$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Hotel Caribe

4 stars
Bocagrande Cra 1 # 2 - 87, Cartagena,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
32 reviews
excelent break

My wife and me were 7 days...it was very fun...the food was very good...the pool is very... See full review

  • Psicology
  • Jun 29, 2014
Good Experience

The location was very good. The food was good in the hotel, but a little expensive for the quality.... See full review

  • Panamatom
  • Jun 17, 2014
Hotel Caribe offers a first class service with lot facilities.

This is a privileged hotel since it is historical and cultural heritage of humanity.

Hotel Caribe with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities.

The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande.

The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities.

Hotel Caribe provides the guests an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks.

Guests may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes seven meeting rooms.

Hotel Caribe is considered one of the most traditional Hotels in Cartagena de Indias and was declared National Monument by Colombian Government on 1999.

Its 35.000 square meters of exotic and tropical gardens surround the majestic structure of the Hotel.

This beautiful Hotel offers 363 rooms including 9 suites, 4 restaurants, 1 bar, 8 meeting rooms, business center, swimming pool, sports facilities and recreational activities for kids.

Hotel also offers Banquet facilities, Barbecue area, Children's facilities, Lobby, Plunge pool, Reception, Table tennis.

Note: All citizens of Colombia will be charged the 16% national value-added tax

Hotel Map

10.398 -75.561
Area served
Cartagena.
Nearby airports
Rafael Nunez International Airport.
Area description
Overlooking the Carribbean and Cartagena Bay, in the tourist area of Bocagrande.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Caribe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Caribe Rooms

Superior Room
Superior Room offers Two Queen or Two Twin Beds with Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Shaver in bathroom, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Valet service, Modem / data port connection, Hairdryer, Radio, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Ensuite / Private bathroom with shower, bathtub, Bathrobes and Slippers. Superior Rooms are Located on floors 1-5 and have Interior garden view. The rooms are approximately 35 square metres (115 square feet).
Premium Room
Premium Room offers One King Bed or Two Twin Beds with Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Shaver in bathroom, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Valet service, Modem / data port connection, Hairdryer, Radio, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Modern decor, Living room, Desk, Ensuite / Private bathroom with shower, bathtub, Bathrobes and Slippers. Superior Rooms are Located on floors 2-7. The rooms are 43 square meters (141 square feet).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Pedro De Heredia
The most exclusive international cuisine, you can enjoy a delicious varied of menu in the elegant restaurant.
Cafeteria Catalina
Located next to the pool with a familiar and informal atmosphere, where you can delight of breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can relax and admire gastronomitos festivals and shows with live music. 24 hrs. service every day.
Punta Icacos Garden
A tropical and informal atmosphere where you can delight the best dishes served with a variety of delicious pizza in hotel's typical kiosks.
Oh Caribe Bungalow
On the beaches, the restaurant offers a selection of sea food and a variety of typical dishes of the region.
Bolero Bar
A place where you can enjoy a romantic night and listen to the music from the local band. Room Service: Enjoy this service from the comfort of your room 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Caribe

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Psicology
Bucaramanga
Jun 29, 2014

excelent break

My wife and me were 7 days...it was very fun...the food was very good...the pool is very nice....everything was good...except by the steps near to the pool...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

old city

Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panamatom
Republic of Panama
Jun 17, 2014

Good Experience

The location was very good. The food was good in the hotel, but a little expensive for the quality. The pool was excellent and so was the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anon1778
bogota
May 22, 2014

Expected more

I did not find the staff a particularly welcoming. If you do not arrive via car to the hotel it is a bit awkward to walk up a narrow street to reach the front door of the lobby. There the staff seem more interested in gossip than in opening the door for you. During the check in the woman said that there was a daily fee. It was not much but i said that i was not made aware of any additional fee. It felt like a rip off. I asked for a quiet room and yet i was given once close to the pool. The problem is that they have techno music blasting all through the day and it can be heard through the cheap windows installed all through out the hotel. I asked to be moved but they were a bit reluctant to do so. They did in the afternoon. However they placed me in a roon right outside to a dinner they had with a university. I protested and finally was given a room away from noise. The breakfast was ok, but by that i mean just ok. there was a cue for eggs, which one had to wait in the scorching heat. I also found that the staff did not tell me about a bus that takes you to the hotel, instead offered only the taxi service which is much more expensive. Given that i checked in on my birthday the woman at the front desk said she would have something extra for me. That would have been great hospitality. That never took place. The best things about the hotel are the colonial part architecture and the pool which has a deep end of close to 4 meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monique Ram
Alexandria VA
May 1, 2014

Good location

We when with my family for spring break and was so nice. The hotel is nice with a good service... The buffet was no to good because was the same every day. In general was a good experience...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk and will find better restaurants ...

Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Non Yaa
San Antonio
Apr 25, 2014

Will your luggage be held hostage for cash too??

The front desk check in and check out process is horrible and SLOW! They take reservations with the computer, but that is all! All the other systems still use slow manual card file-very dated, unorganized, and NOT accurate!! U will waste an hour to do what could take 5 min..... They accept a credit card for payment, but demand cash when it is time to check out, and are more than willing to waste your time and have you miss your boat to do it!! The won't use the credit card they already have on file! The check-out process is more of a "ransom" to get your luggage back!!! A nice location, but a banana republic hostage attitude, I won't ever go back!! They would not provide the room I paid for with a reservation! The AC system does not have a thermostat in room, so it is too warm in the afternoon, and too cold in the morning.... The ocean view room needed to have the curtain closed in order to cool the room- so the ocean view was not user friendly....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ret and peb
Atlantic City, NJ
Feb 3, 2014

Cold!

Freezing cold! We went there to be warm. The rooms are bitter cold as are the lobbies. The air conditioner seems to be set at 65

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Balcon

Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy The Photographer
Bayonne, NJ
Dec 5, 2013

Close to everything

My husband and I spent 3 days at this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The shower was the only downside because the water never gets hot, it was only slightly warm. The water pressure was weak, as well. We would of preferred a room with a terrace but I don't think the hotel has terraces. Dispite that we would stay there again. It was a lovely experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
freedotift
Washington, DC
Mar 25, 2013

If its good enough for the secret service...

Hotel Caribe offers beach access (something not available at the hotels in old town), a clean pool, good guest services, and even a small "zoo" for a fraction of the price of hotels in Old Town. Located about three kilometers from the old town -- a safe, if not so pretty walk -- the hotel is an old relic around quickly rising five star resorts like the hilton and hampton hotels in the Bocagrande area. A cab to old town will cost you about $6, so even with that price built in, it's a great deal. A word of caution, however. The rooms are a bit unremarkable, so don't expect the sort of five star comfort you might expect from a five star rated hotel in the U.S. Also, there are THREE buildings that make the resort, two are newer, and then the original building. I was first placed in a new building, and asked to be changed to the old with no issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aguila Supporter
Washington, D.C.
Jan 4, 2013

Interesting Indulgence in Colombian Society

The Hotel Caribe was great, it's resort-style complex included most of the amenities you need on a vacation or visit to Cartagena, if you can get by with a very minimalistic fitness area. A short hop across the street gets you to the beach where you can look forward to being endlessly haggled to give up your money for this, that and the other. Overall a great experience, would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orlo
New York
Nov 16, 2012

Weekend trip

The Hotel staff are very attentive and diligent. The pool is first class and the rooms on the ocean side offer a nice view. The WiFi connection needs improvement and the location isn't exactly walking distance to the old city. Overall it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

EL santisimo, la vetrola, cande, 8-18

Back to menu Return to top