$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

4 stars
No.398 Beijing Road (East) Shanghai , China, Shanghai, 200001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
55 reviews
Great room, great location

Perfect. We're upgraded (apparently for no reason) to a presidential type of suite, with a huge... See full review

  • Straviynsky
  • Jul 7, 2014
Convenient location with conformable room

Super reasonable price to a four star hotel, our three nights stay is very pleasant. Carpet is hard... See full review

  • World Travelers from LA
  • Jun 22, 2014
River views on display at 4-star Shanghai hotel near Bund

Guests can get a good snapshot of Shanghai during a stay in this 195-room property that is close enough to the Bund to offer appealing river view rooms. Guests are a three-block walk from the crowds and neon of Nanjing Road pedestrian mall. The endless stream of bicycles and colorful characters passing the entrance on busy Beijing Road gives guests a taste of everyday life in China. 

Highlights
  • 10-minute walk to Nanjing Road pedestrian mall and the Bund
  • River view and grand view rooms provide views of the Huangpu River and Pudong skyline
  • Neighborhood offers guests flavor of everyday Chinese life
  • Five on-site bars and restaurants
Rooms

This 19-story tower houses 195 rooms with tasteful East-meets-West decor. All rooms provide a safe, mini-bar, desk, flat-screen television, and high-speed Internet. Superior rooms are modestly sized from 237 to 270 square feet. Guests can choose between city or river views or enjoy both in the 592-square-foot Grand View room. Digital queen rooms come with a PCTV all-in-one machine plus free high-speed Internet (fees apply in most rooms).

Dining

Zip 18 serves fresh Euro-Asian cuisine along with great city views. At French Teppanyaki restaurant diners can sip a glass of wine with East-meets-West fusion fare. Classic Shanghainese dishes are on the menu at Xie Yuan. Dingzhen Abalone Fin is a spacious elegant dining room where guests can splurge on specialties like abalone and shark fin.

Recreation

Spa on the 11th floor features a sauna and massages. Ruli Japanese Club is a health club offering Japanese-style tea service and a coffee bar. Visitors can purchase paintings and calligraphy work from Shanghai and elsewhere in China and pick up postcards at the souvenir shop.

Transportation
  • Shanghai Railway Station (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Pudong International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Bund (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Yu Garden (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • People's Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • Conference hall accommodating up to 120 people
  • Function rooms
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai also booked these hotels.

The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai Rooms

Superior-Room
There is one king bed or two single beds in the Superior Room with CityView or RiverView. Superior Room located on floor 8-15. Room area is about 270 square feet. There are other facilities, For example Armchair , Minibar , Coffee and Tea Maker , Direct-dial phone and Bathroom Phone,Bathtub,Broadband Internet Access, Welcome Drink Coupon, Satellite TV , Clean Bathrobe, Dry Cleaning Service,Safe and so on.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office Building: 0.3 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 0.8 mi
  • People`s Square: 0.8 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 0.9 mi
  • French Concession: 0.9 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • General Post Office Building: 0.3 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 0.8 mi
  • People`s Square: 0.8 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 0.9 mi
  • French Concession: 0.9 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • City God Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Shanghai Wen Miao: 1.7 mi
  • Nanjing Road: 1.7 mi
  • Lu Xun Park: 1.8 mi
  • Former Residence of Zhou En Lai: 1.9 mi
  • Eastlink Gallery: 2 mi
  • Taikang Lu: 2.4 mi
  • Jing'an Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Black Apple Gallery: 2.5 mi
  • Liu Hai Su Art Center: 3.3 mi
  • Shanghai Expo: 3.4 mi
  • Shanghai Oriental Arts Center: 3.7 mi
  • Shanghai Science and Technology Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Shanghai Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • C. Y. Tung Maritime Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Xiang Yang Market: 4.1 mi
  • St Ignatius Cathedral of Shanghai: 4.3 mi
  • Aquaria 21 Dive Club: 5 mi
  • Shanghai New International Expo Center: 5.1 mi
  • Fanguzi Art Gallery: 7 mi
  • Hongqiao: 8.7 mi
  • Gubei: 9.2 mi
  • She Shan Basilica: 19.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai has 5 Food & Beverage outlets where you can savor delicacies from around the world. Located on the top 18 floor, the Chinese Restaurant Xie Yuan serve Shanghainese dishes. Zip18 Eurasian provides western style set meals, The French Teppanyaki specializes in adds a touch of Asian scent to European dining tradition. Fresh ingredients, nutritional considerations and top-class chefs ensure the taste and quality of your dining experience. While enjoying the meal, the tremendous view through wide scaled windows also bring you visual satisfactions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Justice911
Business
Shanghai, China
Jul 10, 2012

Watch out Bunch of Thieves

Do not allow them to get a cab driver for you because they will over charge you for the ride to the airport. Originally I had paid 70 RMB from the airport to the hotel and on the way back they charged me 207. They charge for everything. The price isn't bad but watch out the whole staff is in the scheme of charging you for every little thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boorish Ogre
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 13, 2013

useless staff

Staff will lie to you and tell you whatever to avoid having to do work. $68 RMB bottles of water. way overpriced for the quality of the hotel. Food is just terrible and no wireless internet in most rooms. The lobby connection is too slow to use. Nevertheless, cheaper than most hotels in the city and staff remembers to treat you like the cheapskate that you are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
White Christmas
Business
Denver
Dec 30, 2009

Bu Hao

My room was dirty,small and the staff was rude. The carpets were nasty and smelled. The staff would not explain any thing. The internet charges were extreemly high. About 15 dollars per hour. We had given this hotel a couple of high ratings but I should have never been so nice. I will never stay at this hotel again.... And the food is uneatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marcosp
Business
London
Dec 16, 2014

The biggest disappointment I ever had with a hotel

The staff is not helpful at all. They do not smile, and many times completely ignore you. When I asked for a city map, they said they run out of english version. I order a salad, and got another one completely different than what i ordered... But the worst was when I tried to go to the chinese restaurant in the hotel, for my dinner. When I arrived there were 2 girls who can't speak english at all... Instead to call someone, they just look at each other and then start laughing... After came another guy who also could not speak english and finally came one who could speak english... He asked me how many people would be for dinner, and when I said was just me he just said "no, no"... When I went to the reception to complaint, they simply said to me to go to search for another restaurant in the area...When I said I would prefer not to leave the hotel and I was tired, the receptionist called the restaurant, and after a lot of talking in chinese, he turned to me and said they were fully booked because they were having a wedding, what I believe was just a lie... To finish, when i was leaving the hotel, one of the staff just told me my taxi was there, and pointed outside, but did not bother to help me or open the door so I could pass with my luggage... I would never go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

East Nanjing Street area there is a selection of good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Duchess1
Business
New Jersey
Jul 14, 2012

Smells very bad!

This hotel is what what the price!!! The smell of the carpet is disgusting and the of all the staffs, only one spoke ok english!! I do not recommend this hotel and will not be staying there on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WORLDTVR
Business
Orange County, California
Aug 26, 2014

Worst Onsite Restaurant

Forget the Chinese restaurant on the 3rd floor, non existant to appalling breakfast in all my travels. And I have been in 3rd world countries with much better breakfast. They ran out of items after checking me in, then waited 25 minutes to tell me tat it would take longer to cook. An absolute ripoff! The hotel management washes their hands of it and says - the restaurant does not belong to them. Just walk to the mall 3 streets away for food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metropolitan mall on Nanjing St. Tons of restaurant and easy access to the metro. Buy a 1 day metro pass for 18 RMB - cheaper and less challenges for multiple tips. Avoid Site recommendations for Hotels, they try to palm off less than 2 stars as 4 stars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RoamAntic
Business
New York, NY
Nov 26, 2014

Deceptive Name

This hotel is not on the Bund, not really even close. It's old, lacks charm, is in a sketchy area, dark at night, difficult to find, and I see no reason to recommend this place over the many other more pleasant and convenient hotels Shanghai has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vutang
Business
Va
Jun 10, 2012

Acceptable for a short trip

Need more professional staff. Hotel is recently under renovation & short of staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 3 block to nanjing road shopping broadwalk .conveience for shopping & dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emilio DES
Business
Mexico
Oct 31, 2012

Cost efficent

The hotel is Well located near to the subway and to the pricipal streets for shopping and for sight seen like the "bund" the rooms are very confortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ninjiang street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SG Dan
Business
Singapore
Feb 18, 2013

Decent Value

This hotel provides fairly good value for the money and I would recommend it if value is what you are seeking. The hotel is kept clean and the lobby is comfortable and has free WIFI, (although good luck actually connecting as it is extremely slow). The room is nothing fancy, however, the view was great and I could see the entire Pudong skyline. The bed was extremely hard and you can literally feel the springs poking into your body which may be a problem for some. Still, I slept like a baby because of the quiet floor and super dark window shades, so was very very happy about that. If the mattresses were replaced with more plush and newer models I would have increased my rating another full star. Ten minute walk to The Bund or to E. Nanjing Rd, so very convenient location. Really decent value here, I would recommend if you are not traveling on a couples vacation but rather alone or with a friend and on a budget. One more funny thing was the sign in the bathroom with a strange translation. I know what they are trying to say, but it was just too funny not to share with you, so check out the picture ;).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top