$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Hotel Caribe

4 stars
Bocagrande Cra 1 # 2 - 87, Cartagena,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
26 reviews
excelent break

My wife and me were 7 days...it was very fun...the food was very good...the pool is very... See full review

  • Psicology
  • Jun 29, 2014
Will return to Caribe

I travel whole lot and get very tire of hotels. Caribe is great ith the gardens, the toucan and... See full review

  • Hans the Good Svengale
  • Aug 21, 2014
Sophisticated hotel featuring classic Spanish design
Housed in one of the national monuments of Cartagena, Hotel Caribe features traditional Spanish architecture nestled in lush gardens strategically set close to the beach. This historic hotel features semi-Olympic pool, beauty salon and solarium. The property also offers business centre, auditorium and nine meeting rooms for up to 123 guests. Diners at Caribe Hotel savor local and international specialties at Pedro de Heredia, Punta Icacos and Oh Caribe. Delicious snacks and drinks are available at Catalina Cafeteria and Bar Bolero. Other amenities at this heritage hotel include boutiques, game room, 24-hour reception property-wide Wi-Fi access, accessible facilities, parking (at cost) and laundry services.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Declared National Monument by the Colombian Government
  • 35,000 square meters of tropical trees and gardens
  • Semi-Olympic outdoor pool
Hotel Caribe Rooms
The Hotel Caribe feature 363 rooms and suites that feature traditional, modern, or 60's-inspired themes. Each tastefully appointed unit is furnished with private bathroom, hairdryer, mini bar, TV, telephone, alarm clock, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access. Some units are equipped with work area, dining room and come with views of the sea, garden or pool.
Things To Do
  • Castillo De San Felipe De Barajas (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Las Bovedas (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Estadio Jaime Moron Leon (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Parque de La Marina (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Museo Naval Del Caribe (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Museo de la Esmeralda (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Plaza De San Pedro Claver (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Alcaldia de Cartagena (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Mall Plaza El Castillo (2.3 mi/3.7 km)

Hotel Map

10.398 -75.561
Area served
Cartagena.
Nearby airports
Rafael Nunez International Airport.
Area description
Overlooking the Carribbean and Cartagena Bay, in the tourist area of Bocagrande.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Caribe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Caribe Rooms

Superior Room
Superior Room offers Two Queen or Two Twin Beds with Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Shaver in bathroom, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Valet service, Modem / data port connection, Hairdryer, Radio, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Ensuite / Private bathroom with shower, bathtub, Bathrobes and Slippers. Superior Rooms are Located on floors 1-5 and have Interior garden view. The rooms are approximately 35 square metres (115 square feet).
Premium Room
Premium Room offers One King Bed or Two Twin Beds with Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Shaver in bathroom, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Valet service, Modem / data port connection, Hairdryer, Radio, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Modern decor, Living room, Desk, Ensuite / Private bathroom with shower, bathtub, Bathrobes and Slippers. Superior Rooms are Located on floors 2-7. The rooms are 43 square meters (141 square feet).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Pedro De Heredia
The most exclusive international cuisine, you can enjoy a delicious varied of menu in the elegant restaurant.
Cafeteria Catalina
Located next to the pool with a familiar and informal atmosphere, where you can delight of breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can relax and admire gastronomitos festivals and shows with live music. 24 hrs. service every day.
Punta Icacos Garden
A tropical and informal atmosphere where you can delight the best dishes served with a variety of delicious pizza in hotel's typical kiosks.
Oh Caribe Bungalow
On the beaches, the restaurant offers a selection of sea food and a variety of typical dishes of the region.
Bolero Bar
A place where you can enjoy a romantic night and listen to the music from the local band. Room Service: Enjoy this service from the comfort of your room 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Caribe

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaso
Business
New jersey
Aug 25, 2014

Average hotel

Hotel is a little dated. Needs some renovation. It is clean. Pool is very nice. Across street from public beach. Hotel has own umbrellas for free. On weekends need to go early to get one. Beach is not carribean looking beach. More like jersey shore. Need to go to Rosario islands for that. Close to town. 15 minute taxi ride, costs $3. So very convenient. Staff is very friendly, but slow service. Very few staff speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La cevicheria restaurant. Close to santa clara sofitel hotel. Excellent food but very small so you either need to get there by 6 or wait to get a table? Cartagena is really hot and humid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hans the Good Svengale
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 21, 2014

Will return to Caribe

I travel whole lot and get very tire of hotels. Caribe is great ith the gardens, the toucan and hite tailed deer in the shaded gardens, the pool and the great staff..something like a "home aay from home" I look forward to returning to the Caribe and to Cartagena...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

great pool and restaurants in-house, but do not overlook the alled city... try the Waffles and Crepes restaurant...in the old city....great ambience as ell as delicious... Enjoy Cartagena the friendliest city in the orld, great for families, couples, children, and singles. endless things to do with fabulous shopping...so bring money. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Psicology
Business
Bucaramanga
Jun 29, 2014

excelent break

My wife and me were 7 days...it was very fun...the food was very good...the pool is very nice....everything was good...except by the steps near to the pool...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

old city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panamatom
Business
Republic of Panama
Jun 17, 2014

Good Experience

The location was very good. The food was good in the hotel, but a little expensive for the quality. The pool was excellent and so was the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anon1778
Business
bogota
May 22, 2014

Expected more

I did not find the staff a particularly welcoming. If you do not arrive via car to the hotel it is a bit awkward to walk up a narrow street to reach the front door of the lobby. There the staff seem more interested in gossip than in opening the door for you. During the check in the woman said that there was a daily fee. It was not much but i said that i was not made aware of any additional fee. It felt like a rip off. I asked for a quiet room and yet i was given once close to the pool. The problem is that they have techno music blasting all through the day and it can be heard through the cheap windows installed all through out the hotel. I asked to be moved but they were a bit reluctant to do so. They did in the afternoon. However they placed me in a roon right outside to a dinner they had with a university. I protested and finally was given a room away from noise. The breakfast was ok, but by that i mean just ok. there was a cue for eggs, which one had to wait in the scorching heat. I also found that the staff did not tell me about a bus that takes you to the hotel, instead offered only the taxi service which is much more expensive. Given that i checked in on my birthday the woman at the front desk said she would have something extra for me. That would have been great hospitality. That never took place. The best things about the hotel are the colonial part architecture and the pool which has a deep end of close to 4 meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monique Ram
Business
Alexandria VA
May 1, 2014

Good location

We when with my family for spring break and was so nice. The hotel is nice with a good service... The buffet was no to good because was the same every day. In general was a good experience...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk and will find better restaurants ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Non Yaa
Business
San Antonio
Apr 25, 2014

Will your luggage be held hostage for cash too??

The front desk check in and check out process is horrible and SLOW! They take reservations with the computer, but that is all! All the other systems still use slow manual card file-very dated, unorganized, and NOT accurate!! U will waste an hour to do what could take 5 min..... They accept a credit card for payment, but demand cash when it is time to check out, and are more than willing to waste your time and have you miss your boat to do it!! The won't use the credit card they already have on file! The check-out process is more of a "ransom" to get your luggage back!!! A nice location, but a banana republic hostage attitude, I won't ever go back!! They would not provide the room I paid for with a reservation! The AC system does not have a thermostat in room, so it is too warm in the afternoon, and too cold in the morning.... The ocean view room needed to have the curtain closed in order to cool the room- so the ocean view was not user friendly....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ret and peb
Business
Atlantic City, NJ
Feb 3, 2014

Cold!

Freezing cold! We went there to be warm. The rooms are bitter cold as are the lobbies. The air conditioner seems to be set at 65

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Balcon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy The Photographer
Business
Bayonne, NJ
Dec 5, 2013

Close to everything

My husband and I spent 3 days at this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The shower was the only downside because the water never gets hot, it was only slightly warm. The water pressure was weak, as well. We would of preferred a room with a terrace but I don't think the hotel has terraces. Dispite that we would stay there again. It was a lovely experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Caribe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
freedotift
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 25, 2013

If its good enough for the secret service...

Hotel Caribe offers beach access (something not available at the hotels in old town), a clean pool, good guest services, and even a small "zoo" for a fraction of the price of hotels in Old Town. Located about three kilometers from the old town -- a safe, if not so pretty walk -- the hotel is an old relic around quickly rising five star resorts like the hilton and hampton hotels in the Bocagrande area. A cab to old town will cost you about $6, so even with that price built in, it's a great deal. A word of caution, however. The rooms are a bit unremarkable, so don't expect the sort of five star comfort you might expect from a five star rated hotel in the U.S. Also, there are THREE buildings that make the resort, two are newer, and then the original building. I was first placed in a new building, and asked to be changed to the old with no issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top