$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Garden Hotel Xi'an

4 stars
40 Dong Yan Yin Road, Da Yan Ta Xian, Xian, 710061
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
5 reviews
Good Value In Xi' an

If your looking for a hotel that is a good value in a nice section of Xi'an this is the... See full review

  • Thornlaw
  • Mar 25, 2014
Nice Hotel, perfect location

I stayed at the Garden Hotel Xian for over a week during my time in Xian. I was very happy with the... See full review

  • Tormac
  • Apr 19, 2012
Garden Hotel Xi'an is an oasis of space and calm that offers a spectacular view of the big wild goose pagoda. It recaptures the sprit of the Tang Dynasty and brings you closer to the heart of ancient china.

LocationLocated in the city of Xi'an, the hotel is designed in a garden style setting with a beautiful pavilion and a peaceful pond.

RoomsAll of the 292 guestrooms give you a feeling of staying in a comfortable your private house.

Garden Hotel Xi'an Rooms

Garden View Room
This room offers one king bed or two twin beds along with the basic amenities.
Deluxe Room
This room offers one king bed or two twin beds along with the basic amenities.

Amenities

Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Garden Hotel Xi'an also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.2191 108.9635
Area served
Xian
Nearby airports
Beijing Capital International Airport
Area description
It is located at the Qu Jiang New District.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Garden Hotel Xi'an

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Garden Hotel Xi'an

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oceanfrontcabin
Seattle Washington
Oct 24, 2012

Reservation didn't exist

There were 2 reservations at this hotel for 2 parties, same last name. They apparently threw ours away. No one speaks English there. They need someone. Because I had my confirmation print-out, they found us a room-not the view room we'd reserved. It took over an hour for them to find that one. I asked if they'd give us a free breakfast for our trouble and poor room, they said, "No." I asked if we could sit down and have a free coffee while we waited for them to find us a room-"No." Really bad experience at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Garden Hotel Xi'an

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Popeyes
Business
Korea(Rep.)
May 23, 2010

Very satisfaction

zzz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Garden Hotel Xi'an

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Popeyes
Business
Korea(Rep.)
May 23, 2010

Very satisfaction

zzz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Garden Hotel Xi'an

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thornlaw
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 25, 2014

Good Value In Xi' an

If your looking for a hotel that is a good value in a nice section of Xi'an this is the place. Pros: The Lobby and Restaurant are very traditionally decorated and attractive. The hotel surrounds a small peaceful pond. Initially, they could not find my reservation (which seems to happen quite often in China at hotels that are not 5 star and that are not booked directly with the hotel.) But the concierge staff was a tremendous help to us and cleared it all up. Now my wife is Chinese and I speak some Mandarin so that made a huge difference also, but nevertheless the women concierge was very, patient, courteous and pleasant. The doorman and concierge also helped us arrange for a taxi and interpreter for a day trip to see the Terra Cotta Warriors. I insisted on a taxi since I do not like the typical"bus tours" that wind up involving some high pressure shopping stops. We may have paid a bit more for this, but at least I felt comfortable that it was arranged by the hotel without any pressure. The driver stayed with us the full day and took us to other sites. The location of the hotel is south of the city itself, in a nice new area with lots of restaurants and shops. It is, however, quite a ride from the airport and definitely not walking distance to the Old Wall/Old City shopping, but it is within walking distance of the Xi'An museum. If you come in around rush hour expect to pay at least 200 RMB from the airport (and that's on the meter) because of traffic. I'm sure it would be about 1/2 of that if not at rush hour. We paid the same back out, but only because we ordered the same driver that took us to the warriors, to be sure we were on time for our flight etc. The room vwas clean, spacious, and had all the basics needed such as a coffee maker, coffee, robes and slippers, and a full compliment of bathroom necessities. The housekeeping service was very good. The room also looked out into another very peaceful court yard of the hotel. The Cons: As many of the other reviews state, the rooms are badly outdated and are in desperate need of upgrading. The beds are very hard and the Wi-Fi quite slow. Unfortunately, the rooms really make it feel like a 3 star, 1970s hotel. This is really too bad because if these rooms were properly upgraded this could easily become a 5 star hotel, for which I would gladly pay a bit more. Our room was near the elevator but we did not ask for a change, because we were happy to be close to the lobby. As many reviews state, you could wind up a long walk from the lobby. But in a busy season, rooms close to the elevator/stairs could be annoying to some. Overall, I think it is a good value for a few days stay (we were there two nights) and I would recommend this to others, as long as they realize the rooms are very dated and you are quite a ways from the center of town (you must take a taxi)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can walk to some of the attractions. Pick up the "tourist" map at the museum. It gives you a nice visual look at the attractions. It comes in a nice brown envelope with a few other postcards of the attractions inside. For the other attractions (like the Warriors) you will need to cab it. Do NOT take the tour buses unless you want to make these "shopping stops". It worth it to get a private cab driver and interpreter for about $400 RMB for the day. (But be clear about the price and what he will do for you so you do not get taken)If you like the interpreter and the driver give them a few more RMB. You can also just walk up to the ticket window of most of these places and ask for an "official" interpreter. That is often the cheapest and safest way to do it. Almost all of the big attractions have "official" interpreters (live or audio) in many languages.

Review of Garden Hotel Xi'an

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tormac
Ohio, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Nice Hotel, perfect location

I stayed at the Garden Hotel Xian for over a week during my time in Xian. I was very happy with the hotel. Its staff was very friendly and helpful. Most had some English; with the people at the front desk having very strong English. But everyone always had a smile and a hello, even if they only spoke Mandarin. The stylized lake and garden in the middle of the hotel was lovely. The food in the restaurant was good. The location of the hotel was great, less than a ten minute walk to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and a pleasant shopping district to the south. The only criticism that I have is that the building itself is a little older and the rooms a little dated, but then brand new high rise hotels don’t have the character of the Xian Garden Hotel, and isn’t that part of the reason to stay here? I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For USAians that are looking to shop for necessities, there is a Wal-Mart in a shopping plaza maybe a fifteen-twenty minute walk south of the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. Go south of the Art museum; look for a Starbucks and a Jackie-Chan theater to the right hand side of the street with all of the statues as you are facing south. The Wal-Mart is down the escalators. It’s hard to be home sick with a two liter of Coke and a pack of Oreo cookies!

Back to menu Return to top