$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

4 stars
View map of No.88,Yongshou Road, Shanghai, 200021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
NY, NY
Jul 7, 2010

A Great Value

This hotel provides great value for family travel or long term business stay. Rooms are small but clean, the location is great, very safe, close to all transporation, in the center of everything. Some reviews are complaining the hotel employee being rude, not sensitive. [*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
NJ
Jun 28, 2010

Trip to Shanghai

We arrived the hotel after midnight due to airline delay but we still got prompt and friendly service. The hotel is clean and all the staff members are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ace McCool
Friends
St. Louis, NY
Jun 28, 2010

Shanghai New Harbour Service Apartment

While at the hotel, we enjoyed the gym and the pool. If anyone had any issues communicating in Chinese, that was no problem, because the staff spoke decent english. Though the location was great, the staff was very stubborn. One night we asked for a roll-a-way bed and the staff refused, saying that they are not supposed to be in our room type, though online there was no indication of that. Instead of a roll-a-way bed we then asked if we could have an extra blanket and they refused to bring that up and yelled on the phone "Oh My God..." When exchanging currency, they would not accept any US bill that had any form of wear or tear, they needed to be crisp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like to socialize, dance, and have an exciting night, I recommend going to Muse 2 at 283 Huaihai Liu. Its a younger scene, but a blast all around.

Review of New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ann Arbor, Michigan USA
Jun 12, 2010

expensive but worth it

The location of this hotel is great - 2 blocks to subway station directly to the Expo, and also close to Pudong etc. We had 2 room - suite - couple plus a single bed room for our 19 yo - perfect. The breakfast was ok, though not spectacular. My only misgivings: We were not smokers in a smoker floor, and because we arrived at 6.30 am, we planned to be there around 8 am and booked the previous night, called ahead to make sure they knew not to cancel the room for no-show. They confirmed. But although we had paid for that night, the room wasn't ready when we arrived, clearly had been used, so they double dipped that night - had it paid twice. The plate sets were for 2, we had to ask for a 3rd set, but having breakfast in the morning on our own was fine - except - be aware that a standard set in china includes chop sticks and a soup spoon but no knife or fork.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of cheap supermarkets around the corner. Go for them and save money for breakfast.

Review of New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occam's Toothbrush
Single
San Francisco, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Good, and good for the price.

This is an "apartment-style" hotel. That's not a bad thing, it just means that the rooms are bigger and may include a kitchen (my suite did). If you've ever stayed in a place like this, you'll also know that it has a subtly different feeling than a traditional hotel. I stayed 3 nights in a one-bedroom suite that was really big for a single traveler (suite included a living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom). Again, it's nice to have the space to spread out, so this was a plus for me. The breakfast buffet was adequate (I hate having to search for food in the morning, so I almost always eat at the hotel I'm staying at) and fairly priced. Front desk staff were perhaps a little brusque at times, but at the same time earnestly helpful and spoke English well enough to answer all my questions. This isn't the last word in luxury or service, but of course you knew that shopping for a hotel in this price range. Location was great: a short walk (~10 min.) to People's Square, Raffles City (shopping mall). A choice of 2 nearby subway stops: Dashijie (line 8), People's Square (line 2). There's also a small grocery store located in the building. I'm no expert on Shanghai hotels, but I thought the New Harbour was a good value and I enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Subway in the basement food court of nearby Raffles City. I like being adventuresome with food, but sometimes you just need to hit "reset" with a basic sandwich.

Review of New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timmy Jay
Friends
Canal Winchester, OH
Sep 21, 2009

Very Pleased

Good location. close to subway. Within walking distance to many tourist areas. Had a 3 BR suite, very clean. Full kitchen, but no dishes or cookwear. You can rent if you need. Only one problem - they are under renovation on some floors. They were using a jackhammer. Sound carried through several floors. Don't know when it will be completed, but I'm sure it will be done before Expo 2010 next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenience stores are close to buy drinks and snacks that you can store in kitchen. Some items are pre-stocked in fridge, but you pay nicely for them. There is free bottled water service in each room.

Review of New Harbour Service Apartment Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Australia
Jun 18, 2009

Great apartments

Cannot fault these apartments, they were everything we expected them to be. The only problem was that Shanghai seemed to be under a lot of construction at the moment and is not a very easy and enjoyable place to explore at the moment. I think this is due to the 2010 expo occuring in the city next year and they are in the works of improving some of the main sights and locations. Would like to go back and see what the place is really like once all that has finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top