$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

4 stars
View map of No.398 Beijing Road (East) Shanghai , China, Shanghai, 200001

Hotel Overview

The-Bund-Riverside-Hotel-Shanghai-Other
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
68 reviews
Got Free Upgrade to Executive

Very good location, 5 mins walk to metro. Note that metro is also connected to airport. Lots of... See full review

  • John Christopher
  • Mar 17, 2015
Go Bund Riverside or Go Home!

Great staff, accommodations & location. Just off the tourist beat so you can find great local shops... See full review

  • James O.
  • Dec 30, 2014
River views on display at 4-star Shanghai hotel near Bund

Guests can get a good snapshot of Shanghai during a stay in this 195-room property that is close enough to the Bund to offer appealing river view rooms. Guests are a three-block walk from the crowds and neon of Nanjing Road pedestrian mall. The endless stream of bicycles and colorful characters passing the entrance on busy Beijing Road gives guests a taste of everyday life in China. 

Highlights
  • 10-minute walk to Nanjing Road pedestrian mall and the Bund
  • River view and grand view rooms provide views of the Huangpu River and Pudong skyline
  • Neighborhood offers guests flavor of everyday Chinese life
  • Five on-site bars and restaurants
Rooms

This 19-story tower houses 195 rooms with tasteful East-meets-West decor. All rooms provide a safe, mini-bar, desk, flat-screen television, and high-speed Internet. Superior rooms are modestly sized from 237 to 270 square feet. Guests can choose between city or river views or enjoy both in the 592-square-foot Grand View room. Digital queen rooms come with a PCTV all-in-one machine plus free high-speed Internet (fees apply in most rooms).

Dining

Zip 18 serves fresh Euro-Asian cuisine along with great city views. At French Teppanyaki restaurant diners can sip a glass of wine with East-meets-West fusion fare. Classic Shanghainese dishes are on the menu at Xie Yuan. Dingzhen Abalone Fin is a spacious elegant dining room where guests can splurge on specialties like abalone and shark fin.

Recreation

Spa on the 11th floor features a sauna and massages. Ruli Japanese Club is a health club offering Japanese-style tea service and a coffee bar. Visitors can purchase paintings and calligraphy work from Shanghai and elsewhere in China and pick up postcards at the souvenir shop.

Transportation
  • Shanghai Railway Station (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Pudong International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Bund (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Yu Garden (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • People's Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • Conference hall accommodating up to 120 people
  • Function rooms
  • Business center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai Rooms

Superior-Room
There is one king bed or two single beds in the Superior Room with CityView or RiverView. Superior Room located on floor 8-15. Room area is about 270 square feet. There are other facilities, For example Armchair , Minibar , Coffee and Tea Maker , Direct-dial phone and Bathroom Phone,Bathtub,Broadband Internet Access, Welcome Drink Coupon, Satellite TV , Clean Bathrobe, Dry Cleaning Service,Safe and so on.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office Building: 0.3 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 0.8 mi
  • People`s Square: 0.8 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 0.9 mi
  • French Concession: 0.9 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • General Post Office Building: 0.3 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 0.8 mi
  • People`s Square: 0.8 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 0.9 mi
  • French Concession: 0.9 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • City God Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Shanghai Wen Miao: 1.7 mi
  • Nanjing Road: 1.7 mi
  • Lu Xun Park: 1.8 mi
  • Former Residence of Zhou En Lai: 1.9 mi
  • Eastlink Gallery: 2 mi
  • Taikang Lu: 2.4 mi
  • Jing'an Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Black Apple Gallery: 2.5 mi
  • Liu Hai Su Art Center: 3.3 mi
  • Shanghai Expo: 3.4 mi
  • Shanghai Oriental Arts Center: 3.7 mi
  • Shanghai Science and Technology Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Shanghai Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • C. Y. Tung Maritime Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Xiang Yang Market: 4.1 mi
  • St Ignatius Cathedral of Shanghai: 4.3 mi
  • Aquaria 21 Dive Club: 5 mi
  • Shanghai New International Expo Center: 5.1 mi
  • Fanguzi Art Gallery: 7 mi
  • Hongqiao: 8.7 mi
  • Gubei: 9.2 mi
  • She Shan Basilica: 19.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai has 5 Food & Beverage outlets where you can savor delicacies from around the world. Located on the top 18 floor, the Chinese Restaurant Xie Yuan serve Shanghainese dishes. Zip18 Eurasian provides western style set meals, The French Teppanyaki specializes in adds a touch of Asian scent to European dining tradition. Fresh ingredients, nutritional considerations and top-class chefs ensure the taste and quality of your dining experience. While enjoying the meal, the tremendous view through wide scaled windows also bring you visual satisfactions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackieG
Business
Fargo, ND, USA
Aug 19, 2012

short business trip

It's very good location, within 3 miles to the Bund and Nijing E road shopping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azmliu
Business
Santa Clara
Apr 6, 2015

just so so

very old hotel, especially the amenities. This hotel is only two and half stars. only the location is four stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fedg
Business
Beijing
Mar 23, 2015

good price

good price for the quality of the hotel and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John Christopher
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Got Free Upgrade to Executive

Very good location, 5 mins walk to metro. Note that metro is also connected to airport. Lots of restaurants nearby. Got free upgrade to executive room with very good view. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aaron p.
Business
N/A
Mar 12, 2015

Not Bad

When I booked this there were some pretty mixed reviews about the rooms. Maybe it is because I have been in China for 7 months, but this place was pretty good. Great location, fantastic view across the river. I noticed in the elevator that the different floors are labeled with different grades. For example: standard rooms floors 7-8, superior rooms floors 9-11, and so on. So perhaps there are some bad rooms, but I had a superior river view and it was nice. Not 4 star, but I have certainly been in worse, and I didn't notice any bad smells that other reviews commented on. Don't bother with the Chinese restaurant. It was overpriced and not that great (go explore instead of eating in the hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lauren C.
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Not for all

The front desk and concierge were very helpful and spoke excellent english. The room was in desperate need of redecoration as the paper was coming away from the walls. The restaurant staff were rude in one restaurant when we tried to eat. We were told 'no' and ushered back into the lift. The other restaurant the food was terrible and bore no likeness to the description or picture in the menu. However, the staff were happy to provide a taxi and direct them to where we wanted. Ok for 1 night but not what I expect from a 4 star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emile C.
Business
Teaneck
Jan 25, 2015

Semi-annual stay in Shanghai

The Bund Riverside is the best value for money we have found in Shanghai. We recommend it highly as long as you can deal with filthy carpets and very hard beds. The main entrance is awful due to a long flight of stairs w/o a handrail, but the handicapped ramp around the corner is excellent, except on weekdays you need to walk thru a maze of parked cars to reach it. The 3rd floor restaurant is excellent and an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several excellent restaurants in the GAP building on Nanjing Rd and Junan Rd, 3 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
icehockey
Business
Bellevue
Jan 16, 2015

Shanghai stay

As a traveling couple, we needed a clean room close to the Shanghai sights. The hotel is readily accessible from the airport via taxi and has some excellent neighborhood eateries within 10 minutes walking distance. The sights along the riverwalk are amazing and the fairly safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HERNAN M.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Frustrating

They game a room without windows, that was very bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful with women that invite you fir a coffe, they want to stem your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James O.
Business
West Dover
Dec 30, 2014

Go Bund Riverside or Go Home!

Great staff, accommodations & location. Just off the tourist beat so you can find great local shops and fantastic street food. Short walk (5-10 minutes) to metro/subway and the touristy stuff. The breakfast buffet was good but repetitive (about $14 US). I found much better variety on the street for way less. The Bund Riverside is the way to go whether pleasure or business. Great price. Clean everything. Can't wait to get back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Metro/subway card you can buy for $20RMB and then add Fare $$ to. Best to get this right away and load it up. Saves time and hassle figuring out how much you need on a disposable card.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marcosp
Business
London
Dec 16, 2014

The biggest disappointment I ever had with a hotel

The staff is not helpful at all. They do not smile, and many times completely ignore you. When I asked for a city map, they said they run out of english version. I order a salad, and got another one completely different than what i ordered... But the worst was when I tried to go to the chinese restaurant in the hotel, for my dinner. When I arrived there were 2 girls who can't speak english at all... Instead to call someone, they just look at each other and then start laughing... After came another guy who also could not speak english and finally came one who could speak english... He asked me how many people would be for dinner, and when I said was just me he just said "no, no"... When I went to the reception to complaint, they simply said to me to go to search for another restaurant in the area...When I said I would prefer not to leave the hotel and I was tired, the receptionist called the restaurant, and after a lot of talking in chinese, he turned to me and said they were fully booked because they were having a wedding, what I believe was just a lie... To finish, when i was leaving the hotel, one of the staff just told me my taxi was there, and pointed outside, but did not bother to help me or open the door so I could pass with my luggage... I would never go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

East Nanjing Street area there is a selection of good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top