is a shuttle than runs every 10 minutes or so and they will come when you call them - still the hill is a pain. The black sand beach was really quite unusual and there is a white sand beach that they will take you to by boat for free. Quite lovely and very quiet.As far as a rating goes 3.5 stars is really as high as I can go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blacksand
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Bachelorette Party

The overall experience was good but they can surely improved. When they said the total price was all inclusive I was expecting everything in general including the exit tax $30 that I was not aware off @ the airports; the fact that there is no toothpaste in the rooms, a shower cap for the duration of the trip, no iron in the rooms, just little things like that they forget to mention and a taxi ride to town is $30 US out of pocket, the spas & sightseeing are all expensive out of pocket cost still and all; the staff was wonderful especially in the dining room and at the bar the food was good, especially the many diverse fruits they offer with meals, they were succulent and I very much enjoyed the entertainers, the dancers and the different shows they put on every night, it was fun, friendly, & lively. If ever they act on my suggestions; I shall happily go back within 2 years or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Prepare to spend an extra $200 on top off whatever the all inclusive price the resort tell you it will be!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
USALeisureTravelerMN
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Mar 27, 2012

Alright

There were ants in the room!!! Staff was rude and unaccomadating. Anything else from the food they provided was extra...no tours included, not enough pool chairs for all guests. Doesn't give the experience that your are somewhere foreign...has all american food which was disappointing. I was expecting something more with an "Pura Vida" flair. Fell extremely short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Papagayo - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blami
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Great view...lackluster experience

The view was absolutely amazing, but the little things at this resort were just not there. There was definitely no going above and beyond for the staff with any problems that we had. For instance my husband and I were put in a room with two double beds...he is 6'3" so we at least needed a queen (we had booked a king) and it took 2 days to fix with no apology really. Also, our water in our room went out two days in a row and it was just "well we will fix it when we do" kind of attitude (no shower or toilette). Certain staff were really genuine, I just wish that service was consistent with everyone that worked there. The pool and bar area were great!! The food had ample options and was pretty much available all day, though they have no kind of room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to know some people there and book a tour bus to take you on a "beach tour." They drive you to 3-4 beaches, takes about 7-8 hours, and with 5 or more people much more reasonable than the guided tours (though you should try a couple of those out too) !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top