$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

4 stars
No.398 Beijing Road (East) Shanghai , China, Shanghai, 200001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Great room, great location

Perfect. We're upgraded (apparently for no reason) to a presidential type of suite, with a huge... See full review

  • Straviynsky
  • Jul 7, 2014
Convenient location with conformable room

Super reasonable price to a four star hotel, our three nights stay is very pleasant. Carpet is hard... See full review

  • World Travelers from LA
  • Jun 22, 2014
River views on display at 4-star Shanghai hotel near Bund

Guests can get a good snapshot of Shanghai during a stay in this 195-room property that is close enough to the Bund to offer appealing river view rooms. Guests are a three-block walk from the crowds and neon of Nanjing Road pedestrian mall. The endless stream of bicycles and colorful characters passing the entrance on busy Beijing Road gives guests a taste of everyday life in China. 

Highlights
  • 10-minute walk to Nanjing Road pedestrian mall and the Bund
  • River view and grand view rooms provide views of the Huangpu River and Pudong skyline
  • Neighborhood offers guests flavor of everyday Chinese life
  • Five on-site bars and restaurants
Rooms

This 19-story tower houses 195 rooms with tasteful East-meets-West decor. All rooms provide a safe, mini-bar, desk, flat-screen television, and high-speed Internet. Superior rooms are modestly sized from 237 to 270 square feet. Guests can choose between city or river views or enjoy both in the 592-square-foot Grand View room. Digital queen rooms come with a PCTV all-in-one machine plus free high-speed Internet (fees apply in most rooms).

Dining

Zip 18 serves fresh Euro-Asian cuisine along with great city views. At French Teppanyaki restaurant diners can sip a glass of wine with East-meets-West fusion fare. Classic Shanghainese dishes are on the menu at Xie Yuan. Dingzhen Abalone Fin is a spacious elegant dining room where guests can splurge on specialties like abalone and shark fin.

Recreation

Spa on the 11th floor features a sauna and massages. Ruli Japanese Club is a health club offering Japanese-style tea service and a coffee bar. Visitors can purchase paintings and calligraphy work from Shanghai and elsewhere in China and pick up postcards at the souvenir shop.

Transportation
  • Shanghai Railway Station (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Pudong International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Bund (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Yu Garden (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • People's Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • Conference hall accommodating up to 120 people
  • Function rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

31.2402 121.4824
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Pudong International Airport:50KM/About 50 Minutes by taxi Hongqiao International Airport:14.5KM/About 15 Minutes by taxi.
Area description
12KM from EXPO 5 Minutes walk will bring you to East Nanjing Road the famous Pedestrian Street, 10 Minutes stroll to reach the romantic Bund .

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai also booked these hotels.

The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai Rooms

Superior-Room
There is one king bed or two single beds in the Superior Room with CityView or RiverView. Superior Room located on floor 8-15. Room area is about 270 square feet. There are other facilities, For example Armchair , Minibar , Coffee and Tea Maker , Direct-dial phone and Bathroom Phone,Bathtub,Broadband Internet Access, Welcome Drink Coupon, Satellite TV , Clean Bathrobe, Dry Cleaning Service,Safe and so on.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office Building: 0.3 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 0.8 mi
  • People`s Square: 0.8 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 0.9 mi
  • French Concession: 0.9 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • General Post Office Building: 0.3 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 0.8 mi
  • People`s Square: 0.8 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 0.9 mi
  • French Concession: 0.9 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • City God Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Shanghai Wen Miao: 1.7 mi
  • Nanjing Road: 1.7 mi
  • Lu Xun Park: 1.8 mi
  • Former Residence of Zhou En Lai: 1.9 mi
  • Eastlink Gallery: 2 mi
  • Taikang Lu: 2.4 mi
  • Jing'an Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Black Apple Gallery: 2.5 mi
  • Liu Hai Su Art Center: 3.3 mi
  • Shanghai Expo: 3.4 mi
  • Shanghai Oriental Arts Center: 3.7 mi
  • Shanghai Science and Technology Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Shanghai Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • C. Y. Tung Maritime Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Xiang Yang Market: 4.1 mi
  • St Ignatius Cathedral of Shanghai: 4.3 mi
  • Aquaria 21 Dive Club: 5 mi
  • Shanghai New International Expo Center: 5.1 mi
  • Fanguzi Art Gallery: 7 mi
  • Hongqiao: 8.7 mi
  • Gubei: 9.2 mi
  • She Shan Basilica: 19.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai has 5 Food & Beverage outlets where you can savor delicacies from around the world. Located on the top 18 floor, the Chinese Restaurant Xie Yuan serve Shanghainese dishes. Zip18 Eurasian provides western style set meals, The French Teppanyaki specializes in adds a touch of Asian scent to European dining tradition. Fresh ingredients, nutritional considerations and top-class chefs ensure the taste and quality of your dining experience. While enjoying the meal, the tremendous view through wide scaled windows also bring you visual satisfactions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDer
Los Angeles, California
Aug 24, 2012

fantastic room facing Oriental Pearl Tower and river view

Very friendly staff and we cannot ask for a better room and location for the price we paid; recommended it to a friend in Shanghai

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay from MA
Business
Malden, MA
Oct 21, 2014

Comfortable Stay with Good Value

Location, location, location! Nothing major to complain other than minor toilet problem with small stream of wafer leaking from the water tank. Small tweak on the knob can simply fix it. Other than that, the hotel staff address the needs promptly, and location was good for subway rides & shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dim sum on breakfast menu is 25% off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New traveler Joe
Business
san francisco, california
Oct 8, 2014

The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Wonderful value for this hotel. It's very close to everything. The view from the room is lovely. Highly recommend this hotel. Prices are very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of hotels near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shanghai traveller
Business
London
Sep 14, 2014

Standards differ

What constitutes custemor service in a 4 star hotel in China is very different to what it is in Europe and the US. Staff are undertrained, the managers are difficult to deal with and don't know how to properly manage a hotel of this standard. I stayed there for two days in one of the executive rooms with a city view, but I would advise paying for a superior room if you choose to stay here. The executive room was unclean, the carpet in particular showing a number of stains. Having read the hotel welcome booklet one is notified that if stains are found on the carpet then you will be charged 300 yuan for cleaning; however, after going down to reception to complain I was told that the carpet had not been replaced in 10 years and that I would have to put up with the stains as I paid less money for this type of room compared to the superior rooms. Receiving a number of responses similiar to this I remained at the front desk with the manager for a further half an hour before he finally upgraded me to a room without a stained carpet. He was not keen to do this however and on multiple occasions told me that he would find me another hotel if I wanted a cleaner carpet, if I had chosen to do this however then I would receive no money back. The superior room was of a much better standard but was what you'd expect as standard from a 4 star hotel and not as the superior suites. In terms of location the hotel is well located and one can get to the bund easily on foot or to the financial district on the metro. Tourist sights are also a short taxi drive away. As a final note I would advise to avoid the breakfast, when I went up to the restaurant I had to ask for almost the entire buffet to be replaced as much of it was stale or unpleasent. Such simple things as the staff not knowing how to store cereal correctly or not cleaning rooms correctly become irritating and for what they provide the room rate is expensive by Chinese standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgepdx
Business
Seoul
Aug 26, 2014

Modestly Priced Close to Bund

If you chose riverside, this hotel has Bund views without Bund prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WORLDTVR
Business
Orange County, California
Aug 26, 2014

Worst Onsite Restaurant

Forget the Chinese restaurant on the 3rd floor, non existant to appalling breakfast in all my travels. And I have been in 3rd world countries with much better breakfast. They ran out of items after checking me in, then waited 25 minutes to tell me tat it would take longer to cook. An absolute ripoff! The hotel management washes their hands of it and says - the restaurant does not belong to them. Just walk to the mall 3 streets away for food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metropolitan mall on Nanjing St. Tons of restaurant and easy access to the metro. Buy a 1 day metro pass for 18 RMB - cheaper and less challenges for multiple tips. Avoid Site recommendations for Hotels, they try to palm off less than 2 stars as 4 stars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
It's OK
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 28, 2014

Wrong information on webpage causes trouble

Overall, my stay is a pleasant experience only they wrongly posted the ad. saying "free parking" which is not the case once you reach there. I got the full refund for my rental car parking essentially but took a lot of negotiation, and running back and forth between front desk and garage - which is managed by the third party and they definitely gave us some hard time and bad feelings and we could not figure out why our rental car get damaged at rare light during overnight stay. My review for "staff" is only meant to hotel front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VictorXY
Business
San Jose, Calfiornia
Jul 25, 2014

Convenient Comfortable and Reasonable

The Hotel is close to Metro Station of Nanjing East Rd where you can find a lot of stores and restaurants. The staffs are friendly, the room is clean and the price is pretty reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nanjing East Road shopping area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Straviynsky
Business
LA
Jul 7, 2014

Great room, great location

Perfect. We're upgraded (apparently for no reason) to a presidential type of suite, with a huge living room and a super-sized bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

only 3 blocks from the Nanjing walking street with tons of shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr IAN
Business
UK
Jun 28, 2014

GREAT TIME

great location, good room with great views over the city brilliant staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

change money at the bank next door for a far better rate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Travelers from LA
Business
LA, California
Jun 22, 2014

Convenient location with conformable room

Super reasonable price to a four star hotel, our three nights stay is very pleasant. Carpet is hard to keep up for the heavy traffic. One suggestion : hardwood or tile or marble floor will be a better choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We had a restaurant on mind for dinner, but after a long day we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant . The food and the service are great . We were happy we didn't bother to go out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top