$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

4 stars
View map of No.398 Beijing Road (East) Shanghai , China, Shanghai, 200001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VictorXY
Business
San Jose, Calfiornia
Jul 25, 2014

Convenient Comfortable and Reasonable

The Hotel is close to Metro Station of Nanjing East Rd where you can find a lot of stores and restaurants. The staffs are friendly, the room is clean and the price is pretty reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nanjing East Road shopping area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Straviynsky
Business
LA
Jul 7, 2014

Great room, great location

Perfect. We're upgraded (apparently for no reason) to a presidential type of suite, with a huge living room and a super-sized bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

only 3 blocks from the Nanjing walking street with tons of shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr IAN
Business
UK
Jun 28, 2014

GREAT TIME

great location, good room with great views over the city brilliant staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

change money at the bank next door for a far better rate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Travelers from LA
Business
LA, California
Jun 22, 2014

Convenient location with conformable room

Super reasonable price to a four star hotel, our three nights stay is very pleasant. Carpet is hard to keep up for the heavy traffic. One suggestion : hardwood or tile or marble floor will be a better choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We had a restaurant on mind for dinner, but after a long day we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant . The food and the service are great . We were happy we didn't bother to go out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Waspocracy
Business
Denver, CO
May 22, 2014

Good value, but some annoyances

The hotel is about two blocks away from many shops where you can find just about any store. In another direction, about six blocks aware, you'll find a gorgeous view of downtown Shanghai at the Bund River (hence the name of the hotel). The staff is very friendly, helpful, and willing. They always open the door for you, help you with your luggage, and we even had one guy call for a taxi for us. What I didn't like was the room itself. Before I go on, I recommend paying the extra $5-10 for a Cityview room where the view is unbelievable. The room itself had stains all over the carpet and the walls. The bathtub badly needed to be regrouted, and the toilet kept running and we had to manually fix it after almost every flush. Word of caution: The air conditioning unit will not turn on when the outside temperature is under 26 degrees (we checked with hotel manager). Thus, it makes for very uncomfortable nights when it's about 24-25 degrees outside and you keep your windows open. This led to about two nights where neither of us could sleep because of how warm it was even while naked and no sheets. There was a misfortunate understanding when we were surprised with room service and we assured them we never purchased any. We received a call about 15 minutes later where they tried to convince us that someone called from our room and called room service 15 minutes prior. I can assure you that we were both in the room up to an hour prior and neither of us even touched the phone. Because of this, the staff receives 3 stars. They would've received 5 stars for staff had they not attempted to convince us that we purchased something when we, in fact, did not. They said a male called from the room, which would've been me, except I know for a fact I never once touched the phone in my entire stay. The building has an executive lounge that I visited briefly for the breakfast buffet. For future reference, it's on the 17th floor and not the 3rd floor as advertised. We also ate dinner on the 3rd floor and it was rather tasty. Overall, hotel is rather good but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When you exit the building, turn left and walk about two streets. You'll find a small mall within a building with 3 floors. The bakery is good, the gelato is fantastic, and there is some other good stuff in there too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gritter
Business
Pinghu, China
May 19, 2014

Weekend in Shanghai

The Riverside Bund is perfectly located to visit all the popular places in central Shanghai. It is an easy walk to the metro and then one or two stops away from Pudong, French Concession, Peoples Park and West Nanjing. You can walk to the Bund in less than ten minutes. We have stayed there before and always enjoyed the experience but on our last trip the hotel experienced some mechanical issues and could not provide us with a room. They drove us to a more expensive hotel and paid for our room and breakfast. When we did check in to the Riverside Bund they had upgraded us to a suite. We will stay here whenever we visit Shanghai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One metro stop away is Pearl Tower, the Aquarium, Super Brand Mall and plenty of dining choices to choose from in Pudong.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pimpisa P.
Business
Bangkok,Thailand
May 14, 2014

Great hotel with very nice view

I stayed in the river view hotel which is the greatest view ever. The room is big and the bed is very comfortable. There was a mate who clean the room everyday but it wasn't cleaned enough because there were a leftover paper on the floor from the previous guest. I found it on the last day of my stay (I stayed for 3 nights). Overall , it's the good hotel which has the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
True WW Traveler
Business
California
May 13, 2014

Shanghai Getaway

It 's a very good hotel, good location with very affordable rate ($69/nite# comparing with others in the same "stars" or higher such as Renaissance Yangtze hote l#$139/nite) which I booked for few days stays earlier. Room with view at a high floor. Close to many popular attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruachian
Business
Japan
May 11, 2014

Great Location near the Bund and Nanjing Road

We chose this hotel for it's location. It is only a few minutes walk away from the Bund and Nanjing Road (shopping), and the subway. The hotel itself was nothing special, but it suited our needs. We started out with a very average small room with a tiny window, looking out over the river, so asked to be changed. The staff was very happy to give us a different room, on a higher floor (15th) with a much lighter bigger windows and better view and more spacious. It pays to ask if you are not happy with your room. All in all, the location was what sold it for us We did not have breakfast - it was too expensive and there are plenty of coffee shops (Costa is good!) nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Shanghai Circus was good! Markets near the Science and Technology Subway were entertaining! Go to "Shanghai Grandmother" for good Shanghai food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
owens1111r
Business
ottawa
Apr 8, 2014

Great Location

Only 2 blocks to shopping and peoples Sq. Great view of Bund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top